DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 11/25/2024.
Claims 1-12 are pending in this action. Claims 1 and 7 are independent.
This application claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 18379248 filed 10/12/2023 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 18110956 filed 02/17/2023 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 17493997 filed 10/05/2021 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 16892701 filed 06/04/2020 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 16209511 filed 12/04/2018 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 15831270 filed 12/04/2017 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 15406387 filed 01/13/2017 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 15145764 filed 05/03/2016 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from application 13566824 filed 08/03/2012 which claims the benefit of domestic priority from provisional application 61521506 filed 08/09/2011.
Claim Interpretation
The plain meaning of the phrase “at least one of x, y, and z”, absent evidence to the contrary from the specification or prosecution history, is “at least one of x, and at least one of y, and at least one of z”. As the Superguide decision stated:
“A common treatise on grammar teaches that ‘an article of a preposition applying to all the members of the series must either be used only before the first term or else be repeated before each term.’ William Strunk, Jr. & E.B.White, The Elements of Style 27 (4th ed. 2000). Thus, "[i]n spring, summer, or winter" means "in spring, in summer, or in winter." Id. Applying this grammatical principle here, the phrase "at least one of" modifies each member of the list, i.e., each category in the list.”
The plain meaning should be given unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, MPEP 2111.01 I
“However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification. In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989)”
If the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification and the specification shows that the meaning “and” is in fact meant to connote a disjunctive “or”, then the “and” should treated as a disjunctive “or” for purposes of the BRI of the claim in light of the specification (“at least one of x, or at least one of y, or at least one of z”).
The claim limitations “estimating a time period of the biohazard based on one or more of: timing associated with a change in a safety status level of the first user device, timing associated with receiving a signal from a sensor device of the first user device, and timing associated with interpreting a second safety notification with regards to a second user device”, “wherein the second safety notification includes one or more of: a safety status level associated with the second user device, another geographic area associated with another biohazard, and previous location information of the second user device” in claim 1 and “wherein the issuing the safety notification to the third user device comprises one or more of: obtaining the safety status level of the first user device; identifying a portion of the previous location information of the third user device that is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard to produce the subset of the previous location information of the third user device; identifying a portion of the previous location information of the first user device that is within the subset of the previous location information of the third user device to produce the subset of the previous location information of the first user device; generating the safety notification to include one or more of: the geographic area associated with the biohazard, the safety status request, the safety status level of the first user device, the subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and the subset of the previous location information of the third user device; and sending the safety notification to the third user device” of claim 6 are being interpreted as “at least one of x, and at least one of y, and at least one of z” since the plain meaning is consistent with the specification and the BRI.
However, the claim limitations “obtaining previous location information of a third user device by least one of: receiving the previous location information of the third user device, estimating the previous location information of the third user device based on current location information of the third user device, and accessing an information server to recover the previous location information of the third user device;” of claim 1 and “wherein the identifying the first user device potentially associated with the biohazard comprises one or more of: interpreting the safety status level of the first user device; querying a server with regards to the safety status level of the first user device; interpreting a schedule adherence deviation indicator for the first user device; interpreting the signal from the sensor device of the first user device; and interpreting the second safety notification with regards to the second user device” of claim 3 are being interpreted as a disjunctive “or” since the under the plain meaning, only one is necessary and would render the others irrelevant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12167294. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Current Application (18/959304)
Patent No. 12167294
Claim 1
Claim 1
A method for execution by one or more processing modules of one or more computing devices, the method comprises:
identifying a first user device potentially associated with a biohazard;
identifying a geographic area associated with the biohazard based on previous location information of the first user device;
estimating a time period of the biohazard based on one or more of: timing associated with a change in a safety status level of the first user device, timing associated with receiving a signal from a sensor device of the first user device, and timing associated with interpreting a second safety notification with regards to a second user device,
wherein the second safety notification includes one or more of: a safety status level associated with the second user device, another geographic area associated with another biohazard, and previous location information of the second user device, wherein the second user device is potentially associated with the other biohazard;
obtaining previous location information of a third user device by least one of: receiving the previous location information of the third user device, estimating the previous location information of the third user device based on current location information of the third user device, and accessing an information server to recover the previous location information of the third user device;
identifying the third user device as potentially associated with the biohazard based on the geographic area associated with the biohazard and the previous location information of the third user device when at least some of location coordinates history of the third user device for at least some of the time period of the biohazard is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard,
wherein the previous location information of the third user device includes the location coordinates history of the third user device; and issuing a safety notification to the third user device, wherein the safety notification includes one or more of the geographic area associated with the biohazard, a safety status request, the safety status level of the first user device, a subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and a subset of the previous location information of the third user device.
