DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to for claiming “a…scaffolds” which is grammatically incorrect. It is further unclear from this whether or not one or more than one scaffold are being claimed.
The claim is further unclear for claiming it includes “a cartilage layer GL-HPKGN” when it is unclear if this “GL-HPKGN” is simply a nickname for the cartilage layer, or whether it is intended to impart some meaning to the layer. If it is simply a nickname, it should be included in parentheses and consistently referred to throughout the claims whenever the “cartilage layer” is being discussed. If this is intended to impart some meaning to the cartilage layer or represents some abbreviation for something else, it is unclear what meaning this might impart, since there is no explanation of the abbreviation/additional meaning in the claim.
Similarly, the claim refers also to “an intermediate layer GL-GMA” and “a bone layer GL-HP/GMAT” without any explanation what the letters mean after the “intermediate layer” or “bone layer”.
The claim is further objected to for claiming “…and a bone layer GL-HP/GMAT; By…”, and “…in GL-HPKGN; Based on…” but it is improper to capitalize the word “by” in the middle of a sentence.
The claim is further objected to for defining hydroxyphenylpropionic acid (HPA)” multiple times.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “GMA” in the claim when it has previously referred to GL-GMA, and GL-GMAAT and it is unclear how, if at all, these all relate to one another.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “gelatin” multiple times, meaning there is improper antecedent basis for at least one recitation of gelatin.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “bone-specific microenvironment” when it is unclear how, if at all, this relates to the previously claimed “dual microenvironment”.
Claim 2 is objected to for claiming “the…scaffolds” when it is unclear if claim 1 is actually only referencing one scaffold or not.
The claim is also objected to for claiming “a trilayered mimetic hydrogel scaffolds of dual microenvironment” since it is unclear what it means to be “of dual microenvironment”. It is unclear whether the scaffold is intended to be placed within a dual microenvironment, whether the scaffold has a dual microenvironment, whether this relates to a method of formation, or something else. It is unclear whether this is intended to impart some structural limitation to the claim. If it is intended to impart meaning thereto, it is unclear exactly what meaning it should impart, since this is not understood to have any fixed meaning in the art.
The claim is further objected to for having improper antecedent basis for “the chondrogenic microenvironment-specific GL-HPKGN layer”.
It is further unclear what “the chondrogenic microenvironment-specific” layer is and how it relate to the previously claimed “dual microenvironment” and “cartilage layer GL-HPKGN”.
The claim is further unclear for claiming “gelatin GL” when it is unclear what GL means in the context of this claim, and since there is improper antecedent basis for “gelatin”.
The claim is further objected to for defining hydroxyphenylpropionic acid (HPA)” and “kartogenin (KGN)” again when they have already been defined in claim 1.
Claim 3 is objected to for claiming “the…scaffolds” when it is unclear if claim 1 is actually only referencing one scaffold or not.
The claim is also objected to for claiming “a trilayered mimetic hydrogel scaffolds of dual microenvironment” since it is unclear what it means to be “of dual microenvironment”. It is unclear whether the scaffold is intended to be placed within a dual microenvironment, whether the scaffold has a dual microenvironment, whether this relates to a method of formation, or something else. It is unclear whether this is intended to impart some structural limitation to the claim. If it is intended to impart meaning thereto, it is unclear exactly what meaning it should impart, since this is not understood to have any fixed meaning in the art.
The claim is further objected to for capitalizing “The” in the middle of a sentence.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “[t]he gelatin-p-hydroxyphenylpropionic acid GL-HPAT” with improper antecedent basis. It is further unclear how this relates, if at all, to the previously claimed “cartilage layer GL-HPKGN”, “bone layer GL-HP/GMAT”, either one of the gelatins, or the cartilage-specific microenvironment in HPKGN.
The claim is further objected to for referring to adding “p-hydroxyphenylpropionic acid (HPA)” when HPA has already been defined in previous claims, and since “p-hydroxyphenylpropionic acid” appears to be distinct from “hydroxyphenylpropionic acid” as HPA was previously defined as.
The claim is further objected to for referring to “atorvastatin (AT)” and “dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO)” when both of these claims have already been defined in claim 2.
The claim is further objected to for having a period in the middle of the claim, and no space between the “GL.The”.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “gelatin-p-hydroxyphenylpropionic acid GL-HPAT” with improper antecedent basis.
Claim 4 is objected to for claiming “the…scaffolds” when it is unclear if claim 1 is actually only referencing one scaffold or not.
