DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Furusho (US 20060086560 A1) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2008056224 A-Machine Translation Provided).
Regarding claim 1, Furusho teaches a method for measuring a rack force acting on a rack of a steering mechanism (Fig 1) [of a steering system for a motor vehicle] (“The present invention relates to a vehicle steering apparatus which comprises an actuator for applying an axial torque to a steering column shaft.” para 0001), [in which the rack 4 (Fig 1) is movable in a longitudinal direction in the steering mechanism and is coupled to at least one steerable wheel 10 (Fig 1) via at least one track rod ] (“Steering mechanism (steering rack) 4 steers steered wheels 10 by converting the rotation of steering column shaft 5 into a vehicle lateral movement..” para 0039), comprising:
[measuring the rack force as a reaction force] (“At step S6 subsequent to step S5, virtual steering model 82 executes a target steering angle calculation of the virtual steering model, based on the virtual steering model input torque trq.sub.g produced at step S5 and the rack axial force read from rack axial force sensor 9.” Para 0067 and “Rack axial force sensor 9 detects an axial force applied to rack 4 and outputs the detected rack axial force to controller 8.” Para 0039). Furusho further teaches the reaction force is measured by at least one electric force sensor 9 (Fig 1, “Rack axial force sensor 9 detects an axial force applied to rack 4 and outputs the detected rack axial force to controller 8.” Para 0039).
Furusho does not explicitly teach the rack force measurement is between the steering mechanism and a body part supporting the steering mechanism in the longitudinal direction.
Yamamoto teaches an equivalent steering rack mechanism (Figs 6 and 11) [wherein a [rack force reaction force measurement] (“The proximity switch 55a is
arranged in the vicinity of the elastically deformable output shaft housing fixing portion 18 to be fixed to 11,” para 0065) is between the steering mechanism 12 (Fig 11) and a body part 18 (Fig 11) [supporting the steering mechanism in the longitudinal direction] (“The proximity switch 55a is arranged in the vicinity of the elastically deformable output shaft housing fixing portion 18 to be fixed to 11, and the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 based on the reaction force acting on the rack shaft 13 from the wheel 20 through the tie rod 14 is configured. The displacement is detected by the proximity switch 55a, and the direction of the road surface reaction force is detected based on the output signal of the proximity switch.” para 0065). Yamamoto further teaches the equivalent steering mechanism 12,13 (Fig 1) [that is retained elastically displaceably on the body part] 18 (Figs 1 and 2a-2b and 11, “18 is an elastically deformable output shaft housing fixing portion for fixing the output shaft housing to the vehicle body frame 11,” para 0036) , [and a relative displacement between the steering mechanism 12,13 and the body part 18 , produced by the reaction force, is detected] (“A prismatic output shaft housing fixing portion 18 is fixed to the vehicle body frame 11, and the output shaft housing 12 is fixed to the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 with screws 23. Since the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 is made of an elastic material, when the road surface reaction force in the direction of arrow a along the axial direction of the rack shaft acts on the rack shaft 13, the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 moves in the direction of arrow a. It elastically deforms and bends in proportion to the magnitude of the reaction force, and recovers when the reaction force disappears.” (emphasis added) para 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the rack force measuring device with a body part and steering rack of Yamamoto with the steering mechanism of Furusho with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a way to measure the reaction force of the rack relative to a secure body part. By using the body part of Yamamoto the reaction force can be measured between the rack and the body part and provide a more accurate force output.
Regarding claim 2, Furusho fully teaches the rack 4 (Fig 1) [is driven manually and/or by a motor] (“Steering torque sensor 2 is disposed on steering column shaft 5 between assist motor 6 and steering wheel 1. Steering torque sensor 2 detects a torsion of a torsion bar, which is produced by a driver's steering torque, and outputs the detected torsion to controller 8.” Para 0038 and “A brushless DC motor is employed as assist motor 6 in the first embodiment. A motor output shaft of assist motor 6 is connected to steering column shaft 5 through reduction gear 7 and outputs an assist torque of assisting the driver's steering torque to steering column shaft 5.” Para 0040)
Regarding claim 3, Furusho fully teaches the steering mechanism has a motor drive unit 6 (Fig 1, para 0037).
Regarding claim 4, Furusho and Yamamoto fully teach the reaction force is measured by at least one electric force sensor (See modification of Furusho and Yamamoto in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Furusho and Yamamoto fully teach the steering mechanism is retained elastically displaceably on the body part, and a relative displacement between the steering mechanism and the body part, produced by the reaction force, is detected (See modification of Furusho and Yamamoto in claim 1 above).
