DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frans et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0047158), hereinafter referred to as Frans, in view of Berler et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0332763), hereinafter referred to as Berler.
Referring to claim 1, Frans discloses a memory system (fig. 1) comprising: a computing device (fig. 1, SoC 110) comprising a control physical channel (fig. 1, CPHY 106); and a memory device (fig. 4, ARAMs 104) comprising a plurality of memory physical channels (fig. 1, ARAM PHY 108s); wherein at least one memory physical channel, among the plurality of memory physical channels, is connected to the control physical channel and is activated (Multiple ARAM devices may be attached to a single DQ link. If multiple ARAM devices are attached to the same set of DQ lanes within a link, the ARAM devices must be in different ranks. As each rank is enabled/disabled by its individual EN lane, the controller is able to effectively manage which rank is drawing power and can service its requests. In one embodiment, the CK, EN, CA, DQ, and ACK links are combined to form a single channel, [0049]).
While Frans teaches the computing device considers an acknowledgement signal received from the memory physical channel (One ACK link serves as the status link back from the device in this configuration, [0052]; the controller has provisioned an ACK status lane for each rank, [0073]) and activates the memory physical channel based on a determination (a single EN lane is used to enable the target device, [0052]), Fran only describes the status in terms of operations such as writes, and not with respect to determining a connection status. Therefore, Frans does not appear to explicitly disclose the computing device determines, based on an acknowledgement signal received from the memory physical channel, that the memory physical channel is connected to the control physical channel.
However, Berler teaches a technique of memory activation after receiving an acknowledgement signal (the storage controller decides whether the acknowledgement signal 214 has been received from the memory devices 110A-110N. If the answer is “YES”, at block 422 the method 400 sends the enable signal 216 and sends the enable signal 216 to the one or more memory devices 110A-110N, [0032]).
Frans and Berler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory system connection management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Frans and Berler before him or her, to modify the interconnect system of Frans to include the acknowledgement technique of Berler in order to secure the activation of the memory connections.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance security of the memory system (Berler: [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Frans and Berler to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim
As to claim 2, Frans discloses the computing device transmits and receives data utilized in an arithmetic operation through the control physical channel (CA lanes are utilized to deliver command and address packets from the CPHY 106 to the ARAM devices 104, while the DQ lanes carry read and write data between the two, [0033]; NOTE: the language “utilized in an arithmetic operation” indicates intended use with no structural difference. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim).
As to claim 3, Frans discloses the memory device receives and transmits data utilized in an arithmetic operation through the activated memory physical channel (CA lanes are utilized to deliver command and address packets from the CPHY 106 to the ARAM devices 104, while the DQ lanes carry read and write data between the two, [0033]; NOTE: the language “utilized in an arithmetic operation” indicates intended use with no structural difference. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim).
As to claim 4, while Frans discloses the computing device transmits a request signal through the control physical channel, Frans is silent regarding the use of acknowledgements.
However, Berler teaches the technique of acknowledgement requests and responses ([0032]).
The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
As to claim 5, while Frans discloses the memory device receives the request signal through the memory physical channel connected to the control physical channel and transmits a signal through the memory physical channel connected to the control physical channel, Frans is silent regarding the use of acknowledgements.
However, Berler teaches the technique of acknowledgement requests and responses ([0032]).
The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
As to claim 6, while Frans discloses the computing device: receives the signal through the control physical channel; generates an activation signal that determines the activated memory physical channel; and transmits the activation signal from an activation transmission circuit (The HBM 200 may activate or deactivate each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b according to the logic levels of the first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2, respectively, [0034], [0050], [0064]), Frans is silent regarding the use of acknowledgements.
However, Berler teaches the technique of acknowledgement requests and responses ([0032]).
The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0196633), hereinafter referred to as Yang, in view of Berler
Referring to claim 1, Yang discloses a memory system (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B) comprising: a computing device (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B, SoC) comprising a control physical channel (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B, Memory Controller PHY); and a memory device (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B, HBM) comprising a plurality of memory physical channels (fig. 1B, 2A-B, HBM PHYs); wherein at least one memory physical channel, among the plurality of memory physical channels, is connected to the control physical channel and is activated (Activation or deactivation of each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b, [0034]).
