DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation "each corner area" in the bottom surface of the rug portion and bottom surface of the upper portion of an assembly, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 23 has been skipped. Appropriate correction is required, such as cancelling claim 23 to maintain the current claim numbering scheme.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8–12, 15, 19–22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore (US 2016/0129300 A1).
Moore discloses a cover for a mat, wherein the cover, or upper portion, comprises a top surface and an opposing bottom surface, wherein the bottom surface includes a plurality of corner pockets into which a mat, or bottom portion, which has substantially the same dimensions as the cover, may be inserted. Moore abstract, ¶¶ 2, 41, Fig. 7. The cover is positioned loosely relative to the mat allowing the cover and mat to move together as one when placed on the floor. Id. ¶¶ 8–9, 16, 41.
Claim 4 is anticipated as the cover may comprise a blended fabric. Id. ¶ 151. Claims 8 and 9 are anticipated as the edges of the cover may be heat-sealed or stitched. Id. ¶ 149. Claim 11 is rejected as the cover may comprise a printed design. Id. ¶ 146.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bell (US 2011/0195219 A1).
Moore fails to teach the use of non-slip material on a top surface of the mat portion.
Bell teaches a rug configured from a cover attached to an underlying, non-slip, non-absorbent mat. Bell abstract. The rug includes a cover having a first top surface which is visible and a first bottom surface, which engages an underlying mat having a second top surface and a second bottom surface. Id. ¶ 8. The second top and bottom surfaces have a non-slip material, such as polyvinyl chloride, allowing for frictional gripping of the first bottom surface of the cover such that the cover does not slip relative to the mat. Id. ¶¶ 8–13.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add polyvinyl chloride to both surfaces of the Moore mat with the motivation to make the rug non-slip relative to the cover and the underlying floor.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Hellman (US 2009/0274868 A1).
Moore fails to teach that the cover has a waterproof coating.
Hellman teaches a protective cover system for an area rug that is placed on underlying surface. Hellman abstract. The protective cover of Hellman may be a waterproofed, blended fabric. See id. ¶ 37.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have to have applied a waterproof coating to the entire cover of Moore to protect the cover and mat from water.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Higgins (US 2014/0158276 A1).
Moore fails to teach that the mat includes a plurality of layers.
Higgins teaches the creation of floor coverings, such as rugs and carpeting, wherein the coverings are modular so their sizes may be adjusted. Higgins abstract, ¶¶ 2, 55, 59, 138–141. Additionally, it is beneficial to use modular flooring tiles due to ease of installation and replacement when damaged or soiled. Id. ¶ 11. The floor covering may comprise a plurality of layers. Id. abstract.
The ordinarily skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have made the mat of Moore out of a plurality of layers as more layers would offer additional cushioning. See id. abstract, ¶ 52.
Claim(s) 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore and Higgins as applied to claims 6 and 17 above, and further in view of Hellman (US 2009/0274868 A1).
Moore fails to teach that the cover has a waterproof coating.
Hellman teaches a protective cover system for an area rug that is placed on underlying surface. Hellman abstract. The protective cover of Hellman may be a waterproofed, blended fabric. See id. ¶ 37.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have to have applied a waterproof coating to the entire cover of Moore to protect the cover and mat from water.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–22 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,171,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are encompassed by the applied area rug assembly and assembly.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D MATZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786