The claim is also objected to for claiming “a trilayered mimetic hydrogel scaffolds of dual microenvironment” since it is unclear what it means to be “of dual microenvironment”. It is unclear whether the scaffold is intended to be placed within a dual microenvironment, whether the scaffold has a dual microenvironment, whether this relates to a method of formation, or something else. It is unclear whether this is intended to impart some structural limitation to the claim. If it is intended to impart meaning thereto, it is unclear exactly what meaning it should impart, since this is not understood to have any fixed meaning in the art.
The claim is further objected to for referring to “the pH” with improper antecedent basis.
The claim is further objected to “the gelatin-p-hydroxyphenyl acetic acid (GL-HPAAT) solution”. It is further unclear how this relates to the previously claimed gelatin-p-hydroxyphenylpropionic acid GL-HPAT, the gelatin(s), the HPA, and all the other materials.
The claim is further objected to for referring to “HCl” when abbreviations or acronyms should have explanation before their use in the claim.
Claim 5 is objected to for claiming “the…scaffolds” when it is unclear if claim 1 is actually only referencing one scaffold or not.
The claim is also objected to for claiming “a trilayered mimetic hydrogel scaffolds of dual microenvironment” since it is unclear what it means to be “of dual microenvironment”. It is unclear whether the scaffold is intended to be placed within a dual microenvironment, whether the scaffold has a dual microenvironment, whether this relates to a method of formation, or something else. It is unclear whether this is intended to impart some structural limitation to the claim. If it is intended to impart meaning thereto, it is unclear exactly what meaning it should impart, since this is not understood to have any fixed meaning in the art.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “gelatin” with improper antecedent basis. It is further unclear how “gelatin (GL)” relates to the previously mentioned gelatins, and previously mentioned materials with GL in their name.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “methyl methacrylate (GMA)” when GMA has already been defined in claim 1.
Claim 6 is objected to for claiming “the…scaffolds” when it is unclear if claim 1 is actually only referencing one scaffold or not.
The claim is also objected to for claiming “a trilayered mimetic hydrogel scaffolds of dual microenvironment” since it is unclear what it means to be “of dual microenvironment”. It is unclear whether the scaffold is intended to be placed within a dual microenvironment, whether the scaffold has a dual microenvironment, whether this relates to a method of formation, or something else. It is unclear whether this is intended to impart some structural limitation to the claim. If it is intended to impart meaning thereto, it is unclear exactly what meaning it should impart, since this is not understood to have any fixed meaning in the art.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “the cartilage layer (GL-HPKGN)” when the claim has previously referred to “the cartilage layer GL-HPKGN” and it is unclear how, if at all, these relate to one another.
The claim is further unclear for referencing “a gel” when it is unclear how, if at all, this relates to the “hydrogel” of the scaffold previously referenced.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “the enzymatic oxidation reaction” with improper antecedent basis.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “H2O2” when abbreviations/acronyms should clearly reference the element being discussed in the claim before using the abbreviation.
The claim is further objected to for missing a space between “…H2O2;the…”.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “a gel” and “the enzymatic oxidation reaction” multiple times in the claim, indicating a lack of antecedent basis.
The claim is further objected to for referring to “horseradish peroxidase (HRP)” multiple times, indicating a lack of antecedent basis.
The claim is further objected to for missing a word after “light curing” (e.g. “and”).
The claim is further unclear for referring to being “quickly” cross-linked but the specification fails to describe exactly what “quickly” means and so the Examiner cannot understand the boundaries and limitations of the claim.
Claim 7 is objected to for claiming “the…scaffolds” when it is unclear if claim 1 is actually only referencing one scaffold or not.
The claim is also objected to for claiming “a trilayered mimetic hydrogel scaffolds of dual microenvironment” since it is unclear what it means to be “of dual microenvironment”. It is unclear whether the scaffold is intended to be placed within a dual microenvironment, whether the scaffold has a dual microenvironment, whether this relates to a method of formation, or something else. It is unclear whether this is intended to impart some structural limitation to the claim. If it is intended to impart meaning thereto, it is unclear exactly what meaning it should impart, since this is not understood to have any fixed meaning in the art.
The claim is further unclear for referring to “The application” with improper antecedent basis. The Examiner notes the claim from which this depends is a “scaffold(s)”, making this unclear.
There is further improper antecedent basis for “the preparation”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for claiming “a trilayered mimetic hydrogel scaffolds of dual microenvironment” since it is unclear what it means to be “of dual microenvironment”. It is unclear whether the scaffold is intended to be placed within a dual microenvironment, whether the scaffold has a dual microenvironment, whether this relates to a method of formation, or something else. It is unclear whether this is intended to impart some structural limitation to the claim. If it is intended to impart meaning thereto, it is unclear exactly what meaning it should impart, since this is not understood to have any fixed meaning in the art. The specification does not define this in any special way, and it appears there could be many definitions that might apply to it.