While Yang teaches the computing device receiving signals from the memory physical channel, and a step to determine to activate the memory physical channel, Yang does not describe an acknowledgement driven activation. Therefore, Yang does not appear to explicitly disclose the computing device determines, based on an acknowledgement signal received from the memory physical channel, that the memory physical channel is connected to the control physical channel and activates the memory physical channel based on the determination.
However, Berler teaches a technique of memory activation after receiving an acknowledgement signal (the storage controller decides whether the acknowledgement signal 214 has been received from the memory devices 110A-110N. If the answer is “YES”, at block 422 the method 400 sends the enable signal 216 and sends the enable signal 216 to the one or more memory devices 110A-110N, [0032]).
Yang and Berler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory system connection management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yang and Berler before him or her, to modify the interconnect system of Yang to include the acknowledgement technique of Berler in order to secure the activation of the memory connections.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance security of the memory system (Berler: [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yang and Berler to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim
As to claim 2, Yang discloses the computing device transmits and receives data utilized in an arithmetic operation through the control physical channel ([0003], [0024-0029]).
As to claim 3, Yang discloses the memory device receives and transmits data utilized in an arithmetic operation through the activated memory physical channel ([0003], [0024-0029]).
As to claim 4, while Yang discloses the computing device transmits a request signal through the control physical channel, Yang is silent regarding the use of acknowledgements.
However, Berler teaches the technique of acknowledgement requests and responses ([0032]).
The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
As to claim 5, while Yang discloses the memory device receives the request signal through the memory physical channel connected to the control physical channel and transmits a signal through the memory physical channel connected to the control physical channel, Yang is silent regarding the use of acknowledgements.
However, Berler teaches the technique of acknowledgement requests and responses ([0032]).
The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
As to claim 6, while Yang discloses the computing device: receives the signal through the control physical channel; generates an activation signal that determines the activated memory physical channel; and transmits the activation signal from an activation transmission circuit (The HBM 200 may activate or deactivate each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b according to the logic levels of the first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2, respectively, [0034], [0050], [0064]), Yang is silent regarding the use of acknowledgements.
However, Berler teaches the technique of acknowledgement requests and responses ([0032]).
The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
As to claim 7, while Yang discloses receives the activation signal through an activation reception circuit; and determines which of the plurality of memory physical channels to activate based on a bit set included in the activation signal (The different logic values may respectively correspond to different signal voltage levels. For example, when the first selection signal PS1 is at a logic high level, the first HBM PHY 202a may be activated, and, when the first selection signal PS1 is at a logic low level, the first HBM PHY 202a may be deactivated. When the second selection signal PS2 is at a logic high level, the second HBM PHY 202b may be activated, and, when the second selection signal PS2 is at a logic low level, the second HBM PHY 202b may be deactivated. The first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2 may each be received by the HBM 200 through an electrical connector (or a solder ball) of the HBM 200. The HBM 200 may activate or deactivate each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b according to the logic levels of the first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2, respectively, [0034], [0050], [0064]).
As to claim 8, Yang discloses the computing device transmits, from an activation transmission circuit, an activation signal comprising a bit set based on a connection relation between the plurality of memory physical channels and the control physical channel (The different logic values may respectively correspond to different signal voltage levels. For example, when the first selection signal PS1 is at a logic high level, the first HBM PHY 202a may be activated, and, when the first selection signal PS1 is at a logic low level, the first HBM PHY 202a may be deactivated. When the second selection signal PS2 is at a logic high level, the second HBM PHY 202b may be activated, and, when the second selection signal PS2 is at a logic low level, the second HBM PHY 202b may be deactivated. The first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2 may each be received by the HBM 200 through an electrical connector (or a solder ball) of the HBM 200. The HBM 200 may activate or deactivate each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b according to the logic levels of the first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2, respectively, [0034], [0050], [0064]).
