DETAILED ACTION
Receipt of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 21, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are provided to be examined upon their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 21, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. A response is provided below in bold where appropriate.
Applicant addresses Specification Objection, pg. 9 of Remarks:
Rejections to Specification
The specification is objected to because it allegedly contains a trade name or mark used in commerce. The Office Action suggests "QR code" should be accompanied by the generic terminology. Without acknowledging the propriety of this objection, Applicant has amended the specification shown above amendments to the specification. It is believed that this amendment overcomes the objection to the specification. For at least this reason, the objection to specification should be withdrawn.
Withdrawn and the amendment is entered.
Applicant argues 35 USC §101 Rejection, starting pg. 9 of Remarks:
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Claims 1-20 currently stand rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is allegedly directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §101. When properly analyzed under the USPTO's eligibility guidance and controlling Supreme Court and Federal Circuit precedent, Claim 1 is directed to patent-eligible subject matter. For convenience, the Examiner's analysis focuses on method claim 19, but the reasoning is applied to Claims 1 and 11 as well. The arguments below are presented for claim 1 and are equally applicable to the other independent claims, which recite substantially the same subject matter in different statutory forms.
I. Step 2A Prong One - The Characterization as a "Method of Organizing Human Activity" and "Mental Process" Is Overbroad
The Examiner characterizes claim 19 (and by extension claim 1) as "managing personal behavior by teaching and following rules and instructions" and as a "mental process" (Office Action, §101 discussion), asserting that "a person can store on paper historical service cases, receive information, determine (mental process) skills, identify (mental process) a skill gap, and output by writing guidance (pen and paper)."
Claim 1, however, is expressly limited to a non-transitory computer readable medium storing:
"a database storing a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices"; and
instructions that cause "at least one electronic processor" to:
receive information describing servicing to be performed on a medical device;
determine "one or more skills" related to that servicing by comparing the received information with the historical service cases and/or service manuals;
identify a skill gap by comparing those skills with a service record of the person; and
output guidance based on the identified skill gap.
The claimed operations go well beyond mere "teaching" or generic "following rules." They require:
a database constrained to specific technical content: resolved historical service cases and service manuals pertaining to medical devices;
a particular comparative analysis between:
(i) servicing information and technical documents (service cases/manuals) to infer the skills required; and
(ii) those inferred skills and a structured service record of a particular person to identify a quantified skill gap; and
generation of guidance tailored to that gap for maintenance of complex medical devices.
These aspects define a specialized maintenance-assistance computation in a technical field (medical device servicing), not a generic human-behavior management scheme. See MPEP $2106.04(a) (not all methods involving human activity fall into the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping).
From Applicant’s specification:
“There is a knowledge gap to be filled to efficiently utilize the skills of on-site
biomedical engineers, thus reducing downtime for hospitals and reducing workload for vendors.” [0007]
Teaching engineers would fall under certain methods of organizing human activity as managing personal behavior.
Moreover, the Examiner's assertion that the entire claim can practically be carried out mentally or by "pen and paper" is inconsistent with the USPTO's own guidance that a claim does not recite a mental process where the human mind is "not equipped to detect" or perform the claimed operations in any practical manner. See MPEP $2106.04(a)(3) (citing, e.g., SRI Int'l v. Cisco and SiRF Tech. V. ITC). In real-world use, maintaining a plurality of complex medical devices with a database of pluralities of historical cases and manuals, and continuously inferring skills and skill gaps across many technicians, is not something that can practically be performed entirely in the human mind or with pencil and paper.
The steps of receive information, determine skills, and output is similar to other mental processes of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A and Electric Power v. Alstom)
Nevertheless, even if arguendo the Office maintains that Claim 1 "recites" an abstract idea, the claim as a whole integrates any such idea into a practical application and recites significantly more than the alleged abstract concept, as explained below.
II. Step 2A Prong Two - Claim 1 Integrates Any Abstract Idea Into a Practical Application
Under Step 2A, Prong Two, a claim is not "directed to" an abstract idea if the additional elements, individually and in combination, integrate the exception into a practical application. See MPEP $2106.04(d).
The Office Action effectively treats all non-mental elements as "generic computer" implementation, but this ignores how the claimed elements interact in a specific technical context.
A. Improvement to a Technical Field - Maintenance of Medical Devices
Claim 1 is explicitly directed to assisting maintenance of medical devices, by:
1. structuring a database to store:
"resolved historical service cases" and "service manuals" for "a plurality of medical devices”;
2. automatically deriving the skills required for a particular servicing operation by comparing the natural-language service request against those technical corpora (cases/manuals);
3. automatically identifying a skill gap for a particular technician by comparing those required skills with that individual's service record; and
4. providing guidance "based on the identified skill gap" to support correct
performance of the servicing.
This is not a generic "training" workflow; it is a specific computer-implemented technique that uses structured technical data (historical service cases and service manuals) to improve the process of servicing medical devices - a technical field.
Specific computer implemented technique is not improving computer technology itself. The structure technical data is data and also not improving a technology.
The Federal Circuit has consistently held that claims are not "directed to" an abstract idea where they improve the functioning of a computer or another technology or technical field:
Diamond V. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-92 (1981) - claims that used a mathematical equation were eligible because they improved rubber molding;
Enfish, LLC V. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36 (Fed. Cir. 2016) – claims to a self-referential table were eligible as an improvement in computer database technology;
McRO, Inc. V. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-16 (Fed. Cir. 2016) - rule-based automation of facial animation was eligible as an improvement in a technical process;
Finjan, Inc. V. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1303-05 (Fed. Cir. 2018) - behavior-based virus scanning that generated a "security profile" was eligible as an improvement in computer security technology.
Analogously, the claimed maintenance assistance logic is rooted in the technical domain of servicing complex medical devices and improves that process by using computer-based analysis of technical corpora and technician records to dynamically tailor guidance. Under MPEP §2106.04(d)(1), this constitutes integration of any abstract idea into a practical application, and the claim should be held not directed to an abstract idea.
The above cited cases either controlled a physical device such as a press, improved computer technology, improved 3-D animation technology, or improved computer security technology. Respectfully, Applicant is neither controlling a physical device nor improving computer or other technology.
B. Use of Specific Technical Data Structures and Comparative Analyses
Even if the Office characterizes the "skill gap" notion as an abstract concept, the claim applies that concept in a specific, technology-focused way:
the database is not generic as it is constrained to: "a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices";
"determining one or more skills" is not done in the abstract as it is done by
comparing the received servicing information with that resolved case/manual corpus;
the "skill gap" is not generic as it is derived by a comparison between (i) the inferred skills for that servicing and (ii) the service record of a particular person; and
the guidance is explicitly "based on the identified skill gap."
This specific ordered combination of steps, namely, modeling required skills from technical documentation for particular medical-device servicing tasks, modeling individual technicians' skills from service records, and generating tailored guidance, is precisely the type of "meaningful use" of any purported abstract idea that MPEP §2106.04(d) recognizes as integrating an exception into a practical application.
Respectfully, the above is not improving a technology. There is no indication Applicant has improved database technology. Comparing has been shown to be abstract.
From MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A…
“a claim to collecting and comparing known information (claim 1), which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1067, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1500 (Fed. Cir.2011);”
The situation is similar to Finjan, where generating a "security profile" that could be used in later processing was a concrete improvement, not a mere idea of virus detection. Here, the claim uses the "skill gap" construct as a concrete data artifact that drives the system's maintenance guidance for medical devices.
