DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 11/25/2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: appearance defect vision inspection apparatus, data storage, AI retraining support inspection apparatus, teaching AI model unit, multiclass classification teaching AI model, data filtering unit, model retraining unit and data preprocessing unit in claims 1 and 5-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki (US 2023/0096532 A1) in view of Kaneko (US 2018/0299389 A1) and in further view of Chickering (US 2016/0162802 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Tsubaki discloses a vision inspection method for vehicle manufacturing, the visual inspection method comprising:
inspecting, by an appearance defect vision inspection apparatus, appearance defects using an appearance defect vision inspection artificial intelligence (AI) model (Tsubaki discloses an inspection device 10 that performs a quality determination for a product by AI that uses a learning model. The inspection processing unit 15 performs the quality determination process to which the AI is applies and determines whether the inspection target site matches the specification indicated by the production instruction information, with the AI for which the selected learning model is used, see paragraphs 20 and 29) based on product image data captured by a camera; (Tsubaki discloses capturing product images with camera 20 and uses those images for preprocessing and AI inspection, see paragraphs 21, 27 and 33.)
(see paragraphs 30-31 and 37; learning model generation unit 17 reads stored inspection images and generates a learning model; the learning may be performed by a device different from inspection device 10) (paragraph 38; Tsubaki’s learning model generation unit 17 reads stored learning images, uses production instruction information as teaching data, generates a learning model and saves the generated model in learning model saving unit 14)
Tsubaki fails to specifically disclose transmitting inspection data comprising the product image data and determination result data of an appearance defect inspection to a data storage so that the data storage stores the inspection data and the determination result data; and incorrect determination data among the determination result data using teaching AI models based on the inspection data and the determination result data input from the data storage,
In related art, Kaneko discloses transmitting inspection data comprising the product image data and determination result data of an appearance defect inspection to a data storage so that the data storage stores the inspection data and the determination result data. (paragraphs 69 and 73-74; Kaneko discloses that test object inspection result data D10, which includes possible defect and diagnosis result data, is associated with test object imaging data D100 and recorded in recording unit 24. Kaneko further states that D10 may include part of D100 and may be transmitted to and accumulated in product database 200, thereby storing both the image data and corresponding inspection result data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kaneko into the teachings of Tsubaki to efficiently check whether defects are present.
Furthermore, in related, Chickering discloses identifying incorrect determination data among the determination result data using teaching AI models. (paragraphs 36 and 50-53; auxiliary machine learning model 112 and target machine learning model 114 generate respective scores for the same observation, and comparison component 118 compares those scores to determine whether the target model produced a false positive, false negative, or other error. The reason for false positive and false negative determinations is retained to improve accuracy through iterative refinement of target model 114. The erroneous observation is converted into a newly labeled observation, features are selected based on the comparison and the target model is refined. The process iterates using newly labeled observations.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chickering into the teachings of Tsubaki and Kaneko to achieve better accuracy through iterative refinement of the target machine learning model.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Tsubaki, as modified by Kaneko and Chickering, discloses the claimed invention wherein the camera is a vision camera. (Tsubaki: paragraphs 21, 33 and 42)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Tsubaki, as modified by Kaneko and Chickering, discloses the claimed invention wherein the appearance defect inspection is carried out by the appearance defect inspection AI model. (Tsubaki: paragraphs 20, 28 and 36)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Tsubaki, as modified by Kaneko and Chickering, discloses the claimed invention wherein the incorrect determination data is identified using teaching AI models. (Chickering: paragraphs 30, 36 and 50-53)
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Tsubaki, as modified by Kaneko and Chickering, discloses the claimed invention wherein the AI retraining support inspection apparatus is provided to transmit the appearance defect vision inspection AI model modified through the model retraining process to the appearance defect vision inspection apparatus to update the appearance defect vision inspection AI model of the appearance defect vision inspection apparatus. (Tsubaki: paragraphs 21-22, 28-37; Chickering: paragraphs 15 and 21)
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Tsubaki, as modified by Kaneko and Chickering, discloses the claimed invention wherein vehicle manufacturing assembly comprising the vision inspection system of claim 1. (Tsubaki: paragraphs 20-25)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665