Claims 5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Furusho and Yamamoto in further view of HOLTHAUS (WO 2021233622 A1 Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided in Present OA).
Regarding claim 5, Furusho and Yamamoto teach the method of claim 1, but do not teach the reaction force is measured on a fastener with which the steering mechanism is connected to the body part.
Holthaus teaches a reaction force is measured on a fastener 5 (Fig 1, “Furthermore, the sensor component 1 has a component structure 3. In this exemplary embodiment, the magnetic field sensor 2 is arranged within the component structure 3. The shape of the sensor component 1 is fixed by means of the component structure 3. The component structure 3 forms a type of sensor housing of the sensor component 1. The component structure 3 is designed as a screw for producing a screw connection. The component structure 3 has a screw head 4 and a screw-in bolt 5. The screw-in bolt 5 is formed in one piece with the screw head. In this exemplary embodiment, the magnetic field sensor 2 is arranged within the screw bolt 5. The magnetic field sensor 2 is embedded here, for example, in the screw-in bolt 5, as a result of which the magnetic field sensor 2 is encapsulated against external environmental influences.” pg 10 para 25) with which the screw is connected to a chassis (“The first chassis component 21 or the bearing 14 is connected to a further chassis component 22 by means of the component structure 3 of the sensor component 1, which is designed as a screw. For this purpose, the external thread 8 of the screw-in bolt 5 is screwed into a correspondingly designed internal thread 23 of the further chassis component 22” pg 14 para 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the fastener of Holthaus with the force sensor and steering mechanism of Furusho and Yamamoto with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a secure way to install the sensor onto the steering mechanism and body part. By using the screw of Holthaus, the sensor is not only protected from the elements, and the screw can secure the sensor to the steering mechanism and provide more accurate force sensor readings and the sensor is more securely attached to the steering mechanism as a whole.
Regarding claim 7, Furusho teaches a steering system (Fig 1) [ for a motor vehicle comprising a steering mechanism] (para 0037), [in which a rack 4 (Fig 1) is movable in a longitudinal direction and is coupled to at least one steerable wheel 10 (Fig 1)] (“Steering mechanism (steering rack) 4 steers steered wheels 10 by converting the rotation of steering column shaft 5 into a vehicle lateral movement.” para 0039), and wherein a force measuring device 9 (Fig 1 ) [for determining the rack force acting on the rack is provided] (“Rack axial force sensor 9 detects an axial force applied to rack 4 and outputs the detected rack axial force to controller 8.” Para 0039). Furusho further teaches the reaction force is measured by at least one electric force sensor 9 (Fig 1, “Rack axial force sensor 9 detects an axial force applied to rack 4 and outputs the detected rack axial force to controller 8.” Para 0039).
Furusho does not teach the steering mechanism is connected to the wheels, and the steering mechanism has at least one fastener designed to be connected to a body part and at least one fastener has a force measuring device.
Yamamoto teaches an equivalent steering mechanism 10 (Fig 1) that connects the wheels 20 (Fig 1) via at least one track rod 14 (Fig 1, “A tie rod 14 is connected to the tip of the rack shaft 13 via a ball joint 15, and a knuckle arm 16 of a steering mechanism is connected to the tie rod 14 via a ball joint 41. Reference numeral 20 denotes a wheel. Reference numeral 30 denotes a magnetoresistive change type displacement sensor provided in the elastically” para 0037). Yamamoto further teaches body part 18 (Fig 11) [supporting the steering mechanism in the longitudinal direction] (“The proximity switch 55a is arranged in the vicinity of the elastically deformable output shaft housing fixing portion 18 to be fixed to 11, and the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 based on the reaction force acting on the rack shaft 13 from the wheel 20 through the tie rod 14 is configured. The displacement is detected by the proximity switch 55a, and the direction of the road surface reaction force is detected based on the output signal of the proximity switch.” para 0065).
Yamamoto further teaches an equivalent steering mechanism 12,13 (Fig 1) [that is retained elastically displaceably on the body part] 18 (Figs 1 and 2a-2b, “18 is an elastically deformable output shaft housing fixing portion for fixing the output shaft housing to the vehicle body frame 11,” para 0036) , [and a relative displacement between the steering mechanism 12,13 and the body part 18 , and a force measuring device 30 (Fig 1) is designed to detect a relative displacement between the steering mechanism 12,13 and body part 18] (“A prismatic output shaft housing fixing portion 18 is fixed to the vehicle body frame 11, and the output shaft housing 12 is fixed to the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 with screws 23. Since the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 is made of an elastic material, when the road surface reaction force in the direction of arrow a along the axial direction of the rack shaft acts on the rack shaft 13, the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 moves in the direction of arrow a. It elastically deforms and bends in proportion to the magnitude of the reaction force, and recovers when the reaction force disappears.” (emphasis added) para 0040 and “Reference numeral 30 denotes a magnetoresistive change type displacement sensor provided in the elastically deformable output shaft housing fixing portion 18 according to the first embodiment.” Para 0037).