Applicant’s claims are not directed to security software and “concrete improvement” is not the same a improving technology itself.
III. Step 2B - The Claims Recite Significantly More Than Any Alleged Abstract Idea
Even if Claim 1 were deemed "directed to" an abstract idea under Step 2A, it remains patent-eligible under Step 2B because the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to "significantly more" than the alleged abstract idea. See MPEP $2106.05.
A. Non-Conventional and Non-Generic Arrangement of Elements
The Examiner treats the recited computer component as a "generic processor performing a generic computer function" and labels receiving/storing data as "insignificant extra-solution activity." That analysis fails to consider the ordered combination of features, contrary to Supreme Court and Federal Circuit precedent.
In BASCOM Global Internet Servs. V. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the court held that an "inventive concept" may lie in a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known components, even if each component considered alone is conventional. Similarly, in DDR Holdings, LLC V. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258-59 (Fed. Cir. 2014), claims were held eligible because they recited a specific solution "rooted in computer technology" to a technological problem.
Bascom solved a problem of Internet filtering, therefore improving computer technology.
Here, even assuming standard computing hardware, the claimed configuration is not conventional:
1. the database content is specialized to "resolved historical service cases" and "service manuals" for "medical devices";
2. the processor must use that specialized content to infer the skills required for a specific servicing request (not merely retrieve a record);
3. it must compare those inferred skills with the service record of a person, to derive a structured "skill gap"; and
4. it must output guidance based on that skill gap.
Conventional is not the requirement. The requirement is additional elements that are not themselves abstract. A novel abstract claim is still abstract.
This is not simply "store-retrieve-display" of information; it is a multi-stage, domain-specific analysis that transforms raw servicing information, domain documentation, and technician records into a tailored maintenance plan for medical devices. As in BASCOM, even if the underlying hardware is generic, the non-conventional arrangement and use of the elements provides the inventive concept.
The “multi-stage” and “domain specific” analysis are not claimed. Transform is neither claimed nor taught in the specification.
B. Absence of Proper Evidence of "Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional" Activity
The Examiner concludes that the additional computer-implemented elements are "no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer" and thus cannot supply an inventive concept. However, under Federal Circuit precedent, whether claim elements are "well-understood, routine, conventional" is a factual question that must be supported by appropriate evidence.
In Berkheimer V. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 1368-70 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the court held that the question of whether additional elements are well-understood, routine and conventional cannot be resolved by conclusory statements and must be supported by evidence.
In Aatrix Software, Inc. v. Green Shades Software, Inc., 882 F.3d 1121, 1128 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the court similarly emphasized that factual questions about conventionality can preclude dismissal at the eligibility stage.
Here, the Office Action provides no evidence that:
using a database structured to hold resolved historical service cases and service manuals for medical devices;
inferring required skills for a given servicing operation by comparing the servicing description to those corpora;
computing an individualized skill gap by comparison to a person's service record; and
outputting guidance based on that skill gap
were "well-understood, routine, conventional" at the time of filing. The rejection instead relies on generic statements about "generic processors" and "storing and receiving information," which are insufficient under Berkheimer to establish the conventionality of the claimed ordered combination.
Absent such evidence, these claim elements must be credited in the Step 2B analysis, and they collectively supply the "inventive concept" required by Alice and Mayo.
Applicant above is arguing something not required.
From MPEP 2106.07(a) III
“At Step 2A Prong Two or Step 2B, there is no requirement for evidence to support a finding that the exception is not integrated into a practical application or that the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the exception unless the examiner asserts that additional limitations are well-understood, routine, conventional activities in Step 2B.”
There was no assertion of well-understood, routine, or conventional.
Further, the above are abstract using a generic computer. A judicial exception cannot provide the additional elements.
IV. Conclusion
Claim 1 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a specialized database and instructions that cause a processor to carry out a specific, domain-focused analysis of historical service cases, service manuals, and technician service records to compute a skill gap and generate guidance for maintaining medical devices.
Under the USPTO's subject matter eligibility framework and controlling case law including Diehr, Enfish, McRO, Finjan, DDR Holdings, and BASCOM, as well as the evidentiary requirements articulated in Berkheimer and Aatrix, Claim 1:
1. is not directed to a judicial exception because it integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application that improves the technical process of medical-device maintenance (Step 2A Prong Two); and
2. even if deemed directed to an abstract idea, recites additional elements, in combination, that amount to significantly more than that idea (Step 2B).
Applicant respectfully submits that the §101 rejection of Claim 1 (and, by the same reasoning, of the other independent and dependent claims) is improper and requests withdrawal of the §101 rejection.
Based on the above response, the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Applicant argues 35 USC §103 Rejection, starting pg. 17 of Remarks:
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C § 103
Claims 1, 8-14, 16 and 17 currently stand rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Idan (US 2020/0210931) in view of Jaggers (US 2021/0398054).
Claims 2-6 and 18 currently stand rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Idan in view of Jaggers, and in further view of Maissy (US 10,825,566).
Claim 7 currently stands rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Idan in view of Jaggers and Maissy, and in further view of Srinivasan (US 7,096,189).
Claims 15, 19 and 20 currently stand rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Idan in view of Jaggers and in further view of Srinivasan.
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 over US 2020/0210931 to Idan ("Idan") in view of US 2021/0398054 to Jaggers ("Jaggers"). For the reasons below, the cited references, alone or in combination, do not teach or render obvious the specific limitations of Claim 1, or the other independent and dependent claims for similar reasons. The rejections under §103 should be withdrawn.
Claim 1 - Key limitations and what the combination fails to teach
Claim 1 recites, in relevant part, a non-transitory computer readable medium storing: a database storing: a) "a plurality of resolved historical service cases" and b) "service manuals" for a plurality of medical devices; and
instructions executable by at least one electronic processor to: a) receive
information describing servicing to be performed on a medical device; b) determine one or more skills related to performing the servicing by comparing the received information with one or more of the historical service cases and/or service manuals; c) identify a skill gap of a person who is to perform the servicing by comparing the determined one or more skills with a service record of the person; and d) output guidance for performing the servicing based on the identified skill gap.
As explained below, neither Idan nor Jaggers teaches or suggests (i) a database constrained to "a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices," nor (ii) determining the "one or more skills" required for a particular servicing by "comparing the received information" with those historical cases and/or manuals, nor (iii) identifying a skill gap by comparing those required skills with a service record and outputting guidance to compensate the gap. The Office's rationale to combine does not provide a legally sufficient articulated reason with rational underpinning to modify Idan to perform the claimed comparative analysis using manuals/cases, particularly in the regulated, technical context of medical device servicing.
Element-by-element analysis
A. "database storing a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices"
Idan: Idan is a field-service scheduling/dispatch optimization system. It stores records "reflecting characteristics associated with completing a set of technical services," and may retrieve "details" such as "practice tips, check lists, key instructions, guidelines, or any informative material" (Idan T[0265]). Idan's databases include "pending requests," "field professionals," and "historical assignment" databases (Idan T[0469], FIG. 41), and skill/qualification records of workers (Idan [0183], [0207]). Nowhere does Idan disclose a database that stores "a plurality of resolved historical service cases" in the sense of case-by-case resolutions for specific devices paired with "service manuals," much less constrained to "a plurality of medical devices." The Examiner's citation to Idan [0265] (generic "key instructions, guidelines, or any informative material") is not a teaching of curated "service manuals" collectively stored for "a plurality of medical devices," nor of "resolved historical service cases." Rather, Idan's "details" are examples of ancillary information to increase single-visit completion likelihood; they are not stored as the claimed "plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals" corpus.