As to claim 9, Yang discloses the memory device: receives the activation signal through an activation reception circuit; and determines which of the plurality of memory physical channels to activate based on the bit set included in the activation signal (The different logic values may respectively correspond to different signal voltage levels. For example, when the first selection signal PS1 is at a logic high level, the first HBM PHY 202a may be activated, and, when the first selection signal PS1 is at a logic low level, the first HBM PHY 202a may be deactivated. When the second selection signal PS2 is at a logic high level, the second HBM PHY 202b may be activated, and, when the second selection signal PS2 is at a logic low level, the second HBM PHY 202b may be deactivated. The first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2 may each be received by the HBM 200 through an electrical connector (or a solder ball) of the HBM 200. The HBM 200 may activate or deactivate each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b according to the logic levels of the first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2, respectively, [0034], [0050], [0064]).
Referring to claim 10, Yang discloses a memory system (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B) comprising: a computing device (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B, SoC) comprising a first control physical channel and a second control physical channel (fig. 1B, Memory Controller PHY1 and PHY2); and a first memory device (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B, HBM) comprising a first memory physical channel and a second memory physical channel (fig. 1B, 2A-B, HBM PHY1 and PHY2), wherein the first memory physical channel is activated when the first memory physical channel is connected to one of the first control physical channel and the second control physical channel, and the second memory physical channel is activated when the second memory physical channel is connected to one of the first control physical channel and the second control physical channel (Activation or deactivation of each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b, [0034], [0050], [0064]).
While Yang teaches the computing device receiving signals from the first memory physical channel or the second memory channel, a configuration in which the first memory physical channel and the second memory physical channel is connected to the first control physical channel or the second control physical channel, and a step to activate a determine memory physical channel, Yang does not describe an acknowledgement driven activation. Therefore, Yang does not appear to explicitly disclose the computing device determines, based on an acknowledgement signal received from the first memory physical channel or the second memory physical channel, which of the first memory physical channel and the second memory physical channel is connected to the first control physical channel or the second control physical channel, and activates the determined memory physical channel based on the determination.
However, Berler teaches a technique of memory activation after receiving an acknowledgement signal (the storage controller decides whether the acknowledgement signal 214 has been received from the memory devices 110A-110N. If the answer is “YES”, at block 422 the method 400 sends the enable signal 216 and sends the enable signal 216 to the one or more memory devices 110A-110N, [0032]).
Yang and Berler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory system connection management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yang and Berler before him or her, to modify the interconnect system of Yang to include the acknowledgement technique of Berler in order to secure the activation of the memory connections.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance security of the memory system (Berler: [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yang and Berler to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim
As to claim 11, Yang discloses when the first memory physical channel is connected to the first control physical channel, the first memory physical channel is activated, and the second memory physical channel is deactivated (Activation or deactivation of each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b, [0034], [0050], [0064]).
As to claim 12, Yang discloses the first memory device receives and transmits data utilized in an arithmetic operation through the first memory physical channel ([0003], [0024-0029]).
As to claim 13, Yang discloses when the second memory physical channel is connected to the first control physical channel, the first memory physical channel is deactivated, and the second memory physical channel is activated (Activation or deactivation of each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b, [0034], [0050], [0064]).
As to claim 14, Yang discloses the first memory device receives and transmits data utilized in an arithmetic operation through the second memory physical channel ([0003], [0024-0029]).
As to claim 15, while Yang teaches up to a third memory physical channel (fig. 2B, PHY3), the first control physical channel and the second control physical channel (fig. 1B, PHY 1 112a, PHY 2 112b), and memory physical channel activation (Activation or deactivation of each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b, [0034], [0050], [0064]), Yang does not appear to teach the specific architecture of a fourth memory physical channel, wherein the third memory physical channel is activated when the third memory physical channel is connected to one of the first control physical channel and the second control physical channel, and the fourth memory physical channel is activated when the fourth memory physical channel are connected to one of the first control physical channel and the second control physical channel.
However, the second memory and the third and fourth memory physical channel instances appear to be merely a duplication of the first and memory and the first and second memory physical channel instances, and “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)) (See MPEP 2144.04.VI.B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yang because the duplication of parts does not appear to produce a new and unexpected result beyond duplicating the number of components.