A method for execution by one or more processing modules of one or more computing devices, the method comprises:
identifying a first user device potentially associated with a biohazard;
identifying a geographic area associated with the biohazard based on previous location information of the first user device;
estimating a time period of the biohazard based on one or more of: timing associated with interpreting a safety status level of the first user device, timing associated with receiving a signal from a sensor device of the first user device, and timing associated with interpreting a second safety notification with regards to a second user device,
wherein the second safety notification includes one or more of: a safety status level associated with the second user device, another geographic area associated with another biohazard, and previous location information of the second user device, wherein the second user device is potentially associated with the other biohazard;
obtaining previous location information of a third user device by least one of: receiving the previous location information of the third user device from the third user device, estimating the previous location information of the third user device based on current location information of the third user device, and accessing an information server to recover the previous location information of the third user device;
identifying the third user device as potentially associated with the biohazard based on the geographic area associated with the biohazard and the previous location information of the third user device when at least some of location coordinates history of the third user device for the time period of the biohazard is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard,
wherein the previous location information of the third user device includes the location coordinates history of the third user device; and issuing a safety notification to the third user device, wherein the safety notification includes one or more of the geographic area associated with the biohazard, a safety status request, the safety status level of the first user device, a subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and a subset of the previous location information of the third user device.
Claim 2
Claim 2
The method of claim 1 further comprises: identifying a fourth user device potentially associated with the biohazard based on the previous location information of the third user device and previous location information of the fourth user device.
The method of claim 1 further comprises: identifying a fourth user device potentially associated with the biohazard based on the previous location information of the third user device and previous location information of the fourth user device.
Claim 3
Claim 3
The method of claim 1, wherein the identifying the first user device potentially associated with the biohazard comprises one or more of: interpreting the safety status level of the first user device; querying a server with regards to the safety status level of the first user device; interpreting a schedule adherence deviation indicator for the first user device; interpreting the signal from the sensor device of the first user device; and interpreting the second safety notification with regards to the second user device.
The method of claim 1, wherein the identifying the first user device potentially associated with the biohazard comprises one or more of: interpreting the safety status level of the first user device; querying a server with regards to the safety status level of the first user device; interpreting a schedule adherence deviation indicator for the first user device; interpreting the signal from the sensor device of the first user device; and interpreting the second safety notification with regards to the second user device.
Claim 4
Claim 4
The method of claim 1, wherein the identifying the geographic area associated with the biohazard based on the previous location information of the first user device comprises: obtaining the previous location information of the first user device; and extracting location coordinates history of the first user device for the time period of the biohazard from the previous location information of the first user device to produce the geographic area associated with the biohazard.
The method of claim 1, wherein the identifying the geographic area associated with the biohazard based on the previous location information of the first user device comprises: obtaining the previous location information of the first user device; and extracting location coordinates history of the first user device for the time period of the biohazard from the previous location information of the first user device to produce the geographic area associated with the biohazard.
Claim 5
Claim 5
The method of claim 1, wherein the identifying the third user device as potentially associated with the biohazard further comprises: extracting the location coordinates history of the third user device for the time period of the biohazard from the previous location information of the third user device.
The method of claim 1, wherein the identifying the third user device as potentially associated with the biohazard further comprises: extracting the location coordinates history of the third user device for the time period of the biohazard from the previous location information of the third user device.
Claim 6
Claim 6
The method of claim 1, wherein the issuing the safety notification to the third user device comprises one or more of: obtaining the safety status level of the first user device; identifying a portion of the previous location information of the third user device that is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard to produce the subset of the previous location information of the third user device; identifying a portion of the previous location information of the first user device that is within the subset of the previous location information of the third user device to produce the subset of the previous location information of the first user device; generating the safety notification to include one or more of: the geographic area associated with the biohazard, the safety status request, the safety status level of the first user device, 33 the subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and the subset of the previous location information of the third user device; and sending the safety notification to the third user device.
