DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 11/26/2024
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yum (USPAN 2017/0086195) in view of Lee (WO 2016/164739 A1).
Consider claims 1 and 15, Yum discloses a first node for wireless communications (see figure 1, wherein disclosed is said first node), and a corresponding method in a first node for wireless communication (see abstract and paragraph 7, wherein disclosed is said method), comprising: a first receiver, receiving a first message, the first message being used to determine a first RS (Reference Signal) resource group and, broadly construed, a first frequency-band resource group, the first RS resource group comprising at least one RS resource, the first frequency-band resource group comprising multiple sub-bands (see abstract and step S610 in figure 6, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is receiving a plurality of CSI-RS resources to which different vertical precoding is applied from each other); and a first transmitter, transmitting at least first channel information; wherein the first frequency-band resource group is within a first BWP (Bandwidth part), and a measurement for the first RS resource group is used to generate the first channel information (see step S620 in figure 6, wherein disclosed is measuring CSI-RS on the plurality of the CSI-RS resources; see paragraph 109: “The UE may have the transmission modes shown in Table 7. Referring to Table 7, in Mode 2-0 and Mode 2-1, a bandwidth (BP) part is a set of subbands continuously located in a frequency domain and may cover a system bandwidth or a specified set S. In Table 7, the size of each subband, the size of the BP and the number of BPs may be changed according to system bandwidth. In addition, the UE transmits the CQI in a frequency domain in ascending order per BP so as to cover the system bandwidth or the specified set S”); frequency-domain resources which the first channel information is for comprise Q1 sub-band(s) in the first frequency-band resource group, Q1 being a positive integer; Q1 is related to a frequency-domain location of the multiple sub-bands in the first frequency-band resource group (see step S630 in figure 6, wherein disclosed is reporting BI indicating CSI-RS resource having a highest CQI among the measured CSI-RS resources to the base station; also, see paragraph 102: “In Mode 2-2, the UE may simultaneously select the locations of M preferred subbands and a single precoding matrix for the M preferred subbands on the assumption that data is transmitted via the M preferred subbands. At this time, the CQI value for the M preferred subbands is defined per codeword. In addition, the UE further generates a wideband CQI value with respect to the specified set S or the system bandwidth.” Also, see paragraph 103: “In Mode 2-2, the UE may transmit information about the locations of the M preferred subbands, one CQI value for the selected M subbands, a single PMI for the M preferred subbands, a wideband PMI and a wideband CQI value to the BS. At this time, the size of the subband and the M value may be changed according to system bandwidth.”).
Yum does not specifically disclose receiving a first frequency-band resource group.
Lee discloses receiving a first frequency-band resource group (see paragraph 268: “In another example, two or more CSI-subbands may be associated with a U-subband which may include a plurality of PUCCH resources, and a PUCCH resource index within the U-subband to be used for a CSI reporting may be determined as a function of a CSI-subband index. In this case, one or more of following may apply. Within the plurality of PUCCH resources in a U-subband, a group of PUCCH resources may be determined based on the CSI-subband index for which the CSI reporting is intended, and at least one of following may be used to determine a PUCCH resource within the group of PUCCH resources: a starting (E)CCE index for the (E)PDCCH candidate which may trigger the CSI reporting; an index configured via higher layer signaling; a WTRU-ID (e.g., C-RNTI, IMSI); a CSI reporting type (e.g., a CQI report, a PMI report, and/or an RI report); and a starting subframe of the (E)PDCCH candidate if the (E)PDCCH candidate is transmitted repetitively. A higher layer signaling may indicate a corresponding PUCCH resource for each CSI-subband. For example, if M CSI-subbands are configured, a higher layer signaling may configure M corresponding PUCCH resources for the CSI reporting, where M PUCCH resources may be a different PUCCH sequence in the same time/frequency resources or located in a different time location.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yum and combine it with the noted teachings of Lee. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method of multi-subband based transmissions and to thereby provide for CSI feedback (see paragraphs 5-7 of Lee).
Consider claim 8, Yum discloses a second node for wireless communications (see first 7, wherein disclosed is said second node), comprising: a second transceiver, transmitting a first message, the first message being used to determine a first RS resource group and, broadly construed, a first frequency-band resource group, the first RS resource group comprising at least one RS resource, the first frequency-band resource group comprising multiple sub-bands (see abstract and step S610 in figure 6, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is receiving a plurality of CSI-RS resources to which different vertical precoding is applied from each other); and a second receiver, receiving at least first channel information; wherein the first frequency-band resource group is within a first BWP, and a measurement for the first RS resource group is used to generate the first channel information (see step S620 in figure 6, wherein disclosed is measuring CSI-RS on the plurality of the CSI-RS resources; see paragraph 109: “The UE may have the transmission modes shown in Table 7. Referring to Table 7, in Mode 2-0 and Mode 2-1, a bandwidth (BP) part is a set of subbands continuously located in a frequency domain and may cover a system bandwidth or a specified set S. In Table 7, the size of each subband, the size of the BP and the number of BPs may be changed according to system bandwidth. In addition, the UE transmits the CQI in a frequency domain in ascending order per BP so as to cover the system bandwidth or the specified set S”); frequency-domain resources which the first channel information is for comprise Q1 sub-band(s) in the first frequency-band resource group, Q1 being a positive integer; Q1 is related to a frequency-domain location of the multiple sub-bands in the first frequency-band resource group (see step S630 in figure 6, wherein disclosed is reporting BI indicating CSI-RS resource having a highest CQI among the measured CSI-RS resources to the base station; also, see paragraph 102: “In Mode 2-2, the UE may simultaneously select the locations of M preferred subbands and a single precoding matrix for the M preferred subbands on the assumption that data is transmitted via the M preferred subbands. At this time, the CQI value for the M preferred subbands is defined per codeword. In addition, the UE further generates a wideband CQI value with respect to the specified set S or the system bandwidth.” Also, see paragraph 103: “In Mode 2-2, the UE may transmit information about the locations of the M preferred subbands, one CQI value for the selected M subbands, a single PMI for the M preferred subbands, a wideband PMI and a wideband CQI value to the BS. At this time, the size of the subband and the M value may be changed according to system bandwidth.”).
Yum does not specifically disclose receiving a first frequency-band resource group.
Lee discloses receiving a first frequency-band resource group (see paragraph 268: “In another example, two or more CSI-subbands may be associated with a U-subband which may include a plurality of PUCCH resources, and a PUCCH resource index within the U-subband to be used for a CSI reporting may be determined as a function of a CSI-subband index. In this case, one or more of following may apply. Within the plurality of PUCCH resources in a U-subband, a group of PUCCH resources may be determined based on the CSI-subband index for which the CSI reporting is intended, and at least one of following may be used to determine a PUCCH resource within the group of PUCCH resources: a starting (E)CCE index for the (E)PDCCH candidate which may trigger the CSI reporting; an index configured via higher layer signaling; a WTRU-ID (e.g., C-RNTI, IMSI); a CSI reporting type (e.g., a CQI report, a PMI report, and/or an RI report); and a starting subframe of the (E)PDCCH candidate if the (E)PDCCH candidate is transmitted repetitively. A higher layer signaling may indicate a corresponding PUCCH resource for each CSI-subband. For example, if M CSI-subbands are configured, a higher layer signaling may configure M corresponding PUCCH resources for the CSI reporting, where M PUCCH resources may be a different PUCCH sequence in the same time/frequency resources or located in a different time location.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yum and combine it with the noted teachings of Lee. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method of multi-subband based transmissions and to thereby provide for CSI feedback (see paragraphs 5-7 of Lee).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412
JAMAL JAVAID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412