DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informality:
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 recites the limitation “a proximal portion configured to cover the first actuator [emphasis added]” on Lines 2-3. In light of Applicant’s specification (see Para. [0026]) and the prosecution history of Application 17/487,632 now U.S. Patent 12,178,404, the parent application/patent of this instant application (see Claim 15 of ‘404), this appears to be a clear drafting error and should read “a proximal portion configured to cover the second actuator [emphasis added]” and appropriate correction is required.
NOTE: For the sake of compact prosecution, brevity and to avoid any unnecessary delays, the limitation of Claim 18 is being interpreted as “a proximal portion configured to cover the second actuator” with regards to art and double patenting rejections and has not been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for lacking written support. If this is not a drafting error, however, Claim 18 will be rejected under § 112(a) in the subsequent office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uchida et al.(hereinafter "Uchida") (US 2021/0063723).
Regarding Claim 16, Uchida discloses an endoscope system (Fig. 2A, an endoscopic system comprising 1 and 10; [0060] & [0081]) comprising:
an endoscope (Fig. 1, 1; [0060]) including a handle (Fig. 1, 3; [0060]); and
a controller (Fig. 2A, 10; [0081]) configured to be coupled to the handle ([0083]), and uncoupled from the handle ([0083]), the controller comprising:
a body (Fig. 2A, a housing assembly comprising 11 and 12; [0083]), wherein the body comprises:
a first actuator (Fig. 4A, 41; [0102]) configured to mate with a second actuator of the handle (Fig. 1, 3g; [0069]) such that rotation of the first actuator causes rotation of the second actuator ([0106]);
a third actuator (Fig. 2D, 62; [0136]), wherein actuation of the third actuator is configured to initiate rotation of the first actuator and the second actuator ([0149]); and
a first recess (Fig. 4B, 25; [0096]) configured to receive a first locking actuator of the endoscope (Fig. 1, 3h; [0069]) and prevent rotation of the first locking actuator when the body is coupled to the endoscope ([0078] & [0096]).
Regarding Claim 18, Uchida discloses the endoscope system of Claim 16. Uchida further discloses wherein the body includes a distal portion (Fig. 2A, 12; [0083]) configured to wrap around the handle ([0088]) and a proximal portion (Fig. 2A, 11; [0083]) configured to cover the second actuator ([0088]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neumann (DE 202010009234 U1).
Regarding Claim 19, Neumann, as best understood, a controller (Fig. 4, 1; [0044]) configured for use with a medical device (Fig. 4, 2; [0037]), comprising:
a body (Figs. 3 & 4, a device body comprising 13 & 15; [0045] & [0052]) configured to removably couple to the medical device ([0015]), wherein the body comprises:
a first body (Fig. 3, 13; [0045]) configured to mate with a first actuator of the medical device (Fig. 1, 5; [0041]); and
a second body (Fig. 4, 15; [0052]) including:
a second actuator (Fig. 4, 12; [0050]), wherein actuation of the second actuator is configured to wirelessly initiate movement of the first actuator ([0051] & [0069]);
wherein the second body is configured to (i) directly couple to the medical device (see Fig. 4) and (ii) wirelessly connect to the first body to initiate movement of the first actuator (Fig. 4, 11 of 15 is connected via Bluetooth to 10 of 13; [0050] & [0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-11 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida et al. (hereinafter "Uchida") (US 2021/0063723) in view of Gumbs et al. (hereinafter "Gumbs") (US 2014/0296633).
Regarding Claim 1, Uchida discloses a controller (Fig. 2A, 10; [0081]) configured for use with a medical device (Fig. 1, 1; [0060]), comprising:
a body (Fig. 2D, a housing assembly comprising 11 and 60; [0083] & [0089]) configured to removably couple to the medical device ([0083]), wherein the body comprises:
a first body (Fig. 2A, 11; [0083]) configured to mate with a first actuator of the medical device (Fig. 1, 3g; [0069]); and
a second body (Fig. 2D, 60; [0089]) including:
a second actuator (Fig. 2D, 62; [0136]), wherein actuation of the second actuator is configured to initiate movement of the first actuator ([0149]);
wherein the second body is U-shaped (Fig. 5A, 61 of 60 is substantially U-shaped defined by 64; [0136]) and configured to
(i) directly couple to and abut a handle of the medical device ([0190] & see Figs. 2D & 7C) and
(ii) connect to the first body to initiate movement of the first actuator (Figs. 4C & 6A, 71 of 60 sends signals to 32 of 11 rotate 3g via 41; [0132] & [0151] – [0152]).
