DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “absorption member configured to draw the fragrance from the container to the ambient environment” in claim 21.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, the absorption member will be understood to be a channel and core wick as disclosed in the specification [0051] and all structural equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the first curved surface" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To cure the issue, it is suggested that Applicant delete the term “curved” or amend the “first surface” recited in lines 17-18 of claim 21 to recite “a first curved surface.” For examination purposes, the claim will be understood to be referring to the “first surface” recited in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-27, 29, 33, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 20170368219 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/5/2025).
Regarding claim 21, Li teaches an electronic candle device (Fig. 2A, 200), comprising:
an outer shell (Fig. 2A, 204) comprising at least a first opening positioned at a top section of the outer shell and configured to allow a fragrance to exit to an ambient environment of the electronic candle device (Fig. 2A, top surface 214 has opening to allow a fragrance to exit, [0051]), the outer shell further comprising a central opening (Fig. 2A, top surface 214 has opening to allow a fragrance to exit, [0051]),
a movable flame element at least partially protruding through the central opening of the outer shell (Fig. 2A, 201, [0050-0052]); the movable flame element supported by a support structure (Fig. 2A, support 220) to allow movement of the movable flame element that mimics a real flame [0052];
a light emitting component positioned to emit a light onto the movable flame element ([0052]),
a mounting base positioned below the movable flame element, wherein at least part of the mounting base is enclosed by the outer shell (Fig. 2A, scent bottle housing 209 understood to be mounting base),
a scent storage component removably coupled to the mounting base (Fig. 2A, scent bottle 208 is removably coupled to mounting base 209 [0057]), the scent storage component comprising:
a container to store a fragrance (Fig. 2A, 208), and
an absorption member configured to draw the fragrance from the container to the ambient environment of the electronic candle device through a fragrance dispersing port and the first opening of the outer shell (scent bottle can contain a wick understood to be an absorption member functionally capable of drawing scented material from scent storage component to ambient environment through a fragrance dispersing port and the first opening at the top of the shell [0059-0061]).
wherein a main body of the mounting base comprises a limiting protrusion, and a part of the container facing the main body comprises a first surface comprising a groove that matches the limiting protrusion (Fig. 2A, scent bottle housing 209 can comprise threaded protrusions configured to face and couple to grooves contained on scent bottle 208 [0061]), and
wherein the container further comprises a second curved surface opposite the first surface of the container that couples to the mounting base (Fig. 2A, container contains cylindrical [curved] surface that couples to mounting base 209, [0061]).
Regarding claim 22, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21, wherein a curvature of the first curved surface corresponds to a curvature of the outer shell (Fig. 2A, curvature of first curved surface [cylindrical housing 209] corresponds to a curvature of outer shell 204).
Regarding claim 23, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21, wherein a top part of the mounting base is formed as a clamp to allow a top end of the container to be securely coupled to the mounting base (Fig. 2A, top part of mounting base 209 is circumferential and understood to function as a clamp to allow the secure fastening of container 208, [0057]).
Regarding claim 26, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21, wherein the support structure comprises a bracket that supports the movable flame element (Fig. 2A, support structure 220 understood to be a bracket, [0052]).
Regarding claim 27, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21, wherein the movable flame element comprises a magnet, and the electronic candle device comprises: a magnetic coil positioned below the movable flame element configured to alter a magnetic field to enable the movement of the movable flame element (movable flame element comprises a magnet and device comprises a magnetic coil below flame element to produce a magnetic field and move the flame element [0047], [0052]).
Regarding claim 29, Li teaches he electronic candle device of claim 21, wherein the light emitting component is positioned to illuminate the movable flame element from within the outer shell at an upward inclined angle (light source shines light on flame element 201 from within the flame assembly 202 through the opening on top surface 214 = understood to at an upward angle, [0052]).
