DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (US 2009/0281596) in view of Siegel et al. (US 2010/0262158).
Regarding claim 1, King et al. discloses a method of electrical stimulation programming, comprising: providing a user interface 52 for an electronic programmer 18 that is configured to program stimulation parameters of an electrical stimulation therapy ([0096]), wherein the electrical stimulation therapy is deliverable to a patient via an implantable medical device 14 that includes a plurality of electrodes (fig. 1; [0053]), wherein the user interface includes a user-operable mechanism 192 configured to activate different subsets of the electrodes ([0148]), and wherein the user-operable mechanism is displayed by the user interface while the electrical stimulation therapy is currently in an “off” state (“user interface screens that may prompt a user, such as a clinician or patient, to enter a region selection input and a therapy input” [0175]; “the therapy input may comprise an activate or deactivate PNFS command” [0094]; E.N. if the command is to activate PNFS, it would be obvious to a POSITA that stimulation therapy is currently in an off state).
King et al. does not expressly disclose reconfiguring, based on a determination that the electrical stimulation therapy is currently in an “on” state, the user interface at least in part by deactivating the user-operable mechanism. Siegel et al. teaches a method of electrical stimulation programming of an implantable medical device 88 where user-operable mechanisms (“a series of switches, dials, or buttons for changing stimulation parameters”) on a user interface 110 is specifically reconfigured to be deactivated based on a determination that electrical stimulation therapy is currently in an “on” state, in order to “eliminate the chance of unsafe stimulation modifications” ([0091]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify King et al. to reconfigure the user interface and deactivate the user-operable mechanism based on a determination that electrical stimulation therapy is currently in an “on” state as taught by Siegel et al. in order to “eliminate the chance of unsafe stimulation modifications” while stimulation is ongoing.
Regarding claim 2, King et al. discloses the user-operable mechanism includes a slider 192; and as the slider is moved in a first direction or in a second direction opposite the first direction (fig. 11b, 12b, 13b), different combinations of the electrodes are selected for receiving the stimulation parameters as inputs ([0148], [0157], [0163]).
Regarding claim 3, King et al. discloses the electrodes are arranged in a column (fig. 1, 11c-d, 12c) on the implantable medical device 14; and the different combinations of the electrodes correspond to electrodes at different locations in the column ([0148], [0157]).
Regarding claim 4, King et al. discloses the user interface further includes a graphical representation of at least a portion of the implantable medical device 14 on which the electrodes are located (fig. 11c-d, 12c, 13c); and as the slider is moved in the first direction or the second direction, the graphical representation highlights different subsets of electrodes in the graphical representation that correspond to the different combinations of electrodes in the implantable medical device ([0150], [0159], [0164]).
Regarding claim 5, King et al. discloses the user interface further displays a currently-programmed value of one or more of the stimulation parameters for each electrode in the highlighted subset of electrodes in the graphical representation (fig. 11c-d, 12c, 13c, 16c).
Regarding claim 6, King et al. discloses wherein the displayed currently-programmed value is adjustable via the user interface ([0148-0149], [0157-0158], [0162-0163], [0186]).
Regarding claim 7, King et al. discloses calculating, based on a currently selected combination of the electrodes, a maximum limit for each of the one or more stimulation parameters ([0110]); and preventing an adjustment of the currently-programmed value from exceeding the calculated maximum limit 305 (fig. 16c, [0186]).
Regarding claim 10, King et al. in view of Seigel et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the deactivating the user-operable mechanism is performed automatically without an input from a user, but this limitation is broadly described and broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
Regarding claim 11, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have thought it obvious that after the reconfiguring, King et al. in view of Seigel et al. disclose determining that the electrical stimulation therapy is at the “off” state again; and reactivating the user-operable mechanism based on the determining that the electrical stimulation therapy is at the “off” state again, as Seigel et al. discloses only disabling the user-operable mechanism of the user interface “during test stimulation to eliminate the chance of unsafe stimulation modifications” ([0091]).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (US 2009/0281596) in view of Siegel et al. (US 2010/0262158) and further in view of Goetz et al. (US 2007/0203542).