The method of claim 1, wherein the issuing the safety notification to the third user device comprises one or more of: obtaining the safety status level of the first user device; identifying a portion of the previous location information of the third user device that is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard to produce the subset of the previous location information of the third user device; identifying a portion of the previous location information of the first user device that is within the subset of the previous location information of the third user device to produce the subset of the previous location information of the first user device; generating the safety notification to include one or more of: the geographic area associated with the biohazard, the safety status request, the safety status level of the first user device, 33 the subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and the subset of the previous location information of the third user device; and sending the safety notification to the third user device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Blom et al, U. S. Paten Publication No. 20120244886 filed on 2010-08-25, (hereinafter Blom) in view of Kahn et al, U. S. Paten Publication No. 20100238023 filed on 2010-04-21, (hereinafter Kahn).
As for independent claim 1, Blom discloses a system and method for execution by one or more processing modules of one or more computing devices, the method comprises: identifying a first user device potentially associated with a biohazard;
(Blom discloses receiving information about a user (called a UE) relating to disease (a type of biohazard) information as such it is potentially associated with the disease, “The analysis module 305 can receive disease information from a UE 101 via the UE interface 301. The analysis module 305 can then store the disease information in a memory 307 and process the disease information to determine a structure to store the disease information in the health database 303. In some embodiments, disease information includes health, location, timing and other disease-related information (e.g., a disease name, a disease strain, etc.) about one or more patients having a disease or other spreadable condition.” [0046])
identifying a geographic area associated with the biohazard;
(Blom discloses assigning the disease information about the disease and assigning it a geographic location, “In one example, the analysis module 305 can retrieve the disease information from a UE 101 and determine that the UE 101 is assigned to a certain geographic location. The analysis module 305 can then store the disease information with information including the assigned geographic location, timing information about when the disease information was taken, and information about the disease involved and the health (e.g., deceased, contagious, the state of the symptoms, etc.) of patients associated with the disease.” [0046])
estimating a time period of the biohazard based on one or more of: timing associated with a change in a safety status level of the first user device,
(Blom discloses tracking the timing of the disease information when it is updated, “In this example, certain UEs 101 (e.g., a doctor) can update information (e.g., update disease information used for analysis in one district) conveyed by the UE interface 301 to other UEs 101” [0045], “The analysis module 305 can then store the disease information in a memory 307 and process the disease information to determine a structure to store the disease information in the health database 303. In some embodiments, disease information includes health, location, timing and other disease-related information” [0046])
timing associated with receiving a signal from a sensor device of the first user device,
(Blom discloses the UE device having a sensor which can update the disease information (which as shown above includes timing information), “In one scenario, the UE 101 can receive input from a processor and/or sensor. For instance, a digital image can be captured of a blood sample, and the processor may determine whether the blood sample is positive for a disease (e.g., malaria). It is noted that other biological samples or bodily fluids can be utilized depending on the application--i.e., disease to be tracked. The runtime module 205 can then initiate transmission of the disease information to the disease tracking and alert platform” [0041])
and timing associated with interpreting a second safety notification with regards to a second user device,
(Blom discloses obtaining health (equivalent to safety) information from multiple UEs (as such it has a second user device) and using the timing information to generate disease (or biohazard) information about another geographic region, “The health information can include disease information about one or more patients. A UE 101 of the UEs 101 can collect and send the health information to the disease tracking and alert platform 103 using various processes (e.g., the processes described in FIG. 6).” [0061], “In yet another example, the analysis module 305 can analyze a specific disease in relation to multiple geographic locations to determine the intensity and direction of the spread of the disease. For example, the analysis module 305 can analyze a recent increase in a disease at a first geographic location at a time two weeks prior. Then, a few days after this increase in the first geographic location 411, the analysis module 305 detects an increase in the diagnosis of cases of the disease in two adjacent geographic locations 403, 405 and a period of time later, additional cases in a geographic location 401 adjacent to those locations 403, 405. This can show that there is a pattern of the disease spreading towards the north and west. The analysis module 305 can generate an alert of this pattern to warn users of the disease tracking and alert platform 103 of the direction of the spread as well as the intensity (e.g., an amount of new diagnoses in relation to the population in each geographic location) of the spread in each of those locations.”[0066])
wherein the second safety notification includes one or more of: a safety status level associated with the second user device, another geographic area associated with another biohazard, and previous location information of the second user device, wherein the second user device is potentially associated with the other biohazard;