Jaggers: Jaggers is directed to technician training and condition state generation generally, exemplified in HVAC and other skilled trades contexts (e.g., "Trane HVAC compressor"-Jaggers |[0070]). Jaggers mentions "libraries of training material" that can include "videos, written materials.. virtual reality materials" (Jaggers [[0112]) and mentions "service manuals" as part of training content proposed to a technician lacking suitable skill (Jaggers [0070]). However, Jaggers does not disclose a database that stores "a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals" for "a plurality of medical devices." Its exemplars concern HVAC/refrigeration equipment and general skilled trades, not medical devices.
Accordingly, the specific data corpus recited-"resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices"-is not taught by either reference, nor suggested by their combination.
From Idan:
"Consistent with disclosed embodiments, systems, methods, and computer
readable media enable scheduling technical services to be completed in a single
visit. For example, consistent with one aspect a method includes: storing in a
database a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with
completing a set of technical services, wherein information in each record
is derived from historical experience of completing each of the technical
services; receiving a request for a new technical service associated with a
location; and assigning a field professional to perform the new service having
determined from information in the database a likelihood that the field
professional will complete the new technical service in a single on-site visit at the
location." [0012]
Therefore, a database of records for completed technical services derived from historical experience.
From Jaggers et al.:
“… If it is determined that the technician does not have a skill set that is suitable to service or repair the identified machine, device, or system-here the refrigeration equipment-while at the location or at a later time he can be presented with videos, service manuals etc. associated with that identified machine, device, or system of interest. Such presented training material content can be fallowed by an assessment that can determine whether the technician successfully learned the presented training. If so, his technician profile can be updated. If not, information associated with the lack of mastery of the required skills can also be included in his technician profile." [0070]
Therefore, service manuals.
The above teaches database, historical service experience, and service manuals.
B. "determining one or more skills related to performing the servicing by comparing the received information with one or more of the historical service cases and/or service manuals"
Idan: Idan determines whether "skills of the selected field professional comply with the task" by "comparing values of the data entries [e.g., certifications, past experience] to predetermined criteria" (Idan [0207]). That is, Idan compares a worker's existing qualifications to task requirements to decide whether to assign or reassign the task. Idan does not teach deriving the list of "skills related to performing the servicing" by comparing the service request to a corpus of "historical service cases" and "service manuals." Idan's "details" at [0265] are informational and not used to compute a required skill set by comparing the service description to those documents.
Jaggers: Jaggers likewise does not teach deriving required skills for a particular servicing request by comparing the request to historical service cases or manuals. Jaggers determines a technician's skill gaps from "pre-assessments" and "retrieving information from the technician database record," and then selects training materials (Jaggers [0081]. While Jaggers acknowledges service manuals as potential training content (Jaggers T[0070]), it does not use manuals (or historical cases) as inputs to parse a specific service request and output the required skills. Its "condition state" aspects (Jaggers, 11[0029]-[0033], [005], [0203]-[0206]) relate to machine status prediction and not to inferring technician skills from manuals/cases.
Thus, the particular comparative analysis required by Claim 1-using a technical corpus (historical cases/manuals) to infer the skills required for a given servicing request- is neither taught nor suggested.
From Idan:
"Consistent with disclosed embodiments, systems, methods, and computer
readable media enable scheduling technical services to be completed in a single
visit. For example, consistent with one aspect a method includes: storing in a
database a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with
completing a set of technical services, wherein information in each record
is derived from historical experience of completing each of the technical
services; receiving a request for a new technical service associated with a
location; and assigning a field professional to perform the new service having
determined from information in the database a likelihood that the field
professional will complete the new technical service in a single on-site visit at the
location." [0012]
Therefore, determined from information in the database (historical service cases) that technical service (servicing) will be completed by field professional.
From Idan:
"In embodiments consistent with this disclosure, systems and methods are used
to schedule tasks to one or more field professionals. The term "scheduling tasks"
is used herein to refer, for example, to a process for determining an order (e.g.,
chronological order) for a set of tasks a field professional performs. The tasks
may be associated with requested services and require a field professional to
travel to different locations. There are different types of scheduled tasks, for
exam pie, installing, replacing, or repairing objects, and each task type may
require a different skill set. In addition, some scheduled tasks may be location based
tasks that require the field professional to visit a customer's location, for
example, business or residence, and some tasks may be location-agnostic tasks
that do not require the field professional to visit a customer's location. Location-agnostic
tasks may be viewed as support sessions that a technician can perform
remote from the customer place." [0098]
Therefore, determining skill for task (perform servicing), where task is associated with requested services.
From Idan:
“At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.” [0207]
The above teaches comparing skills with to predetermined criteria, such as past experience and completing service.
The above in several places teaches using historical service information to determine if a service will be completed (comparing past with completing task).
C. "identifying a skill gap by comparing the determined one or more skills with a service record of the person and outputting guidance based on the identified skill gap"
Idan: Idan compares a selected field professional's stored skills to predetermined criteria (Idan [0207]) to decide whether to assign the task. If deficient, Idan "assign[s] a different field professional" (Idan T[0271]). Idan does not identify an individualized "skill gap" for the selected person relative to the needed skills and then generate step-by-step "guidance" for that person to compensate that gap for the specific task. Idan's "guidance," to the extent present, comprises scheduling instructions or parts/logistics (Idan T[0269]) and does not train or guide the originally selected technician. While part of the guidance may include assignment of another engineer, for example suggesting to have the service task performed by the third party instead of the biomedical engineer (see Claim 2), the guidance provided includes more as it based on the identified skill gap. Assignment to others is not readily accepted without guidance informing the engineer the nature of the skill gap and/or the likelihood of success/failure if not transferred to another party. Ian is inherently solely directed to a single source of engineers and using their credentials to assign the individual. As such, it does not provide the requisite guidance needed based on the identified skill gap.
Jaggers: Jaggers assesses a technician's "skills competency gaps" and then delivers training materials (including "service manuals") to address the gaps (Jaggers [0081], [[0112]). Jaggers is training-module centric; it does not generate servicing guidance by first deriving the required skill list from manuals/cases for a specific service and then comparing it against the technician's service record. Nor is Jaggers limited to or specifically concerned with medical device maintenance.
From Idan cited above:
“At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.” [0207]
The above alone teaches determining if a professional has the skills to complete the task. This is determining a skill gap.
From Jaggers et al.:
"Still further, the methods and systems herein comprise generating one or more libraries of training material, wherein the one or more libraries comprise a plurality of videos, written materials, games, audio, virtual reality materials, and augmented reality materials. Such libraries can be configured to provide training materials to a technician in need of training in a skill or task associated with the service or repair of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. The training material is selectable via a training module that can access resources that allow the training material to be customized for a specific technician, a class of technician, or a group of technicians based on a number of technician characteristics. An assessment can be generated for the technician after he completes a training event to determine whether the selected information was sufficient in delivering necessary learning to him. Operation of the training module can be modified for subsequent training material delivery if it is determined from the assessment that the technician did not obtain the desired training." [0112]
Therefore, the above teaches providing (output) training material for technician in need of training (identified skill gap).