Regarding claim 8, King et al. does not expressly disclose recalculating the maximum limit when a different combination of electrodes is selected. Goetz et al. teaches a similar method of electrical stimulation programming an implantable medical device, where when a different combination of electrodes is selected (“electrode-by-electrode basis” [0146]; [0152]), a “keepout” designation for the maximum limit ([0068]) of a stimulation parameter is re-evaluated ([0146], [0154]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify King et al. to recalculate the maximum limit when a different combination of electrodes is selected as taught by Goetz et al. as different selected electrode combinations would result in different proximities to anatomical structures and would require re-evaluation of any maximum limit of safe stimulation levels.
Regarding claim 16, King et al. discloses preventing the user-configurable value from exceeding a maximum limit ([0110], [0186]) does not expressly disclose the user-configurable value is prevented from being configured to exceed a maximum limit; and the maximum limit is dynamically recalculated as the different subsets of the electrodes are selected for programming. Goetz et al. teaches a similar method of electrical stimulation programming an implantable medical device, where an electronic programmer calculates, based on a currently selected combination of electrodes, a maximum limit for each of the one or more stimulation parameters to prevent stimulation in excess of a given level ([0068]); and when a different subset of electrodes is selected for programming (“electrode-by-electrode basis” [0146]; [0152]), the “keepout” designation for the maximum limit ([0068]) of a stimulation parameter is re-evaluated ([0146], [0154]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify King et al. to implement a “keepout” feature as taught by Goetz et al. in order to prevent accidental modification of currently-programmed values from exceeding a determined maximum limit of safe stimulation levels and to re-evaluate the maximum limit as different subsets of the electrodes are selected for programming as different selected electrode subsets would result in different proximities to anatomical structures and would require re-evaluation of any maximum limit of safe stimulation levels.
Claim(s) 9, 12-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (US 2009/0281596) in view of Siegel et al. (US 2010/0262158) and further in view of Dettinger et al. (US 2006/0136833).
Regarding claim 9, while King et al. in view of Siegel et al. discloses deactivating the user-operable mechanism when the electrical stimulation therapy is at the “on” state, the prior art does not expressly disclose wherein deactivating the user-operable mechanism includes hiding the user-operable mechanism from the user interface. Dettinger et al. teaches it is known in the art to effectively disable an object in a graphical user interface (GUI) by masking or hiding the object from a user’s view ([0057]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify King et al. such that deactivating the user-operable mechanism included hiding the user-operable mechanism from the user interface as taught by Dettinger et al. as it is a known technique in the GUI prior art to indicate the loss of functionality of the user-operable mechanism on the interface, the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable.
Regarding claim 12, King et al. discloses an electronic device 18 configured to program stimulation parameters of an electrical stimulation therapy for an implantable medical device 14 that includes a plurality of electrodes (fig. 1; [0053]), the electronic device 18 comprising: a memory storage component 54 configured to store programming code ([0084]); and one or more hardware processors 50 configured to execute the programming code to perform operations that include: providing, when the electrical stimulation therapy is not currently being delivered (“user interface screens that may prompt a user, such as a clinician or patient, to enter a region selection input and a therapy input” [0175]; “the therapy input may comprise an activate or deactivate PNFS command” [0094]; E.N. if the command is to activate PNFS, it would be obvious to a POSITA that stimulation therapy is currently in an off state), a user interface 52 for the electronic device 18, wherein the user interface includes a mechanism 192 that is operable by a user to select different subsets of the electrodes of the implantable medical device for programming ([0148]).
King et al. does not expressly disclose automatically hiding, when the electrical stimulation therapy is currently being delivered, the mechanism from the user interface. Siegel et al. teaches a user interface 110 for programming stimulation parameters of an implantable medical device 88 where mechanisms (“a series of switches, dials, or buttons for changing stimulation parameters”) on the user interface 110 are deactivated based on a determination that electrical stimulation therapy is currently being delivered, in order to “eliminate the chance of unsafe stimulation modifications” ([0091]). Dettinger et al. teaches it is known in the art to effectively communicate that an object is disabled in a graphical user interface (GUI) by masking or hiding the object from a user’s view ([0057]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify King et al. to deactivate the mechanism of the user interface based on a determination that electrical stimulation therapy is currently in an “on” state as taught by Siegel et al. in order to “eliminate the chance of unsafe stimulation modifications” while stimulation is ongoing, and to hide the mechansim from the user interface as taught by Dettinger et al. in order to more effectively communicate to the user the loss of functionality of the mechanism on the interface, the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable. The limitation of “automatically hiding” the mechanism is broadly described and broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
Regarding claim 13, King et al. discloses the mechanism is movable in a first direction or in a second direction opposite the first direction (fig. 11b, 12b, 13b); and movement of the mechanism in the first direction or in the second direction enables the different subsets of the electrodes to become selectable for receiving programming inputs for the stimulation parameters ([0148], [0157], [0163]).
