DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There is a total of 18 claims and claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's argument, filed on February 12, 2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 17 and 18 are amended and claim 19 has been added. Claims 1-19 are pending.
The rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
4. On pages 8-9 applicant argues "Filippov fails to disclose or suggest at least "obtaining an indication from the bitstream indicative of information related to a gradient linear model (GLM), wherein the GLM is used to obtain one or more filtered values based on intensity differences among luma samples," as claimed in claim 1. While the applicant's argument points are understood, the examiner respectfully disagrees it is because Filippov discloses [pg. 3, line 13-17]- wherein the second or third relationship (such as either Tables 2 or Table 3) between a plurality of filters and the values of the width and a height of the current block is determined on the basis of the number of the luma samples belonging to the current block; examiner considers that gradient linear model (GLM) and [ see Tables 2 or Table 3]-examiner considers that as intensity of luma sample.
Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILIPPOV et al.(WO 2021/045654 A2; given by applicant in the IDS) in view of Ma et al. (US 2021/0297656 A1 ).
Regarding claim 1, FILIPPOV discloses a method for decoding video data([see in Fig. 4-5]- an encoding apparatus or a decoding apparatus), comprising:
obtaining a bitstream([see in Fig. 3]-in Fig. 3, encoded picture data 21 which a bitstream, also decoded picture data 331 or bitstream); obtaining an indication from the bitstream indicative of information related to a gradient linear model (GLM)([ pg. 4, In 29 to pg. 5, In 3; pg. 18, In 1-6, and see Fig. 12A and 12C]- (e.g. a method of decoding implemented by a decoding device, comprising: parsing from a bitstream a plurality of syntax elements, wherein the plurality of syntax elements include a syntax element which indicates a selection of a filter for a luma sample belonging to a block (such as a selection of a luma filter of CCLM, in particular, a SPS flag, such as sps_cclm_colocated_chroma_flag, pg. 4, In 29 to pg. 5, In 3; e.g. The luminance (or short luma) component Y represents the brightness or grey level intensity (e.g. like in a grey-scale picture),pg. 18, In 1-6; e.g. fetching of luma reference samples with respect to the position of the predicted block relative to a block boundary. In specific, when chroma format is specified as YUV 4:2:2 and chroma and luma components are collocated (shown as "Chroma sample type 2" and "Chroma sample type 4" in Fig.10B), sampling from a luma component could be performed with different offsets relative to the top side of a luma block (see Fig.12A and Fig 12C), examiner consider this luma sample brightness or grey level intensity as gradient linear model (GLM)).
However, does not explicitly disclose wherein the GLM is used to obtain one or more filtered values based on intensity differences among luma samples; and decoding the video data based on the information related to the GLM.
In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the GLM is used to obtain one or more filtered values based on intensity differences among luma samples ([see in Fig. 6B, 6C, and Fig. 17]- luma template likewise need to be down-sampled in order to derive the linear model coefficients for the MDLM modes. For the CCLM_T mode, top neighboring reconstructed luma samples are down-sampled to generate reference samples for the top template that correspond to the reference samples in the top chroma template, i.e. the top neighboring reconstructed chroma samples. The down-sampling of the top neighboring reconstructed luma samples typically involves multiple rows of top neighboring reconstructed luma samples), and decoding the video data based on the information related to the GLM([para 0047]- the device for decoding video data allows the CCLM_L and CCLM_T to be represented using binary strings and be included in the bitstream of a video signal at the encoding device and be decoded at the decoding device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Ma to the modified system of Imai(Primary) methods for encoding and decoding an image which can improve the efficiency of cross-component linear model prediction (CCLM), thereby improving the coding efficiency of a video signal [Ma; para 0004].
Regarding claim 2, FILIPPOV discloses whether the GLM is enabled, which one or more directions of a number of directions is used for the GLM([pg. 108, In 17-31; pg. 4, In 29 to pg. 5, In 3)]- The plurality of syntax elements may include a second syntax element, the second syntax element is used to indicate that an intra prediction mode used for current decoding is CCLM mode. The CCLM mode includes INTRA_ LT_ CCLM, INTRA L CCLM or INTRA_ T CCLM intra prediction mode), or which filter pattern of a number of filter patterns is used for the GLM([pg. 41, In 6-8),)]- a method of processing luma samples that are used as an input data to determine parameters of a linear model. The method includes determination of two filters that are conditionally applied in vertical and horizontal directions).
