DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, third to last line recites “flow path,” which was already recited in the fourth line of the same claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Landemoo et al. (WO 2026/005693 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Landemoo discloses a stator (20) comprising:
a stator core (26); and
a coil (56),
wherein the stator core (26) includes:
teeth (27), wherein the coil (56) is wound around the teeth (27);
a plurality of slots (28) partitioned by the teeth (27); and
a flow path (37) configured to communicate with the plurality of slots (28) an outer circumference of the stator core (26) through the stator core (26) and the teeth (27) and allow oil to be supplied through the flow path (37).
Regarding claim 2/1, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 1. Landemo further discloses wherein the flow path (37) comprises:
a supply flow path (38, 41) formed, along a circumferential direction, on the outer circumference of the stator core (126).
Regarding claim 3/2, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 2. Landemoo further discloses wherein the flow path (37) further comprises:
an extension flow path (40) extending from the supply flow path (38, 41) in a radially inward direction of the stator core (26).
Regarding claim 4/3, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 2. Landemoo further discloses wherein the flow path (37) further comprises:
an axial flow path (42) configured to communicate with the extension flow path (40) and arranged inside the plurality of slots (28).
Regarding claim 5/4, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 4. Landemoo further discloses a connection flow path (54) extending through the teeth (27) and configured to connect the extension flow path (40) and the axial flow path (42).
Regarding claim 6/1, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 1. Landemoo further discloses a gutter (32) disposed inside at least one slot of the plurality of slots (28) and configured to retain the oil inside the at least one slot (28).
Regarding claim 10, Landemoo discloses a cooling system (44) for a motor (4), the cooling system (44) comprising:
a stator (20);
an oil chamber (50) disposed at a lower portion of the stator (20);
a pump (48) configured to direct oil in the oil chamber (50) toward a flow path (37) of the stator (20); and
a heat exchanger (52) configured to exchange heat with the oil,
wherein the stator (20) includes:
a stator core (26); and
a coil (56), and
wherein the stator core (26) includes:
teeth (27), wherein the coil (56) is wound around the teeth (27);
a plurality of slots (28) partitioned by the teeth (27); and
a flow path (37) configured to communicate with the plurality of slots (28) from an outer circumference of the stator core (26) through the stator core (26) and the teeth (27) and allow oil to be supplied through the flow path (37).
Regarding claim 11, Landemoo discloses a motor (4) comprising:
a stator (20) including a stator core (26) and a coil (56); and
a rotor (22) configured to be rotatable relative to the stator (20),
wherein the stator core (26) includes:
teeth (27), wherein the coil (56) is wound around the teeth (27);
a plurality of slots (28) partitioned by the teeth (27); and
a flow path (37) configured to communicate with the plurality of slots (28) from an outer circumference of the stator core (26) through the stator core (26) and the teeth (27) and allow oil to be supplied through the flow path (37).
Regarding claim 12/11, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 11. Landemoo further discloses wherein the flow path (37) comprises:
a supply flow path (38, 41) formed, along a circumferential direction, on the outer circumference of the stator core (126).
Regarding claim 13/12, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 12. Landemoo further discloses wherein the flow path (37) further comprises:
an extension flow path (40) extending from the supply flow path (38, 41) in a radially inward direction of the stator core (26).
Regarding claim 14/13, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 12. Landemoo further discloses wherein the flow path (37) further comprises:
an axial flow path (42) configured to communicate with the extension flow path (40) and arranged inside the plurality of slots (28).
Regarding claim 15/14, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 14. Landemoo further discloses an air gap (34) provided between the stator (20) and the rotor (22),
wherein the axial flow path (42) is formed near the air gap (34).
Regarding claim 16/11, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 11. Landemoo further discloses a gutter (32) arranged inside at least one slot of the plurality of slots (28) and configured to retain the oil inside the at least one slot (28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landemoo et al. (WO 2026/005693 A1) in view of Bradfield (US 2013/0264897 A1).
Regarding claim 7/6, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 6. Landemoo does not disclose the gutter is an insulating paper configured to wrap the coil.