At best, the combination invites hindsight: Idan's worker assignment engine is postulated to be coupled with Jaggers' training delivery; yet even then, the combined system would still not perform the claimed sequence of comparative determinations required skills based on manuals/cases (service request compare to service record guidance to compensate gap for said service). The Examiner's rationale to combine lacks a teaching or suggestion to re-architect Idan to compute "required skills" from manuals/cases as claimed.
Regarding hindsight…
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Both Idan and Jaggers et al. are in the area of servicing equipment., therefore analogous prior art.
The "medical device" context is not taught or suggested as claimed
The Office states that it would have been obvious to apply Idan/Jaggers to medical devices because "medical devices are machines and maintained." That Be need to overgeneralization cannot fill the concrete recitations of Claim 1. Claim 1 requires the database to store "service manuals" and "resolved historical service cases" specifically for "a plurality of medical devices," and requires using those for a comparator inference of required skills. The cited portions of Idan (e.g., ¶[0519] - dialysis machines in the context of parts logistics; ¶[0097] - generic "engineers") do not teach the claimed database content or the claimed use of manuals/cases to derive required skills. Jaggers' exemplars (HVAC, refrigeration) are not medical devices, and its "service manuals" are training content, not used for the claimed comparative inference.
Applicant is claiming a generic medical device, where the device itself is incidental to the claims. The claims are not about medical devices but about instructions to perform maintenance for servicing medical devices. The medical device itself could be just about any device.
From Applicant’s specification…
“With reference to FIGURE 1, an illustrative maintenance assistance system or apparatus 10 for guidance of maintenance of a medical device 12 is shown. The medical device 12, for example, can comprise an illustrative medical imaging device 12 (also referred to as a medical device, an imaging device, imaging scanner, and variants thereof) which can be a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner, a computed tomography (CT) scanner, a positron emission tomography (PET) scanner, a gamma camera for performing single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), an interventional radiology (IR) device, an X-ray device, an image-guided therapy (IGT) device, an ultrasound (US) device, or so forth. Although described herein as an imaging device, the medical device 12 can also be any other suitable medical device that is used with patients to perform medical functions such as diagnosis and/or treatment, such as a patient monitor, a radiation therapy device, a mechanical ventilator, a database, and so forth.” [0029]
Therefore, a database is a medical device. A refrigerator can store medicine to perform medical functions such as provide treatment to patients.
The proposed combination lacks a proper articulated rationale and would change the principle of operation
The rejection states it would have been obvious to modify Idan to include "service manuals for guidance as taught by Jaggers" to provide "training." This conclusory statement is insufficient under KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007), which requires an articulated reason with a rational underpinning. See also In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Idan's principle of operation is automated scheduling/dispatch optimization based on demand, availability, and skill compliance (e.g., Idan TT[0098], [0179], [0183], [0207], [0271]). Converting Idan to first derive required skills by comparing service requests to a corpus of manuals/cases and then to generate individualized guidance to compensate a selected technician's gap is not a simple substitution; it changes Idan's operation from assignment to dynamic guidance/training generation. Such a modification is not shown to be a predictable, routine combination that one of ordinary skill would have had reason to make. See In re Gordon, 733 F.2d 900, 902 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (modification that changes the principle of operation is improper). Further, there is no evidence that, at the relevant time, it was well-understood or routine to derive required technician skills for a particular service by comparing free-form service requests to resolved historical service cases and service manuals, much less in the regulated medical device domain. Hindsight cannot supply the missing teaching. See In re Magnum Oil Tools Int'l, Ltd., 829 F.3d 1364, 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (PTO bears initial burden to show unpatentability; cannot rely on conclusory statements).
Jaggers et al. was provided as the literally use the words “service manuals” even though arguably Idan teaches key instructions and informative material which could be considered service manuals. Also, motivation was provided to combine the references. See Non-Final Office action dated October 22, 2025, pgs. 13-14.
The Examiner's reliance on Idan and Jaggers does not cure the gaps
The Office maps Claim 19 and thus Claim l's "service manuals" to Idan's "key instructions, guidelines, or any informative material" (Idan [0265]) and Jaggers' mention of presenting "service manuals" to a technician (Jaggers |[0070]). But Claim 1 requires far more:
a database that stores both "resolved historical service cases" and "service manuals" for a plurality of medical devices, not merely ad-hoc "informative material" or training content; and
use of that specific corpora to compute the required skills for a specific servicing request by "comparing the received information" to those documents, not simply storing or presenting manuals as training.
This was responded to above. The above “compute the required skills” is not claimed.
The cited art does not teach or suggest: (i) a database storing a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices; (ii) determining required skills by comparing a specific servicing request to those cases/manuals; and (iii) identifying a skill gap by comparing the required skills with an individual's service record and outputting guidance based on the gap. The Examiner's rationale to combine lacks the required articulated reasoning with a rational underpinning and would change Idan's principle of operation. For at least these reasons, claim 1 is not obvious over Idan in view of Jaggers. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the §103 rejection of Claims 1-20.
The rejection is respectfully maintained.
Applicant above is arguing they invented a database storing information of resolved service cases and service manuals for medical devices. The Examiner respectfully argues above that a database with service cases and service manuals is not novel. Also, comparing determined skills with a service record of a person to determine a skill gap is not novel.
Select Dependent Claim Analysis
While the above should be sufficient to support the withdrawal of the §103 rejections for all the claims, Applicants provide the below arguments on Claims 2, 3 and 7 that further support the deficiencies in the cited references.
Claim 2
Applicant respectfully traverses the §103 rejection of claim 2 over Idan in view of Jaggers and Maissy (US 10,825,566).
Claim 2 recites the "database further stores qualification data related to a plurality of biomedical engineers." Neither Idan nor Jaggers discloses storing qualification data of a plurality of biomedical engineers. Idan's "field professionals" are generic technicians with skills/qualifications (e.g., TT[0097], [0183], [0469]) and are not "biomedical engineers," nor does Idan disclose a database field specifically for biomedical engineer qualifications. Maissy merely states that an identifier of a medical device "may be received from a biomedical engineer" (col. 12, 1. 62 - col. 13, 1. 7). It does not teach a database storing qualification data of a plurality of biomedical engineers. Thus, the specific database content required by claim 2 is not taught or suggested.
Idan teaches professionals including engineers and likelihood the professional can complete the service (qualification data).
From Idan:
"Consistent with disclosed embodiments, systems, methods, and computer
readable media enable scheduling technical services to be completed in a single
visit. For example, consistent with one aspect a method includes: storing in a
database a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with
completing a set of technical services, wherein information in each record is
derived from historical experience of completing each of the technical services;
receiving a request for a new technical service associated with a location; and
assigning a field professional to perform the new service having determined
from information in the database a likelihood that the field professional will
complete the new technical service in a single on-site visit at the location."
[0012]
Claim 2 also recites "determining a likelihood that the person can perform the servicing based on the skill gap." Idan determines a likelihood for single-visit completion (e.g., |[0271]) but not "based on the skill gap" identified as in claim 1 (i.e., by comparing skills inferred from historical service cases/manuals with the person's service record). The cited art never ties the likelihood calculation to the particular, previously determined skill gap construct of Claim 1. Consequently, the combination fails to teach the claimed likelihood determination "based on the skill gap" as claimed in Claim 2.
Claim 2 is a combination of Claim 1 and Claim 2, Claim 1 teaches identify a skill gap.
Example of professional may not have the proper training (identify skill
gap) to complete a task ...