Regarding claim 33, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21, wherein the scent storage component comprises a top part positioned above the absorption member (Fig. 2A, storage component 208 has a top portion that protrudes into the device = understood to be positioned above absorption member contained within storage component 208, [0057]).
Regarding claim 35, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21, further comprising:
a control unit configured to control an operation of the electronic candle device (device contains switches and a remote-control device configured to control operation of the electronic candle device [0054-0056] = understood to comprise a control unit); and
a power plug assembly mounted to the mounting base (Fig. 2A-C, wireless charging base 213 is coupled to mounting base 209 via charging coils 212 [0051], [0063-0064] understood to be a power plug assembly), the power plug assembly configured to connect to a power source to provide power to the control unit (power assembly understood to provide power to the electronic candle device including the control switches [0054]).
Regarding claim 37, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21, further comprising: a ring support positioned around the outer shell (Fig. 2C, outer shell 204 supported by ring supports 224 and 225 [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170368219 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/5/2025) in view of Li (US 20180292058 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Li ‘058) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/5/2025).
Regarding claim 24, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21 but does not teach wherein the mounting base comprises an indicator configured to indicate a remaining amount of fragrance in the container. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with identifying how much fragrance is left in the electronic candle motivating one to turn towards Li ‘058.
Li ‘058 teaches an electronic candle device wherein the device comprises an observation window (Fig. 1, 126) built into a shell of the device that allows a user to see if there is sufficient scent material [0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting base and outer shell as taught by Li to include the observation window as taught by Li ‘058 because Li ‘058 teaches the observation window to allow a user to see if there is sufficient scent material [0052]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 25, Modified Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 24, wherein the indicator is positioned close to a middle section of the container (Li ‘058, Fig. 1, observation window 126 positioned in middle section of container).
Claim(s) 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170368219 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/5/2025) in view of Li (US 10010640 B1) (hereinafter referred to as “Li ‘640) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/5/2025).
Regarding claim 28, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21, including a light emitting component ([0052]) but does not teach wherein the light emitting component comprises one or more light emitting diodes configured to emit a same color or different colors. One having ordinary skill in the art would be determined to identify an optimal lighting component to simulate a flame in an electronic candle device, motivating one to turn towards Li ‘640.
Li ‘640 teaches an electronic candle device comprising a flame element (Fig. 2B, 170) configured to be illuminated by LED light sources and a lens to simulate a flame (col. 16, lns. 37-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting component as taught by Li with the lens and LED light sources as taught by Li ‘064 because Li ‘064 teaches the LED light sources and a lens to illuminate a flame component to simulate a flame in a lifelike manner (col. 16, lns. 37-59). See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 30, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 29 but does not teach wherein the device further comprising a lens positioned between the light emitting component and the movable flame element configured to direct the light from the light emitting component to the movable flame element. One having ordinary skill in the art would be determined to more accurately simulate a flame element motivating one to turn towards Li ‘640.
Li ‘640 teaches an electronic candle device comprising a flame element (Fig. 2B, 170) configured to be illuminated by LED light sources and a lens to simulate a flame (col. 16, lns. 37-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting component as taught by Li with the lens and LED light sources as taught by Li ‘064 because Li ‘064 teaches the LED light sources and a lens to illuminate a flame component to simulate a flame in a lifelike manner (col. 16, lns. 37-59). See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170368219 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/5/2025).
Regarding claim 31, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 21 but does not teach wherein the absorption member comprises an absorption channel and a core wick, and wherein a bottom end of the core wick is in contact with the fragrance held in the container and a top end of the core wick extends into a chamber of the container. However, Li contemplates further embodiments of the electronic candle device, including an embodiment (Fig. 3A, device 300) that includes an absorption member (Fig. 3A, wick 313) that includes a core wick (Fig. 3A, 313) configured to have one end that contacts a fragrant liquid and another end that extends into a chamber of the device ([0071], [0075]). Li also teaches wherein the wick is housed by a circumferential structure that prevents the wick from being inserted further into a fragrance container (understood to be an absorption channel, [0080]) and is surrounded by a heater mechanism (Fig. 3A, 314) to controllably diffuse said fragrant liquid from a top end of the device [0071].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the absorption member as taught by the first embodiment of Li (Fig. 2A, [0052]) with the absorption member as taught by the second embodiment of Li (Fig. 3A, wick 313 and heater 314) because Li teaches the second absorption member to controllably diffuse the amount of scent delivered to an ambient space [0071] and this involves the substitution of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and 2143(I)(G).
