DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending
1-13, 15-21
Cancelled
14
35 U.S.C. 103
1-13, 15-21
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 06/25/2026, which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed 03/25/2026. Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered with the results that follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dan et al. (US 2018/0297198 A1, “Dan”) and further in view of Crampton (US 2005/0166413 A1, “Crampton”).
Regarding claim 1: Dan teaches: A robot system comprising: ([0027]) a robot having an arm configured to change a position of an extremity of the arm; ([0028]) factor storage that stores factor information representing an error factor of a motion of the robot, ([0171], [0047], [0049], [0052]-[0054], [0105]) wherein the error factor is a mechanical characteristic of the robot that causes a positional error of the extremity, ([0054]-[0055], [0003] accumulated error in units of millimeters occurs at the off-line teaching point owing to the difference in individual robot apparatuses)
[. . .] the positional error varying depending on the posture of the robot; and ([0052]-[0054], [0058], [0088] position error and attitude error of the robot hand at on-line teaching point) control circuitry configured to: ([0029], [0041])
calculate, [. . .], the positional error of the extremity that would occur during an expected motion toward the taught position; and ([0003] accumulated error in units of millimeters occurs at the off-line teaching point owing to the difference in individual robot apparatuses. To address this error, on-line teaching is performed for each of individual robot apparatuses, thereby correcting the off-line teaching point)
control, based on the taught position and the calculated positional error, the robot to move the extremity toward the taught position with a positional adjustment of the robot to reduce the positional error ([0046], [0048], [0055], [0105], [0003] accumulated error in units of millimeters occurs at the off-line teaching point owing to the difference in individual robot apparatuses. To address this error, on-line teaching is performed for each of individual robot apparatuses, thereby correcting the off-line teaching point).
However, Dan does not explicitly teach: the mechanical characteristic being independent of a posture of the robot; and [calculate,] based on a taught position and the factor information, [the positional error].
Crampton teaches: the mechanical characteristic being independent of a posture of the robot, and [calculate,] based on a taught position and the factor information, [the positional error] ([0286] misalignments due to build up of manufacturing and assembly tolerances. [0263] errors from any of: eccentric mounting of the encoder, poor alignment of read heads, edge printing non-linearity, read head non-linearity, irregularities and other mechanical/alignment errors. [0315] modelling of many factors including misalignment tolerance build-up and deflection of the Exoskeleton under abuse loads. NOTE: these characteristics are all mechanical and not dependent on the robot posture. [0532] Under gravity, a long CMM Segment in a horizontal spatial orientation will deflect by a certain amount. Another source of error is the deflection in the joint bearings. [0604] manual and automated methods to aid the positioning of a first component relative to a second component to a much higher accuracy. NOTE: mechanical characteristics and robot positioning are used to account for error).
Dan and Crampton are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot controls and error reduction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Dan with the aspects of Crampton to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a robot system where the mechanical characteristic are independent of a posture of the robot, and calculating, based on a taught position and the factor information, the positional error. The motivation for modification would have been to provide a robot arm that will be more accurate due to a better calibration process (Crampton, [0532]) and that can be automated in the process to much higher accuracy (Crampton, [0604]).
Regarding claim 2: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: (Dan: [0029], [0041]) sequentially generate positional commands representing intermediate positions of the robot to the taught position based on the taught position and the factor information so that the extremity moves toward the taught position with the positional adjustment; and (Dan: [0053]-[0055], [0070], [0083]) control the robot according to the positional commands that are sequentially generated (Dan: [0085], [0091]).
Regarding claim 3: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 2, wherein the error factor includes compliance of the arm representing flexibility of the arm, and (Dan: [0054], [0105] deflection of the robot arm. Crampton: [0212] Each CMM Segment has a high stiffness. Any loads on the Internal CMM Arm 5 resulting in bending or torsion in a segment will reduce the accuracy of the Internal CMM Arm 5. Gravity is a continuous source of load. maximum angular bending slope in a long Segment of the Robot CMM Arm varies particularly depending on the material, length and diameter of the long CMM Segment. [0217] exoskeleton made of aluminum. [0332] absorbing impact energy through plastic deformation)
wherein the control circuitry (Dan: [0029], [0041]) is configured to generate the positional commands by repeating operations including: (Dan: [0070] operations are repeated, [0119])
generating a provisional positional command specifying a posture of the robot based on the taught position; (Dan: [0053]-[0055])
calculating moments acting on joints of the arm based on the provisional positional command, and calculating, as the positional error, a deflection of the arm based on the calculated moments and the compliance; (Dan: [0054], [0105]. Crampton: [0292] If the second Transmission Means is remote from JointCentre4 24, then a significant bending moment will be required through the Internal CMM Arm 5 to lift the weight of the elbow; this will reduce the accuracy of the Robot CMM Arm. [0297] possibility of Transmission Means working against each other and applying undesirable moments on the Internal CMM Arm 5 increases. [0306] moments or torques could be applied to the Internal CMM Arm 5 from the effects of gravity, misalignment and abuse loads. [0307] Misalignments may result in bending moments applied to the Internal CMM Arm 5 by the Transmission means)
generating a positional command based on the deflection and the provisional positional command (Dan: [0052]-[0055], [0105]).