"When a field professional provides a service to a user, sometimes the task
assigned to the field professional cannot be completed in one visit. This may
occur for a variety of reasons. For example, the field professional may not
have the proper tools, supplies, or training on hand to complete a task. Other
times, a user may request the incorrect service. For example, a user with a faulty
internet connection may assume that a field professional needs to fix a modem,
but when the field professional inspects the problem, the field professional may
discover that an underground line is broken, requiring an entirely different service
to correct the issue. In other cases, additional problems may arise during the
service. For example, a field professional servicing an air conditioner may plan
on replacing refrigerant in the system, but, while performing this service, the field
professional may discover a dangerous ground fault in the air conditioner system
that could start a fire. In some situations, inclement weather may prevent the
service being performed. These examples illustrate that a field professional may
realize, in the course of performing a task in the field, that an additional
appointment will be needed to fully address the user's needs." [0383]
Furthermore, Claim 2 recites "if the likelihood is below a threshold, outputting the guidance comprising a recommendation to initiate a service call for a third party to perform the servicing." Idan reassigns internally to "a different field professional" (T[0271]). That is not a recommendation to "initiate a service call for a third party" provider to perform the servicing. Jaggers provides training materials, not third-party service recommendations. No cited passage suggests outputting guidance that recommends engaging an external third party for the servicing when the skill-gap-based likelihood is low. The proposed modification is unsupported by an articulated reasoning with rational underpinning and would change Idan's principle of operation from internal reassignment/scheduling, to outsourcing recommendations.
Likelihood below threshold and assign different field professional. ..
"At step 910, processing device 202 may determine if, in view of the received
inf arm at ion, the likelihood of the assigned field professional to complete the
customer's request of service in a single visit is still greater from a threshold.
Step 910 may take place after the field professional was assigned and before the
date and time that the task is scheduled for. For example, the information may be
received on the same day as the scheduled task. Alternatively, the information
may be received one or more days before the scheduled task. When the
likelihood is below the threshold, processing device 202 may assign a
different field professional with higher likelihood to complete the
customer's request of service in a single visit. When the likelihood is greater
the threshold, processing device 202 may continue with the same field
professional and wait for additional information that may change the likelihood."
[0271]
Suggesting (outputting) a field professional (guidance) based on skillset
(identified skill gap) ...
"FIG. 31 shows a process 3100 of suggesting a field professional to a user. After selecting a field professional based on the data associated with the at least
one on-site service at step 3102, step 3104 determines if the additional service is of a different type than the on-site service already performed. If the additional service is of a different type than the at least one on-site service, step 3104 is Yes, and a different field professional is selected at step 3106. A suggestion of a different field professional for the additional service may then be presented at step 3108. The different field professional may be selected based on a necessary skillset needed to perform the additional service. However, if the additional service is of the same type as the at least one on-site service, step 3104 is No, and, at step 3108, the field professional selected in step 3102 based on the data associated with the at least one on-site service may be suggested for the additional on-site service. The field professional may be suggested to a manager or customer service representative at step 3108, or directly to the user."
[0422]
A suggestion is also recommendation.
Because the references do not disclose (i) a database storing qualification data for a plurality of biomedical engineers, (ii) a likelihood determination "based on the skill gap" as recited, or (iii) guidance recommending a third-party service call upon a below-threshold likelihood, the rejection of claim 2 is improper. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the §103 rejection of claim 2.
Based on the above cited paragraphs, the Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection.
Claim 3
Applicant respectfully traverses the §103 rejection of claim 3. Claim 3 requires that "the guidance comprises the recommendation [to initiate a service call for a third party per claim 2] and further comprises an explanation of the skill gap."
Idan (T[0207]) does not teach guidance that both (i) recommends initiating a service call for a third party and (ii) provides an explanation of the skill gap. Idan determines whether a selected professional's skills "comply with the task" and, if not, reselects another internal field professional. It neither outputs a third-party service recommendation (see arguments for Claim 2) nor provides to the user an "explanation of the skill gap" as part of such guidance. The cited example of checking for a "certificate to repair the device" is an internal compliance check; it is not an explanation delivered with a third-party recommendation.
Moreover, Claim 3's "explanation of the skill gap" is the explanation of the gap computed per Claim 1 (i.e., the difference between skills inferred from historical service cases/service manuals and the person's service record). Neither Idan nor Jaggers explains any gap derived from that specific comparative analysis, much less packages that explanation together with a third-party service recommendation.
Because the art fails to disclose or suggest guidance that includes both a third-party service recommendation and an explanation of the skill gap, the rejection of Claim 3 is improper and should be withdrawn.
Claim 3 is a combination of claims 1, 2, and 3.
From Idan:
"When a field professional provides a service to a user, sometimes the task assigned to the field professional cannot be completed in one visit. This may occur for a variety of reasons. For example, the field professional may not have the proper tools, supplies, or training on hand to complete a task. Other times, a user may request the incorrect service. For example, a user with a faulty internet connection may assume that a field professional needs to fix a modem, but when the field professional inspects the problem, the field professional may discover that an underground line is broken, requiring an entirely different service to correct the issue. In other cases, additional problems may arise during the service. For example, a field professional servicing an air conditioner may plan on replacing refrigerant in the system, but, while performing this service, the field professional may discover a dangerous ground fault in the air conditioner system that could start a fire. In some situations, inclement weather may prevent the service being performed. These examples illustrate that a field professional may realize, in the course of performing a task in the field, that an additional appointment will be needed to fully address the user's needs." [0383]
Idan above teaches not have the proper training (skill gap).
Skills require include certificate and determine if Donald has the certificate to repair the device.
“At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.” [0207]
Likelihood below threshold and assign different field professional. ..
"At step 910, processing device 202 may determine if, in view of the received
information, the likelihood of the assigned field professional to complete the
customer's request of service in a single visit is still greater from a threshold.
Step 910 may take place after the field professional was assigned and before the
date and time that the task is scheduled for. For example, the information may be
received on the same day as the scheduled task. Alternatively, the information
may be received one or more days before the scheduled task. When the
likelihood is below the threshold, processing device 202 may assign a
different field professional with higher likelihood to complete the
customer's request of service in a single visit. When the likelihood is greater
the threshold, processing device 202 may continue with the same field
professional and wait for additional information that may change the likelihood."
[0271]
Example of remote (third party) services and calls ...
"At step 902, processing device 202 stores a plurality of records reflecting
characteristics associated with completing a set of technical services in database
154. The technical services may include any combination of any number of
on-site services or remote services. For example, the on-site services may
include any of installing, replacing, repairing, or inspecting products or services of
any of water, sewage, electricity, gas, heat, Internet, telephone, mobile
communications, or the like. The remote services may include any of
telephone calls, video chats, text messages, mobile application
communications, or any other technical or support services that may
provide answers to a customer's questions or instructions to solve a
problem." [0252]
The above teaches assign a different field professional when likelihood to complete the service is below a threshold and service can be remote services.
Based on the above, the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim 7
Applicant respectfully traverses the §103 rejection of claim 7. Claim 7 further limits the "identifying of the skill gap" to explicitly "identifying a difference between a known task that the service record of the person indicates the person has previously performed and a skill related to resolving the servicing comprising a new task that the service record of the person indicates the person has not satisfied a predetermined expertise threshold," and requires that "the information compensating for the skill gap includes an explanation of the difference between the known task and the new task."