(Blom discloses gathering disease information from multiple users in multiple geographic locations and multiple diseases, “In one example, the analysis module 305 can analyze a specific disease using disease information of a geographic location by comparing the geographic location with disease information in adjacent geographic locations. Thus, the analysis module 305 can determine which geographic location in a region or district has the largest number of cases of a particular disease. Additionally, the analysis can be in regards to a percentage of the population having the disease. Moreover, the analysis can determine correlations of two or more diseases in the area. For example, the analysis module 305 can perform an analysis (using statistical modeling and/or an expert system) to determine that an increase in the number of diagnosed cases of a first disease corresponds to (e.g., is a precursor to) the increase of a second disease. An alert to can be generated to warn of the possible threat of the other disease based on the increase in the diagnoses of the first disease.” [0064])
and issuing a safety notification to the third user device,
(Blom discloses sending an alert to the user once the geographic mapping has been done, “Once the location information is associated with the geographic location, any alerts or information associated with the geographic location can be sent to the user.” [0069])
wherein the safety notification includes one or more of the geographic area associated with the biohazard, a safety status request, the safety status level of the first user device.
(Blom discloses sending an alert to a user (which could be a third user) including disease information regarding a specific geographic region and a health indicator (a safety status request) and alerts in the geographic region (equivalent to safety status of the first user since the alerts are sent to other users and include their safety status), “Then, at step 713, the message is modified to present a health alert indicator. The health alert indicator can include disease information, alerts in the geographic location, preventative tips, and other health information. The message can be modified by appending supplemental content regarding the alert to the message or by amending the content of the message to include the alert. For example, an alert for a warning can be communicated by modifying the message content to be red. Additionally or alternatively, a footer can be added to the message content so that when the UE 101 presents the message content, the alert is also presented. Then, at step 715, the analysis module 305 causes, at least in part, initiating delivery of the modified message to the UE 101 when the UE 101. The delivery can be via a communication interface between the UE 101 and the disease tracking and alert platform 103. The delivery can occur when the UE 101 is within a predetermined range (e.g., within a set GPS coordinate perimeter) of the geographic location. For example, the delivery can occur before the UE 101 enters the geographic location.” [0070])
Blom does not appear to disclose a system and method comprising identifying a geographic area associated with the biohazard based on previous location information of the first user device; obtaining previous location information of a third user device by least one of: receiving the previous location information of the third user device, estimating the previous location information of the third user device based on current location information of the third user device, and accessing an information server to recover the previous location information of the third user device; identifying the third user device as potentially associated with the biohazard based on the geographic area associated with the biohazard and the previous location information of the third user device when at least some of location coordinates history of the third user device for at least some of the time period of the biohazard is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard, wherein the previous location information of the third user device includes the location coordinates history of the third user device; wherein the safety notification includes a subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and a subset of the previous location information of the third user device.
However Kahn does disclose a system and method comprising identifying a geographic area associated with the biohazard based on previous location information of the first user device;
(Kahn discloses using the previously stored location data of the user to map locations which could be affected by an outbreak (or biohazard), “Location correlation logic 820 uses map data 825, to map the user's location(s) to actual map locations, i.e. train, train station, bus, office, home, etc. In one embodiment, data already in the user data store 830 may be utilized. In one embodiment, the user data store 830 stores the user's locations.” [0030], “Outbreak location processor 840 determines the location(s) associated with the outbreak notification. Patient trace logic 850 determines the locations of the infected person during the incubation period of the identified outbreak. In one embodiment, medical resource 855 is used to determine a length of incubation. The user data store 830 is used in this determination. The outbreak location processor 840 uses this data to construct a timeline of outbreak locations.” [0032])
obtaining previous location information of a third user device by least one of: receiving the previous location information of the third user device, estimating the previous location information of the third user device based on current location information of the third user device, and accessing an information server to recover the previous location information of the third user device;
(Kahn discloses receiving GPS or cell phone data from the user device, “In one embodiment, user locations are monitored through periodic data from user devices such as GPS data or cell phone data. In one embodiment, the system also calculates "projected data" for a user. For example, if a user is generally at work between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. on weekdays, the system may assume this location, even if the user failed to take his or her cell phone or other location-enabled device. This may provide "projected contact" data, based on historical records of user behavior. In one embodiment, correlation logic 150 generates this data. In one embodiment, once a user pattern has been strongly established, the correlation database may simply store an indicator, showing that the pattern has been followed. This may reduce the amount of data stored in database 140.”
