DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite. The phrase “a length greater than a preselected threshold” fails to provide clear scope, as the “preselected threshold” is undefined. While dependent claims 4 and 5 clarify that the threshold is 16 inches, claim 3 alone leaves the threshold open-ended and ambiguous.
Any unspecified claim is rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. In light of the above, the claims will be further treated on the merits as best understood only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voigt (US 2014/0352190 A1).
Voigt ’190 discloses: a firearm comprising a frame (Fig. 1, element 12 — receiver/frame); a barrel having a rear barrel portion and a forward barrel portion removably connected to each other (¶¶ [0043]–[0047]; Figs. 3–4 — barrel extension portion 34 and forward barrel portion 32, threaded/mating engagement); and an elongated barrel nut configured to connect to the forward portion of the barrel and to the frame (¶ [0048]; Figs. 1, 3–4 — elongated barrel nut/handguard 40 threaded into the receiver 12 and bearing against forward barrel portion 32). Thus, Voigt ’190 discloses all elements of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Voigt ’190 in view of Parra (US 2021/0114174 A1).
Voigt ’190 discloses the firearm of claim 1. However, in Voigt ’190 the nut bears against structures associated with both portions. Parra ’174 (¶¶ [0035]–[0040], Figs. 2–3 — collar 50 clamping only the forward barrel portion, isolated from the rear barrel portion) teaches a barrel nut that is free of contact with the rear barrel portion. It would have been obvious to modify the arrangement of ’190 to adopt the practice of isolating the nut to engage only the forward barrel portion, as taught by Parra ’174, to reduce stress and improve modular interchangeability.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Voigt ’190 in view of Parra (US 2017/0131052 A1).
Voigt ’190 discloses the firearm of claim 1 but does not expressly recite a preselected threshold length. Parra ’052 teaches that regulatory requirements impose a threshold barrel assembly length of greater than 16 inches (¶ [0022]; Figs. 5–6 — assembly length >16 inches). It would have been obvious to specify in ’190 that the combined length of the forward and rear barrel portions is greater than a threshold length, in order to comply with firearm regulations.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Voigt ’190 in view of Parra ’052.
Parra ’052 further discloses that each of the forward barrel portion and the rear barrel portion is less than the threshold individually (¶ [0024] — each portion being <16 inches, but together >16 inches). It would have been obvious to configure the barrel portions of ’190 accordingly, providing compact storage while meeting the required threshold when assembled.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Voigt ’190 in view of Parra ’052.
Parra ’052 specifies that the threshold length is 16 inches (¶ [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adopt the recognized regulatory limit of 16 inches as the threshold length in ’190.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Voigt ’190 in view of Voigt (US 2017/0321981 A1).
Voigt ’190 discloses the firearm of claim 1. Voigt ’981 teaches that at least one of the barrel portions can be rifled (¶ [0038]; Figs. 2–3 — rifled forward barrel portion, optional smooth rear). It would have been obvious to provide rifling in at least one portion to enhance ballistic performance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,188,735.
Claim 1 of the instant application recites a frame, a barrel with rear and forward portions removably connected to each other, and an elongated barrel nut configured to connect to the forward portion of the barrel and to the frame. Claim 1 of the ’735 patent recites a firearm with a frame, a rear barrel portion having a chamber, a forward barrel portion connected to the rear barrel portion, and an elongated barrel nut connecting the barrel assembly to the frame. The scope of claim 1 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the ’735 patent, as both require the same core structure of a multi-piece barrel assembly secured to the frame by an elongated barrel nut. The difference in phrasing that the nut connects to the forward portion, rather than engaging the barrel assembly generally, does not render the claim patentably distinct, because the nut in the ’735 patent necessarily engages the forward portion in order to secure the assembly.
Claim 2 of the instant application further recites that the nut is free of contact with the rear barrel portion. The ’735 patent (claims 1 and 3) disclose a nut primarily engaging the forward portion of the barrel assembly. The absence of direct contact with the rear portion is an obvious design alternative that does not render the subject matter patentably distinct.
Claims 3–5 of the instant application recite a preselected threshold length (>16 inches overall, with each piece <16 inches). Claim 4 of the ’735 patent specifies that the overall assembly achieves a 16-inch or greater barrel length while each portion is less than 16 inches. These limitations are identical in scope, and the minor difference in claim wording does not patentably distinguish the subject matter.
Claim 6 of the instant application recites rifling in at least one of the barrel portions. Claim 5 of the ’735 patent recites that either portion may be rifled, both may be rifled, or one may be smooth. The instant claim is fully encompassed by, and thus not patentably distinct from, claim 5 of the ’735 patent.
Accordingly, claims 1–6 of the instant application are not patentably distinct from the claims of the ’735 patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
*Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant. Applicant is welcome to file an electronic communication authorization (sb439) form at any time if he/she would like to communicate via e-mail:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdfWithout a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application.
/MICHAEL D DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641