DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 11-25-2024
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5-7-2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application filed on 11-25-2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francisco 2006/0215866 in view of Gladwin 2010/0322457
Regarding claim 1, Francisco discloses a speaker device (Figs 1B, 1D, 3A-3B, 5A-6B) that can be mounted in a horizontal or vertical direction, the speaker device comprising: a device housing (Figs 1B, 1D, housing 102, baffle 106 para [24]) a constituting an exterior; and a plurality of speaker assemblies (Fig 1D speakers 132, 134 and 136, para [24]) disposed in the device housing (housing 102, baffle 106, para [24]),
wherein when mounted in the vertical direction, at least one speaker assembly of the plurality of speaker assemblies is tilted by a load (para [28] discloses speaker 132 is moveably mounted within aperture 142 and thus may pivot and move with respect to baffle 106, para [38-39] discloses speakers 132, 134, 136 mounted therein, being movable relative to housing 102, speakers themselves may be relatively movable relative to baffle 106), and
Francisco does not explicitly disclose wherein when mounted in the horizontal direction, the tilted speaker assembly is returned to its original position by a restoring force of an elastic member.
Gladwin teaches wherein when mounted in the horizontal direction, the tilted speaker assembly is returned to its original position by a restoring force of an elastic member (para [16] teaches a spring is disclosed as means for applying a force to hold the tweeter in the desired position regardless of the tweeter orientation or vibration forces exerted on the tweeter during use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement wherein when mounted in the horizontal direction, the tilted speaker assembly is returned to its original position by a restoring force of an elastic member as taught by Gladwin in Francisco’s invention for providing a higher quality audio production from the speaker.
Regarding claim 2, Francisco discloses the speaker device of claim 1, wherein the device housing (Figs 4A-4C, 5A-5C, 6A-6B, housing 102, baffle 106) comprises a plurality of opening portions (para [33-34] discloses fasteners 240 extend upwardly from baffle end surfaces 210 and through slotted channels 280, 282, and 284),
wherein a plurality of rotation shaft insertion holes are disposed on an inner surface of the device housing surrounding the opening portions, wherein when mounted in the vertical direction, the plurality of rotation shaft insertion holes are respectively disposed on one side and the other side in a horizontal direction on an inner surface of the device housing surrounding the opening portions, and wherein a rotation shaft member of the speaker assembly is disposed in the rotation shaft insertion hole (para [33-34] discloses fasteners 240 extend upwardly from baffle end surfaces 210 and through slotted channels 280, 282, and 284 have smooth inner surfaces that receive and allow fasteners 240 to move, shift, pivot, or slide therein. Also see para [36, 38] and Figs 7A-7B, para [40-41] speakers 132, 134, 136 can be selectively positioned to direct audio signals 310 in a desired direction such as, for example, a listening zone 312),
Regarding claim 3, Francisco discloses the speaker device of claim 1, wherein the device housing Figs 4A-4C, 5A-5C, 6A-6B, housing 102, baffle 106) comprises a plurality of opening portions (para [33-34] discloses fasteners 240 extend upwardly from baffle end surfaces 210 and through slotted channels 280, 282, and 284),
wherein a plurality of rotation shaft insertion holes are disposed on an inner surface of the device housing surrounding the opening portions, wherein when mounted in a horizontal direction, the plurality of rotation shaft insertion holes are respectively disposed on one side and the other side in a vertical direction on an inner surface of the device housing surrounding the opening portions, and wherein a rotation shaft member of the speaker assembly is disposed in the rotation shaft insertion hole (para [33-34] discloses fasteners 240 extend upwardly from baffle end surfaces 210 and through slotted channels 280, 282, and 284 have smooth inner surfaces that receive and allow fasteners 240 to move, shift, pivot, or slide therein. Also see para [36, 38] and Figs 7A-7B, para [40-41] speakers 132, 134, 136 can be selectively positioned to direct audio signals 310 in a desired direction such as, for example, a listening zone 312)
Regarding claim 14, Francisco discloses the speaker device of claim 1, wherein at least one speaker assembly (Fig 1D, speaker 136 of the plurality of speaker assemblies is a speaker assembly disposed at the bottom).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francisco 2006/0215866 in view of Gladwin 2010/0322457 further in view of Varla 6373956
Regarding claim 4, Francisco discloses the speaker device of claim 1, wherein at least one speaker assembly of the plurality of speaker assemblies (Figs 1B, 1D, speakers 132, 134 and 136, para [24, 28, 38, 41]comprises:
a speaker housing (Figs 1B, 1D, housing 102, , baffle 106 para [24]);
a speaker unit accommodated on one side of the speaker housing in one direction (Figs 1B, 1D, 7A-7B).
Francisco 2006/0215866 in view of Gladwin 2010/0322457 does not explicitly teach a mass member accommodated on the other side of the speaker housing in the one
direction and disposed to be spaced apart by a preset distance from the speaker unit in the one direction; wherein a weight of the mass member is greater than that of the speaker unit.
