DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
It appears that the period at the end of claim 1 has been replaced by a comma. Please correct the punctuation a the end of claim 1 such that it ends with a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 2020/0356325) in view of Teshima et al. (US 2019/0265636; “Teshima”).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses an apparatus 100 (Figs. 1-2 [0013]) to which a plurality of cartridges (consumables 110; Figs. 1-2 [0015, 0020]) to be used in image formation on a recording material is attachable, the apparatus comprising:
a lock member 120 configured to lock the plurality of cartridges attached from being removed (Figs. 1-2 [0021]); and
a control unit 132/134/136 configured to switch a state of the lock member between a locked state in which the plurality of cartridges is locked from being removed and an unlocked state in which the lock of the plurality of cartridges from being removed is cleared (Figs. 1-2 [0023, 0030]),
a display unit 400A/444A/460A configured to display a message (Fig. 4A [0041])
wherein, in a contract state in which a contract of using a specific cartridge delivered from a service provider is made, in a case where at least one of the plurality of cartridges attached is the specific cartridge, the control unit switches the state of the lock member to the locked state ([0022, 0028-0030]; Apparatus 100 selectively locks/unlocks consumable 110 in response to certain parameters, which may be policies, permissions, and/or restrictions from a service contract. This implies that the control unit would switch the state of the lock member to the locked state.), and based on satisfaction of a predetermined unlock condition (e.g., consumable contains greater than a specific amount of printing materials or any printing material or a duration of time for which access to a non-empty consumable may be provided), switches the state of the lock member to the unlocked state ([0022, 0028-0030]).
Smith does not explicitly disclose the display unit configured to display a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value.
Smith, however, discloses the display unit configured to display a message that the consumable is locked because it still contains supplies and is not due for replacement (see Fig. 4A). As such, it is clear that Smith is configured to determine when a remaining operating life value is determined to meet some threshold value. Smith fails to display a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value.
Teshima teaches a similar apparatus that releases a lock member when a consumable reaches a life end state (Fig. 5). Teshima further teaches a display unit 50 (Fig. 2) configured to display a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value, such as those shown in TABLE 2 (steps S102-S105 in Fig. 5 [0050-0051]).
Utilizing the teachings of Teshima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the display unit of Smith to display a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to inform a user that the life of the cartridge is coming to an end, thereby potentially avoiding print quality degradation.
Regarding claim 2, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, (see Smith) in an uncontracted state in which the contract is not made, the lock member is brought into the unlocked state by the control unit. ([0022, 0028-0030]; Apparatus 100 selectively locks/unlocks consumable 110 in response to certain parameters, which may be policies, permissions, and/or restrictions from a service contract. Because the lock member is in the locked state in a contracted state, it is implied that the lock member is brought into the unlocked state in an uncontracted state.)
Regarding claim 3, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein (see Smith) the cartridges each include a memory storing information (identification number) indicating the specific cartridge, and wherein the control unit determines, based on the information in the memory included in each attached cartridge, whether the cartridge is the specific cartridge (Figs. 7A-7B [0033, 0036-0037]; although not explicitly disclosed, each cartridge must include a memory storing the identification number information and remaining toner).
Regarding claim 4, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein (see Smith) the display unit is further configured to display a message indicating that the lock member is brought into the locked state (Fig. 4A [0041]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein (see Smith) the display unit is further configured to display a clearance condition (information displayed on 460A and 462A) for clearing the locked state, when the lock member is brought into the locked state (Fig. 4A [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the clearance condition is that a remaining operating life value indicating a remaining operating life of the cartridge is equal to or smaller than the threshold value (see Teshima [0050-0051] and TABLE 2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Smith teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the cartridges each include a container storing toner (Figs. 7A-7B).
Modified Smith is silent regarding further details of the consumable, and therefore fails to explicitly teach a photosensitive member on which an electrostatic latent image is to be formed, and a development unit configured to develop the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive member with the toner, and wherein the control unit acquires the remaining operating life value based on one or more of an accumulated time obtained by accumulating times of rotation of the photosensitive member, an accumulated distance obtained by accumulating distances of movement of a surface of the photosensitive member by the rotation of the photosensitive member, and a remaining toner amount in the toner container.
