DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner's Note
The instant application has a lengthy prosecution history and the examiner encourages the applicant to have a telephonic interview with the examiner prior to filing a response to the instant office action. Also, prior to the interview the examiner encourages the applicant to present multiple possible claim amendments, so as to enable the examiner to identify claim amendments that will advance prosecution in a meaningful manner.
Acknowledgment
Claims 3-5 and 8-10, canceled on 6/9/2026, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 1, 6, 11, amended on 6/9/2026, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Presented arguments with respect to claims 1-3 have been fully considered, but they are rendered moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicants. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the drawing objection, in the response filed on 6/9/2026 the Applicant amended Figs. 40 and 47 then argued, “Therefore, amended FIGs. 40 and 47 clearly show support for the features identified in the Office Action and claims (e.g., "the intra prediction modes available for the current coding block are classified into a plurality of groups" and "the group to which the intra prediction mode of the current coding block belongs") [para. 0002 on page 8 of the Remarks]. However, this argument is not persuasive for few reasons. First, it is noted that Figs. 40 and 47 only mention “residual mode groups”. It is clear that “residual mode groups” are not equivalent as “groups of intra prediction modes”. Moreover, the “residual mode groups” have not mentioned anywhere in specification, except in the drawing amendment filed on 6/9/2026. Hence it is a new matter and it will not be entered. As a result, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the drawing objection is maintained.
Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the intra prediction modes available for the current coding block are classified into a plurality of groups” , “the group to which the intra prediction mode of the current coding block belongs” must be shown or the feature(s) must be canceled from the claims 1-11. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US Patent 10,142,627 B2), (“Zhao”), in view of Lee et al. (US Patent 11,259,047 B2), (“Lee”), in view of Sunwoo et al. (US Patent 10,341,655 B2), (“Sunwoo”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao meets the claim limitations as follow.
A method of decoding an image (a method of decoding a block of video data) [Zhao: col. 2, line 24-25] by an image decoding device (video decoder) [Zhao: col. 4, line 15-16; Fig. 7], the method comprising: receiving (receive) [Zhao: col. 6, line 21; Figs. 1, 7] a bitstream (encoded bitstream) [Zhao: col. 8, line 44; Fig. 7] including a coded picture of the image (receive encoded video data from source device via a channel) [Zhao: col. 6, line 21-22; Figs. 1, 7];
obtaining (video decoder 30 may obtain) [Zhao: col. 25, line 7] coefficients of a current coding block in the coded picture from the bitstream (video decoder 30 may receive a bitstream that includes a sequence of bits that forms a representation of coded pictures and associated data, the coded pictures including the current picture) [Zhao: col. 27, line 27-30; Fig. 7]; obtaining (video decoder 30 may obtain) [Zhao: col. 25, line 7] a residual block of the current coding block by performing at least one of an inverse-quantization and an inverse-transform on the coefficients of the current coding block (In addition, video decoder 30 may inverse quantize coefficient blocks associated with TUs of the current CU. Video decoder 30 may perform inverse transforms on the coefficient blocks to reconstruct transform blocks associated with the TUs of the current CU) [Zhao: col. 13, line 18-22; Fig. 7];deriving ((decode) [Zhao: col. 35, line 65]; (deriving) [Zhao: col. 24, line 10]) an intra prediction mode of a current coding block in the coded picture (decode syntax information that indicates a selected intra prediction mode for a block of video data) [Zhao: col. 35, line 65-67] among intra prediction modes available for the current coding block ((deriving M MPMs for intra prediction of the block of video data from among a plurality of intra prediction modes) [Zhao: col. 24, line 10-11]; (determines the context based on both intra prediction modes for one or more blocks as well as size information for the current block) [Zhao: col. 12, line 45-47; Figs. 1, 7]; and performing, based on the derived intra prediction mode (calculate a value of the respective sample by applying an N-tap intra interpolation filter to neighboring reconstructed samples) [Zhao: col. 34 line 1-5; Figs. 1, 7], intra prediction (i.e. intra prediction processing unit 126 may generate predictive blocks for the PU using a particular set of samples from neighboring blocks) [Zhao: col. 39, line 62-64] to generate a prediction block of the current coding block ((i.e. generating a prediction sample for a block of video data) [Zhao: col. 4, line 6-7; Figs. 4-5]; (i.e. video decoder 30 may reconstruct the block of video data according to the selected intra prediction mode and the one or more additional intra prediction modes. For instance, video decoder 30 may reconstruct a CU containing the block based on residual data for the CU and a predictive block for the block generated based on the selected intra prediction mode and the one or more additional intra prediction modes) [Zhao: col. 36, line 5-12]); and
reconstructing the current coding block based on the prediction block and the residual block of the current coding block (Video decoder 30 may reconstruct the coding blocks of the current CU by adding the samples of the predictive blocks for Pus of the current CU to corresponding samples of the transform blocks of the TUs of the current CU. By reconstructing the coding blocks for each CU of a picture, video decoder 30 may reconstruct the picture) [Zhao: col. 13 line 22-28; Figs. 1, 7],