Bradfield discloses the gutter (58) is an insulating paper (slot liner) configured to wrap the coil (28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Landemoo in view of Bradfield to disclose the gutter is an insulating paper configured to wrap the coil, as it is well known that slot liners allows the coil to be electrically insulated from the stator core to prevent short circuiting.
Regarding claim 8/6, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 6. Landemoo does not disclose the gutter comprises:
a plurality of holes formed in an upper portion of the gutter.
Landemoo does disclose that upper portion of the gutter can be open (FIG. 5c).
Bradfield discloses the gutter (58) comprises:
a plurality of holes (60; ¶ [0025] slot hole can be located at other areas along the axial length of the slot liner) formed in an upper portion of the gutter (58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Landemoo in view of Bradfield to disclose a plurality of holes formed in an upper portion of the gutter, as Landemoo already discloses the gutter open on the upper portion, modifying the gutter to have holes as disclosed in Bradfield would have the advantages of stronger structural support of the gutter.
Regarding claim 9/1, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 1. Landemoo does not disclose the stator core is a laminated core in which a plurality of electrical steel plates is laminated, and
the flow path is formed by at least two electrical steel plates having different sectional shapes among the plurality of the electrical steel plates.
Bradfield discloses the stator core (26) is a laminated core (26; FIG. 3D) in which a plurality of electrical steel plates is laminated, and
the flow path (42, 46, 54) is formed by at least two electrical steel plates (3A, 3D) having different sectional shapes (FIG. 3A discloses notches 50 and FIG. 3B discloses notches 52) among the plurality of the electrical steel plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Landemoo in view of Bradfield to disclose the stator core is a laminated core in which a plurality of electrical steel plates is laminated, and the flow path is formed by at least two electrical steel plates having different sectional shapes among the plurality of the electrical steel plates, as laminated core allows reduction in eddy current, heat and hysteresis loss, improving efficiency and motor life by running cooler than a solid core.
Regarding claim 17/16, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 16. Landemoo does not disclose the gutter is an insulating paper configured to wrap the coil.
Bradfield discloses the gutter (58) is an insulating paper (slot liner) configured to wrap the coil (28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Landemoo in view of Bradfield to disclose the gutter is an insulating paper configured to wrap the coil, as it is well known that slot liners allows the coil to be electrically insulated from the stator core to prevent short circuiting.
Regarding claim 18/16, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 16. Landemoo does not disclose the gutter comprises:
a plurality of holes formed in an upper portion of the gutter.
Landemoo does disclose that upper portion of the gutter can be open (FIG. 5c).
Bradfield discloses the gutter (58) comprises:
a plurality of holes (60; ¶ [0025] slot hole can be located at other areas along the axial length of the slot liner) formed in an upper portion of the gutter (58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Landemoo in view of Bradfield to disclose a plurality of holes formed in an upper portion of the gutter, as Landemoo already discloses the gutter open on the upper portion, modifying the gutter to have holes as disclosed in Bradfield would have the advantages of stronger structural support of the gutter.
Regarding claim 19/11, Landemoo was discussed above in claim 11. Landemoo does not disclose the stator core is a laminated core in which a plurality of electrical steel plates is laminated, and
the flow path is formed by at least two electrical steel plates having different sectional shapes among the plurality of the electrical steel plates.
Bradfield discloses the stator core (26) is a laminated core (26; FIG. 3D) in which a plurality of electrical steel plates is laminated, and
the flow path (42, 46, 54) is formed by at least two electrical steel plates (3A, 3D) having different sectional shapes (FIG. 3A discloses notches 50 and FIG. 3B discloses notches 52) among the plurality of the electrical steel plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Landemoo in view of Bradfield to disclose the stator core is a laminated core in which a plurality of electrical steel plates is laminated, and the flow path is formed by at least two electrical steel plates having different sectional shapes among the plurality of the electrical steel plates, as laminated core allows reduction in eddy current, heat and hysteresis loss, improving efficiency and motor life by running cooler than a solid core.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834