Uchida fails to explicitly disclose wherein actuation of the second actuator is configured to wirelessly initiate the movement of the first actuator; and wherein the second body is configured to wirelessly connect to the first body.
However, Gumbs teaches a controller (Fig. 1, a remote endoscope handle manipulation; [0039]) configured for use with a medical device (Fig. 1, 60; [0042]), comprising:
a body (Fig. 1, a control system comprising 10 and 20; [0042]) configured to removably couple to the medical device (Fig. 1, 10 of the control system is configured to removably attach to 60; [0046]), wherein the body comprises:
a first body (Fig. 1, 10; [0042]) configured to mate with a first actuator of the medical device (Fig. 1, 70A; [0047]); and
a second body (Fig. 1, 20; [0042]) including:
a second actuator (Fig. 1, 22; [0042]), wherein actuation of the second actuator is configured to wirelessly initiate movement of the first actuator ([0042] & [0047]); and
wherein the second body is configured to wirelessly connect to the first body to initiate movement of the first actuator (Figs. 1 & 5, 22 of 20 communicates with 16A of 10 via wireless communication; [0042] & [0047]).
The advantage of the wireless communication is to permit an operator to control the endoscope without manipulating the first actuator (Gumbs; [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the second actuator of the second body as disclosed by Uchida, to permit wireless communication with the first body so to wirelessly initiate movement of the first actuator as taught by Gumbs, to permit an operator to control the endoscope without manipulating the first actuator (Gumbs; [0048]).
Regarding Claim 2, Uchida, as previously modified by Gumbs, teaches the controller of Claim 1. Uchida further discloses wherein the body further comprises a motor (Fig. 4B, 32; [0099]) communicatively coupleable with the second actuator ([0151]), and the motor is configured to cause movement of the first actuator ([0132]).
Regarding Claim 4, Uchida, as previously modified by Gumbs, teaches the controller of Claim 1. Uchida further discloses wherein the first actuator is a knob configured to articulate a distal portion of the medical device (Fig. 1, 2b2; [0077]).
Regarding Claim 10, Uchida, as previously modified by Gumbs, teaches the controller of Claim 1. Uchida further discloses wherein the second body is configured to couple to a distal portion of the first body (see Fig. 2D).
Regarding Claim 11, Uchida, as previously modified by Gumbs, discloses the controller of Claim 1. Gumbs further teaches a circuit board (a processor; [0042]) electrically coupled to the second actuator ([0042]).
Regarding Claim 15, Uchida, as previously modified by Gumbs, teaches the controller of Claim 1. Uchida further discloses wherein the second actuator is configured to be positioned proximate to an umbilicus of the medical device when the controller is coupled to a handle of the medical device (Fig. 2D, 60 is disposed proximal to 4 of 1; [0086]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (DE 202010009234 U1) in view of Masaki et al. (hereinafter "Masaki") (US 2012/0277534).
Regarding Claim 20, Neumann, as best understood, discloses the controller of Claim 19. Neumann further discloses wherein the second actuator is a joystick (Fig. 4, 12 is a joystick; [0051]). Neumann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second actuator includes at least four buttons, and wherein at least two of the at least four buttons are configured to control actuation of the first actuator.
However, Masaki teaches a medical device (Fig. 8, 1; [0053]), comprising:
a first body (Fig. 8, 10; [0051]) having a first actuator (Fig. 8, 29; [0057]);
a second body (Fig. 8, 11B; [0051]) having a second actuator (Fig. 7, 18B; [0051]) and configured to removably couple to the first body ([0052] & see Fig. 7);
wherein actuation of the second actuator is configured to initiate movement of the first actuator ([0057]);
wherein the second actuator includes at least four buttons (Fig. 7, 43A-43D; [0053]); and
wherein at least two of the at least four buttons are configured to control actuation of the first actuator (Fig. 7, 43A-43D are buttons; [0053]).
The advantage of the optical-control-button type actuator is to contactlessly control the first actuator of the medical device thereby reducing physical wear and tear (Masaki; [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to replace the joystick-type second actuator as disclosed by Neumann, with the optical-control-button type second actuator as taught by Masaki, to contactlessly control the first actuator of the medical device thereby reducing physical wear and tear (Masaki; [0056]).
