DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Applicant’s remarks, filed on 1/30/2026. The amendments to claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 have been entered. Claim(s) 3-4 is/are cancelled by Applicant and therefore withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). Corresponding rejections of claim(s) 3-4 from the prior office action are withdrawn as moot in light of the Applicant’s cancellation. New claim(s) 7 have been entered. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 6-10, with respect to the rejections of claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 have been fully considered.
Regarding the interpretation(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), Examiner respectfully agrees with the remarks and the 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) interpretation(s) are withdrawn.
After review of the amendment to claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6, Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s remarks and the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection(s) have been maintained. New 35 USC § 112(b) rejection(s) are issued in view of the amended language.
New grounds of rejection are made in view of the following: new amendments provided by Applicant and attached remarks; updated search and review of pertinent, eligible prior art; newly added claims; and/or different interpretation of the previously applied references. Regarding the rejection of claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant provides the following:
Discussion of Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Hu.
Claim 1 has now been reconstructed to further defined the image quality parameter set for generating the pre-image as being in association with diagnosis condition information, where "the diagnosis condition information comprises at least one of information indicating a site at which an ultrasound examination is performed, information indicating an imaging mode of ultrasound waves, and information indicating a type of an ultrasound probe" and "the image quality parameter set at least comprises brightness, contrast, smoothening, an adaptive filter, a gamma value, sharpness, edge emphasis, gain, and a frame".
Hu, however, merely discloses a preset sharing and display system in which preset files are uploaded, downloaded, displayed and compared in Paras [0058]-[0059] of Hu, referenced on Page 20 of the Office Action. Hu does not disclose or suggest storing an image quality parameter set in association with diagnosis condition information for retrieval.
Accordingly, Hu fails to disclose the reconstructed limitations of Claim 1, and therefore Claim 1 is thus allowable. All other claims depending on the outcome of Claim 1 are allowable as a matter of law. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 are courteously requested.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. As a preliminary matter the independent claim remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) for indefiniteness. The Applicant asserts that “Hu, however, merely discloses a preset sharing and display system in which preset files are uploaded, downloaded, displayed and compared in Paras [0058]-[0059] of Hu, referenced on Page 20 of the Office Action. Hu does not disclose or suggest storing an image quality parameter set in association with diagnosis condition information for retrieval.” Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument, because Hu teaches the ultrasound imaging presets corresponding to diagnosis condition information which may be stored, accessed, modified and selected by a local user of the ultrasound imaging equipment (Hu [fig. 1-2, 5-10; see fig. 5 reproduced below]).
The local preset and server preset for anatomical locations (e.g., kidney, thyroid, etc.) and diagnosis (e.g., tumor) may be stored in memory, displayed to and selected by the user (Hu [fig. 5])
Examiner respectfully agrees with the Applicant that Hu may fail to explicitly teach the image quality parameter set includes gamma value. As provided in the new rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103, in the same field of endeavor, Poole teaches an ultrasound diagnostic system featuring a set of ultrasound imaging parameters which supplement the imaging parameters taught by Hu. In particular Poole discloses ultrasound parameters including hardware and software parameters, wherein “The software parameters comprise parameters relating to, for example, dynamic range, gain, gamma correction, and filter setting.” (Poole [0037]).
Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant’s arguments only address independent claim(s) 1, and no remarks regarding the subject matter of the dependent claim(s) have been presented. Accordingly, the rejections to dependent claims 2 and 5-6 are modified to address Applicant’s amendments and are sustained. Claim 7 is rejected as discussed below. The rejections of claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 under 35 U.S.C. §103 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation “specify a recommended an image quality parameter set that is recommended to the user” in claim 5 appears to contain typographical errors. The use of “a recommended an image quality parameter set” should be reviewed and revised for grammatical correctness.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim(s) 2 and 5-7 are rejected at least by virtue of dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “transmit preset information indicating the preset condition received by the reception unit to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, and”, which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and the limitation is unclear. In particular, it is not clear what ‘the reception unit’ is specifically referring to, because there is no prior recitation of ‘a reception unit’ which clearly points out the limitation. Furthermore, it is unclear how the ‘reception unit’ receives the ‘preset condition’ when this function is already performed by the ‘first processor’. It is suggested to amend the claim to clarify which structures perform the ‘receiving’ function. For the purposes of examination any type of ‘unit’ or ‘processor’ may
Claim 1 further recites the limitation "display the plurality of pre-images transmitted from the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus on the display as sample images,". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In particular, it is not clear what ‘the display’ is specifically referring to, because there is no prior recitation of ‘a display’ which clearly points out the limitation. Accordingly, any ‘display’ may read on the limitation.