wherein the current coding block being determined based on at least one of a quad-tree division or a binary-tree division ((To generate a coded CTU, video encoder 20 may recursively perform quad-tree partitioning on the coding tree blocks of a CTU to divide the coding tree blocks into coding blocks) [Zhao: col. 9, line 25-28]);wherein the intra prediction modes available for the current coding block (intra prediction modes for one or more blocks as well as size information for the current block) [Zhao: col. 12, line 45-47; Figs. 1, 7] are classified into a plurality of groups ((derives M MPMs for intra prediction of the block of video data from among a plurality of intra prediction modes. In one example, M may be greater than 3 and the MPMs may include an MPM for a left column and an MPM for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 58, line 39-44] – Note: Zhao discloses that his invention can divide the most probable modes (MPMs) into groups of M or more MPMs; (the derivation process for the MPMs of the current PU includes a derivation process for a representative intra prediction mode (candintraPredModeA) for a left neighboring column and a representative intra prediction mode (candintraPredModeB) for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 50, line 39-43] – Note: Zhao discloses that the intra prediction modes in his invention can be classified into several groups. For example, one group for the intra prediction modes of the blocks on the left column (candintraPredModeA), one group for the intra prediction modes of the blocks on the above neighboring row (candintraPredModeB), and other group(s) for other locations), wherein a number of the groups is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ((derives M MPMs for intra prediction of the block of video data from among a plurality of intra prediction modes. In one example, M may be greater than 3 and the MPMs may include an MPM for a left column and an MPM for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 58, line 39-44], wherein deriving the intra prediction mode of the current coding block comprises (derives M MPMs for intra prediction of the block of video data from among a plurality of intra prediction modes) [Zhao: col. 58, line 39-41]: obtaining, from the bitstream (i.e. obtain a prev intra_pred_flag from a bitstream) [Zhao: col. 25, line 7-8], one or more flags specifying a group to which the intra prediction mode of the current coding block belongs among the plurality of the groups (for each PU, a one-bit flag prev_intra_luma_pred_flag[xPb ][yPb] is first signaled to indicate whether the selected intra mode of the current PU is same as one of the three MPMs) [Zhao: col. 17, line 60-63]; determining, based on the one or more flags (for each PU, a one-bit flag prev_intra_luma_pred_flag[xPb ][yPb] is first signaled to indicate whether the selected intra mode of the current PU is same as one of the three MPMs) [Zhao: col. 17, line 60-63], the group to which the intra prediction mode of the current coding block belongs (The MPM index indicates which of the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode. The non-MPM index indicates which of the plurality of intra prediction modes other than the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode) [Zhao: col. 25, line 8-12]; and deriving the intra prediction mode of the current coding block (video decoder 30 may decode syntax information that indicates a selected intra prediction mode for a block of video data) [Zhao: col. 35, line 65-67] by determining one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group as the intra prediction mode ((candModeList[0] = candlntraPredModeA; candModeList[1] = candlntraPredModeB) [Zhao: col. 48, line 55-57] ; (candModeList[3] = 2 + (( candlntraPredModeA + 29 )%32); (candModeList[4] = 2 + (( candlntraPredModeA - 1 )%32)) [Zhao: col. 49, line 29-31] – Note: These equations demonstrate how Zhao’s invention determines one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group as the intra prediction mode), wherein a maximum number of the flags obtained for the current coding block is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups, and wherein the plurality of candidates included in the group includes a first intra prediction mode candidate and a second intra prediction mode candidate (a list of N intra prediction mode candidates) [Zhao: col. 37, line 14; Figs. 10-21] different from the first intra prediction mode candidate (if candintraPredModeA is not equal to candintraPredModeB) [Zhao: col. 51, line 2-3],wherein only a top neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among top neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the first intra prediction mode candidate (FIG. 4, the prediction value is calculated using four specific neighboring reconstructed samples, i.e., reference samples, with a bilinear filter. The four reference samples include a top-right reconstructed sample TR (50)) [Zhao: col. 15, line 48-51; Figs. 4] – Note: Please see the TR (50) block adjacent at the top right corner in Figure 4),wherein only a left neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among left neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the second intra prediction mode candidate (FIG. 4, the prediction value is calculated using four specific neighboring reconstructed samples, i.e., reference samples, with a bilinear filter. The four reference samples include a top-right reconstructed sample TR (50), a bottom-left reconstructed sample BL (52)) [Zhao: col. 15, line 48-51; Figs. 4] – Note: Please see the BL (52) block adjacent at the bottom left corner in Figure 4).