Double Patenting
Claims 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,404.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application limit a broader version of ‘404 and thus are anticipated by ‘404.
Claims 1-15 & 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,404 in view of Gumbs et al. (hereinafter "Gumbs") (US 2014/0296633) and Masaki et al. (hereinafter "Masaki") (US 2012/0277534).
The claims of ‘404 discloses all the limitations of the instant claims except for wherein actuation of the second actuator is configured to wirelessly initiate the movement of the first actuator; and wherein the second actuator includes at least four buttons, and wherein at least two of the at least four buttons are configured to control actuation of the first actuator.
Regarding Claims 1-15 & 19-20, Gumbs discloses a controller (Fig. 1, a remote endoscope handle manipulation; [0039]) configured for use with a medical device (Fig. 1, 60; [0042]), comprising:
a body (Fig. 1, a control system comprising 10 and 20; [0042]) configured to removably couple to the medical device (Fig. 1, 10 of the control system is configured to removably attach to 60; [0046]), wherein the body comprises:
a first body (Fig. 1, 10; [0042]) configured to mate with a first actuator of the medical device (Fig. 1, 70A; [0047]); and
a second body (Fig. 1, 20; [0042]) including:
a second actuator (Fig. 1, 22; [0042]), wherein actuation of the second actuator is configured to wirelessly initiate movement of the first actuator ([0042] & [0047]); and
wherein the second body is configured to wirelessly connect to the first body to initiate movement of the first actuator (Figs. 1 & 5, 22 of 20 communicates with 16A of 10 via wireless communication; [0042] & [0047]).
The advantage of the wireless communication is to permit an operator to control the endoscope without manipulating the first actuator (Gumbs; [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the second actuator of the second body as disclosed by ‘404, to permit wireless communication with the first body so to wirelessly initiate movement of the first actuator as taught by Gumbs, to permit an operator to control the endoscope without manipulating the first actuator (Gumbs; [0048]).
Regarding Claims 1-15 & 19-20, Masaki discloses a medical device (Fig. 8, 1; [0053]), comprising:
a first body (Fig. 8, 10; [0051]) having a first actuator (Fig. 8, 29; [0057]);
a second body (Fig. 8, 11B; [0051]) having a second actuator (Fig. 7, 18B; [0051]) and configured to removably couple to the first body ([0052] & see Fig. 7);
wherein actuation of the second actuator is configured to initiate movement of the first actuator ([0057]);
wherein the second actuator includes at least four buttons (Fig. 7, 43A-43D; [0053]); and
wherein at least two of the at least four buttons are configured to control actuation of the first actuator (Fig. 7, 43A-43D are buttons; [0053]).
The advantage of the optical-control-button type actuator is to contactlessly control the first actuator of the medical device thereby reducing physical wear and tear (Masaki; [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the second actuator as disclosed by ‘404, to be the optical-control-button type second actuator as taught by Masaki, to contactlessly control the first actuator of the medical device thereby reducing physical wear and tear (Masaki; [0056]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-9, 12-14 & 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejections, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 3, Uchida, as previously modified by Gumbs, discloses the controller of Claim 1. Uchida further discloses wherein the body further includes: a first gear (Fig. 1, 47A; [0047]) configured to mate with the first actuator of the medical device ([0047]).
Uchida, as previously modified by Gumbs, fails to explicitly disclose a second gear configured to mate with a third actuator of the medical device.
Regarding Claim 17, Uchida discloses the endoscope system of Claim 16. Uchida fails to explicitly discloses a second recess configured to receive a second locking actuator of the endoscope and prevent rotation of the second locking actuator when the body is coupled to the endoscope.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Miller et al. (US 2020/0058284) teaches a surgical tool having an integrated microphone.
Yang et al. (US 2019/0125469) teaches a surgical instrument with a terminal steering mechanism.
Pereira et al. (US 2019/0008601) teaches an endoscope with a detachable peripheral device.
Ogawa et al. (US 2016/0193000) teaches an manipulator system with a remote controlling device.
Okamoto et al. (US 2016/0113481) teaches an introducing apparatus with a rotary mechanism.
Oginski et al. (US 2015/0112141) teaches a rotational device for a rotating endoscope.
Foley et al. (US 2012/0078080) teaches a remotely controlled catheter insertion system.
Koyama (US 2010/0268031) teaches an electric bending endoscope with a remote operation portion.
Ueno et al. (US 2007/0238927) teaches a power driven bending endoscope with a detachable insertion portion.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795