The motivation for modification is the same as that described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 3, wherein the error factor further includes a dimensional error of the arm including an error in a length of at least one link of the arm, and (Dan: [0054], [0105]. Crampton: [0226] larger Link Member diameter, the stiffer and more accurate it is. diameters and thicknesses are optimized for different design specifications and manufacturing constraints. [0255] range of portable Robot CMM Arms with different reaches. Robot CMM Arm reach can be longer or shorter than the ranges quoted. key difference across the range is a variety of lengths of the links)
wherein the control circuitry is configured to generate the positional command based on the provisional positional command, the dimensional error, and the deflection of the arm (Dan: [0052]-[0055], [0105]).
The motivation for modification is the same as that described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 2, further comprising simulation circuitry configured to: (Dan: [0052]) convert a motion history of the robot by removing, based on the factor information, a history of the positional adjustment from the motion history; and (Dan: [0052]-[0055], [0066]-[0070]) simulate the motion of the robot in a virtual space based on a model of the robot that does not include the error factor and the converted motion history (Dan: [0052]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 6: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 5, wherein the simulation circuitry is further configured to: (Dan: [0052]) acquire the factor information from the factor storage of the control circuitry and store the factor information in a second factor storage; and convert the motion history based on the factor information stored in the second factor storage (Dan: [0069], [0118], [0147]).
Regarding claim 7: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 3, further comprising simulation circuitry configured to: (Dan: [0052]) store a motion history of the robot in association with one or both of the positional command and the provisional positional command; (Dan: [0069], [0118], [0147]) convert the motion history of the robot by removing, based on the factor information, a history of the positional adjustment from the motion history; and (Dan: [0052]-[0055]) simulate the motion of the robot in a virtual space based on a model of the robot that does not include the error factor and the converted motion history (Dan: [0052]-[0055], [0072]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 8: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: (Dan: [0029], [0041]) generate a manually taught position based on manual operation by a user; (Dan: [0052], [0053]) calculate, based on the manually taught position and the factor information, a second positional error of the extremity that would occur during an expected motion toward the manually taught position; (Dan: [0054]-[0055], [0105]) control, based on the manually taught position and the second positional error, the robot to move the extremity toward the manually taught position with the positional adjustment to reduce the second positional error; (Dan: [0085]) store the manually taught position as the taught position in a taught position storage in response to a registration request by the user; (Dan: [0069], [0118], [0147], [0046]) calculate the positional error based on the stored taught position and the factor information; and (Dan: [0110]-[0119]) control, based on the stored taught position and the positional error, the robot to move the extremity toward the stored taught position with the positional adjustment (Dan: [0110]-[0119]).
Regarding claim 9: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: (Dan: [0029], [0041]) switch, in response to a switch request by the user, whether an error reduction is enabled; (Dan: [0059], [0068]-[0069]) control, based on the manually taught position and the second positional error, the robot to move the extremity toward the manually taught position with the positional adjustment in response to determining that the error reduction is enabled; (Dan: [0069], [0110]-[0119]) control, based on the manually taught position, the robot to move the extremity toward the manually taught position without the positional adjustment in response to determining that the error reduction is disabled; (Dan: [0068]-[0069], [0147], [0110]-[0119]) store setting information indicating whether the error reduction is enabled in the taught position storage in association with the manually taught position; (Dan: [0069], [0147], [0110]-[0119]) control, based on the stored taught position and the positional error, the robot to move the extremity toward the stored taught position with the positional adjustment in response to determining that the setting information corresponding to the stored taught position indicates that the error reduction is enabled; and (Dan: [0069], [0147], [0110]-[0119]) control, based on the stored taught position, the robot to move the extremity toward the stored taught position without the positional adjustment in response to determining that the setting information corresponding to the stored taught position indicates that the error reduction is disabled (Dan: [0068]-[0069], [0147], [0110]-[0119]).