Claim 1 further recites “an image generation unit that generates a plurality of pre-images from an ultrasound image in accordance with the preset condition indicated by the preset information transmitted from the terminal apparatus” which is indefinite. The use of “an ultrasound image” is unclear because the ‘ultrasound image’ may refer to the ‘ultrasound image’ generated by the ‘ultrasound diagnostic apparatus’ recited in the ‘reception unit’ clause, or it may refer to the ‘image’ displayed on the terminal apparatus, or may be a distinct and new ‘ultrasound image’. Similarly, the claim variously recites different ‘types’ of images that lack sufficient explanation or definition. In the limitation “a display control unit that displays an image on a display of the terminal apparatus”, the ‘image’ that is displayed by the terminal apparatus is not adequately defined and does not clearly point to either the ‘pre-images’ nor to the ‘sample images’. It is suggested to amend the claim to clearly indicate what the ‘image’ displayed in the ‘display control unit’ clause is (e.g., ultrasound image, a specific ‘pre-image’, ‘sample image’, etc.). For the purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language includes any ultrasonic imaging parameter as a ‘preset condition’, and any type of image extracted from an ultrasound image as either of the ‘pre-image’ or ‘sample image’.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “store the image quality parameter set selected by the user for generating the pre- image in association with diagnosis condition information in a memory,” which is unclear and lacks sufficient antecedent basis. There is no prior recitation of an ‘image quality parameter set’ which is explicitly selected by the user – this is also unclear because the user in the claim only selects a ‘pre-image’. The claim language must be amended to clarify the ‘user selection’ step and to particularly point out what the elements are referring to. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the ‘image quality parameter set’ is applied to the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hu et al. (US20230020442A1, 2023-01-19; hereinafter “Hu”), in view of Poole et al. (US20190374165A1, 2019-12-12; hereinafter “Poole”).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches an ultrasound diagnostic system (“A server for sharing image settings between external ultrasound consoles,” [clm 1]; “An ultrasound imaging system” [clm 5]; The ultrasound imaging system includes a remote server configured for communication with ultrasound imaging consoles and office workstation computers [abst], [fig. 1, 6-7]) comprising:
a terminal apparatus (“A server for sharing image settings between external ultrasound consoles, comprising: a processor in communication with a memory,” [clm 1]; “Image presets 605 may also be uploaded to, and stored on, a remote server 640, where the stored preset files 605 can serve as personal backups, and where they may also be accessible to the equipment of other users 650 (e.g., the laptop computers, workstations, mobile devices, and ultrasound imaging systems of other users).” [0062]; “In these cases, communication with the remote server 640 may be through an office workstation 601. The office workstation 601 may be a laptop or desktop computer, a notebook or tablet computer, a smartphone, a handheld device, or other computing device capable of accessing a wide-area network 630.” [0063]; [fig. 1, 6-7]); and
an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (“the processor is configured for communication with and remote from a first ultrasound imaging console” [clm 1]; “The ultrasound imaging system 100 includes a console 102 and an ultrasound probe 108.” [0036]; [0036-0071], [fig. 1, 6-7]),
wherein the terminal apparatus includes a first processor (“A server for sharing image settings between external ultrasound consoles, comprising: a processor in communication with a memory,” [clm 1]; [fig. 1, 6-7]) configured to:
receive a preset condition, which is a predetermined image quality parameter set related to an image quality of an ultrasound image generated by the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, from a user (“An image preset can include image acquisition parameters, post-processing parameters, or combinations thereof.” [0053]; “Image presets 605 may also be uploaded to, and stored on, a remote server 640, […] Presets 605 created by other users 650 and uploaded to the remote server 640 may also be downloaded from the remote server 640 to the ultrasound imaging system 100 for local use” [0062]; “The preset file 605 may contain one or more image acquisition presets or one or more image post-processing presets, or any combination thereof, tailored to maximize the quality of ultrasound images acquired and stored for that application. […] From the office workstation 601, the user uploads the image preset file 605 to the remote server 640” [0064]; “The processor circuit 750 may be implemented in any of the ultrasound imaging system 100, office workstation 601, remote server 640, […] the processor circuit 750 may include a processor 760, a memory 764, and a communication module 768.” [0066]; “the communication module 768 facilitates direct or indirect communication between various elements” [0069]; The remote server and office workstation (i.e., terminal apparatus) may comprise processor circuit and communication module (i.e., reception unit) which receives image presets created by user, wherein the presets maximize quality of ultrasound images captured by ultrasound imaging system [0036-0071], [fig. 1, 6-7]),