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein a maximum number of the flags obtained for the current coding block is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the intra prediction modes available for the current coding block are classified into a plurality of groups ((a method for deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block using a plurality of MPM candidate 20 groups) [Lee: col. 32, line 18-20]; (FIG. 25 shows an example of deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block, using 3 MPM candidate groups) [Lee: col. 4, line 37-38; Fig. 25]; (A number of MPM candidate groups used to derive an intra-prediction mode of a current block is not limited to the examples described) [Lee: col. 35, line 1-4]), wherein a number of the groups is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ((FIG. 25 shows an example of deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block, using 3 MPM candidate groups) [Lee: col. 4, line 37-38; Fig. 25]; (When a third MPM candidate group includes 16 MPM candidates, information (e.g., '3rd_mpm_idx') for identifying MPM candidate included in a third MPM candidate group may be encoded as a fixed length of 4 bits) [Lee: col. 34, line 57-60],
wherein a maximum number of the flags obtained for the current coding block (a plurality of MPM candidate groups may be determined based on information signaled in units of a sequence, a picture, a slice, a unit to be encoded/decoded. Here, the information may be information indicating a maximum number of MPM candidates or flag information indicating whether to use a plurality of MPM
candidate groups) [Lee: col. 35, line 7-17; col. 14, line 40-58; col. 33, line 28-44] is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups (Here, the intra prediction mode having similar directionality may be determined bysubtracting a predetermined constant value to or from the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block. The predetermined constant value may be an integer, such as one, two, or more) [Lee: col. 14, line 32-36].
wherein the group includes a first intra prediction mode candidate and a second intra prediction mode candidate (generation of the plurality of MPM candidates may comprise generating a first MPM candidate group, and generating a second MPM
candidate group) [Lee: col. 2, line 26-29; Figs. 6],wherein only a top neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among top neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the first intra prediction mode candidate (a horizontal direction provisional prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using a reference sample adjacent to a top right comer of the current block and a reference sample having y coordinate identical to the horizontal direction provisional prediction sample) [Lee: col. 36, line 33-38; Fig. 6] – Note: Please see the P(3, -1) block adjacent at the top right corner in Figure 6),wherein only a left neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among left neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the second intra prediction mode candidate (a vertical direction provisional
prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using a reference sample adjacent to a bottom left corner of the current block and a reference sample having x coordinate identical to the vertical direction provisional prediction sample.) [Lee: col. 36, line 38-43; Fig. 6] – Note: Please see the P(-1, 3) block adjacent at the bottom left corner in Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Zhao with Lee will enable the system to perform an efficient intra prediction [ Lee: col. 3, line 36-38].
In the same field of endeavor, Sunwoo further discloses the amended limitations as follows:
determining one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group as the intra prediction mode (According to another aspect of the present disclosure,
there is provided a method of determining an intra-prediction mode using an HEVC encoding device, the method including selecting a plurality of representative modes as a candidate group from among intra-prediction modes, the plurality of representative modes each representing a range where there is an optimal mode; updating the candidate group using a plurality of minimum modes selected from the candidate group; and selecting any one mode as the optimal mode from among a plurality of minimum modes selected from the updated candidate group) [Sunwoo: col. 2, line 59 – col. 3, line 2],
a second intra prediction mode candidate different from the first intra prediction mode candidate (the FMMi-1 is (i-1)-th the first minimum mode, the SMMi-1 is (i-1) the second minimum mode, and ±24-i is the variable mode value) [Sunwoo: col. 11, line 16-19].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao and Lee with Sunwoo to program the system to implement of the Sunwoo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Zhao and Lee with Sunwoo will enable the system to reduce a computational complexity [Sunwoo: col. 1, line 54-60].