identifying the third user device as potentially associated with the biohazard based on the geographic area associated with the biohazard and the previous location information of the third user device when at least some of location coordinates history of the third user device for at least some of the time period of the biohazard is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard, wherein the previous location information of the third user device includes the location coordinates history of the third user device;
(Kahn discloses determining if the user has been near to the biohazard region (called outbreak path) using historical location data of the third user, “If the outbreak alert is received from the CDC, the outbreak alert may be more broad, indicating a zone in which the outbreak was centered.” [0043], “If actual data is available, then at block 430 historical data of user locations are used to determine if any user has been in proximity to the outbreak path during the incubation period.” [0046])
wherein the safety notification includes a subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and a subset of the previous location information of the third user device.
(Kahn figure 7 shows a notification (or alert) system which includes some locations of the user (third user) and the locations they might have been infected (locations of first user), “FIG. 7 is an exemplary screen shot of an outbreak report system which may be incorporated into a healthcare system. As can be seen, the report shows a user the distance he or she has been from the known outbreak location(s). Furthermore, in one embodiment, the user can be provided an opportunity to check a route or address, to see if there is a current outbreak there. In one embodiment, the user can also select to view a map. Additional data may be provided about the outbreak, including risk level, vaccination availability, etc.” [0060])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention was made to combine the health alert system of Kahn, adding detailed previous location analysis, to the health alert system of Blom in order to have a more thorough and powerful disease tracking and predicative system.
As for claim 2, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Blom discloses a system and method further comprising: identifying a fourth user device
(Blom Figure 4b discloses tracking more than 4 users potentially associated with disease)
Blom does not appear to disclose a system and method comprising identifying a fourth user device potentially associated with the biohazard based on the previous location information of the third user device and previous location information of the fourth user device.
However, Kahn does disclose a system and method comprising identifying a fourth user device potentially associated with the biohazard based on the previous location information of the third user device and previous location information of the fourth user device.
(Kahn discloses determining if the user has been near to the biohazard region (called outbreak path), “If the outbreak alert is received from the CDC, the outbreak alert may be more broad, indicating a zone in which the outbreak was centered.” [0043], “If actual data is available, then at block 430 historical data of user locations are used to determine if any user has been in proximity to the outbreak path during the incubation period.” [0046])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention was made to combine the health alert system of Kahn, adding detailed previous location analysis, to the health alert system of Blom in order to have a more thorough and powerful disease tracking and predicative system.
As for claim 3, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Blom discloses a system and method wherein the identifying the first user device potentially associated with the biohazard comprises one or more of: interpreting the safety status level of the first user device; querying a server with regards to the safety status level of the first user device; interpreting a schedule adherence deviation indicator for the first user device; interpreting the signal from the sensor device of the first user device; and interpreting the second safety notification with regards to the second user device.