Teshima teaches a similar apparatus that releases a lock member when a consumable reaches a life end state (Fig. 5). The consumable 12 includes a photosensitive member 13 on which an electrostatic latent image is to be formed, and a development unit 16 configured to develop the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive member 13 with toner(Fig. 1 [0026-0027]). Further, a control unit 60/61 (Figs. 1 & 4) acquires a remaining operating life value based on one or more of an accumulated time obtained by accumulating times of rotation of the photosensitive member, an accumulated distance obtained by accumulating distances of movement of a surface of the photosensitive member by the rotation of the photosensitive member, and a remaining toner amount in the toner container ([0040-0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a photosensitive member on which an electrostatic latent image is to be formed and a development unit configured to develop the electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive member with the toner within the consumable, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. In this instance, the predictable result would be a consumable that enables the printing that is a required function of the imaging device of Smith.
It would have further been obvious for the control unit to acquire a remaining operating life value based on one or more of an accumulated time obtained by accumulating times of rotation of the photosensitive member, an accumulated distance obtained by accumulating distances of movement of a surface of the photosensitive member by the rotation of the photosensitive member, and a remaining toner amount in the toner container. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the consumable to be replaced when the shortest life information/remaining operating life value indicated the end of life for the consumable.
Regarding claim 8, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein (see Smith) the cartridge includes a container storing toner (Figs. 7A-7B), and wherein the control unit acquires the remaining operating life value (number of pages able to be printed) based on a remaining toner amount in the toner container (Figs. 7A-7B).
Regarding claim 9, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein (see Smith) the specific cartridge is a dedicated consumable unit ([0021]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein (see Smith) the contract is a subscription contract with a fixed fee (i.e., a fee to rent or lease an imaging device for a certain duration of time) or a page-basis fee to be charged on image formation using the specific cartridge ([0015]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising (see Smith) a door 350A configured to enable access to a consumable unit attached to the apparatus in an opened state, and disable the access in a closed state, wherein the lock member locks the door in the closed state (Figs. 3A-3B [0021, 0026, 0039]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Smith discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising (see Smith) a storage unit (non-volatile memory) storing information indicating a contract state of the apparatus, wherein the control unit determines whether the apparatus is in a state in which the contract is made, based on the information stored in the storage unit ([0028]), and wherein, in an uncontracted state in which the contract is not made, the control unit shifts the apparatus from the uncontracted state to the contract state in accordance with a notification indicating a start of the contract received from a server apparatus (i.e., remote system) configured to perform communication via a network ([0032]), and updates the information stored in the storage unit ([0022, 0028-0030]; Apparatus 100 selectively locks/unlocks consumable 110 in response to certain parameters, which may be policies, permissions, and/or restrictions from a service contract. This implies that the apparatus can be switched from an uncontracted state to a contracted state. Further, some information would be updated in order to control the lock member accordingly.)
Regarding claim 13, Smith discloses a system comprising:
an apparatus 100 (Figs. 1-2 [0013]) to which a plurality of cartridges (consumables 110; Figs. 1-2 [0015, 0020]) to be used in image formation on a recording material is attachable, the apparatus; and
a server 200 configured to transmit and receive a state of and information about the apparatus (Fig. 2 [0032]),
wherein the apparatus includes:
a lock member 120 configured to lock the plurality of cartridges attached from being removed (Figs. 1-2 [0021]), and
a control unit 132/134/136 configured to switch a state of the lock member between a locked state in which the plurality of cartridges is locked from being removed and an unlocked state in which the lock of the plurality of cartridges from being removed is cleared (Figs. 1-2 [0023, 0030]),
a display unit 400A/444A/460A configured to display a message (Fig. 4A [0041])
wherein, in a contract state in which a contract of using a specific cartridge delivered from a service provider is made, in a case where at least one of the plurality of cartridges attached is the specific cartridge, the control unit switches the state of the lock member to the locked state ([0022, 0028-0030]; Apparatus 100 selectively locks/unlocks consumable 110 in response to certain parameters, which may be policies, permissions, and/or restrictions from a service contract. This implies that the control unit would switch the state of the lock member to the locked state.), and when a clearance instruction (disengage authorization 107) of a restriction unit is issued from the server, switches the state of the lock member to the unlocked state ([0032]).