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Zhao meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 6. Zhao further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein one of the groups includes only five MPM (most probable mode) candidates for the intra prediction of the current coding block ((The MPM index indicates which of the
M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode) [Zhao: col. 58, line 21-22; Figs. 1, 6]; (i.e. The value of rem_intra_luma_pred_mode [xPb][yPb] could be 0, 1, ... , 31) [Zhao: col. 18, line 8-9; Fig. 10-17]).
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein one of the groups includes only five MPM (most probable mode) candidates for the intra prediction of the current coding block.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein one of the groups includes only five MPM (most probable mode) candidates for the intra prediction of the current coding block (The maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list may be three, four, five, six, or more. The maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list may be a fixed value preset in the device for encoding/decoding a video, or may be variably determined based on a characteristic of the current block) [Lee: col. 14, line 43-48].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Zhao with Lee will enable the system to perform an efficient intra prediction [ Lee: col. 3, line 36-38].
Regarding claim 6, Zhao meets the claim limitations as follow.
A method of encoding an image (a method of encoding a block of video data) [Zhao: col. 2, line 4-5; Figs. 1, 6] by an image encoding device (video encoder) [Zhao: col. 4, line 11-12; Fig. 6], the method comprising: receiving a picture of the image (receive video from a video content provider) [Zhao: col. 8, line 15; Figs. 1, 6]; and performing (calculate a value of the respective sample by applying an N-tap intra interpolation filter to neighboring reconstructed samples) [Zhao: col. 34 line 1-5; Figs. 1, 7], based on an intra prediction mode (selected intra prediction mode of the plurality of intra prediction modes for intra prediction of the block of video data) [Zhao: col. 3, line 2-5; Figs. 8-9], intra prediction to generate a prediction block of a current coding block in the picture ((i.e. intra prediction processing unit 126 may generate predictive blocks for the PU using a particular set of samples from neighboring blocks) [Zhao: col. 39, line 62-64]; (generating a prediction sample for a block of video data according to a planar intra prediction mode) [Zhao: col. 4, line 6-7; Fig. 4-6]),
generating a residual block including residual data of the current coding block based on an original block of the current coding block and the prediction block (Video encoder 20 may generate residual data that represents pixel differences between the current CU and the predictive block) [Zhao: col. 22, line 44-46; Figs. 1, 5]; and encoding the residual block by performing at least one of a transform or a quantization on the residual data of the residual block (video encoder 20 may transform and
quantize the residual data and include, in a bitstream, entropy encoded syntax elements representing the resulting quantized transform coefficients) [Zhao: col. 28, line 60-63; Figs. 1, 5],
wherein the current coding block being determined based on at least one of a quad-tree division or a binary-tree division ((To generate a coded CTU, video encoder 20 may recursively perform quad-tree partitioning on the coding tree blocks of a CTU to divide the coding tree blocks into coding blocks) [Zhao: col. 9, line 25-28]);wherein the intra prediction mode is one of intra prediction modes available for the current coding block (selected intra prediction mode of the plurality of intra prediction modes for intra prediction of the block of video data) [Zhao: col. 3, line 2-5; Figs. 8-9], wherein the intra prediction modes available for the current coding block (intra prediction modes for one or more blocks as well as size information for the current block) [Zhao: col. 12, line 45-47; Figs. 1, 7] are classified into a plurality of groups ((derives M MPMs for intra prediction of the block of video data from among a plurality of intra prediction modes. In one example, M may be greater than 3 and the MPMs may include an MPM for a left column and an MPM for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 58, line 39-44] – Note: Zhao discloses that his invention can divide the most probable modes (MPMs) into groups of M or more MPMs; (the derivation process for the MPMs of the current PU includes a derivation process for a representative intra prediction mode (candintraPredModeA) for a left neighboring column and a representative intra prediction mode (candintraPredModeB) for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 50, line 39-43] – Note: Zhao discloses that the intra prediction modes in his invention can be classified into several groups. For example, one group for the intra prediction modes of the blocks on the left column (candintraPredModeA), one group for the intra prediction modes of the blocks on the above neighboring row (candintraPredModeB), and other group(s) for other locations), wherein a number of the groups is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ((derives M MPMs for intra prediction of the block of video data from among a plurality of intra prediction modes. In one example, M may be greater than 3 and the MPMs may include an MPM for a left column and an MPM for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 58, line 39-44], wherein a group to which the intra prediction mode of the current coding block belongs (The MPM index indicates which of the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode. The non-MPM index indicates which of the plurality of intra prediction modes other than the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode) [Zhao: col. 25, line 8-12] among the plurality of the groups is determined (for each PU, a one-bit flag prev_intra_luma_pred_flag[xPb ][yPb] is first signaled to indicate whether the selected intra mode of the current PU is same as one of the three MPMs) [Zhao: col. 17, line 60-63],
