DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 have been presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/3/25 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-25, 28-32 and 35-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,153,387. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21-25, 28-32 and 35-39 of the instant application are anticipated by patent claims 1-15 in that the patent claims contain all the limitations of the instant application claims.
Application No. 18/959173
US Pat. No. 12,153,387
Claim 21: A manufacturing system, comprising:
Claim 1: A manufacturing system, comprising:
one or more process stations configured to execute a manufacturing process;
one or more process stations configured to execute a manufacturing process;
a station control system configured to control the one or more process stations; and
a station control system configured to control the one or more process stations; and
a controller in communication with the one or more process stations and the station control system, the controller configured to perform operations comprising:
a controller in communication with the one or more process stations and the station control system, the controller configured to perform operations comprising:
initiating the manufacturing process across the one or more process stations by providing operating instructions to the station control system;
initiating the manufacturing process across the one or more process stations by providing operating instructions to the station control system;
receiving actual output from the one or more process stations in the manufacturing process based on the operating instructions;
receiving actual output from the one or more process stations in the manufacturing process based on the operating instructions;
predicting, using a deep learning processor, expected values for the one or more process stations based on the operating instructions;
predicting, using a deep learning processor, expected values for the one or more process stations based on the operating instructions;
determining, based on a comparison between the actual output from the one or more process stations and the expected values for the one or more process stations that the actual output deviates from the expected values; and
determining, based on a comparison between the actual output from the one or more process stations and the expected values for the one or more process stations that the actual output deviates from the expected values; and
based on the determining, generating, by the deep learning processor, a proposed state change to the manufacturing process to reduce a deviation between the actual output and the expected values to achieve a key performance indicator of the manufacturing process, wherein the proposed state change brings the expected values within a statical process control.
based on the determining, generating, by the deep learning processor, a proposed state change to the manufacturing process to reduce a deviation between the actual output and the expected values to achieve a key performance indicator of the manufacturing process, wherein the proposed state change is within equipment limits of the one or more process stations and within a user specification that is narrower than the equipment limits.
The instant applicant defines in the specification that the statistical process control (SPC) “provides alerts if and when specific process deviates from normal operation” [0031]. Normal operation is interpreted as being analogous to “within equipment limits”.
Independent claims 28 and 35 mimic patent claims 6 and 11 respectively in a substantially similar manner illustrated above.
Dependent claims 22-25, 29-32 and 36-39 are substantially identical to patent claims 2-5, 7-10 and 12-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 27, 28-30, 34 and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Putman et al [Putman] PGPUB 2020/0401119.
Referring to claim 21, Putman teaches the manufacturing system comprising:
one or more process stations configured to execute a manufacturing process [0020-0021];
a station control system configured to control the one or more process stations [0023]; and
a controller in communication with the one or more process stations and the station control system, the controller configured to perform operations [Fig. 2 and 0037] comprising:
initiating the manufacturing process across the one or more process stations by providing operating instructions to the station control system [0047, 0061];
receiving actual output from the one or more process stations in the manufacturing process based on the operating instructions [0042, 0051-0052];
predicting, using a deep learning processor, expected values for the one or more process stations based on the operating instructions [0056];
determining, based on a comparison between the actual output from the one or more process stations and the expected values for the one or more process stations that the actual output deviates from the expected values [0056]; and
based on the determining, generating, by the deep learning processor, a proposed state change to the manufacturing process to reduce a deviation between the actual output and the expected values to achieve a key performance indicator of the manufacturing process, wherein the proposed state change brings the expected values within statistical process control [0031, 0063, 0067, 0080, 0083-0084]. The controller detects deviation from the expected/in-spec values (SPC) and generates a proposed change to reduce that deviation, driving the process toward an optimal value for a selected parameter (KPI).
Referring to claim 22, Putman teaches receiving actual output from the process stations at various phases [0042, 0057].
Referring to claim 23, Putman teaches adjusting process setpoints in accordance with the proposed state change [0067, 0073-0077].
Referring to claim 27, Putman teaches determining the expected values are in statistical process by comparing the expected values to an average process value [0026, 0029-0031].
Referring to claims 28-30, 34 and 35-37, these are rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove with respect to claims 21-23 and 27. Putman teaches the system and therefore teaches the method and program performing the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-26, 31-33 and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Putman as applied to claims 21-23, 27, 28-30, 34 and 35-37 above, and further in view of Fan et al1 [Fan] PGPUB 2019/0187635.
Referring to claims 24-26, while Putman teaches optimizing specified design and process values through comparing actual and expected outputs and adjusting accordingly [0063], it is not explicitly taught that the process is performed through simulation. Fan teaches a similar environment where an AI is trained and continues during deployment [0055, 0058]. Fan further teaches that operation includes simulating the changes and adjusts as necessary based on the observed simulation results [0073, 0078, 0081]. It would have been obvious to include the teachings of Fan into Putman because while Putman teaches predicting “expected values”, it is not explicitly taught what mechanism is used for the prediction. Fan provides the required mechanism to predict process change outcomes and does so via simulation. Therefore, including the simulation into Putman would allow for the required prediction to occur.
Referring to claims 31-33 and 38-40, these are rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
/MARK A CONNOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 8/20/26
1 Cited by applicant