Regarding claim 14, King et al. discloses the implantable medical lead 14 includes a lead 16 on which the electrodes are located ([0053]); the user interface 52 further includes a graphical representation of the lead (fig. 11c-d, 12c, 13c); and movement of the mechanism highlights the different subsets of electrodes in the graphical representation of the lead ([0150], [0159], [0164]).
Regarding claim 15, King et al. discloses the user interface further displays a user-configurable value of one of the stimulation parameters for each highlighted subset of electrodes in the graphical representation (fig. 11c-d, 12c, 13c, 16c).
Regarding claim 17, King et al. discloses a medical system, comprising: an implantable medical device 14, the implantable medical device including a lead 16 having a plurality of electrodes (fig. 1; [0053]), wherein the implantable medical device is configured to generate electrical pulses that are deliverable to a patient via the electrodes ([0053]); and an electronic programmer 18 that includes: a graphical user interface 52 configured to receive an input from a user ([0096]) and display a visual output to the user (fig. 11b-d, 12b-c, 13b-c); a memory storage component 54 configured to store computer instructions ([0084]); and a processor component 50 configured to execute the computer instructions to perform the following operations: displaying, via the graphical user interface while the implantable medical device is not generating electrical pulses (“user interface screens that may prompt a user, such as a clinician or patient, to enter a region selection input and a therapy input” [0175]; “the therapy input may comprise an activate or deactivate PNFS command” [0094]; E.N. if the command is to activate PNFS, it would be obvious to a POSITA that stimulation therapy is currently in an off state), a a user-operable mechanism 192 configured to enable different subsets of the electrodes for electrical stimulation programming ([0148]).
King et al. does not expressly disclose automatically hiding, based on a determination that the implantable medical device is generating electrical pulses, the user-operable mechanism from the graphical user interface. Siegel et al. teaches a user interface 110 for programming stimulation parameters of an implantable medical device 88 where user-operable mechanisms (“a series of switches, dials, or buttons for changing stimulation parameters”) on the user interface 110 are deactivated based on a determination that electrical stimulation therapy is currently being delivered, in order to “eliminate the chance of unsafe stimulation modifications” ([0091]). Dettinger et al. teaches it is known in the art to effectively communicate that an object is disabled in a graphical user interface (GUI) by masking or hiding the object from a user’s view ([0057]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify King et al. to deactivate the mechanism of the user interface based on a determination that electrical stimulation therapy is currently in an “on” state as taught by Siegel et al. in order to “eliminate the chance of unsafe stimulation modifications” while stimulation is ongoing, and to hide the user-operable mechanism from the user interface as taught by Dettinger et al. in order to more effectively communicate to the user the loss of functionality of the user-operable mechanism on the interface, the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable. The limitation of “automatically hiding” the user-operable mechanism is broadly described and broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
Regarding claim 18, King et al. discloses the user-operable mechanism includes a slider 192; and as the slider is moved in a first direction or in a second direction opposite the first direction (fig. 11b, 12b, 13b), different subsets of the electrodes are enabled for the electrical stimulation programming ([0148], [0157], [0163]).
Regarding claim 19, King et al. discloses the user interface further includes a graphical representation of the lead(fig. 11c-d, 12c, 13c); and as the slider is moved in the first direction or the second direction, the different subsets of the electrodes in the graphical representation are enabled for the electrical stimulation programming ([0150], [0159], [0164]).
Regarding claim 20, King et al. discloses the user interface further displays a programmable value of stimulation parameter for each enabled subset of the electrodes in the graphical representation (fig. 11c-d, 12c, 13c, 16c); and the user interface prevents the programmable value from exceeding a dynamically calculated limit 305 (fig. 16c, [0186]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796