Idan: While Idan discusses storing "skills data" (e.g., certificates, experience) and determining compliance (Idan [0183], |[0207]), it does not identify a skill gap by distinguishing a technician's "known task" previously performed from a "new task" the technician has not performed or has not satisfied a predetermined expertise threshold. Nor does Idan output "information compensating" that includes an "explanation of the difference between the known task and the new task." The cited "additional visit" details (Idan [0389]) list parts/tools/skills needed, but do not explain the difference between two tasks in the manner claimed or tie that explanation to compensating for a technician's individualized skill gap.
Srinivasan (US 7,096,189): Srinivasan's "change order result" compares an existing purchase order to a change order to show differences between orders (see col. 3, 11. 41-57). It is unrelated to technician tasks, skills, or maintenance servicing. Applying Srinivasan's purchase-order differencing to the claimed context would not yield identifying a technician's skill gap by distinguishing between a previously performed "known task" and a "new task" subject to a predetermined expertise threshold, nor would it produce "information compensating" that explains the difference between those tasks for servicing guidance. The proposed use is hindsight and lacks an articulated reason with a rational underpinning to transfer a change-order comparison paradigm into the skill-gap context.
Because neither Idan nor Srinivasan teaches or suggests (i) identifying a skill gap by differentiating between a technician's known task and a new task with an unmet expertise threshold, or (ii) outputting compensating information that explains the difference between those tasks, the rejection of Claim 7 is improper and should be withdrawn.
Claim 7 is a combination of claims 1, 6, and 7.
Idan teaches:
Additional visit as a new task…
"Furthermore, the indication may also include details of spare parts required
in the additional visit, and task details of the additional visit may be updated
to include the spare parts. Similarly, the indication may also include details
of what tools are required in the additional visit, and the task details of the
additional visit may be updated to include the required tools. The field
professional may also indicate that spare parts or tools must be ordered.
The indication may also include details of what field professional skills are
needed to complete the on-site service of the additional visit. The indication
may include at least two of a time estimation of the work required in the
additional visit, details of spare parts required in the additional visit, details of
tools required in the additional visit, and details of skills of a field professional
required in the additional visit." [0389]
Skills required (therefore, additional skills) to complete the additional visit (new task)…
"Furthermore, the indication may also include details of spare parts required
in the additional visit, and task details of the additional visit may be updated
to include the spare parts. Similarly, the indication may also include details
of what tools are required in the additional visit, and the task details of the
additional visit may be updated to include the required tools. The field
professional may also indicate that spare parts or tools must be ordered.
The indication may also include details of what field professional skills are
needed to complete the on-site service of the additional visit. The indication
may include at least two of a time estimation of the work required in the
additional visit, details of spare parts required in the additional visit, details of
tools required in the additional visit, and details of skills of a field professional
required in the additional visit." [0389]
Jaggers et al. teaches skill gaps and assess skills need to service a machine and address skill gap in training event:
"In a further aspect, prior to a delivery of training materials to a technician as a result of a query made by him, an assessment module can be configured to assess each technician's skills competency gaps using real-time data from pre-assessments and/or from retrieving information from the technician database record for each technician, wherein such retrieved information can be compared to a skill or skill set needed to service or repair a machine, device, or system of interest. Such identified skills can be imparted in one or more training events in which training materials are selected for delivery to the technician in need of training via the training module. The assessment information can be processed by the training module to provide the technician with a personalized set of training materials directed toward addressing one or more skill gaps in a training event that he has been determined to possess, whether in general or as specific to a machine, device, or system of interest." [0081]
Based on the above response, the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a product, system or method, which are statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified method Claim 19 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to product Claim 1 and system Claim 11.
Claim 19 recites the limitations of:
A maintenance assistance method, comprising:
storing a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices in a database;
receiving information describing servicing to be performed on a medical device;
determining one or more skills related to performing the servicing by comparing the received information with one or more historical service cases and/or service manuals;
identifying a skill gap of a person who is to perform the servicing by comparing the determined one or more skills with a service record of the person, the skill gap comprising a difference between a known task that the service record of the person indicates the person has previously performed and a skill related to resolving the servicing comprising a new task that the service record of the person indicates the person has not previously performed; and
outputting guidance for performing the servicing including an explanation of the difference between the known task and the new task.
These above limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. The claim recites elements, highlighted in bold above, which covers performance of the limitation as a managing personal behavior. Determining skills related to performing servicing, identifying a skill gap of a person to perform servicing, and outputting guidance is managing personal behavior by teaching and following rules and instructions (identifying skill gap and outputting guidance based on determining skills). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as managing personal behavior, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. Claims 1 and 11 are also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
In as much as a person can store on paper historical service cases, receive information describing servicing a medical device, determine (mental process) skills related to performing servicing, identifying (mental process) a skill gap of a person, and output by writing guidance (pen and paper) for performing servicing, the claims are also abstract as a mental process, where the steps can be performed in the mind of a person and with pen and paper. See also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C where using a generic computer for a judicial exception has been shown to be a mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite: non-transitory computer readable medium, database, medical devices, electronic processor (Claim 1); electronic processor, medical device (Claim 11); medical device (Claim 19). The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See para. [0030] and use of generic computer devices. Storing and receiving information is insignificant extra solution activity. The medical device is recited at a high level of generality and is not a particular machine but a generic device. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claims 1, 11, and 19 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Steps such as receiving and storing are steps that are considered insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using general computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(d), II). Thus claims 1, 11, and 19 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-18, and 20 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1, 11, and 19 and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Claim 19 recites an electronic processing device which is recited and applied at a high level of generality. The other dependent claims are themselves abstract or further limiting abstract ideas. Therefore, the claims 2-10, 12-18, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-20 are not patent-eligible.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or §112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. US 2020/0210931 to Idan in view of Pub. No. US 2021/0398054 to Jaggers et al.
Regarding claim 1
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing:
a database storing a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices; and
Idan teaches:
Database (storing) historical experience of completing (resolved historical) technical services…
“Consistent with disclosed embodiments, systems, methods, and computer readable media enable scheduling technical services to be completed in a single visit. For example, consistent with one aspect a method includes: storing in a database a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with completing a set of technical services, wherein information in each record is derived from historical experience of completing each of the technical services; receiving a request for a new technical service associated with a location; and assigning a field professional to perform the new service having determined from information in the database a likelihood that the field professional will complete the new technical service in a single on-site visit at the location.” [0012]
Information to complete requested service including key instructions, guidelines, and any informative material (service manual)…
“In some embodiments, the information derived from the plurality of records at step 902 may include information obtained from one or more details associated with completing the requested service. The details may include customer inputs, logistics information, reminders, practice tips, check lists, key instructions, guidelines, or any informative material that would assist completing the requested service or getting the field professional prepared. In some embodiments, if the field professional knows the detail prior to performing the service, his or her likelihood to complete the requested service in a single on-site visit may increase.” [0265]
Example of services for dialysis machine (medical device)…
“At step 4952, a processing device (e.g., processing device 202) may receive a set of requests for on-site services, wherein the on-site services of at least some of the requests require parts. At step 4954, the processing device may schedule a set of tasks corresponding to the set of requests for a field professional. In one embodiment, a task associated with a certain request may be associated with a set of parts needed for completion of the set of tasks. The set of parts may include parts from a first type of parts and a second type of parts (e.g., replacement parts and tools). In one example the field professional may be a technician and the set of parts may include communication hardware (e.g., cables, switches) and a concrete drilling tool (e.g., concrete demolition hammer). The system may cause a delivery of either the first type of parts, the second type of parts, or both. In another example, the field professional may be a nurse and the set of parts may include a disposable medical product (e.g., drugs, stoma bags) and a medical device (e.g., a dialysis machine).” [0519]
See Manuals and Guidance below.
