DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.9 /. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Specification
The specification is objected to because:
The Cross-Reference to Related Applications section in paragraph [0001] of the specification does not provide the status of U.S. application serial no. 18/490,357 (i.e., now U.S. Patent No. 12,153,827).
Abstract
The abstract is objected because:
The abstract is not clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The abstract is directed toward the class of devices typifying the invention along with, at the very least, all of the devices described in the prior art cited in this case and in parent case 15/000,812. No hint of the claimed invention is found in the abstract.
Drawings
The formal drawings are accepted.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,162,569.
For example, claim 1 of the present application teaches “An apparatus, comprising: volatile memory; non-volatile memory coupled to the volatile memory; and a controller configured to: receive, from a host device, a control signal having a first state; in response to the first state, restore previously-stored data from the non-volatile memory to the volatile memory; indicate, to the host device, an error in restoring the previously-stored data; and operate the volatile memory in response to a request based on the error from the host device”. Whereas claim 1 of Patent No. 10,162,569 teaches “An apparatus, comprising: a dynamic random access memory (DRAM); L non-volatile memory (NVM) coupled to the DRAM; L register that provides functionality to identify chip failure of the NVM associated with restoring data from the NVM to the DRAM following a loss of system power to the apparatus; L backup power source configured to provide power to the apparatus during a loss of system power to the apparatus to allow data transfer from the DRAM to the NVM; and controller configured to: receive, from a host device, a first command that is based at least in part on a loss of system power to the apparatus; transfer data from the DRAM to the NVM based at least in part on receiving the first command from the host device; receive, from the host device, a second command that is based at least in part on the system power to the apparatus being re-established; restore the data from the NVM to the DRAM upon receiving the second command from the host device; identify chip failure of the NVM in the register, the chip failure based at least in part on restoring the data from the NVM to the DRAM; and operate the apparatus based at least in part on the chip failure identified and according to instructions from a host device”.
Rationales:
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant's claim 1 broadens the scope of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 10,162,569 by eliminating several imitations “L register that provides functionality to identify chip failure of the NVM associated with restoring data from the NVM to the DRAM following a loss of system power to the apparatus; L backup power source configured to provide power to the apparatus during a loss of system power to the apparatus to allow data transfer from the DRAM to the NVM”. It is obvious the limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,162,569 read on the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. Further, it has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. See /n re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184(CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (BdPat App&int 1970); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Claims 10 of the instant application and claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,162,569 are generally directed to different statutory embodiments of the same invention. That is, claim 10 of the instant application is directed to a computer-readable medium while claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,162,569 is directed to an apparatus. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of the instant application is the computer-readable medium version of the apparatus limitations cited in claim 1 of U.S. patent no. 10,162,569. Therefore, the claims are obvious variations of each other and not patentably distinct.
Claims 15 of the instant application and claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,162,569 are generally directed to different statutory embodiments of the same invention. That is, claim 15 of the instant application is directed to a method while claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,162,569 is directed to an apparatus. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 15 of the instant application is the method version of the apparatus limitations cited in claim 1 of U.S. patent no. 10,162,569. Therefore, the claims are obvious variations of each other and not patentably distinct.
"A latter patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the latter claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obvious-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obvious-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Other parallel dependent claims of the instant application have corresponding issues with the dependent claims of Patent No. 10,359,970 are also rejected under non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sweere et al. “herein Sweere” (U.S. PN: 9,390,767) in view of Poojary et al. “herein Poojary” (U.S. PN: 10,942,815).
As per claim 1:
Sweere substantially teaches apparatus, comprising: volatile memory; non-volatile memory coupled to the volatile memory (see figures 28 and 31); and a controller configured to: receive, from a host device (see figures 28 and 31), a control signal having a first state; in response to the first state, restore previously-stored data from the non-volatile memory to the volatile memory (see col. 7, lines 19-30, col. 8, lines 33-56, col. 9, lines 13-67 to col. 10, lines 1-14, and col. 22, lines 12-67 to col.23, lines 1-17).
Sweere substantially teaches the claimed invention described in claim 1 (as indicated above).
However, Sweere does not explicitly teach indicating an error in restoring the previously-stored data and operate the volatile memory in response to a request based on the error.
Poojary, in an analogous art, teaches indicating an error in restoring the previously-stored data and operate the volatile memory in response to a request based on the error (See col. 44, lines 34-49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sweere with the teachings of Poojary by indicating an error in restoring the previously-stored data and operate the volatile memory in response to a request based on the error.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that indicating an error in restoring the previously-stored data and operate the volatile memory in response to a request based on the error would have improved the reliability of the memory system.
As per claim 2:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein the error is associated with non-volatile hardware (See col. 44, lines 34-49 in Poojary).
As per claim 3:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein the previously-stored data comprises error correction code (ECC) information (see col. 14, lines 31-45 in Sweere)
As per claim 4:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein the controller is configured to communicate with the host device via a buffer, and wherein the controller is disposed on a different die than the host device (see figure 32 element 3210 in Sweere).
As per claim 5:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach a plurality of buffers coupled to the host device, wherein the plurality of buffers comprises the buffer (see figure 32 element 3210 in Sweere).
As per claim 6:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach a flash memory corresponding to the non-volatile memory (see col. 7, lines 19-48 in Sweere).
As per claim 7:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein the controller is configured to indicate the error in a memory region accessible to the host device (See col. 44, lines 34-49 in Poojary).
As per claim 8:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein the controller is configured to receive an additional control signal from the host device; and initiate transfer of data from the volatile memory to the non-volatile memory based on the additional control signal (see col.8, lines 26-32 in Sweere).
As per claim 9:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein the additional control signal indicates a power loss (see col. 6, lines 2-13 in Sweere).
As per claims 10, and 15:
These claims are directed to a method and computer readable medium and are rejected for the same reasons as in claim 1.
As per claim11:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein the first state corresponds to a return of power to the volatile memory (see col. 6, lines 2-13 in Sweere).
As per claim12:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein indicating the error comprises indicating the error via a buffer accessible to the host device (see figure 32 element 3210 in Sweere).
As per claim13:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein restoring the previously-stored data comprises generating one or more memory-based read signals, one or more memory-based write signals, or both (see col. 8, lines 23-32 in Sweere).
As per claim14:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach receiving an additional control signal from the host device; and initiating transfer of data from the volatile memory to the non-volatile memory based on the additional control signal (see col. 8, lines 23-55 in Sweere).
As per claim16:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach initiating a transfer of data from the non-volatile memory to the volatile memory based on the control signal having the first state (see col. 8, lines 23-55 in Sweere).
As per claim 17:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein indicating the error comprises indicating the error via a buffer accessible to the host device (see figure 32 element 3210 in Sweere).
As per claim 18:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein restoring the previously-stored data comprises performing memory-based controller read and write operations relative to flash memory comprising the non-volatile memory (see col. 7, lines 19-48 in Sweere).
As per claim 19:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach receiving an additional control signal from the host device; and initiating transfer of data from the volatile memory to the non-volatile memory based on the additional control signal (see col. 8, lines 23-55 in Sweere).
As per claim 20:
The combination of Sweere and Poojary in the above rejection teach wherein the additional control signal indicates a power loss (see col. 6, lines 2-13 in Sweere).
Conclusion
/ESAW T ABRAHAM/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2112