wherein the one or more flags (for each PU, a one-bit flag prev_intra_luma_pred_flag [xPb ][yPb] is first signaled to indicate whether the selected intra mode of the current PU is same as one of the three MPMs) [Zhao: col. 17, line 60-63], specifying the group to which the intra prediction mode of the current coding block belongs among the plurality of the groups are encoded (The MPM index indicates which of the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode. The non-MPM index indicates which of the plurality of intra prediction modes other than the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode) [Zhao: col. 25, line 8-12],
wherein the intra prediction mode of the current coding block is determined as one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group ((candModeList[0] = candlntraPredModeA; candModeList[1] = candlntraPredModeB) [Zhao: col. 48, line 55-57] ; (candModeList[3] = 2 + (( candlntraPredModeA + 29 )%32); (candModeList[4] = 2 + (( candlntraPredModeA - 1 )%32)) [Zhao: col. 49, line 29-31] – Note: These equations demonstrate how Zhao’s invention determines one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group as the intra prediction mode),wherein a maximum number of the flags encoded for the current coding block is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups, wherein the plurality of candidates included in the group includes a first intra prediction mode candidate and a second intra prediction mode candidate (a list of N intra prediction mode candidates) [Zhao: col. 37, line 14; Figs. 10-21] different from the first intra prediction mode candidate (if candintraPredModeA is not equal to candintraPredModeB) [Zhao: col. 51, line 2-3],wherein only a top neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among top neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the first intra prediction mode candidate (FIG. 4, the prediction value is calculated using four specific neighboring reconstructed samples, i.e., reference samples, with a bilinear filter. The four reference samples include a top-right reconstructed sample TR (50)) [Zhao: col. 15, line 48-51; Figs. 4] – Note: Please see the TR (50) block adjacent at the top right corner in Figure 4),wherein only a left neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among left neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the second intra prediction mode candidate (FIG. 4, the prediction value is calculated using four specific neighboring reconstructed samples, i.e., reference samples, with a bilinear filter. The four reference samples include a top-right reconstructed sample TR (50), a bottom-left reconstructed sample BL (52)) [Zhao: col. 15, line 48-51; Figs. 4] – Note: Please see the BL (52) block adjacent at the bottom left corner in Figure 4).
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein a maximum number of the flags obtained for the current coding block is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the intra prediction modes available for the current coding block are classified into a plurality of groups ((a method for deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block using a plurality of MPM candidate 20 groups) [Lee: col. 32, line 18-20]; (FIG. 25 shows an example of deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block, using 3 MPM candidate groups) [Lee: col. 4, line 37-38; Fig. 25]; (A number of MPM candidate groups used to derive an intra-prediction mode of a current block is not limited to the examples described) [Lee: col. 35, line 1-4]), wherein a number of the groups is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ((FIG. 25 shows an example of deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block, using 3 MPM candidate groups) [Lee: col. 4, line 37-38; Fig. 25]; (When a third MPM candidate group includes 16 MPM candidates, information (e.g., '3rd_mpm_idx') for identifying MPM candidate included in a third MPM candidate group may be encoded as a fixed length of 4 bits) [Lee: col. 34, line 57-60],
wherein a maximum number of the flags obtained for the current coding block (a plurality of MPM candidate groups may be determined based on information signaled in units of a sequence, a picture, a slice, a unit to be encoded/decoded. Here, the information may be information indicating a maximum number of MPM candidates or flag information indicating whether to use a plurality of MPM
candidate groups) [Lee: col. 35, line 7-17; col. 14, line 40-58; col. 33, line 28-44] is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups (Here, the intra prediction mode having similar directionality may be determined bysubtracting a predetermined constant value to or from the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block. The predetermined constant value may be an integer, such as one, two, or more) [Lee: col. 14, line 32-36].
