DETAILED ACTION
Election
In response to restriction requirement, applicant elected claims 2-7 without traverse.
Prior Arts
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EBRAHIMI, T., and HORNE, C., "MPEG-4 Natural Video Coding - An Overview", Signal Processing: Image Communication, 15:365-385 (2000). (Ebrahimi)
US 7408986 B2 (Winder)
US 20100079667 A1 (hereinafter Turetken)
US 20120075535 A1 (hereinafter Van)
US 20050249426 A1 (hereinafter Badawy)
US 20100135398 A1 (hereinafter Wittmann)
US 20110254950 A1 (video {para 3})
US 20120294362 A1 (Fig.23; para 123, 121; taking into global motion/affine)
EE, M.-C., et al., "A Layered Video Object Coding System Using Sprite and Affine Motion Model", IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, 7(1):130-145 (1997).
Claim Interpretation-35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “motion compensation block” and “combiner” in claims 2, 6. Specification describing, they are implemented in a signal processor including application running on generic computer (see published specification para 100-103, 138-140, Fig.1, 7) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20120170649 A1 (hereinafter Chen649).
Regarding Claim 7:
Claim interpretation
Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id. However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id.
Claim 7 is directed to a memory/storage device storing a bitstream comprising a motion compensation block, a combiner and several wherein clauses that appear to describe how the bitstream is generated. These elements/steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system.
If the specification supports, the claim can be amended to recites a one or more memory or storage devices storing computer executable program, when the program is executed by a processor…….. performing the steps .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebrahimi in view of Winder.
Regarding Claim 2: Ebrahimi teaches a motion compensation system [(Fig.4)] within a signal processor configured as a decoder, the motion compensation system comprising: a motion compensation block to receive a reference image [(VOP memory providing reference, it is the already decoded VOP from the output in Fig.4; also see section 4, predicted based on previously decoded VOP)] for a video signal and information on motion compensation and to generate a motion compensated image: [(motion decoding block feeding motion information to motion compensation block, Fig.4)] and
a combiner to combine the motion compensated image with residual data to reconstruct a rendition of a target image for the video signal [(Ebrahimi use MPEG; this is typical for MPEG or other video compression {see applicant specification para 20; also see Fig.4 reconstructed VOP})] ,
wherein the information on motion compensation is used to determine [(page 373, left column first para)] ,
wherein each motion vector is used to determine a set of fractional coordinates, the set of fractional coordinates indicating a location within the reference image that is at a resolution that is higher than the reference image [(page 373, left column first para; half-sample precision; half-sample precision means four-time higher resolution than regular pixel/sample resolution; i.e. 2x2 points per pixel/sample)] ,,
wherein the set of fractional coordinates are used to determine a grouping of multiple display elements in the reference image [((page 373, left column first para; one vector for entire macroblock)] , and
wherein the grouping of multiple display elements in the reference image are weighted to determine values for display elements in the motion compensated image [(section 3.2; the pixel elements are provided with weight from 0-255)] .
Ebrahimi does not explicitly show plurality motion vector for plurality of display elements;
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Van teaches plurality of motion vectors for plurality of display elements [(Fig.16, para delts motion vectors are estimated for each 5x5 pixels {column 27 last para})]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior to increase motion detection accuracy.
Ebrahimi in view of Winder additionally teaches with respect claim 3. The motion compensation system of claim 2, wherein a set of weights for the grouping of multiple display elements are determined according to a resampling kernel. [(Ebrahimi section 3.1 & 3.2 alpha plane teaches Kernel; also see Winder column 30 lines 46-64 and column 15 lines 30-65 and )]
Ebrahimi additionally teaches with respect to claim 4. The motion compensation system of claim 2, wherein the set of weights are retrieved from a look-up table. [(Ebrahimi section 3.1 indicates use of table when multiple items are being used in coding)]
Ebrahimi in view of Winder additionally teaches with respect to claim 5. The motion compensation system of claim 2, wherein the set of fractional coordinates are determined based on an affine transformation. [(Winder Column 30 lines 1-10; pixel location indicates coordinates)]
Ebrahimi in view of Winder additionally teaches with respect to claim 6. A motion compensation system within a signal processor configured as a encoder, the motion compensation system comprising
a motion compensation block to receive a reference image for a video signal and information on motion compensation and to generate a motion compensated image
and a combiner to combine the motion compensated image with residual data to reconstruct a rendition of a target image for the video signal, wherein the information on motion compensation is used to determine a plurality of motion vectors for a plurality of display elements associated with the motion compensated image, wherein each motion vector is used to determine a set of fractional coordinates, the set of fractional coordinates indicating a location within the reference image that is at a resolution that is higher than the reference image, wherein the set of fractional coordinates are used to determine a grouping of multiple display elements in the reference image, and wherein the grouping of multiple display elements in the reference image are weighted to determine values for display elements in the motion compensated image. [(se analysis of claim 2 and note coding/encoding in Ebrahimi Abstract)]
Regarding Claim 7: If claim 7 is amended as discussed above, they still will be obvious over Ebrahimi in view of Winder. Analysis will be similar to claim 1.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 2-4, 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12155834 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 2-4 are anticipated by patented claims 1-3. Instant claims 6-7 are obvious variant of instant claim 2, therefore are obvious over patented claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12155834 in view of Winder. The additional limitation of this claim is taught by Winder Col. 30 lines 1-10. Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Conclusion
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426