instructions executable by at least one electronic processor to perform a maintenance assistance method including:
Fig. 2, ref. 238-260 teaches instructions…
Perform tasks such as maintenance…
“Disclosed is a system that improves work capacity in task scheduling by assigning different types of tasks to field professionals based on real-time conditions. In some embodiments, the system may be implemented as task scheduling unit 150. The types of tasks may include product installation, product repair, product maintenance, product replacement, product diagnostics, customer consulting, or the like. The real-time conditions may be associated with specific demand categories, such that the system may change a ratio between the types of scheduled tasks by limiting the time windows that can be scheduled for a specific demand category. In one example, the system may limit the tasks for installing a first product to 70% of the available time windows (also known as time slots). This means that only 30% of the available time windows may be assigned to tasks associated with other products. By inputting such real-time conditions to the system, the system may optimize work capacity for task scheduling and increase throughput of task scheduling.” [0179]
receiving information describing servicing to be performed on a medical device;
Task associated with a set of parts needed to complete tasks, and receiving requests for on-site services for parts that include a medical device…
“At step 4952, a processing device (e.g., processing device 202) may receive a set of requests for on-site services, wherein the on-site services of at least some of the requests require parts. At step 4954, the processing device may schedule a set of tasks corresponding to the set of requests for a field professional. In one embodiment, a task associated with a certain request may be associated with a set of parts needed for completion of the set of tasks. The set of parts may include parts from a first type of parts and a second type of parts (e.g., replacement parts and tools). In one example the field professional may be a technician and the set of parts may include communication hardware (e.g., cables, switches) and a concrete drilling tool (e.g., concrete demolition hammer). The system may cause a delivery of either the first type of parts, the second type of parts, or both. In another example, the field professional may be a nurse and the set of parts may include a disposable medical product (e.g., drugs, stoma bags) and a medical device (e.g., a dialysis machine).” [0519]
Other medical devices…
“…Consistent with the present disclosure, a connected device can encompass the range from the simplest IoT devices to the most robust legacy Internet accessible devices. For example, connected devices may include, but are not limited to, refrigerators, toasters, ovens, microwaves, freezers, dishwashers, dishes, hand tools, clothes washers, clothes dryers, furnaces, air conditioners, thermostats, televisions, light fixtures, vacuum cleaners, sprinklers, electricity meters, gas meters, thermometers, humidity sensors, soil sensors, security cameras, motion detection lights, traffic sensors, wearable devices, fitness bracelets, continuous glucose monitor devices, connected inhalers, an ingestible sensors, coagulation testing devices, asthma monitor devices, cell phones, desktop computers, laptop computers, tablet computers, personal digital assistants (PDAs), etc.” [0489]
See Medical Device below.
determining one or more skills related to performing the servicing by comparing the received information with one or more of the historical service cases and/or service manuals;
Skill set based (determining) on task (performing the servicing)…
“In embodiments consistent with this disclosure, systems and methods are used to schedule tasks to one or more field professionals. The term “scheduling tasks” is used herein to refer, for example, to a process for determining an order (e.g., chronological order) for a set of tasks a field professional performs. The tasks may be associated with requested services and require a field professional to travel to different locations. There are different types of scheduled tasks, for example, installing, replacing, or repairing objects, and each task type may require a different skill set. In addition, some scheduled tasks may be location-based tasks that require the field professional to visit a customer's location, for example, business or residence, and some tasks may be location-agnostic tasks that do not require the field professional to visit a customer's location. Location-agnostic tasks may be viewed as support sessions that a technician can perform remote from the customer place.” [0098]
Determines skills based on certifications, past experience, past performance (historical service cases), where data entries (skills, such as certifications) are compared to criteria (received information)…
“At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.” [0207]
“…In a second embodiment, the delivered parts may include disposables; for example, a medical service provider scheduled to visit patients may use a variety of disposables parts, such as syringes, needles, sutures, staples, packaging, tubing, catheters, medical gloves, gowns, masks, adhesives, and more. In a third embodiment, the delivered parts may include tools; for example, some on-site services require the field professionals to use certain tools not part of the default inventory, such as a driller for reinforced concrete or a dialysis machine….” [0506]
identifying a skill gap of a person who is to perform the servicing by comparing the determined one or more skills with a service record of the person; and
Skill levels…
“At step 706, processing device 202 receives skills data indicative of capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers with respect to the task types. The skill data may include any classification of resource that indicates the capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers to perform a work associated with a demand category. Field professionals capable of performing the task types may be scheduled to perform the on-site services. The skills data may be any form of data associated with a field professional or a remote service provider and indicative of the capabilities of the field professional. In some embodiments, the skills data may be stored as a database record. For example, the skills data may include data indicative of years of experience, categories of capabilities, certificates of the capabilities, levels of skills, past performance records, titles, team roles, or the like.” [0183]
Example of professional may not have the proper training (identify skill gap) to complete a task…
“When a field professional provides a service to a user, sometimes the task assigned to the field professional cannot be completed in one visit. This may occur for a variety of reasons. For example, the field professional may not have the proper tools, supplies, or training on hand to complete a task. Other times, a user may request the incorrect service. For example, a user with a faulty internet connection may assume that a field professional needs to fix a modem, but when the field professional inspects the problem, the field professional may discover that an underground line is broken, requiring an entirely different service to correct the issue. In other cases, additional problems may arise during the service. For example, a field professional servicing an air conditioner may plan on replacing refrigerant in the system, but, while performing this service, the field professional may discover a dangerous ground fault in the air conditioner system that could start a fire. In some situations, inclement weather may prevent the service being performed. These examples illustrate that a field professional may realize, in the course of performing a task in the field, that an additional appointment will be needed to fully address the user's needs.” [0383]
outputting guidance for performing the servicing wherein the guidance is based on the identified skill gap.
Suggesting (outputting) a field professional (guidance) based on skillset (identified skill gap)…
“FIG. 31 shows a process 3100 of suggesting a field professional to a user. After selecting a field professional based on the data associated with the at least one on-site service at step 3102, step 3104 determines if the additional service is of a different type than the on-site service already performed. If the additional service is of a different type than the at least one on-site service, step 3104 is Yes, and a different field professional is selected at step 3106. A suggestion of a different field professional for the additional service may then be presented at step 3108. The different field professional may be selected based on a necessary skillset needed to perform the additional service. However, if the additional service is of the same type as the at least one on-site service, step 3104 is No, and, at step 3108, the field professional selected in step 3102 based on the data associated with the at least one on-site service may be suggested for the additional on-site service. The field professional may be suggested to a manager or customer service representative at step 3108, or directly to the user.” [0422]
See Manuals and Guidance below.
Manuals and Guidance
Idan teaches maintenance and skillset. They also teach information. They do not literally teach “service manuals” and details of guidance with skillset.