Yamamoto further teaches an equivalent steering mechanism 10 (Fig 1), with a housing 12 (Fig 1) in which the rack 13 (Fig 1) [is supported] (“In FIG. 1, 11 is a vehicle body frame, 12 is an output shaft housing, 13 is a rack shaft, 18 is an elastically deformable output shaft housing fixing portion for fixing the output shaft housing to the vehicle body frame 11,” para 0036) and has a fastener (“A prismatic output shaft housing fixing portion 18 is fixed to the vehicle body frame 11, and the output shaft housing 12 is fixed to the output shaft housing fixing portion 18 with screws 23.” para 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the rack force measuring device with a body part and steering rack of Yamamoto with the steering mechanism of Furusho with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a way to measure the reaction force of the rack relative to a secure body part. By using the body part and steering rack of Yamamoto the reaction force can be measured between the rack and the body part and provide a more accurate force output.
While Furusho and Yamamoto teach the steering mechanism, they do not explicitly teach the steering mechanism has at least one fastener designed to be connected to the body part, wherein at least one fastener has a force measuring device.
Holthaus teaches one fastener 5 (Fig 1) [designed to be connected to a body part] (“The first chassis component 21 or the bearing 14 is connected to a further chassis component 22 by means of the component structure 3 of the sensor component 1, which is designed as a screw. For this purpose, the external thread 8 of the screw-in bolt 5 is screwed into a correspondingly designed internal thread 23 of the further chassis component 22” para 0033) and at least one fastener 5 (Fig 1) [has a force measuring device] (“The shape of sensor component 1 is defined by the component structure 3. Component structure 3 forms a kind of sensor housing for sensor component 1. Component structure 3 is designed as a screw for creating a screw connection.” para 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the fastener of Holthaus with the force sensor and steering mechanism and body part of Furusho and Yamamoto with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a secure way to install the sensor onto the steering mechanism and body part. By using the screw of Holthaus, the sensor is not only protected from the elements, and the screw can secure the sensor to the steering mechanism and provide more accurate force sensor readings and the sensor is more securely attached to the steering mechanism as a whole.
Regarding claim 8, Furusho and Yamamoto and Holthaus fully teaches the force measuring device has at least one electric force sensor (See modification of Furusho and Yamamoto and Holthaus in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 9, Furusho and Yamamoto and Holthaus fully teaches the steering mechanism is retained elastically displaceably on the body part, and the force measuring device is designed to detect a relative displacement between the steering mechanism and the body part (See modification of Furusho and Yamamoto and Holthaus in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 10, Furusho and Yamamoto and Holthaus fully teaches a fastener has a force sensor (See modification of Furusho and Yamamoto and Holthaus in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 11, Furusho and Yamamoto and Holthaus fully teaches the steering mechanism has a housing, in which the rack is supported and which has a fastener (See modification of Furusho and Yamamoto and Holthaus in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 12, Furusho fully teaches the rack 4 (Fig 1) [is driven manually and/or by a motor] (“Steering torque sensor 2 is disposed on steering column shaft 5 between assist motor 6 and steering wheel 1. Steering torque sensor 2 detects a torsion of a torsion bar, which is produced by a driver's steering torque, and outputs the detected torsion to controller 8.” Para 0038 and “A brushless DC motor is employed as assist motor 6 in the first embodiment. A motor output shaft of assist motor 6 is connected to steering column shaft 5 through reduction gear 7 and outputs an assist torque of assisting the driver's steering torque to steering column shaft 5.” Para 0040).
Regarding claim 13, Furusho fully teaches the steering mechanism has a motor drive unit 6 (Fig 1, para 0037).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mayer (US 20200114952 A1) teaches an electric power steering mechanism with a sensor configured to detect an operating parameter of the steering rack or an electric motor, and an electronic controller.
Tamaizumi (US 20140343794 A1) teaches an electric power steering system that makes it possible to improve the driver's steering feel, and that includes a controller that controls driving of a motor. The controller computes a first assist component based on a steering torque.
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611