Claim(s) 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170368219 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/5/2025) further in view of Munteanu (US 4915301 A).
Regarding claim 32, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 31, including a core wick (Fig. 3A, 313) but does not teach wherein the core wick is wrapped with a water-resistance membrane configured to prevent a loss of the fragrance in case the electronic candle device is tilted sideways. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with how to drive diffusion of a fragrant liquid through an absorbent wick without allowing the egress of excess liquid fragrance, motivating one to turn towards Munteanu.
Munteanu teaches a fragrance diffuser (abstract) comprising an absorbent wick (Fig. 1, 15) disposed within a fragrant liquid (Fig. 2, 23), wherein the absorbent wick is connected to a membrane that permits only the volatile diffusion of the fragrance without allowing the collection of liquid fragrance on its surface (col. 4, lns. 33-54, understood to be a water-resistance membrane).
Li and Munteanu are considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to fragrance dispensers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wrap the top of the core wick as taught by Li to be connected to the membrane as taught by Munteanu because Munteanu teaches the membrane to allow for the selective egress of a volatile fragrant, substance without allowing a liquid fragrance to pass through and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Accordingly, the combined disclosures of Li and Munteanu are understood to yield a core wick that is functionally capable of preventing the loss of a liquid fragrance in the case that the electronic candle device is tilted sideways.
Regarding claim 34, Modified Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 33 but does not teach wherein the scent storage component further comprises a cap positioned above to prevent dust from collecting on the absorption member. One having ordinary skill in the art would seek to prevent the leaking of scent from the scent storage compartment while also allowing the egress of fragrance from the absorption member, motivating one to turn towards Munteanu.
Munteanu teaches a fragrance diffuser (abstract) comprising an absorbent wick (Fig. 1, 15) disposed within a fragrant liquid (Fig. 2, 23), wherein the absorbent wick is connected to a membrane that permits only the volatile diffusion of the fragrance without allowing the collection of liquid fragrance on its surface (col. 4, lns. 33-54, understood to be a water-resistance membrane).
Li and Munteanu are considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to fragrance dispensers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cover top of the core wick as taught by Li to be connected to the membrane as taught by Munteanu because Munteanu teaches the membrane to allow for the selective egress of a volatile fragrant, substance without allowing a liquid fragrance to pass through and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Accordingly, the combined disclosures of Li and Munteanu are understood to yield a core wick that is covered by a membrane functionally capable of preventing dust from accumulating on the core wick positioned underneath.
Claim(s) 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170368219 A1) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/5/2025) in view of Chien (US 20110287665 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Li teaches the electronic candle device of claim 35 wherein the power plug assembly comprises a power cord [0063-0064] but does not teach wherein the power plug assembly comprises an adaptor configured to interface with universal interchangeable plugs. One having ordinary skill would be concerned with enabling a user to connect the electronic candle device to a plurality of plugs, regardless of the wall outlet type, motivating one to turn towards Chien.
Chien teaches a universal outlet module for electronic devices (understood to be an adaptor, [abstract]) configured to allow the mating of a power cord to a plurality of outlet types (Fig. 1, [0026]).
Chien is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to electrical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power plug assembly as taught by Li with the universal outlet adaptor as taught by Chien to enable a user to connect the electronic candle device to a plurality of plugs, regardless of the wall outlet type and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 20070022642 A teaches a device that provides both fragrance dispensing and light to a space.
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758