wherein the group includes a first intra prediction mode candidate and a second intra prediction mode candidate (generation of the plurality of MPM candidates may comprise generating a first MPM candidate group, and generating a second MPM
candidate group) [Lee: col. 2, line 26-29; Figs. 6],wherein only a top neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among top neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the first intra prediction mode candidate (a horizontal direction provisional prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using a reference sample adjacent to a top right comer of the current block and a reference sample having y coordinate identical to the horizontal direction provisional prediction sample) [Lee: col. 36, line 33-38; Fig. 6] – Note: Please see the P(3, -1) block adjacent at the top right corner in Figure 6),wherein only a left neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among left neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the second intra prediction mode candidate (a vertical direction provisional
prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using a reference sample adjacent to a bottom left corner of the current block and a reference sample having x coordinate identical to the vertical direction provisional prediction sample.) [Lee: col. 36, line 38-43; Fig. 6] – Note: Please see the P(-1, 3) block adjacent at the bottom left corner in Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Zhao with Lee will enable the system to perform an efficient intra prediction [ Lee: col. 3, line 36-38].
In the same field of endeavor, Sunwoo further discloses the amended limitations as follows:
determining one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group as the intra prediction mode (According to another aspect of the present disclosure,
there is provided a method of determining an intra-prediction mode using an HEVC encoding device, the method including selecting a plurality of representative modes as a candidate group from among intra-prediction modes, the plurality of representative modes each representing a range where there is an optimal mode; updating the candidate group using a plurality of minimum modes selected from the candidate group; and selecting any one mode as the optimal mode from among a plurality of minimum modes selected from the updated candidate group) [Sunwoo: col. 2, line 59 – col. 3, line 2],
a second intra prediction mode candidate different from the first intra prediction mode candidate (the FMMi-1 is (i-1)-th the first minimum mode, the SMMi-1 is (i-1) the second minimum mode, and ±24-i is the variable mode value) [Sunwoo: col. 11, line 16-19].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao and Lee with Sunwoo to program the system to implement of the Sunwoo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Zhao and Lee with Sunwoo will enable the system to reduce a computational complexity [Sunwoo: col. 1, line 54-60].
Regarding claim 11, Zhao meets the claim limitations as follow.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium (video data memory) [Zhao: col. 38, line 58; Fig. 6] storing a bitstream (the reference pictures in the reference picture memory (also known as decoded picture buffer)) [Zhao: col. 10, line 35-37; Figs. 1, 6] generated by an encoding method (a method of encoding a block of video data) [Zhao: col. 2, line 4-5; Figs. 1, 6], the method comprising:receiving a picture of an image (receive video from a video content provider) [Zhao: col. 8, line 15; Figs. 1, 6]; and performing (calculate a value of the respective sample by applying an N-tap intra interpolation filter to neighboring reconstructed samples) [Zhao: col. 34 line 1-5; Figs. 1, 7], based on an intra prediction mode (selected intra prediction mode of the plurality of intra prediction modes for intra prediction of the block of video data) [Zhao: col. 3, line 2-5; Figs. 8-9], intra prediction to generate a prediction block of a current coding block in the picture ((i.e. intra prediction processing unit 126 may generate predictive blocks for the PU using a particular set of samples from neighboring blocks) [Zhao: col. 39, line 62-64]; (generating a prediction sample for a block of video data according to a planar intra prediction mode) [Zhao: col. 4, line 6-7; Fig. 4-6]),
generating a residual block including residual data of the current coding block based on an original block of the current coding block and the prediction block (Video encoder 20 may generate residual data that represents pixel differences between the current CU and the predictive block) [Zhao: col. 22, line 44-46; Figs. 1, 5]; and encoding the residual block by performing at least one of a transform or a quantization on the residual data of the residual block (video encoder 20 may transform and
quantize the residual data and include, in a bitstream, entropy encoded syntax elements representing the resulting quantized transform coefficients) [Zhao: col. 28, line 60-63; Figs. 1, 5],