transmit preset information indicating the preset condition received by the reception unit to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (“Presets 605 created by other users 650 and uploaded to the remote server 640 may also be downloaded from the remote server 640 to the ultrasound imaging system 100 for local use” [0062]; “From the office workstation 601, the user uploads the image preset file 605 to the remote server 640 via the Internet 630, along with a title and description. The image preset file 605 is now accessible to the user via the remote server 640 as a backup or archive file. The image preset file 605 is also accessible to other users 650, who may read the title and description and download the preset file 605 for use on their own ultrasound imaging systems 100.” [0064]; “the communication module 768 facilitates direct or indirect communication between various elements of the processor circuit 750 and/or the ultrasound imaging system 100, office workstation 601, remote server 640,” [0069]; The communication module (i.e., transmission unit) facilitates communication of data (e.g., presets) between the office workstation/remote server and the ultrasound imaging system [0036-0071], [fig. 1, 6-7]), and
wherein the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus includes a second processor (“The ultrasound imaging system 100 includes a console 102 and an ultrasound probe 108.” [0036]; “The console 102 and/or the ultrasound probe 108 can include one or more processors in communication with memory.” [0047]; [0036-0071], [fig. 1, 6-7]) configured to:
generate a plurality of pre-images from an ultrasound image in accordance with the preset condition indicated by the preset information transmitted from the terminal apparatus (“the console can download and locally apply the temporary cache file to ultrasound imaging data to generate a preview of how the custom image setting would generate the ultrasound image.” [0031]; “The ultrasound echo signals may be processed by the electronic circuitry 116 in the ultrasound probe 108 and/or in the console 102 to generate ultrasound images.” [0041]; “One or more image processing steps can be completed by the console 102 and/or the ultrasound probe 108. The console 102 and/or the ultrasound probe 108 can include one or more processors in communication with memory.” [0047]; “a preview pane 230 is provided, and displays a series of ultrasound images that are captured in real time such that the effects of different image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220 can be seen in real time.” [0052]; The ultrasound probe and console process ultrasound imaging data to generate an ultrasound image, wherein a series of preview ultrasound images captured with different image acquisition parameters and post-processing parameters (i.e., presets) may be presented to the user on a display [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 6-10]), and
transmit the plurality of pre-images to the terminal apparatus (“Presets 605 created by other users 650 and uploaded to the remote server 640 may also be downloaded from the remote server 640 to the ultrasound imaging system 100 for local use” [0062]; “the ultrasound imaging system 100 may communicate with the remote server directly” [0063]; “the communication module 768 facilitates direct or indirect communication between various elements of the processor circuit 750 and/or the ultrasound imaging system 100, office workstation 601, remote server 640,” [0069]; The ultrasound imaging system is in communication with the remote server and office workstation [0036-0071], [fig. 1, 6-7]),
wherein the first processor of the terminal apparatus is further configured to:
display the plurality of pre-images transmitted from the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus on the display as sample images, and transmit information related to a pre-image selected by the user from among the plurality of pre-images displayed on the display to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (“a preview pane 230 is provided, and displays a series of ultrasound images that are captured in real time such that the effects of different image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220 can be seen in real time. The display screen 200 also includes file controls 240, that permit the current image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220 to be applied to the current image or imaging procedure, saved as a preset file, or to be replaced with a preset file that has been stored either locally or on a remote server.” [0052]; “The parameters stored in the presently selected preset 520 may be loaded into the ultrasound imaging system 100 through activation of a Use button 525, or may be uploaded to the remote server via an Upload button 530, or deleted with e Delete button 535. The user is also able to select remote presets or server presets 540, which are stored on the remote server.” [0058]; “the selection menu may include descriptions, […] example images, number of times the preset has been downloaded, and other information as necessary to communicate the content, purpose, and utility of the preset files.” [0059]; Preview images which present the effects of different parameters are displayed to the user, wherein the user may select a desired preset for ultrasound imaging corresponding to the previewed ultrasound image from the remote server [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 6-10; see fig. 2 reproduced below]);