The claim further is unclear for claiming a photo-crosslinking reaction “was used” to graft AT onto gelatin, when it is unclear whether this is an attempt to claim a method of manufacture within the claimed structure of the scaffold(s), or whether this is simply describing how the dual crosslinking network was created without actually requiring this for the claim.
The claim is further unclear for claiming the intermediate layer “was beneficial for forming a clear and defined cartilage-bone integrated structure”. First, it is unclear how something being beneficial relates to the claimed scaffold(s), and whether this imparts any structural or functional requirement thereto. Second, it is unclear what it means to be a “clear and defined” structure. The specification does not appear to elaborate on what it means to be a “clear and defined” structure, meaning the Examiner is unclear on what would fit within the boundaries of the “clear” or “defined” and what would not. Third, it is unclear how this “cartilage-bone integrated structure” relates to the “scaffold(s)”, cartilage layer, intermediate layer, or bone layer. As claimed it appears it is intended to be a completely different structural element of the scaffold, but based on the specification the Examiner is unsure.
Claim 3 is indefinite for referring to “methylpropenylglycide (GMA)” when claim 1 has already defined “GMA”, but has defined it as “methacryloyl-glycidyl dimethicone”.
The claim is further indefinite to for claiming the bone layer “was prepared” by mixing elements together when it is unclear whether or not this is attempting to positively claim the method of production of the bone layer, or whether this is simply commenting on how it was prepared. It is unclear what is required for the claim and what is not.
Claim 5 is indefinite for referring to “methyl methacrylate (GMA)” when claim 1 has already defined “GMA” as “methacryloyl-glycidyl dimethicone”.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oezguerbuez (TR 201011221 A2) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 114984315 A) hereinafter known as Zhang, further in view of Wang et al. “Modulation of chondrocyte functions and stiffness-dependent cartilage repair using an injectable enzymatically crosslinked hydrogel with tunable mechanical properties”, Biomaterials, 35 (2014) 2207-2217, (hereinafter known as Wang), and further in view of Shah et al. “Novel applications of statins for bone regeneration”, Natl Sci Rev., 2015 March 1; 2(1): 85-99, hereinafter known as Shah, further in view of Lim et al. (WO 2017095240 A1) hereinafter known as Lim.
Regarding claim 1 Oezguerbuez discloses a tri-layered (Figure 1 which shows layers 2, 3, 4) biomimetic scaffold (Figure 1) of dual microenvironment (Figure 1 shows at least two “environments” which are considered to have microstructure, 2 and 4) characterized in that it includes
a cartilage layer (2; page 2 last line to page 3 line 1 of the translation),
an intermediate layer (3; page 2 line 4), and
a bone layer (4; page 2 lines 4-5);
wherein gelatin forms a cartilage-specific microenvironment in the cartilage layer (page 4 paragraph 3, lines 1-3),
wherein gelatin forms the bone layer with a bone-specific microenvironment (page 5, last paragraph, lines 1-3),
wherein the intermediate layer forms a clear and defined cartilage-bone integrated structure (Figure 1 item 3 shows a clear and defined structure which is considered to be a cartilage-bone integrated structure since it sits between the cartilage layer 2 and bone layer 4),
but is silent with regards to the scaffold being hydrogel,
the cartilage layer being formed by an enzymatic crosslinking reaction and being based on hydroxyphenylpropionic acid (HPA), to have kartogenin (KGN) grafted onto gelatin,
and the bone layer including a dual-crosslinking network which is formed by enzyme crosslinking reaction based on HPA, and methacryloyl-glycidyl dimethicone (GMA) photo-crosslinking reaction, to graft atorvastatin (AT) onto gelatin to form the bone layer.
However, regarding claim 1 Zhang teaches a tissue engineering composition (Abstract: promotes cartilage ECM deposition and improves cartilage defect repair potential) can be made of a hydrogel (Abstract: dynamic protein hydrogel), that includes a layer for replacing cartilage (Abstract: cartilage defect repair potential) that can be formed by an [chemical] crosslinking reaction and being based on HPA, to have KGN grafted onto gelatin (Abstract: gelatin, Au3+, and KGN are crosslinked).
Further, Wang teaches crosslinking of gelatin can occur via an enzymatic process using HPA (Abstract).