As to claim 16, while Yang teaches up to a third memory physical channel (fig. 2B, PHY3), the first control physical channel and the second control physical channel (fig. 1B, PHY 1 112a, PHY 2 112b), and memory physical channel activation and deactivation (Activation or deactivation of each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b, [0034], [0050], [0064]), Yang does not appear to teach the specific architecture of when the third memory physical channel is connected to the second control physical channel, the third memory physical channel is activated, and the fourth memory physical channel is deactivated.
However, the second memory and the third and fourth memory physical channel instances appear to be merely a duplication of the first and memory and the first and second memory physical channel instances, and “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)) (See MPEP 2144.04.VI.B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yang because the duplication of parts does not appear to produce a new and unexpected result beyond duplicating the number of components.
As to claim 17, while Yang teaches up to a third memory physical channel (fig. 2B, PHY3), the memory device receives and transmits data utilized in an arithmetic operation through the memory physical channel ([0003], [0024-0029]), Yang does not appear to teach the specific architecture of the second memory device receives and transmits data utilized in an arithmetic operation through the third memory physical channel.
However, the second memory and the third and fourth memory physical channel instances appear to be merely a duplication of the first and memory and the first and second memory physical channel instances, and “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)) (See MPEP 2144.04.VI.B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yang because the duplication of parts does not appear to produce a new and unexpected result beyond duplicating the number of components.
Referring to claim 18, Yang discloses a memory system (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B, 4-5) comprising: a base chip (fig. 5, interposer 502); and a memory chip (fig. 5, DRAM die 240a/b/c/d) stacked on or over the base chip and connected to the base chip using a through silicon via (TSV) (fig. 5, DRAM die stack 240 may include the TSVs 262, [0053]), wherein the base chip comprises a selector configured to connect, based on a selection signal, an output circuit (fig. 5, controller PHY 212, [0033]) to one of a first memory physical channel and a second memory physical channel (A line for the first selection signal PS1 for selecting and activating the first HBM PHY 202a and a line for the second selection signal PS2 for selecting and activating the second HBM PHY 202b may be arranged at the interposer 502, [0055]).
While Yang teaches generating the selection signal for the first memory physical channel and the second memory physical channel connected to a computing device, Yang does not describe making the selection based on a determination of a connection. Therefore, Yang does not appear to explicitly disclose the selection signal is generated based on a determination of which of the first memory physical channel and the second memory physical channel is connected to a computing device.
However, Berler teaches a technique of selection based on a determination of a connection (the storage controller decides whether the acknowledgement signal 214 has been received from the memory devices 110A-110N. If the answer is “YES”, at block 422 the method 400 sends the enable signal 216 and sends the enable signal 216 to the one or more memory devices 110A-110N, [0032]).
Yang and Berler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory system connection management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yang and Berler before him or her, to modify the interconnect system of Yang to include the acknowledgement technique of Berler in order to secure the activation of the memory connections.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance security of the memory system (Berler: [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yang and Berler to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim
As to claim 19, Yang discloses each of the first memory physical channel and the second memory physical channel includes a physical connection that transmits data utilized in an arithmetic operation to a computing device and that receives the data utilized in the arithmetic operation from the computing device ([0003], [0024-0029]).
As to claim 20, Yang discloses the selector connects the first memory physical channel to the output circuit based on the selection signal when the first memory physical channel is connected to the computing device (A line for the first selection signal PS1 for selecting and activating the first HBM PHY 202a and a line for the second selection signal PS2 for selecting and activating the second HBM PHY 202b may be arranged at the interposer 502, [0055]).
As to claim 21, Yang discloses the selector: receives the selection signal is at a logic level (Activation or deactivation of each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b may be determined according to the logic level of each of the first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2, [0034]) determined based on a connection relation between the second memory physical channel and the computing device; and connects the second memory physical channel to the output circuit based on the logic level of the selection signal (A line for the first selection signal PS1 for selecting and activating the first HBM PHY 202a and a line for the second selection signal PS2 for selecting and activating the second HBM PHY 202b may be arranged at the interposer 502, [0055]).