Regarding claim 10: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: (Dan: [0029], [0041]) store, in a taught position storage, the taught position in association with setting information indicating whether an error reduction is enabled; (Dan: [0069], [0118], [0147]) control, based on the taught position and the positional error, the robot to move the extremity toward the stored taught position with the positional adjustment in response to determining that the setting information corresponding to the stored taught position indicates that the error reduction is enabled; and (Dan: [0066]-[0070]) control, based on the stored taught position, the robot to move the extremity toward the stored taught position without the positional adjustment in response to determining that the setting information corresponding to the taught position indicates that the error reduction is disabled (Dan: [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 11: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 10, wherein the control circuitry is configured to (Dan: [0029], [0041]) control, based on the stored taught position, the robot to move the extremity toward the stored taught position without the positional adjustment in response to determining that the setting information is not associated with the stored taught position (Dan: [0069], [0085], [0118], [0147]).
Regarding claim 12: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to (Dan: [0029], [0041]) acquire positional information of a surrounding object of the robot based on a relative position of the extremity with respect to the surrounding object and the taught position that causes the extremity to reach the relative position (Dan: [0002]).
Regarding claim 13: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 12, further comprising simulation circuitry configured to: (Dan: [0052]) correct a position of a model of the surrounding object in a virtual space based on acquired positional information of the surrounding object; (Dan: [0052]-[0053], [0066]-[0070]) generate the taught position based on the motion of the robot in the virtual space; and (Dan: [0052]-[0053], [0066]-[0070]) operate the robot in the virtual space (Dan: [0052]-[0053], [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 17: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 1, wherein the factor information is stored in the robot, and (Dan: [0069], [0118], [0147]) wherein the control circuitry is further configured to (Dan: [0029], [0041]) acquire the factor information from the robot and store the factor information (Dan: [0069], [0118], [0147]).
Regarding claim 18: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 17, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to (Dan: [0029], [0041]) collate the factor information stored in the robot with the factor information stored in the factor storage (Dan: [0069], [0118], [0147]).
Regarding claim 19: Dan teaches: A method for manufacturing a robot system comprising ([0001]), a robot having an arm configured to change a position of an extremity of the arm and ([0028]) a control circuitry configured to control the robot, ([0029], [0041]) the method comprising: ([0001])
operating, by the control circuitry, the robot according to a predetermined motion pattern by the control circuitry; ([0046], [0048], [0052]-[0055])
generating factor information representing an error factor based on the motion pattern and an actual motion of the robot according to the motion pattern, ([0171], [0047], [0049], [0052]-[0054], [0105])
wherein the error factor is a mechanical characteristic of the robot that causes a positional error of the extremity, ([0054]-[0055], [0003] accumulated error in units of millimeters occurs at the off-line teaching point owing to the difference in individual robot apparatuses)
[. . .] the positional error varying depending on the posture of the robot; ([0052]-[0054], [0058], [0088] position error and attitude error of the robot hand at on-line teaching point)
storing the factor information in the robot system; ([0069], [0118], [0147])
calculating, [. . .], the positional error of the extremity that would occur during an expected motion toward the taught position; and ([0054]-[0055], [0105], ([0003] accumulated error in units of millimeters occurs at the off-line teaching point owing to the difference in individual robot apparatuses. To address this error, on-line teaching is performed for each of individual robot apparatuses, thereby correcting the off-line teaching point)
controlling, [. . .], the robot to move the extremity toward the taught position with a positional adjustment of the robot to reduce the positional error ([0046], [0048], [0055], [0105], [0003] accumulated error in units of millimeters occurs at the off-line teaching point owing to the difference in individual robot apparatuses. To address this error, on-line teaching is performed for each of individual robot apparatuses, thereby correcting the off-line teaching point).
However, Dan does not explicitly teach: the mechanical characteristic being independent of a posture of the robot, and [calculating,] based on a taught position and the factor information, [the positional error]; and [controlling,] based on the taught position and the calculated positional error, [the robot to move].
Crampton teaches: the mechanical characteristic being independent of a posture of the robot, and [calculating,] based on a taught position and the factor information, [the positional error]; and [controlling,] based on the taught position and the calculated positional error, [the robot to move] ([0286] misalignments due to build up of manufacturing and assembly tolerances. [0263] errors from any of: eccentric mounting of the encoder, poor alignment of read heads, edge printing non-linearity, read head non-linearity, irregularities and other mechanical/alignment errors. [0315] modelling of many factors including misalignment tolerance build-up and deflection of the Exoskeleton under abuse loads. NOTE: these characteristics are all mechanical and not dependent on the robot posture. [0532] Under gravity, a long CMM Segment in a horizontal spatial orientation will deflect by a certain amount. Another source of error is the deflection in the joint bearings. [0604] manual and automated methods to aid the positioning of a first component relative to a second component to a much higher accuracy. NOTE: mechanical characteristics and robot positioning are used to account for error).