wherein the current coding block being determined based on at least one of a quad-tree division or a binary-tree division ((To generate a coded CTU, video encoder 20 may recursively perform quad-tree partitioning on the coding tree blocks of a CTU to divide the coding tree blocks into coding blocks) [Zhao: col. 9, line 25-28]);wherein the intra prediction mode is one of intra prediction modes available for the current coding block (selected intra prediction mode of the plurality of intra prediction modes for intra prediction of the block of video data) [Zhao: col. 3, line 2-5; Figs. 8-9], wherein the intra prediction modes available for the current coding block (intra prediction modes for one or more blocks as well as size information for the current block) [Zhao: col. 12, line 45-47; Figs. 1, 7] are classified into a plurality of groups ((derives M MPMs for intra prediction of the block of video data from among a plurality of intra prediction modes. In one example, M may be greater than 3 and the MPMs may include an MPM for a left column and an MPM for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 58, line 39-44] – Note: Zhao discloses that his invention can divide the most probable modes (MPMs) into groups of M or more MPMs; (the derivation process for the MPMs of the current PU includes a derivation process for a representative intra prediction mode (candintraPredModeA) for a left neighboring column and a representative intra prediction mode (candintraPredModeB) for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 50, line 39-43] – Note: Zhao discloses that the intra prediction modes in his invention can be classified into several groups. For example, one group for the intra prediction modes of the blocks on the left column (candintraPredModeA), one group for the intra prediction modes of the blocks on the above neighboring row (candintraPredModeB), and other group(s) for other locations), wherein a number of the groups is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ((derives M MPMs for intra prediction of the block of video data from among a plurality of intra prediction modes. In one example, M may be greater than 3 and the MPMs may include an MPM for a left column and an MPM for an above neighboring row) [Zhao: col. 58, line 39-44], wherein a group to which the intra prediction mode of the current coding block belongs (The MPM index indicates which of the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode. The non-MPM index indicates which of the plurality of intra prediction modes other than the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode) [Zhao: col. 25, line 8-12] among the plurality of the groups is determined (for each PU, a one-bit flag prev_intra_luma_pred_flag[xPb ][yPb] is first signaled to indicate whether the selected intra mode of the current PU is same as one of the three MPMs) [Zhao: col. 17, line 60-63],
wherein the one or more flags (for each PU, a one-bit flag prev_intra_luma_pred_flag [xPb ][yPb] is first signaled to indicate whether the selected intra mode of the current PU is same as one of the three MPMs) [Zhao: col. 17, line 60-63], specifying the group to which the intra prediction mode of the current coding block belongs among the plurality of the groups are encoded (The MPM index indicates which of the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode. The non-MPM index indicates which of the plurality of intra prediction modes other than the M MPMs is the selected intra prediction mode) [Zhao: col. 25, line 8-12],
wherein the intra prediction mode of the current coding block is determined as one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group ((candModeList[0] = candlntraPredModeA; candModeList[1] = candlntraPredModeB) [Zhao: col. 48, line 55-57] ; (candModeList[3] = 2 + (( candlntraPredModeA + 29 )%32); (candModeList[4] = 2 + (( candlntraPredModeA - 1 )%32)) [Zhao: col. 49, line 29-31] – Note: These equations demonstrate how Zhao’s invention determines one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group as the intra prediction mode),wherein a maximum number of the flags encoded for the current coding block is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups, wherein the plurality of candidates included in the group includes a first intra prediction mode candidate and a second intra prediction mode candidate (a list of N intra prediction mode candidates) [Zhao: col. 37, line 14; Figs. 10-21] different from the first intra prediction mode candidate (if candintraPredModeA is not equal to candintraPredModeB) [Zhao: col. 51, line 2-3],wherein only a top neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among top neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the first intra prediction mode candidate (FIG. 4, the prediction value is calculated using four specific neighboring reconstructed samples, i.e., reference samples, with a bilinear filter. The four reference samples include a top-right reconstructed sample TR (50)) [Zhao: col. 15, line 48-51; Figs. 4] – Note: Please see the TR (50) block adjacent at the top right corner in Figure 4),wherein only a left neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among left neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the second intra prediction mode candidate (FIG. 4, the prediction value is calculated using four specific neighboring reconstructed samples, i.e., reference samples, with a bilinear filter. The four reference samples include a top-right reconstructed sample TR (50), a bottom-left reconstructed sample BL (52)) [Zhao: col. 15, line 48-51; Figs. 4] – Note: Please see the BL (52) block adjacent at the bottom left corner in Figure 4).