Smith does not explicitly disclose the display unit configured to display a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value.
Smith, however, discloses the display unit configured to display a message that the consumable is locked because it still contains supplies and is not due for replacement (see Fig. 4A). As such, it is clear that Smith is configured to determine when a remaining operating life value is determined to meet some threshold value. Smith fails to display a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value.
Teshima teaches a similar apparatus that releases a lock member when a consumable reaches a life end state (Fig. 5). Teshima further teaches a display unit 50 (Fig. 2) configured to display a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value, such as those shown in TABLE 2 (steps S102-S105 in Fig. 5 [0050-0051]).
Utilizing the teachings of Teshima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the display unit of Smith to display a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to inform a user that the life of the cartridge is coming to an end, thereby potentially avoiding print quality degradation.
Regarding claim 14, modified Smith discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein, (see Smith) in an uncontracted state in which the contract is not made, the lock member is brought into the unlocked state by the control unit. ([0022, 0028-0030]; Apparatus 100 selectively locks/unlocks consumable 110 in response to certain parameters, which may be policies, permissions, and/or restrictions from a service contract. Because the lock member is in the locked state in a contracted state, it is implied that the lock member is brought into the unlocked state in an uncontracted state.)
Regarding claim 15, modified Smith discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein (see Smith) the cartridges each include a memory storing information (identification number) indicating the specific cartridge, and wherein the control unit determines, based on the information in the memory included in each attached cartridge, whether the cartridge is the specific cartridge (Figs. 7A-7B [0033, 0036-0037]; although not explicitly disclosed, each cartridge must include a memory storing the identification number information and remaining toner).
Regarding claim 16, modified Smith discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein (see Smith) the display unit 400A/444A/460A is further configured to display a message indicating that the lock member is brought into the locked state (Fig. 4A [0041]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Smith discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein (see Smith) the display unit 400A/444A/460A is further configured to display a clearance condition (information displayed on 460A and 462A) for clearing the locked state, when the lock member is brought into the locked state (Fig. 4A [0041]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Smith discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein (see Smith) the specific cartridge is a dedicated consumable unit ([0021]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Smith discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein (see Smith) the contract is a subscription contract with a fixed fee (i.e., a fee to rent or lease an imaging device for a certain duration of time) or a page-basis fee to be charged on image formation using the specific cartridge ([0015]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Smith discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein (see Smith) the apparatus further includes a door 350A configured to enable access to a consumable unit attached to the apparatus in an opened state, and disable the access in a closed state, wherein the lock member locks the door in the closed state (Figs. 3A-3B [0021, 0026, 0039]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The crux of Applicant’s arguments is that a rejection combining Smith and Teshima would be improper because neither reference recognizes “proactively prompting cartridge replacement based on a quantified remaining life value reaching a threshold” and the references “operate in different contexts and rely on fundamentally different triggering conditions” (see pages 9-10 of the Remarks). Applicant further argues that any assertion of the combination of these references “to arrive at the claimed invention can only be based on impermissible hindsight reconstruction”.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Smith clearly determines a remaining life value of a cartridge and displays that information, as exhibited in Figs. 7A-7B (e.g., “150 pages” or “3000 pages”) and discussed in [0036-0037]. Smith does not disclose displaying a message prompting a user to replace a cartridge when the remaining life of the cartridge in use reaches a threshold value.
Teshima clearly teaches displaying a message for prompting a user to replace a cartridge with a new cartridge when a remaining life value of the cartridge is determined to meet a threshold value, as shown in Fig. 5 and described in [0050-0051]. Further, TABLE 2 illustrates the different types of lifetime information and the threshold value associated with each type ([0040]).
For the reasons outlined in the rejections above, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify Smith in view of the teachings of Teshima.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852