display, on the display, the ultrasound image of which the image quality is adjusted in accordance with an image quality parameter set corresponding to the pre-image selected by the user (“a preview pane 230 is provided, and displays a series of ultrasound images that are captured in real time such that the effects of different image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220 can be seen in real time.” [0052]; “The controller may be configured to communicate with a remote server, or a local device such as a laptop, tablet, or handheld device, or may include a display capable of showing status variables and other information.” [0070]; The preview images which present the effects of different parameters are displayed to the user [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 6-10; see fig. 2 reproduced below]); and
store the image quality parameter set selected by the user for generating the pre- image in association with diagnosis condition information in a memory (“a processor in communication with a memory, […] store the custom image setting in the memory; […] retrieve, from the memory, the custom image setting in response to the request;” [clm 1]; “The console 102 and/or the ultrasound probe 108 can include one or more processors in communication with memory.” [0047]; “An image preset can include image acquisition parameters, post-processing parameters, or combinations thereof.” [0053]; “a user is able to select local presets 510 from a local storage medium (e.g., a non-volatile memory or hard disk drive.” [0058]; “the selection menu may include descriptions, […] user comments on the files, manufacturer comments on the files, example images, number of times the preset has been downloaded, and other information as necessary to communicate the content, purpose, and utility of the preset files.” [0059]; Both the remote server and console comprise local storage medium (i.e., memory), wherein stored presets of ultrasound settings for imaging particular anatomical locations and corresponding diagnosis are presented to the user for selection to conduct an ultrasound examination [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 5-10; see fig. 5 reproduced below]),
wherein the diagnosis condition information comprises at least one of information indicating a site at which an ultrasound examination is performed, information indicating an imaging mode of ultrasound waves, and information indicating a type of an ultrasound probe (“The parameters stored in the presently selected preset 520 may be loaded into the ultrasound imaging system 100 through activation of a Use button 525, or may be uploaded to the remote server via an Upload button 530, or deleted with e Delete button 535.” [0058]; “the selection menu may include descriptions, […] user comments on the files, manufacturer comments on the files, example images, number of times the preset has been downloaded, and other information as necessary to communicate the content, purpose, and utility of the preset files.” [0059]; [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 5-10; see fig. 5 reproduced below]), and
The local preset and server preset for anatomical locations (e.g., kidney, thyroid, etc.) and diagnosis (e.g., tumor) may be stored in memory, displayed to and selected by the user (Hu [fig. 5])
wherein the image quality parameter set at least comprises brightness, contrast, smoothening, an adaptive filter, sharpness, edge emphasis, gain, and a frame rate (“Image acquisition parameters 210 affect the operation of the ultrasound transducer array 112, and may include but are not limited to line density, transmission frequency, field of view, depth of view, and gain. […] Increasing the line density can increase the spatial resolution of the image, but may decrease the temporal resolution and/or frame rate. Decreasing the line density can decrease the spatial resolution of the image, but may increase the temporal resolution and/or frame rate.” [0050]; “Image post-processing parameters 220 may include, but are not limited to, resolution, dynamic range, gray map, color map, brightness, contrast, smoothness/sharpness, and ringdown removal. […] Smoothness and sharpness are opposite parameters that define how clearly edges are defined between areas of different signal strength.” [0051]; Dynamic range may filter intensities corresponding to particular density or composition, contrast and smoothness/sharpening provide edge emphasis [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 5-10; see fig. 2 reproduced below]);
Preview pane 230 presents a series of ultrasound images to the user, wherein each ultrasound image may be acquired/processed under distinct imaging acquisition/post-processing parameters (Hu [fig. 2])
but Hu may fail to explicitly teach the gamma value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Poole teaches an ultrasound diagnostic system (“An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising processing circuitry” [clm 1]; [0018-0095], [fig. 1-3]) comprising:
wherein the image quality parameter set at least comprises an adaptive filter, a gamma value, sharpness, edge emphasis, gain, and a frame rate (“the set of ultrasound parameters comprises both hardware parameters and software parameters. The hardware parameters comprise parameters relating to, for example, wave profile parameters, frequency parameters (for example, a frequency at which ultrasound is transmitted and/or a frequency at which ultrasound is received), pulse duration, pulse power, frame rate, depth and focus (for example, F-number). The software parameters comprise parameters relating to, for example, dynamic range, gain, gamma correction, and filter setting.” [0037]; [0018-0095], [fig. 1-3]).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound diagnostic system comprising terminal apparatus and ultrasound diagnostic apparatus featuring the image quality parameter set taught by Hu with the ultrasound image processing apparatus which optimizes acquisition parameters – including gamma value and adaptive filter – as taught by Poole. Software updates for ultrasound imaging systems may occur less frequently, and in many cases must be installed by a qualified technician. This results in a longer latency between user complaints and the arrival of potential solutions, which may decrease users' satisfaction with the ultrasound system (Hu [0003]). Manual adjustment of acquisition parameters may be time consuming even for an experienced sonographer. Manual adjustment of acquisition parameters may be challenging for a less experienced user (Poole [0007]). The combined system may improve information exchange and transform the laborious process of individual customization into a straightforward process of comparison and selection, without the normally routine need to wait for manufacturer-issued software updates (Hu [0032]). Furthermore, it may provide a faster and/or better optimization of ultrasound parameters than would be obtained through manual optimization by a sonographer (Poole [0133]).
Regarding claim 2, Hu and Poole teach the ultrasound diagnostic system according to claim 1,
Hu further teaching wherein the first processor of the terminal apparatus displays a thumbnail image representing each of the plurality of pre-images transmitted from the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus on the display as the respective one of the sample images (“a preview pane 230 is provided, and displays a series of ultrasound images that are captured in real time such that the effects of different image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220 can be seen in real time.” [0052]; “each preset is saved along with an example image, thumbnail image, before and after images, or a difference or subtraction image comparing the before and after images, in addition to a title and description.” [0059]; Ultrasound images generated according to different presets may be thumbnail images [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 6-10]), and
transmits the information related to the pre-image selected by the user by selecting the thumbnail image to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (“The user is also able to select remote presets or server presets 540, which are stored on the remote server.” [0058]; “the selection menu may include descriptions, author names, author credentials, user ratings of the files, manufacturer ratings of the files, user comments on the files, manufacturer comments on the files, example images, number of times the preset has been downloaded, and other information as necessary” [0059]; [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 6-10], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 5, Hu and Poole teach the ultrasound diagnostic system according to claim 1,
Hu further teaching wherein the first processor of the terminal apparatus is further configured to:
specify a recommended an image quality parameter set that is recommended to the user based on the image quality parameter set selected by the user for generating the pre-image and the history of the image quality adjustment by the user (“the remote server is configured to generate customized presets automatically, based on the pooled presets stored on the server. For example, the server may use artificial intelligence or other analysis methods to identify common elements or an average of settings for all presets containing the word “thyroid”, and may then automatically generate a consensus or crowdsourced preset that includes these common features or averages. […] The manufacturer can also perform analyses of the preset files, including but not limited to statistical analysis, data mining, and deep learning for all controls, to and find the preferred value for certain controls either overall or for particular regions, groups, or applications.” [0060]; “An image preset can be used to automatically select values for individual imaging parameters, […] when the user wants to individually adjust the values, even when using the preset, the user can do so with the UI” [0071]; The system may automatically generate a preset using artificial intelligence-based analysis of pooled presets (i.e., historical) of the desired imaging target and user adjustment of the imaging parameters [0036-0071], [fig. 1, 6-10]); and
display a pre-image of which the image quality is adjusted in accordance with the recommended image quality parameter set that is recommended to the user, on the display (“The display screen 200 allows users to adjust image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220.” [0050]; “The display screen 200 also includes file controls 240, that permit the current image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220 to be applied to the current image or imaging procedure,” [0052]; “each preset is saved along with an example image, thumbnail image, before and after images, or a difference or subtraction image comparing the before and after images, in addition to a title and description. […] the ultrasound preset sharing system displays a comparison of the system's current settings and those of a selected preset” [0059]; The display may present an ultrasound image derived using the preset generated using artificial intelligence-based analysis in comparison with the current preset setting(s), and further incorporating the user adjustment of the ultrasound imaging parameters [0036-0071], [fig. 1, 6-10]).