As to claim 22, Yang discloses the output circuit is a TSV physical channel that transmits data through the TSV for a write operation on the memory chip and receives data through the TSV for a read operation on the memory chip (interface circuit 112 may…write data to the HBM 100 and receiving read data output from the HBM 100, [0026]; The HBM 200 may include a plurality of through silicon vias (TSVs) 262 penetrating or extending through the DRAM dies…TSVs 262 may include components for inputting/outputting data of 1024 bits…TSVs 262 may be arranged between the pseudo channels CH6a and CH6b of the sixth channel CH6 and between pseudo channels CH8a and CH8b of the eighth channel CH8, [0049], [0053]).
As to claim 23, Yang discloses the output circuit is an interface conversion circuit that converts data between a first interface and a second interface (a physical or electrical layer and a logical layer provided for signals, frequencies, timings, drivers, detailed operation parameters, and functionality needed for an efficient communication between, [0025]; Note: regarding the limitation “converts data”, the Specification indicates the scope as encompassing “convert data into an electrical, optical, or electromagnetic signal and convert signals into data” which is covered by the signaling taught by Yang).
Referring to claim 24, Yang discloses a method comprising: transmitting a request signal from a plurality of control physical channels (fig. 1B, Memory Controller PHY1 and PHY2) included in a computing device (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B, SoC) to a plurality of memory physical channels (fig. 1B, 2A-B, HBM PHY1 and PHY2) included in a memory device (fig. 1A-B, 2A-B, HBM); in response to receiving the request signal, transmitting a signal from a subset of the plurality of memory physical channels included in the memory device to a subset of the plurality of control physical channels included in the computing device (A CPU 110a may control the HBM PHYS 102a and 102b to perform some of a plurality of computational jobs in the HBM 100a in parallel. However, the buses 130a and 130b and the controller PHYs 112a and 112b arranged in correspondence to the HBM PHYs 102a and 102b may be beneficial for processing jobs in parallel and/or increasing data bandwidth in the HBM 100a according to a request of the CPU, [0030); in response to receiving the signal, generating an activation signal indicating which of the subset of the plurality of memory physical channels is connected to which of the subset of the plurality of control physical channels; transmitting the activation signal to the memory device; and in response to receiving the activation signal, activating, by the memory device, the subset of the plurality of memory physical channels (The different logic values may respectively correspond to different signal voltage levels. For example, when the first selection signal PS1 is at a logic high level, the first HBM PHY 202a may be activated, and, when the first selection signal PS1 is at a logic low level, the first HBM PHY 202a may be deactivated. When the second selection signal PS2 is at a logic high level, the second HBM PHY 202b may be activated, and, when the second selection signal PS2 is at a logic low level, the second HBM PHY 202b may be deactivated. The first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2 may each be received by the HBM 200 through an electrical connector (or a solder ball) of the HBM 200. The HBM 200 may activate or deactivate each of the first HBM PHY 202a and the second HBM PHY 202b according to the logic levels of the first selection signal PS1 and the second selection signal PS2, respectively, [0034], [0050], [0064]).
While Yang teaches activation of the subset of the plurality of memory physical channels is connected to the subset of the plurality of control physical channels, Yang does not describe an acknowledgement driven activation. Therefore, Yang does not appear to explicitly disclose the determining, based on the acknowledgement signal, which of the subset of the plurality of memory physical channels is connected to which of the subset of the plurality of control physical channels.
However, Berler teaches a technique of memory activation after receiving an acknowledgement signal (the storage controller decides whether the acknowledgement signal 214 has been received from the memory devices 110A-110N. If the answer is “YES”, at block 422 the method 400 sends the enable signal 216 and sends the enable signal 216 to the one or more memory devices 110A-110N, [0032]).
Yang and Berler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory system connection management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yang and Berler before him or her, to modify the interconnect system of Yang to include the acknowledgement technique of Berler in order to secure the activation of the memory connections.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance security of the memory system (Berler: [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yang and Berler to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments to the independent claims 1, 10, 18, and 24.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner has cited particular column, line, and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in its entirety as potentially teaching of all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
Applicants seeking an interview with the examiner, including WebEx Video Conferencing, are encouraged to fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form (http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html). See MPEP §502.03, §713.01(11) and Interview Practice for additional details.
Contact Information
/ERIC T OBERLY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2184