DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 11-25-2024
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7-16-2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application filed on 11-25-2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A
Regarding claim 1, Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A discloses the speaker (Fig 2), comprising:
a shell (Fig 2, frame 7, enclosure 8, para [0001] including a cavity);
a diaphragm (Fig 2, diaphragm 1) accommodated within the cavity, the diaphragm separating the cavity to form at least two sub-cavities, wherein the diaphragm is driven by an electrical signal (Fig 2, voice coil 3 and magnetic system 5, 6) to vibrate with respect to the shell to generate sound; and
a sliding connection portion (Fig 2, elements 7, 11, 12) configured to connect an edge of the diaphragm to an inner wall of the cavity), wherein the sliding connection portion (Fig 2, elements 7, 11, 12) allows the edge of the diaphragm (Fig 2, diaphragm 1) to slide relative to an inner wall of the shell (Fig 2 shows, para [0001] discloses diaphragm 1 is freely supported by the magnetic fluid 12, and support frame 7).
Regarding claim 2, Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A discloses the speaker of claim 1, wherein the shell (Fig 2, frame 7, enclosure 8, para [0001]) includes a magnet (Fig 2, magnet 5, yoke 6, para [0001]), the sliding connection portion is a magnetic fluid (Fig 2, magnetic fluid 12, para [0001]), a surface of the magnet forms at least a portion of the inner wall of the cavity (Fig 2 shows), and the diaphragm (Fig 2, diaphragm 1 drives the magnetic fluid to slide on the surface of the magnet, para [0001]).
Regarding claim 3, Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A discloses the speaker of claim 1, wherein the sliding connection portion includes a magnet and a magnetic fluid (Fig 2, magnetic fluid 12, para [0001]),
wherein the magnet is connected to the diaphragm, and the magnetic fluid is configured to connect the magnet to the inner wall of the cavity (Fig 2 shows magnetic fluid 12 connected to diaphragm 1 and connect to the inner wall of the cavity),
wherein the magnetic fluid (Fig 2, magnetic fluid 12, para [0001] slides with the magnet relative to the inner wall of the shell by a magnetic force between the magnetic fluid and the magnet).
Regarding claim 20, Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A discloses the speaker of claim 2, wherein the edge of the diaphragm (Fig 2, diaphragm 1) is disposed with a magnetic fluid (fluid magnetic 12) fixing member for connecting the magnetic fluid to the diaphragm (para [0001] discloses diaphragm 1 is firmly fixed around its periphery to a support frame 7, 11, 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A in view of Satoh 5073946
Regarding claim 17, Kotanino Kiyoshi does not explicitly disclose the speaker of claim 1, wherein the diaphragm is a rigid vibration plate. However, provided diaphragm is a rigid vibration plate is well known in the art.
Satoh teaches the diaphragm is a rigid vibration plate (Fig 3, 7, 9-10 teaches rigid diaphragm, col 4 lines 54-60, col 5 line 10-16, line 44-50, rigid diaphragm, an edge suspension member joins the rigid diaphragm to the housing). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wells known rigid diaphragm as taught by Satoh in Kotanino Kiyoshi’s invention, thereby realizing a speaker improved in reliability and having good acoustic characteristics.
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A in view of Kuribayashi 2016/0205477
Regarding claim 18, 19 Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claims 18 and 19.
Kuribayashi 2016/0205477 teaches in para [0049] elastic modulus of diaphragm 14 can be increased. Kuribayashi teaches the claimed invention except for claim 18, the speaker of claim 1, wherein an elastic modulus of a material of the diaphragm is greater than 2x 10⁶ Pa.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have made wherein an elastic modulus of a material of the diaphragm is greater than 2x 10⁶ Pa. 2E6 and wherein an elastic modulus of a material of the diaphragm is greater than 4x 10⁶ Pa. is just a matter of design choice since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded a predictable result.
claim 19, the speaker of claim 1, wherein an elastic modulus of a material of the diaphragm is greater than 4x 10⁶ Pa.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have made wherein an elastic modulus of a material of the diaphragm is greater than 2x 10⁶ Pa. 2E6 and wherein an elastic modulus of a material of the diaphragm is greater than 4x 10⁶ Pa. is just a matter of design choice since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded a predictable result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 objected because the prior art Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A in view of Satoh 5073946 further in view of Kuribayashi 2016/0205477 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “ the speaker of claim 3, wherein a carrier liquid of the magnetic fluid is an aqueous liquid or an oily liquid, a material of the inner wall of the cavity within a sliding range of the magnetic fluid is a first surface material, and a material of the inner wall of the cavity outside the sliding range of the magnetic fluid is a second surface material,
wherein a property of the carrier liquid is the same as a hydrophilic or lipophilic
property of the first surface material, and the first surface material and the second surface
material have opposite hydrophilic or lipophilic properties.”
Claim 5 objected because the prior art Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A in view of Satoh 5073946 further in view of Kuribayashi 2016/0205477 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “the speaker of claim 1, wherein the shell includes a first magnet, and the sliding connection portion includes a second magnet and a magnetic fluid, wherein a surface of the first magnet forms at least a portion of the inner wall of the cavity, the second magnet is connected to the diaphragm, and the magnetic fluid is configured to connect the first magnet to the second magnet, and the diaphragm drives, through the second magnet, the magnetic fluid to slide on the surface of the first magnet.”
Claim 7 objected because the prior art Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A in view of Satoh 5073946 further in view of Kuribayashi 2016/0205477 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “the speaker of claim 2, wherein the speaker further includes: a magnetic fluid constraint structure configured to constrain a position of the magnetic fluid.”
Claim 8 objected because the prior art Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A in view of Satoh 5073946 further in view of Kuribayashi 2016/0205477 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “the speaker of claim 7, wherein the magnetic fluid constraint structure includes a first magnetic fluid constraint element and a second magnetic fluid restraint element that are disposed on the diaphragm, the first magnetic fluid restraint element and the second magnetic fluid constraint element being provided to be located on opposite sides of the magnetic fluid along a vibration direction of the diaphragm, respectively.”
Claim 11 objected because the prior art Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A in view of Satoh 5073946 further in view of Kuribayashi 2016/0205477 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “the speaker of claim 7, wherein the magnetic fluid constraint structure includes
a third magnetic fluid restraint element and a fourth magnetic fluid restraint element that are disposed on the inner wall of the cavity and located outside a sliding range of the magnetic fluid,
wherein a distance between the third magnetic fluid constraint element and an edge of the sliding range is within a first distance threshold range, and a distance between the fourth magnetic fluid constraint element and the edge of the sliding range is within a second distance threshold range.”
Claim 13 objected because the prior art Kotanino Kiyoshi JPS5851691A in view of Satoh 5073946 further in view of Kuribayashi 2016/0205477 fails to teach the claimed limitation, “the speaker of claim 1, wherein the sliding connection portion is fluid, wherein a material of the inner wall of the cavity within a sliding range of the fluid is a first surface material, and a material of the inner wall of the cavity outside the sliding range of the fluid is a second surface material, wherein hydrophilic or lipophilic properties of the fluid and the first surface material are the same, and hydrophilic or lipophilic properties of the fluid and the second surface material of a contact region between the diaphragm and the fluid are opposite.”
Claims 6, 9-10, 12, 14, 15, 16 are objected because they are dependent on objected claims.
Conclusion
/JULIE X DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692