DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0346034 (Garonna).
Regarding claim 1, Garonna disclose a method for controlling a non-invasive cardiac ablation system ([0008]-[0010], [0032]-[00347]), the method comprising:
acquiring at least one cardiac image of a patient during a cardiac cycle ([0015]-[0017], [0035]-[0036], [0043]-[0045], [0050], [0055]);
acquiring at least one cardiac phase reference point per cardiac cycle ([0016], [0031], [0035], [0043]-[0045], [0050], [0055]);
determining a predicted current cardiac phase based on a time latency between acquisition of the at least one cardiac image and the at least one cardiac phase reference point ([0031], [0045], [0055]); and
updating a radiation source of a therapy system based on determining the predicted current cardiac phase ([0013], [0033], [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein acquiring the at least one cardiac image is performed with a real-time imaging system and updating the radiation source is performed with a target motion management system, wherein the real-time imaging system and the target motion management system are configured to operate simultaneously ([0013]-[0016], [0035]-[0036], [0043]-[0047], [0050]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein a target motion management system monitors, simultaneously, a heartbeat sensor that acquires the at least one cardiac phase reference and a real-time imaging system that acquires the at least one cardiac image ([0016], [0035], [0043]-[0045], [0052], [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one cardiac phase reference point is an R-peak of an electrocardiogram signal ([0035], [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining the predicted current cardiac phase comprises determining the predicted current cardiac phase based on the time latency between acquisition of the at least one cardiac phase reference point and a representative cardiac phase ([0031], [0045], [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining the predicted current cardiac phase is based on a switch on/off time latency for gating the radiation source ([0025], [0045], [0046], [0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining the predicted current cardiac phase is based on a time latency for configuring a radiation beam of the radiation source ([0012], [0026], [0032]-[0033], [0045], [0047], [0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the therapy system comprises a particle beam emitter selected from photons, electrons, carbon ions, protons, or heavy ions ([0008], [0032], [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises using a neural network ([0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Garonna disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the neural network is configured analyze apical 4-chamber ultrasound images, apical 2-chamber ultrasound images, parasternal ultrasound images, and/or short-axis ultrasound images ([0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 11, Garonna disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the neural network is configured to identify a representative cardiac phase in real time ([0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one cardiac image is ultrasound images ([0015]-[0017], [0035]-[0036], [0040], [0043]-[0046], [0050]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Garonna disclose the method of claim 12, wherein the ultrasound images represent time markers of the cardiac cycle ([0017], [0040], [0050], [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Garonna disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising acquiring a plurality of respiratory target displacement data points during a respiratory cycle ([0013], [0016]-[0017], [0030]-[0031], [0039]-[0040], [0044]-[0046], [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Garonna disclose a method for controlling a non-invasive cardiac ablation system, the method comprising:
acquiring at least one cardiac phase reference point per cardiac cycle ([0015]-[0017], [0035]-[0036], [0043]-[0045], [0050], [0055]);
determining a predicted current cardiac phase [0031] based on a switch on/off time latency for gating a radiation source ([0025], [0045]-[0046], [0055]); and
updating the radiation source of a therapy system based on determining the predicted current cardiac phase ([0033], [0045]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Garonna disclose the method of claim 15, wherein acquiring the at least one cardiac phase reference is performed with a heartbeat sensor and updating the radiation source is performed with a target motion management system, wherein the heartbeat sensor and the target motion management system are configured to operate simultaneously ([0016], [0035], [0043]-[0045], [0052], [0055]).
Regarding claim 17, Garonna disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the at least one cardiac phase reference point is an R-peak of an electrocardiogram signal ([0035], [0052]).
Regarding claim 18, Garonna disclose the method of claim 15, wherein determining the predicted current cardiac phase comprises determining the predicted current cardiac phase based on the time latency between acquisition of the at least one cardiac phase reference point and a representative cardiac phase ([0031], [0045], [0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Garonna disclose the method of claim 15, wherein determining the predicted current cardiac phase is based on a time latency for configuring a radiation beam of the radiation source ([0031], [0045], [0055]).
Regarding claim 20, Garonna disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the therapy system comprises a particle beam emitter selected from photons, electrons, carbon ions, protons, or heavy ions ([0008], [0032], [0047]).
Regarding claim 21, Garonna disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the method comprises using a neural network ([0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 22, Garonna disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising acquiring at least one cardiac image of a patient during a cardiac cycle, wherein determining the predicted current cardiac phase is based on the at least one cardiac image ([0015]-[0017], [0035]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 23, Garonna disclose the method of claim 22, wherein the at least one cardiac image is ultrasound images ([0015]-[0017], [0035]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 24, Garonna disclose the method of claim 23, wherein the ultrasound images represent time markers of the cardiac cycle ([0015]-[0017], [0035]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 25, Garonna disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising acquiring a plurality of respiratory target displacement data points during a respiratory cycle ([0015]-[0017], [0035]-[0055]).
Conclusion
/DANI FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884