Varla teaches a mass member accommodated on the other side of the speaker housing in the one direction and disposed to be spaced apart by a preset distance from the speaker unit in the one direction (Figs 1-4 shows mass m1 is disposed to be spaced apart by a preset distance from the speaker unit in the one direction);
wherein a weight of the mass member is greater than that of the speaker unit (Fig 3 shows plurality additional mass M1. M2, m3... Mn is attached to other side of the speaker unit, col 5 line 54-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention incorporate a plurality of masses member accommodated on the other side of the speaker housing in one direction as taught by Varla in Francisco’s invention in view of Gladwin, the plurality weight of the masses member that would greater than that of the speaker unit.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francisco 2006/0215866 in view of Gladwin 2010/0322457 further in view of Bang, Sungil WO2023/224165A1
Regarding claim 9, Francisco in view of Gladwin does not explicitly the claimed limitation as recited in claim 9.
Bang, Sungil WO2023/224165A1 teaches the speaker device of claim 1, further comprising: a light assembly (Figs 7-11, LED array 120, 150, para [125-127] disposed in a light receiving portion of the device housing (speaker housing 100),
wherein the light receiving portion is disposed in a recess shape at one edge or the
other edge of the device housing (Figs 7-11 shows LED array 120 and 150 are disposed in a recess shaped at edges of the speaker housing 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention incorporate a light assembly disposed in a light receiving portion of the device housing wherein the light receiving portion is disposed in a recess shape at one edge or the other edge of the device housing in Francisco ‘s invention in view of Gladwin as taught by Bang Sungil, to provide the user with sound-related visual effects along with the sound output from the speaker, and to enhance the user’s immersion when using the speaker. See Bang Sungil’s para [22].
Regarding claim 10, Francisco 2006/0215866 in view of Gladwin 2010/0322457 does not explicitly the claimed limitation as recited in claim 10.
Bang, Sungil WO2023/224165A1 teaches the speaker device of claim 9, wherein the light assembly comprises: a cover member through which light passes (para [79-80] teaches the LED array 120 may further include a cover portion that covers a plurality of LED modules arranged in the LED array 120, the cover portion can be implemented as a film made of PMMA (polymethyl Methacrylate) or the like);
a diffusion member disposed on an inner surface of the cover member (para [14-18, 47-48, 79-82] teaches the cover portion is positioned on the upper part of a plurality of LED modules to protect the plurality of LED modules and can adjust the direction of light emitted from the plurality of LED modules);
a substrate member disposed on bottom and side surfaces of the light receiving portion; and an LED member disposed on the substrate member (para [80] teaches array LED 120 may further includes a substrate on which a plurality of LED modules are disposed on). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention incorporate wherein the light assembly comprises: a cover member through which light passes; a diffusion member disposed on an inner surface of the cover member a substrate member disposed on bottom and side surfaces of the light receiving portion; and an LED member disposed on the substrate member Francisco ‘s invention in view of Gladwin as taught by Bang Sungil, to provide the user with sound-related visual effects along with the sound output from the speaker, and to enhance the user’s immersion when using the speaker. See Bang Sungil’s para [22].
Regarding claims 11, 12, 13, Francisco 2006/0215866 in view of Gladwin 2010/0322457 does not explicitly teach the claimed limitation as recited in claims 11, 12, 13.
Bang, Sungil WO2023/224165A1 teaches claim 11, the speaker device of claim 10, wherein the bottom or side surface of the light receiving portion is disposed to have a different height or different preset angle for each region (Figs 7-11 shows LED array 120 and 150 portion is disposed to have a different height or different preset angle for each region, para [127-129, 141-144]);
Bang, Sungil WO2023/224165A1 teaches claim 12, the speaker device of claim 10, wherein one surface of the substrate member is disposed to have a different height or different preset angle for each region (Figs 7-11 and para [80] teaches array LED 120 may further includes a substrate on which a plurality of LED modules are disposed on).
Bang, Sungil WO2023/224165A1 teaches claim 13, the speaker device of claim 10, wherein the LED member is disposed to have a different height or different preset angle for each region on one surface of the substrate member (Figs 7-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention incorporate wherein the bottom or side surface of the light receiving portion is disposed to have a different height or different preset angle for each region, wherein one surface of the substrate member is disposed to have a different height or different preset angle for each region in Francisco ‘s invention in view of Gladwin as taught by Bang Sungil, this can lead to an effect that enhances user immersion by providing lighting suitable for the event or atmosphere desired by the user. See Bang, Sungil’s para [48].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 objected because the prior art references Francisco 2006/0215866 in view of Gladwin 2010/0322457 further in view of Varla 6373956 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “the speaker device of claim 4, wherein the speaker housing comprises: a housing body;
a first receiving portion disposed in the housing body to receive the speaker unit and a second receiving portion that receives the mass member; and
a plurality of rotation shaft members disposed on an outer surface of the housing body disposed with the first receiving portion.”
Claim 6 objected because the prior art references Francisco 2006/0215866 in view of Gladwin 2010/0322457 further in view of Varla 6373956 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “the speaker device of claim 5, wherein when mounted in the vertical direction, the housing body is tilted in one rotation direction with the rotation shaft member as a rotation axis due to a weight of the mass member, such that the mass member moves downward and the speaker unit moves upward.”
Claims 7-8 are objected because they are depending on claim 5.
Conclusion
/JULIE X DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692