DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2025 was filed before the mailing date of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
The claims filed 11/25/2024 are examined herein.
Claims 1-20 are pending and original.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent.
Double Patenting
U.S. Patent No. 11,100,511 B2
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,100,511 B2 in view of Moghadam (US 2013/0200146 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 4, the claims share substantially similar limitations as reference claim 1 drawn to two mobile applications on a mobile device, launching via a link, a local server on a port, passing the port in a link, and then using the local connection to transfer data between apps. The reference claim does not explicitly recite, but Moghadam teaches: receiving, by a first application executing on a processor of a mobile device, encrypted data from a contactless card (see para. 0034, wherein data read by contactless credit card NFC is encrypted, as known in the art); transmitting, by the first application, the encrypted data to a server for verification (see para. 0036-0037); receiving, by the first application from the server, an indication that the encrypted data was verified (see para. 0036-0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of reference claim 1 to include the features of Moghadam because a need exists to allow users to easily enter a funding card into a mobile/cloud wallet (see Moghadam, para. 0007).
Regarding claim 3, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 7.
Regarding claim 5, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 6.
Regarding claim 6, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 5.
Regarding claims 8-20, the claims recite product and apparatus claims comprising functional language corresponding to method claims 1-7 and are similarly rejected over the reference claims.
U.S. Patent No. 11,676,152 B2
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,676,152, B2 in view of Moghadam (US 2013/0200146 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, the claims share substantially similar limitations as reference claim 1 drawn to two mobile applications on a mobile device, launching via a link, a local server on a port, passing the port in a link, and then using the local connection to transfer data between apps. The reference claim does not explicitly recite, but Moghadam teaches: receiving, by a first application executing on a processor of a mobile device, encrypted data from a contactless card (see para. 0034, wherein data read by contactless credit card NFC is encrypted, as known in the art); transmitting, by the first application, the encrypted data to a server for verification (see para. 0036-0037); receiving, by the first application from the server, an indication that the encrypted data was verified (see para. 0036-0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of reference claim 1 to include the features of Moghadam because a need exists to allow users to easily enter a funding card into a mobile/cloud wallet (see Moghadam, para. 0007).
Regarding claim 5, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 7.
Regarding claims 8-20, the claims recite product and apparatus claims comprising functional language corresponding to method claims 1-7 and are similarly rejected over the reference claims.
U.S. Patent No. 12,159,285 B2
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,159,285 B2.
Regarding claims 1-4, the claims share substantially similar limitations as reference claim 1 drawn to two mobile applications on a mobile device, launching via a link, a local server on a port, passing the port in a link, and then using the local connection to transfer data between apps. The reference claim does not explicitly recite, but Moghadam teaches: receiving, by a first application executing on a processor of a mobile device, encrypted data from a contactless card (see para. 0034, wherein data read by contactless credit card NFC is encrypted, as known in the art); transmitting, by the first application, the encrypted data to a server for verification (see para. 0036-0037); receiving, by the first application from the server, an indication that the encrypted data was verified (see para. 0036-0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of reference claim 1 to include the features of Moghadam because a need exists to allow users to easily enter a funding card into a mobile/cloud wallet (see Moghadam, para. 0007).
Regarding claim 5, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, the claim shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 7.
Regarding claims 8-20, the claims recite product and apparatus claims comprising functional language corresponding to method claims 1-7 and are similarly rejected over the reference claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moghadam (US 2013/0200146 A1) in view of Wang (US 2020/0326953 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Moghadam discloses a method, corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see para. 0057), and corresponding computing apparatus with processor/memory (see para. 0056), comprising:
receiving, by a first application executing on a processor of a mobile device, encrypted data from a contactless card (see para. 0034, wherein data read by contactless credit card NFC is encrypted, as known in the art);
transmitting, by the first application, the encrypted data to a server for verification (see para. 0036-0037);
receiving, by the first application from the server, an indication that the encrypted data was verified (see para. 0036-0037);
Moghadam does not explicitly disclose, but Wang teaches:
initiating, by the first application, a local server on a port (see para. 0052);
generating, by the first application, a link directed to a second application executing on the processor, wherein a parameter of the link comprises the port (see para. 0021, 0052); and
accessing, by a mobile operating system (OS) executing on the processor, the second application based on the link (see para. 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, product, and apparatus of Moghadam to include the features of Wang. The combination teaches the claim limitation “based on the received verification” because the wallet application may be used/launched after a card is added.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to launch the application and avoid erroneous redirection to a download page (see Wang, para. 0012).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Wang teaches receiving, by the first application, a unique identifier of the second application, wherein the generated link is based on the unique identifier (see para. 0021, 0052).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Wang teaches registering by the first application, the local server and/or the first application as a background task with the mobile OS (see para. 0047, wherein the first app remains active while invoking the second app to start a local socket in the background).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Wang teaches wherein the port is selected by the first application from a plurality of ports (see para. 0053).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moghadam (US 2013/0200146 A1) in view of Wang (US 2020/0326953 A1), further in view of van Elsas (US 2014/0075428 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Wang teaches opening a URI using a system API (0034). However, Moghadam and Wang do not explicitly disclose, but van Elsas teaches: validating, by the first application using an application programming interface (API) of the mobile OS, at least a portion of the link (see para. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Moghadam further to include the feature of van Elsas.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to determine whether a custom URL scheme can be opened (see van Elsas, para. 0038).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. This is subject to filing of a Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art does not anticipate or render obvious the limitations of claims 4, 11, and 18, considered as a whole and in ordered combination. Specifically, the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed sequence in which the first application receives data associated with an account from a server and then transmits the data to a second application via a connection with a local server using the port. Wang is directed to invoking an application and confirming launch by using a URI and port-based local connection to determine whether the second application was successfully invoked, but does not teach or suggest using the connection to deliver server-returned account data from the first application to the second application.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are also allowable over the prior art by virtue of dependence on claims 4, 11, or 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Isaacs (US 2013/0226991 A1) discloses techniques for rendering a webview in a host application. A webview in a host application is identified, the webview including at least one function call to a first function. Additionally, one or more application-specific URL values corresponding to a URL command scheme for the host application are identified. A URL scheme object is populated with the identified one or more application-specific URL values, the populated URL scheme object including a function definition for the first function that is associated with a first one of the one or more application-specific URL values. The populated URL scheme object is then inserted into the identified webview, such that when the webview is rendered and one of the at least one function calls is made, the function definition in the inserted URL scheme object is executed to transmit a request to an address portion of the first application-specific URL value.
/ERIC T WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693
ERIC WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3693