Regarding claim 3, FILIPPOV discloses obtaining a linear model based at least on the one or more filtered values obtained by the GLM([pg. 4, In 29 to pg. 5, In 3; pg. 34, In 30 to pg. 35, In 3; pg. 108, In 17-31]- parsing from a bit stream a plurality of syntax elements, wherein the plurality of syntax elements include a syntax element which indicates a selection of a filter for a luma sample belonging to a block (such as a selection of a luma filter of CCLM, in particular, a SPS flag, such as sps cclm co located_ chroma_ flag)); wherein the decoding the video data comprises predicting chroma component of the video data by applying the linear model to luma component of the video data([pg. 4, In 20-28; pg. 18, In 23-33]- generating a bitstream including a plurality of syntax elements, wherein the plurality of syntax elements include a syntax element which indicates a selection of a filter for a luma sample belonging to a block (such as a selection of a luma filter of CCLM, in particular, a SPS flag, such as sps _ cclm colocated chroma_ flag).).
Regarding claim 4, FILIPPOV discloses which one or more directions of a number of directions is used for the GLM, which filter pattern of a number of filter patterns is used for the GLM, or which region is used for the GLM to derive parameters of the linear model([pg. 34, In 30 to pg. 35, In 3 ).]- When a chroma block is coded using CCLM, a linear model is derived from the reconstructed neighboring luma and chroma samples by linear regression. The chroma samples in the current block can then be predicted by the reconstructed luma samples in the current block with the derived linear model).
Regarding claim 5, FILIPPOV discloses wherein the linear model comprises:
a simple linear regression (SLR) model([pg. 34, In 30 to pg.
35, In 3]); or a multiple linear regression (MLR) model([pg. 116, ln 15-17]- multi-directional linear model (MDLM)).
Regarding claim 6, Ma discloses wherein the indication indicative of the information related to the GLM is obtained according to at least one of: a coding mode of the video data; a size of a video block of the video data; or signaling in the bitstream([para 0292]- he subset of supported partition types may be signaled in the bitstream for use by decoder 200).
Regarding claim 7, FILIPPOV discloses wherein the indication indicative of the information related to the GLM is signaled in Sequence Parameter Set (SPS)( )([pg. 11, ln 6]-Slice header SH), Picture Header (PH), Slice Header (SH)([pg. 11, ln 5]- SPS: sequence parameter set), Coding Tree Unit (CTU)([pg. 9, ln 24]- Coding Tree Unit), or Coding Unit (CU) level)([pg. 9, ln 25]- Coding Unit).
Regarding claim 8, FILIPPOV discloses wherein the indication indicative of the information related to the GLM is signaled separately or jointly for Cr and Cb components([(pg. 17, In 32 to pg. 18, In 11; pg. 35, In 26 to pg. 36, In 3)]- in video coding each pixel is typically represented in a luminance and chrominance format or color space, e.g. YCbCr, which comprises a luminance component indicated by Y (sometimes also Lis used instead) and two chrominance components indicated by Cb and Cr. The luminance ( or short luma) component Y represents the brightness or grey level intensity (e.g. like in a grey-scale picture), while the two chrominance (or short chroma) components Cb and Cr represent the chromaticity).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 9 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 18 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, FILIPPOV discloses wherein chroma format of the video data is 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 ([pg. 4, lines 1-2]- YCbCr 4:4:4 chroma format, YCbCr 4:2:0 chroma format, YCbCr 4:2:2 chroma format, or Monochrome).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. Wahadaniah et al., US 2013/0142260 A1, discloses an image coding method is an image coding method for predicting chrominance according to a linear model, using luminance of an image.
2. Aharon et. al., US 2016/0212373 A1, discloses a video processing tool such as a video encoder system packs sample values of an input picture into first and second coded pictures.
3. Chang et al., US 2007/0237237 A1, discloses a video encoder detects gradient slope content in a video picture by checking for gradient directions for plural regions (e.g., 16.times.16 macroblocks) in the video picture comprising plural pixels.
4. Zhang et al., US 2021/0092395 A1, discloses , low complexity implementations for the cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode in video coding.
5. Zhang et al., US 2022/0038714 A1, discloses determining to use, for a conversion between a current block of a video and a bitstream representation of the video, a gradient value computation algorithm for an optical flow tool; and performing, based on the determining.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487