Dan and Crampton are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot controls and error reduction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Dan with the aspects of Crampton to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a robot system where the mechanical characteristic are independent of a posture of the robot, and calculating, based on a taught position and the factor information, the positional error, and controlling, based on the taught position and the calculated positional error, the robot to move. The motivation for modification would have been to provide a robot arm that will be more accurate due to a better calibration process (Crampton, [0532]) and that can be automated in the process to much higher accuracy (Crampton, [0604]).
Regarding claim 20: Dan-Crampton further teach: The method according to claim 19, wherein the error factor includes compliance of the arm representing flexibility of the arm, (Dan: [0054], [0105] deflection of the robot arm. Crampton: [0212], [0217], [0332]) wherein the method comprises (Dan: [0001])
sequentially generating positional commands (Dan: [0085], [0091]) representing intermediate positions of the robot to the taught position based on the taught position and the factor information so that the extremity moves toward the taught position with the positional adjustment, and (Dan: [0053]-[0055], [0070], [0083])
wherein the positional commands for controlling the robot are generated by repeating operations including: (Dan: [0070], [0119])
generating a provisional positional command specifying a posture of the robot based on the taught position; (Dan: [0053]-[0055])
calculating moments acting on joints of the arm based on the provisional positional command, and calculating, as the positional error, a deflection of the arm based on the calculated moments and the compliance; and (Dan: [0054], [0105]. Crampton: [0292], [0297], [0307])
generating a positional command based on the deflection and the provisional positional command (Dan: [0052]-[0055], [0105]).
The motivation for modification is the same as that described in claim 19.
Regarding claim 21: Dan-Crampton further teach: The method according to claim 20, wherein the error factor further includes a dimensional error of the arm including an error in a length of at least one link of the arm, and (Dan: [0054], [0105]. Crampton: [0226], [0255])
wherein the positional command is generated based on the provisional positional command, the dimensional error, and the deflection of the arm (Dan: [0052]-[0055], [0105]).
The motivation for modification is the same as that described in claim 1.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dan et al. (US 2018/0297198 A1, “Dan”) and Crampton (US 2005/0166413 A1, “Crampton”), and further in view of Hashiguchi et al. (US 2015/0045949 A1, “Hashiguchi”).
Regarding claim 15: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 1, [. . .] wherein the control circuitry is configured to: (Dan: [0029], [0041]) [. . .] control the robot based on the selected factor information (Dan: [0046], [0048], [0055], [0085], [0091], [0105]).
However, Dan-Crampton do not explicitly teach: wherein the factor information is stored for each of a plurality of robots including the robot, and select the factor information corresponding to the robot to be controlled.
Hashiguchi teaches: wherein the factor information is stored for each of a plurality of robots including the robot, and select the factor information corresponding to the robot to be controlled ([0045], [0057], [0083], [0086], [0090], [0114]).
Dan-Crampton and Hashiguchi are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot motion control and error reduction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Dan-Crampton with the aspects of Hashiguchi to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a robot system wherein the factor information is stored for each of a plurality of robots including the robot, and select the factor information corresponding to the robot to be controlled. The motivation for modification would have been to use error likelihood in calibration of multiple robots to enhance work efficiency in preparing the work coordinate system (Hashiguchi, [0114]), which increases robot arm accuracy and system effectiveness.
Regarding claim 16: Dan-Crampton further teach: The robot system according to claim 1. However, Dan-Crampton do not explicitly teach: wherein the factor information is stored in the factor storage in association with an ID of the robot; acquire an ID from the robot to be controlled; and control the robot based on the factor information in response to determining that the acquired ID matches the ID associated with the factor information in the factor storage.
Hashiguchi teaches: wherein the factor information is stored in the factor storage in association with an ID of the robot; ([0057], [0086]) acquire an ID from the robot to be controlled; and control the robot based on the factor information in response to determining that the acquired ID matches the ID associated with the factor information in the factor storage ([0046], [0048], [0055],[ 0057], [0085]-[0086], [0091], [0105]).
Dan-Crampton and Hashiguchi are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot motion control and error reduction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Dan-Crampton with the aspects of Hashiguchi to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a robot system wherein the factor information is stored in the factor storage in association with an ID of the robot; acquire an ID from the robot to be controlled; and control the robot based on the factor information in response to the acquired ID matches the ID associated with the factor information in the factor storage. The motivation for modification would have been to use error likelihood and robot identification in calibration to enhance work efficiency in preparing the work coordinate system (Hashiguchi, [0114]), which increases robot arm accuracy and system effectiveness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADISON B EMMETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3658