Oezguerbuez, Zhang, and Wang are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely tissue engineering materials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the scaffold of Oezguerbuez so that it is made of a hydrogel formed with KGN grafted onto gelatin as is taught by Zhang since KGN is known in the art to promote differentiation of mesenchymal stem cells into cartilage and thus relieves cartilage matrix degradation caused by inflammation. Further, it would have been obvious to crosslink via enzymatic means as opposed to chemical means, as is taught by Wang, since both chemical and enzymatic crosslinking mechanisms are found successful in the art, and the courts have held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Further, regarding claim 1 Shah teaches the use of gelatin (page 8 last paragraph: hydrogels are a popular method of local delivery for bone application, including gelatin) to deliver statins, including AT (page 1, introduction, third to last line), for use within bone regeneration (Abstract). Oezguerbuez and Shah are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely tissue engineering. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the scaffold of the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Combination so that the bone layer included AT as is taught by Shah in order to result in the bone layer of the Combination promoting bone generation, while minimizing inflammation and providing antimicrobial properties.
Further, Wang already teaches that gelatin crosslinking can occur via enzymatic processes using HPA (see the rejection directly above where this is addressed), and Lim further teaches a gelatin hydrogel (page 1 lines 21-28), such as was created by the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Shah Combination, benefits from photo polymerization, and this crosslinking polymerization can occur via GMA (page 1 line 33-page 2 line 3). Oezguerbuez and Lim are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely tissue scaffolds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the scaffold of the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Shah Combination so that its gelatin-AT bone layer is also crosslinked via GMA as is taught by Lim in order to allow control over the polymerization process, allowing it to be performed at room or physiological temperatures, with fast curing rates and minimal heat generation, thus widening the possibilities of crosslinking in-situ.
Regarding claim 2 the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Shah Lim Combination teaches the scaffold of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches the cartilage layer is obtained by adding gelatin to HPA, KGN, dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), ultrapure water, N-hydroxysuccinimide, and 1-ethyl-3-(3-dimethylaminopropyl)-carbodiimide hydrochloride (The applicant is advised that this is a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the cited limitations failed to distinguish the claimed structure from the Combination, since all the structural limitations of the claim appear to be met.).
Regarding claim 3 the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Shah Lim Combination teaches the scaffold of claim 2 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches the bone layer is obtained by mixing gelatin-p-hydroxyphenylpropionic acid and GMA, wherein the gelatin-p-hydroxyphenylpropionic acid is obtained by adding HPA, AT, DMSO, ultrapure water, N-hydroxysuccinimide, and 1-ethyl-3-(3-dimethylaminopropyl)-carbodiimide hydrochloride to gelatin (The applicant is advised that this is a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”. See MPEP 2113. In this case, the cited limitations failed to distinguish the claimed structure from the Combination, since all the structural limitations of the claim appear to be met.).
Regarding claim 4 the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Shah Lim Combination teaches the scaffold of claim 3 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches a pH of the gelatin-p-hydroxyphenylpropionic acid solution is adjusted to 4-5 using HCl (this appears to be drawn towards something other than a part of the claimed scaffold).
Regarding claim 5 the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Shah Lim Combination teaches the scaffold of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Oezguerbuez further discloses the intermediate layer is gelatin (page 5 paragraph 4 lines 1-6),
and wherein Lim further teaches a gelatin layer can obtained by mixing gelatin (page 1 lines 21-28) with GMA (page 1 line 33-page 2 line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the intermediate layer of the Combination so that it is mixed with GMA as is taught by Lim in order to allow the layer to have a structural similarity to the native extracellular matrix, have low immunogenicity, retain native molecular epitopes important for cell signaling, and allow control over the spatial and temporal processes of polymerization.
Regarding claim 6 the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Shah Lim Combination teaches the scaffold of claim 2 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Zhang further teaches a gelatin material (e.g. the gelatin of the cartilage layer, intermediate layer, or bone layer) is (quickly) crosslinked into a gel (Abstract), and
wherein Wang further teaches the enzymatic oxidation reduction reaction between gelatin and GMA occurs with horseradish peroxidase (HRP) and hydrogen peroxide (Abstract) and is then subjected to light curing (or light exposure) (page 2208, last 5 lines of the second paragraph which indicates gelatin-GMA hydrogels are known to have UV exposure after preparation),
Regarding claim 7 the Oezguerbuez Zhang Wang Shah Lim Combination teaches the scaffold of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Oezguerbuez further discloses the scaffold is capable of use in cartilage-bone tissue regeneration materials (Abstract, see also page 11, last paragraph before the claims).
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774