(Blom discloses interpreting a health alert indicator (equivalent to a safety status level), “the message is modified to present a health alert indicator. The health alert indicator can include disease information, alerts in the geographic location, preventative tips, and other health information. The message can be modified by appending supplemental content regarding the alert to the message or by amending the content of the message to include the alert.” [0070], getting information from a database (or server), “The analysis module 305 can then store the disease information in a memory 307 and process the disease information to determine a structure to store the disease information in the health database 303. In some embodiments, disease information includes health, location, timing and other disease-related information (e.g., a disease name, a disease strain, etc.) about one or more patients having a disease or other spreadable condition…. The analysis module 305 can then retrieve information from the health database and process the information to determine trends and other analysis of the spread of disease using one or more geographic locations.” [0046], interpreting the results of a sensor on the UE, “In one scenario, the UE 101 can receive input from a processor and/or sensor. For instance, a digital image can be captured of a blood sample, and the processor may determine whether the blood sample is positive for a disease (e.g., malaria). It is noted that other biological samples or bodily fluids can be utilized depending on the application--i.e., disease to be tracked. The runtime module 205 can then initiate transmission of the disease information to the disease tracking and alert platform 103 based on a triggering rule (e.g. send an update if a particular disease, such as malaria, is found).” [0041], and other users and their health indicator (equivalent to safety status), “The phone numbers for each of the UEs 101 act as a unique identification number to associate the UE 101 with a health center and/or geographic location.” [0049], “the analysis module 305 analyzes the disease information by associating the information in the health database 303 with a geographic model. The geographic model can be based on the geographic location assignments discussed in FIG. 4 or based on other methods to associate health centers with geographic locations. The analysis module 305 can select a geographic location or region and analyze the disease information for that geographic location. Additionally or alternatively, the analysis module 305 can determine patterns or the spread of disease over various geographic locations. These patterns can be used to generate alerts to users of UEs 101 in or around geographic locations associated with the analysis.” [0052])
As for claim 4, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Blom discloses a system and method wherein the identifying the geographic area associated with the biohazard based on the previous location information of the first user device comprises: obtaining the previous location information of the first user device; and extracting location coordinates history of the first user device for the time period of the biohazard from the previous location information of the first user device to produce the geographic area associated with the biohazard.
(Blom discloses using location information from various times (hence it is previous) to assign the UE a particular region associated with particular disease information, “The analysis module 305 can then store the disease information in a memory 307 and process the disease information to determine a structure to store the disease information in the health database 303. In some embodiments, disease information includes health, location, timing and other disease-related information (e.g., a disease name, a disease strain, etc.) about one or more patients having a disease or other spreadable condition. In one example, the analysis module 305 can retrieve the disease information from a UE 101 and determine that the UE 101 is assigned to a certain geographic location. The analysis module 305 can then store the disease information with information including the assigned geographic location, timing information about when the disease information was taken, and information about the disease involved and the health (e.g., deceased, contagious, the state of the symptoms, etc.) of patients associated with the disease.” [0046])
As for claim 5, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Kahn discloses a system and method wherein the identifying the third user device as potentially associated with the biohazard further comprises: extracting the location coordinates history of the third user device for the time period of the biohazard from the previous location information of the third user device.
(Kahn discloses determining if the user has been near to the biohazard region (called outbreak path) during the time period (called incubation period), “If the outbreak alert is received from the CDC, the outbreak alert may be more broad, indicating a zone in which the outbreak was centered.” [0043], “If actual data is available, then at block 430 historical data of user locations are used to determine if any user has been in proximity to the outbreak path during the incubation period.” [0046])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention was made to combine the health alert system of Kahn, adding detailed previous location analysis, to the health alert system of Blom in order to have a more thorough and powerful disease tracking and predicative system.
As for claim 6, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Blom discloses a system and method wherein the issuing the safety notification to the third user device comprises one or more of: obtaining the safety status level of the first user device;
(Blom discloses receiving information about a user (called a UE) relating to disease (a type of biohazard) information as such it is potentially associated with the disease, “The analysis module 305 can receive disease information from a UE 101 via the UE interface 301. The analysis module 305 can then store the disease information in a memory 307 and process the disease information to determine a structure to store the disease information in the health database 303. In some embodiments, disease information includes health, location, timing and other disease-related information (e.g., a disease name, a disease strain, etc.) about one or more patients having a disease or other spreadable condition.” [0046])
generating the safety notification to include one or more of: the geographic area associated with the biohazard, the safety status request, the safety status level of the first user device,
(Blom discloses sending an alert to a user (which could be a third user) including disease information regarding a specific geographic region and a health indicator (a safety status request) and alerts in the geographic region (equivalent to safety status of the first user since the alerts are sent to other users and include their safety status), “Then, at step 713, the message is modified to present a health alert indicator. The health alert indicator can include disease information, alerts in the geographic location, preventative tips, and other health information. The message can be modified by appending supplemental content regarding the alert to the message or by amending the content of the message to include the alert. For example, an alert for a warning can be communicated by modifying the message content to be red. Additionally or alternatively, a footer can be added to the message content so that when the UE 101 presents the message content, the alert is also presented. Then, at step 715, the analysis module 305 causes, at least in part, initiating delivery of the modified message to the UE 101 when the UE 101. The delivery can be via a communication interface between the UE 101 and the disease tracking and alert platform 103. The delivery can occur when the UE 101 is within a predetermined range (e.g., within a set GPS coordinate perimeter) of the geographic location. For example, the delivery can occur before the UE 101 enters the geographic location.” [0070])
and sending the safety notification to the third user device.