Regarding claim 6, Hu and Poole teach the ultrasound diagnostic system according to claim 1,
Hu further teaching wherein the first processor of the terminal apparatus displays information related to a change of an image quality parameter by the user in the image equality parameter set on the display (“A user can control various aspects of acquiring ultrasound imaging data by the ultrasound probe 108 and/or display of ultrasound images by providing inputs at the user interface 104.” [0046]; “a preview pane 230 is provided, and displays a series of ultrasound images that are captured in real time such that the effects of different image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220 can be seen in real time. The display screen 200 also includes file controls 240, that permit the current image acquisition parameters 210 and image post-processing parameters 220 to be applied to the current image or imaging procedure, saved as a preset file, or to be replaced with a preset file that has been stored either locally or on a remote server.” [0052]; “the ultrasound preset sharing system displays a comparison of the system's current settings and those of a selected preset” [0059]; [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 6-10], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 7, Hu and Poole teach the ultrasound diagnostic system according to claim 1,
Hu further teaching wherein the first processor stores the image quality parameter set selected by the user for generating the pre-image in association with the diagnosis condition information along with history information and subject information in the memory (“a processor in communication with a memory, […] store the custom image setting in the memory; […] retrieve, from the memory, the custom image setting in response to the request;” [clm 1]; “The console 102 and/or the ultrasound probe 108 can include one or more processors in communication with memory.” [0047]; “An image preset can include image acquisition parameters, post-processing parameters, or combinations thereof.” [0053]; “a user is able to select local presets 510 from a local storage medium (e.g., a non-volatile memory or hard disk drive.” [0058]; “the selection menu may include descriptions, […] user comments on the files, manufacturer comments on the files, example images, number of times the preset has been downloaded, and other information as necessary to communicate the content, purpose, and utility of the preset files.” [0059]; [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 5-10], [see claim 1 rejection]),
wherein the history information indicates history of an image quality adjustment by the user (“In some cases, downloaded preset files may be displayed as a different color, font, or style than manufacturer preset files and locally created preset files, to distinguish them as content generated by other users” [0058]; “the selection menu may include descriptions, author names, author credentials, user ratings of the files, manufacturer ratings of the files, user comments on the files, manufacturer comments on the files, example images, number of times the preset has been downloaded, and other information as necessary to communicate the content, purpose, and utility of the preset files.” [0059]; “the remote server can be used for sharing other information as well, including but not limited to protocols, user-defined calculation packages, and other customized settings such as UI layout (moving buttons) and workflow.” [0078]; Stored presets include the user generated presets - which may be distinguished from manufacturer presets - wherein descriptions, comments, ratings and number of downloads may be stored with the different stored presets [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 5-10]), and
wherein the subject information is related to a subject on which ultrasound waves are transmitted and received in order to generate the ultrasound image for generating the pre-image (“The ultrasound probe 108 is configured to obtain ultrasound imaging data associated with any suitable anatomy of the patient.” [0040]; “a clinician or other user creates an image preset file 605 for a particular clinical application (e.g., imaging through a patient's skin to observe bone screws located within the patient's body). The preset file 605 may contain one or more image acquisition presets or one or more image post-processing presets, or any combination thereof, tailored to maximize the quality of ultrasound images acquired and stored for that application.” [0064]; Patient-specific applications (e.g., presence of bone screws) may be considered when generating presets [0036-0071], [fig. 1-2, 5-10], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wolfe (US20220392142A1, 2022-12-08) teaches processing resources used to perform and facilitate real-time image rendering and enhancement [0002].
Hwang (US20120289835A1, 2012-11-15) teaches beamforming and more particularly to systems and methods for beam enhancement, such as through sidelobe reduction and/or mainlobe shaping [0002].
Ito et al. (US20090316009A1, 2009-12-24) teaches an image processing technique for obtaining a high-quality image taking into consideration a motion image blur on the image [0002].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES FRANKLIN MCDONALD III
Examiner
Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797