CTNF 18/959,742 CTNF 64821 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “a fixed layer” “a free layer” and “an application portion” as recited in claim 1, the feature of “application portion is constituted of a hard bias layer formed in each of the first to fourth detection elements” as recited in claim 4, the feature of “the application portion is constituted of a laminate including a ferromagnetic portion and an antiferromagnetic portion in contact with the ferromagnetic portion and exchange-coupled with the ferromagnetic portion as recited in claim 5 and the feature of “the application portion is constituted of an application coil” as recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 6, what is “an application coil”? Is it a conductive conductor or an inductor? Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1,3-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEBIGUCHI et al (PG-Pub # 20150022196) in view of Dovek et al (CN 1113572A) As to claim 1, Hebiguchi et al disclose a current sensor as shown in figure 4 comprising: a bus bar (12) including a first straight portion and a second straight portion (left and right bottom straight parts of the bus bar (12)) that are on opposite sides across a center line (SJ) therebetween and parallel to each other, and including a first bent portion and a second bent portion that are continuous with one end of the first straight portion and one end of the second straight portion, respectively, and are symmetrical to each other with respect to the center line; a first detection element, a second detection element, a third detection element, and a fourth detection element (13A,13B,13C,13D), the first detection element and the second detection element (13A,13C) being disposed over the first bent portion (left bent portion of the bus bar (12)), and the third detection element and the fourth detection element (13B,13D)being disposed over the second bent portion (right bent portion of the bus bar (12)). It is noted that first,second,third and fourth detection elements form a bridge. It is noted that Hebiguchi et al do not explicitly mention about each of which is a magnetoresistive effect element including a fixed layer and a free layer, an application portion configured to apply a bias magnetic field to the free layer of each of the first to fourth detection elements, wherein when the first to fourth detection elements form a bridge circuit, magnetization directions of the fixed layers of the first detection element and the second detection element are directions perpendicular to the center line and opposite to each other, and magnetization directions of the fixed layers of the third detection element and the fourth detection element are directions perpendicular to the center line and opposite to each other, and in a state in which the bus bar is not energized and the bias magnetic field is applied by the application portion, magnetization directions of the free layers of two detection elements forming a first set among the first to fourth detection elements are parallel to the center line and in a same direction as each other, and magnetization directions of the free layers of the other two detection elements forming a second set are parallel to the center line, in a same direction as each other, and opposite to the magnetization directions of the two detection elements forming the first set. Dovek et al disclose a magnetoresistive (MR) element as shown in figure 1 including a fixed layer (39) and a free layer (36), an application portion (41) configured to apply a bias magnetic field to the free layer (36) . It would have been well known for one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the detection elements in the device of Hebiguchi et al would have a well-known structure of magnetoresistive (MR) element as taught by Belin. Furthermore, when the magnetic field is applied to the detection elements, it would have been obvious that magnetization directions of the fixed layers of the first detection element and the second detection element are directions perpendicular to the center line and opposite to each other, and magnetization directions of the fixed layers of the third detection element and the fourth detection element are directions perpendicular to the center line and opposite to each other, and in a state in which the bus bar is not energized and the bias magnetic field is applied by the application portion, magnetization directions of the free layers of two detection elements forming a first set among the first to fourth detection elements are parallel to the center line and in a same direction as each other, and magnetization directions of the free layers of the other two detection elements forming a second set are parallel to the center line, in a same direction as each other, and opposite to the magnetization directions of the two detection elements forming the first set. As to claim 3, in the device of Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al ,wherein the first to fourth detection elements (13A-13D) in the device of Hebiguchi et al are formed on a single substrate (14). As to claim 4, Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al disclose a current sensor as mentioned in claim 1, wherein the application portion (41) of Dovek et al is constituted of a hard bias layer . As to claim 5, Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al disclose a current sensor as mentioned in claim 1, wherein the application portion (41) is constituted of a laminate including a ferromagnetic portion and an antiferromagnetic portion in the fixed layer (39) in contact with the ferromagnetic portion and exchange coupled with the ferromagnetic portion, As to claim 7, in the device of Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al ,wherein a first half-bridge circuit formed of the first detection element (13A) and the third detection element (13C) and a second half-bridge circuit formed of the second detection element (13B) and the fourth detection element (13D)form a full-bridge circuit as a whole. As to claim 8, Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al disclose a current sensor as shown in figure 4 and as mentioned in claims 1 and 7 but do not mention about wherein the first detection element (13A) and the fourth detection element (13C) are both formed on a first chip, the second detection element (13B) and the third detection element (13D) are both formed on a second chip, and the first chip and the second chip have a same structure. Hebiguchi et al disclose two separate chips as shown in figure 20 , wherein a left chip containing the detection elements (93A-93C) formed on a first chip and a right chip containing the detection elements (93B-93D) formed on a second chip. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first detection element (13A) and the fourth detection element (13C) are both formed on a first chip and the third detection element (13B) and the fourth detection element (13D) are both formed on a second chip as taught by Fig. 20 in the device of Hebiguchi et al for the purpose of detecting and output separately signals from the first half bridge circuit and the second half bridge circuit. As to claim 9, Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al disclose a current sensor as shown in figure 4 and as mentioned in claims 1 and 7, wherein the two detection elements (13A,13C) forming the first set are separately allocated to the first half-bridge circuit and the second half-bridge circuit, and the two detection elements (13B,13D) forming the second set are separately allocated to the first half-bridge circuit and the second half-bridge circuit. As to claim 10, in the device of Hebiguchi et al in view of Belin, a first half-bridge circuit formed of the first detection element (13A) and the second detection element (13C) and a second half-bridge circuit formed of the third detection element (13B) and the fourth detection element (13D) form a full-bridge circuit as a whole. As to claim 11, Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al disclose a current sensor as mentioned in claim 1 wherein the detection elements (13A-13D) are formed in a single chip (14) but do not teach the first detection element and the second detection element are both formed on a first chip, the third detection element and the fourth detection element are both formed on a second chip, and the first chip and the second chip have a same structure. However, Hebiguchi et al disclose two separate chips as shown in figure 20 , wherein a left chip containing the detection elements (93A-93C) formed on a first chip and a right chip containing the detection elements (93B-93D) formed on a second chip. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first detection element (13A) and the second detection element (13C) are both formed on a first chip and the third detection element and the fourth detection element are both formed on a second chip as taught by Fig. 20 in the device of Hebiguchi et al for the purpose of detecting and output separately signals from the first half bridge circuit and the second half bridge circuit. As to claim 12, in the device of Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al wherein the two detection elements (13A,13C) forming the first set are separately allocated to the first half-bridge circuit and the second half-bridge circuit, and the two detection elements (13B,13D) forming the second set are separately allocated to the first half-bridge circuit and the second half-bridge circuit. As to claim 13, Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al disclose a current sensor as mentioned in claim 1 but do not mention about the current sensor according to claim 1 accommodated in a single semiconductor package. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have the current sensor of Hebiguchi et al in view of Dovek et al accommodating in a single package to the purpose of stabilizing the current sensor structure and reducing the effect of the environment on the detected signals . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The Prior art does not teach the first detection element and the second detection element over the first bent portion, and the third detection element and the fourth detection element over the second bent portion are disposed at positions that cause an angle formed between the center line and a direction of an induced magnetic field generated, when a current is applied to the bus bar, to be less than 90° as recited in claim 2. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dovek et al et al (Pat# 10,935,612) disclose Current Sensor Having Multiple Sensitivity Ranges. Isoda et al (pat# 12,253,580) disclose a magnetic sensor. Krall et al (Pat# 12,306,214) disclose Adjustable Sensitivity Ranges For Magnetic Field Sensors. Kataoka et al (Pat# 5,227,721) disclose Superconductive Magnetic Sensor Having Self Induced Magnetic Biasing. Pant (Pat# 5,500,590) discloses apparatus For Sensing Magnetic Fields Using A Coupled Film Magnetoresistive Transducer. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VINH P NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1964. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 6:00am-4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Phan Huy can be reached on 571-272-7924 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 9 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/959,742 Page 10 Art Unit: 2858