(Blom discloses sending an alert to the user once the geographic mapping has been done, “Once the location information is associated with the geographic location, any alerts or information associated with the geographic location can be sent to the user.” [0069])
Blom does not appear to disclose a system and method comprising identifying a portion of the previous location information of the third user device that is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard to produce the subset of the previous location information of the third user device; identifying a portion of the previous location information of the first user device that is within the subset of the previous location information of the third user device to produce the subset of the previous location information of the first user device; generating the safety notification to include one or more of: the subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and the subset of the previous location information of the third user device.
However Kahn does disclose a system and method comprising identifying a portion of the previous location information of the third user device that is within the geographic area associated with the biohazard to produce the subset of the previous location information of the third user device;
(Kahn discloses determining if the user has been near the biohazard region (called outbreak path), “If the outbreak alert is received from the CDC, the outbreak alert may be more broad, indicating a zone in which the outbreak was centered.” [0043], “If actual data is available, then at block 430 historical data of user locations are used to determine if any user has been in proximity to the outbreak path during the incubation period.” [0046])
identifying a portion of the previous location information of the first user device that is within the subset of the previous location information of the third user device to produce the subset of the previous location information of the first user device;
(Kahn discloses determining if the user has been near the other users that are infected), “the process determines whether there is actual data available for the period of incubation. For example, if the outbreak if received from a user, indicating that the user has been infected, then there is actual location information for that user during the incubation period.” [0045], “the process determines whether any user has been proximate. If so, the affected users are alerted, at block 445.” [0047])
generating the safety notification to include one or more of: the subset of the previous location information of the first user device, and the subset of the previous location information of the third user device;
(Kahn figure 7 shows a notification (or alert) system which includes some locations of the user (third user) and the locations they might have been infected (locations of first user), “FIG. 7 is an exemplary screen shot of an outbreak report system which may be incorporated into a healthcare system. As can be seen, the report shows a user the distance he or she has been from the known outbreak location(s). Furthermore, in one embodiment, the user can be provided an opportunity to check a route or address, to see if there is a current outbreak there. In one embodiment, the user can also select to view a map. Additional data may be provided about the outbreak, including risk level, vaccination availability, etc.” [0060])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention was made to combine the health alert system of Kahn, adding detailed previous location analysis, to the health alert system of Blom in order to have a more thorough and powerful disease tracking and predicative system.
As for independent claim 7, claim 7 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 1 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.(Blom paragraph [0081]-[0084] discloses Interface, memory, processor module as shown in fig. 10)
As for claim 8, the limitations of the parent claim 7 have been discussed. Claim 8 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 2 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 9, the limitations of the parent claim 7 have been discussed. Claim 9 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 3 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 10, the limitations of the parent claim 7 have been discussed. Claim 10 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 4 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 11, the limitations of the parent claim 7 have been discussed. Claim 11 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 5 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 12, the limitations of the parent claim 7 have been discussed. Claim 12 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 6 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Phillips et al U. S. Patent Publication No. 20060270421 discloses noticing a change in user behavior based on location tracking in [0182] and sending location data associated with a biohazard to another user in paragraph [0098]
Osler et al, U. S. Paten Publication No. 20080312511 discloses associating other users with a biohazard (disease) based on proximity to another user at the same location and time in paragraphs [0065-0070])
Conclusion
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646