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein a maximum number of the flags obtained for the current coding block is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the intra prediction modes available for the current coding block are classified into a plurality of groups ((a method for deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block using a plurality of MPM candidate 20 groups) [Lee: col. 32, line 18-20]; (FIG. 25 shows an example of deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block, using 3 MPM candidate groups) [Lee: col. 4, line 37-38; Fig. 25]; (A number of MPM candidate groups used to derive an intra-prediction mode of a current block is not limited to the examples described) [Lee: col. 35, line 1-4]), wherein a number of the groups is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ((FIG. 25 shows an example of deriving an intra-prediction mode of a current block, using 3 MPM candidate groups) [Lee: col. 4, line 37-38; Fig. 25]; (When a third MPM candidate group includes 16 MPM candidates, information (e.g., '3rd_mpm_idx') for identifying MPM candidate included in a third MPM candidate group may be encoded as a fixed length of 4 bits) [Lee: col. 34, line 57-60],
wherein a maximum number of the flags obtained for the current coding block (a plurality of MPM candidate groups may be determined based on information signaled in units of a sequence, a picture, a slice, a unit to be encoded/decoded. Here, the information may be information indicating a maximum number of MPM candidates or flag information indicating whether to use a plurality of MPM
candidate groups) [Lee: col. 35, line 7-17; col. 14, line 40-58; col. 33, line 28-44] is equal to a value resulting from subtracting one from the number of the groups (Here, the intra prediction mode having similar directionality may be determined bysubtracting a predetermined constant value to or from the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block. The predetermined constant value may be an integer, such as one, two, or more) [Lee: col. 14, line 32-36].
wherein the group includes a first intra prediction mode candidate and a second intra prediction mode candidate (generation of the plurality of MPM candidates may comprise generating a first MPM candidate group, and generating a second MPM
candidate group) [Lee: col. 2, line 26-29; Figs. 6],wherein only a top neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among top neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the first intra prediction mode candidate (a horizontal direction provisional prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using a reference sample adjacent to a top right comer of the current block and a reference sample having y coordinate identical to the horizontal direction provisional prediction sample) [Lee: col. 36, line 33-38; Fig. 6] – Note: Please see the P(3, -1) block adjacent at the top right corner in Figure 6),wherein only a left neighboring block with a pre-fixed position adjacent to a corner block of the current coding block among left neighboring blocks of the current coding block is used for the second intra prediction mode candidate (a vertical direction provisional
prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using a reference sample adjacent to a bottom left corner of the current block and a reference sample having x coordinate identical to the vertical direction provisional prediction sample.) [Lee: col. 36, line 38-43; Fig. 6] – Note: Please see the P(-1, 3) block adjacent at the bottom left corner in Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao with Lee to program the system to implement of Lee’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Zhao with Lee will enable the system to perform an efficient intra prediction [ Lee: col. 3, line 36-38].
In the same field of endeavor, Sunwoo further discloses the amended limitations as follows:
determining one candidate among a plurality of candidates included in the group as the intra prediction mode (According to another aspect of the present disclosure,
there is provided a method of determining an intra-prediction mode using an HEVC encoding device, the method including selecting a plurality of representative modes as a candidate group from among intra-prediction modes, the plurality of representative modes each representing a range where there is an optimal mode; updating the candidate group using a plurality of minimum modes selected from the candidate group; and selecting any one mode as the optimal mode from among a plurality of minimum modes selected from the updated candidate group) [Sunwoo: col. 2, line 59 – col. 3, line 2],
a second intra prediction mode candidate different from the first intra prediction mode candidate (the FMMi-1 is (i-1)-th the first minimum mode, the SMMi-1 is (i-1) the second minimum mode, and ±24-i is the variable mode value) [Sunwoo: col. 11, line 16-19].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao and Lee with Sunwoo to program the system to implement of Sunwoo’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Zhao and Lee with Sunwoo will enable the system to reduce a computational complexity [Sunwoo: col. 1, line 54-60].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Philip P. Dang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488