Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Ligozio (US 5404830). With respect to claims 1, 6, 9, Ligozio discloses the claimed boat hull 10 (note all the Figures) with a port sidewall, a starboard sidewall, a bow, a rear, a bottom, a top, a central longitudinal axis through the bow and the rear, and a height from the bottom to the top, at least one longitudinal slot 26, 28 (Figure 1A) perpendicular to the height of the hull in each of the port and sidewall and the starboard sidewall, the longitudinal slot having a width, a height, and a depth, and a retractor (column 5, lines 29-32) configured to retract (column 5, paragraph 1) and extend a fin 30, 30a housing within the longitudinal slot in the hull. With respect to claims 2, 8, 11, note Ligozio, Figure 1A. With respect to claims 3, 15, note Ligozio, all the Figures. With respect claim 16, note Ligozio, Figures 1A, 1B, chine line 18.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligozio (US 5404830) in view of Greene (US 2595671). With respect to claims 4, 14, Ligozio does not disclose the claimed glass lining. Greene teaches a glass lined housing (column 2, lines 15-20). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Ligozio with a glass lining for the slot housing in the manner taught by Greene with a high likelihood of success for reduced corrosion. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have been familiar with various corrosion resistant linings and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 5, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligozio (US 5404830) in view of Chauveau (US 3547065). With respect to claims 5, 7, 13, Ligozio does not disclose the claimed curved fin and slot. Chauveau teaches a boat with a retractable curved fin and curved slot. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Ligozio with a curved fin and slot in the manner taught by Chauveau with a high likelihood of success for improved boat stability. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have been familiar with various fin shapes and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligozio (US 5404830) in view of Pangalila (US 3757723). With respect to claim 10, Ligozio does not disclose a retractor with a gear. Pangalila teaches a retractable fin with a gear 52, 54 retractor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Ligozio with a retractor including a gear in the manner taught by Pangalila with a high likelihood of success for improved reliability and durability. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have been familiar with various fin shapes retraction systems including those with gears and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligozio (US 5404830) in view of Koop et al (US 6978728). With respect to claim 12, Ligozio does not disclose the claimed slot shape. Koop et a l teach a boat with a retractable fin and having the claimed slot shape (Figure 5C). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Ligozio with a fin slot of greater depth than width in the manner taught by Koop et al with a high likelihood of success for reduced drag. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have been familiar with various slot shapes and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim 1 would be made allowable by including fins in the rear, front and middle sides of the hull, the housing is proximate a hull chine, the glass coated slot and the gear drive retractor system with a sprocket to engage with teeth on the rear side of the fin (Figures 8A-8C)
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615