Jaggers et al. also in the business of maintenance and skillset teaches:
Skill set and service manuals (guidance)…
“As a non-limiting example of the training, a technician could be dispatched to the customer location to repair a Trane® HVAC compressor for which he has been determined via querying of the technician database to possess the necessary skills and, when necessary or requested, state licensing to allow him to accurately complete the repair. While at the location, however, he identifies commercial refrigeration equipment that, while not the subject of the current service call, could be a reason why a customer service request could be generated in the future. As noted previously, he can be prompted to generate photos or videos of the first customer location, or the photos or videos can be automatically generated while he is working on site via a camera. If it is determined that the technician does not have a skill set that is suitable to service or repair the identified machine, device, or system—here the refrigeration equipment—while at the location or at a later time he can be presented with videos, service manuals etc. associated with that identified machine, device, or system of interest. Such presented training material content can be followed by an assessment that can determine whether the technician successfully learned the presented training. If so, his technician profile can be updated. If not, information associated with the lack of mastery of the required skills can also be included in his technician profile.” [0070]
Libraries provide (outputting) training materials (guidance) for technician in need of training (identified skill gap)…
“Still further, the methods and systems herein comprise generating one or more libraries of training material, wherein the one or more libraries comprise a plurality of videos, written materials, games, audio, virtual reality materials, and augmented reality materials. Such libraries can be configured to provide training materials to a technician in need of training in a skill or task associated with the service or repair of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. The training material is selectable via a training module that can access resources that allow the training material to be customized for a specific technician, a class of technician, or a group of technicians based on a number of technician characteristics. An assessment can be generated for the technician after he completes a training event to determine whether the selected information was sufficient in delivering necessary learning to him. Operation of the training module can be modified for subsequent training material delivery if it is determined from the assessment that the technician did not obtain the desired training.” [0112]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of Idan the ability to use service manuals for guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Idan who teaches training and using information for providing services. Idan benefits by using service manuals for training purposes as well.
Medical Device
The combined references teach maintenance of machines by engineers (para. [0097] of Idan). They also teach medical devices. They do not explicitly teach maintenance or servicing of medical devices. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that medical devices are machines and that they need to be maintained.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that the combined references skills of maintaining machines would apply to medical devices. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use engineers to maintain machines and would provide predictable results.
Regarding claim 8
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the method further includes:
retrieving service records for a plurality of candidate persons available to perform the servicing;
Idan teaches:
Field professionals (plurality of candidates) database…
“FIG. 41 illustrates a memory 4100 containing software modules and databases consistent with the present disclosure. In some embodiments, memory 4100 may be part of server 152. Alternatively, memory 4100 may be stored in an external storage communicatively coupled with server 152, such as one or more databases or memories accessible over network 170. Further, in other embodiments, the components of memory 4100 may be distributed in more than one server. As shown, memory 4100 may include an input module 4102, an optional task identification module 4104, a task selection module 4106, and an output module 4108. Modules 4102, 4104, 4106, and 4108 may contain software instructions for execution by at least one processing device (e.g., processor 202). Memory 4100 may also include or be connected to a plurality of databases, such as a pending requests database 4110 which may store details on requests for on-site services (e.g., requests that were not yet scheduled); a field professionals database 4112 which may store data on each field professional (e.g., skills, qualifications, experience, shifts times, ranking); and a historical assignment database 4114 which may store data associated with assignments of tasks for a plurality of field professionals when windows of opportunity are identified. For example, historical assignment database 4114 may store data indicative of past dispatchers' preferences regarding assignments of additional tasks.” [0469]
for each candidate person, identifying a skill gap of the candidate person by comparing the determined one or more skills with the service record of the candidate person; and
Skills and ranking (comparing)….
“FIG. 41 illustrates a memory 4100 containing software modules and databases consistent with the present disclosure. In some embodiments, memory 4100 may be part of server 152. Alternatively, memory 4100 may be stored in an external storage communicatively coupled with server 152, such as one or more databases or memories accessible over network 170. Further, in other embodiments, the components of memory 4100 may be distributed in more than one server. As shown, memory 4100 may include an input module 4102, an optional task identification module 4104, a task selection module 4106, and an output module 4108. Modules 4102, 4104, 4106, and 4108 may contain software instructions for execution by at least one processing device (e.g., processor 202). Memory 4100 may also include or be connected to a plurality of databases, such as a pending requests database 4110 which may store details on requests for on-site services (e.g., requests that were not yet scheduled); a field professionals database 4112 which may store data on each field professional (e.g., skills, qualifications, experience, shifts times, ranking); and a historical assignment database 4114 which may store data associated with assignments of tasks for a plurality of field professionals when windows of opportunity are identified. For example, historical assignment database 4114 may store data indicative of past dispatchers' preferences regarding assignments of additional tasks.” [0469]
Example of skills data based on ranking and ranking for task types the professional is capable of performing (therefore, skill gap)…
“In some embodiments, processing device 202 may determine the skills data based on ranking associated with customers' feedback of field professionals 110. For example, the customers' feedback may include scores, stars, comments, answers to multiple-choice questions, emails, phone calls, letters, or the like. The ranking may be determined based on a number-based process (e.g., by ranking the scores) or an opinion-based process (e.g., by evaluating the comments). In some embodiments, the opinion-based process may be implemented using a machine learning model capable of natural language processing. In some embodiments, the ranking of a field professional may be performed for each of the task types the field professional is capable of performing.” [0185]
selecting the person who is to perform the servicing as a candidate person having a smallest skill gap.
One example of field professional knowing virtual private networks (smallest skill gap) is selected…
“For example, as shown in FIG. 15A, there may be two field professionals, field professional 1510 and second field professional 1520. Both may be qualified to install modems, but only field professional 1510 is qualified to establish virtual private networks remotely. If a hospital emergency room's virtual private network fails, a high urgency notification may indicate a necessary location-agnostic task of repairing the network. Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 15B, the additional location-based task of a modem installation may be reassigned from field professional 1510 to second field professional 1520. Field professional 1510 may then be assigned the location-agnostic task of remotely repairing the emergency room's virtual private network. Alternatively, field professional 1510 may have past experience with the hospital's network or superior past rankings by customers. Any combination of these and other factors could be used to determine that field professional 1510 is more suitable to provide the location-agnostic task.” [0315]
Regarding claim 9
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein each skill corresponds to a task to be performed in the servicing.
Idan teaches:
Each task type may require a different skill set, therefore, skill corresponds to task…
“In embodiments consistent with this disclosure, systems and methods are used to schedule tasks to one or more field professionals. The term “scheduling tasks” is used herein to refer, for example, to a process for determining an order (e.g., chronological order) for a set of tasks a field professional performs. The tasks may be associated with requested services and require a field professional to travel to different locations. There are different types of scheduled tasks, for example, installing, replacing, or repairing objects, and each task type may require a different skill set. In addition, some scheduled tasks may be location-based tasks that require the field professional to visit a customer's location, for example, business or residence, and some tasks may be location-agnostic tasks that do not require the field professional to visit a customer's location. Location-agnostic tasks may be viewed as support sessions that a technician can perform remote from the customer place.” [0098]
Regarding claim 10
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, further comprising:
after outputting the guidance, receiving feedback from the person who is to perform the servicing;
Idan teaches:
Information derived from (receiving) feedback from field professionals (person who performs the servicing)…
“In some embodiments, the information in the records may be derived from feedback from a set of field professionals (such as field professionals 110). For example, when a field professional did not complete a service in a single visit, the field professional may provide feedback explaining one or more reasons why he or she could not complete the service in a single visit. The feedback may include quantized or non-quantized data. For example, the feedback may be textual comments drafted by the field professionals, such as via a graphical user interface (GUI) of communication device 180A. For another example, the field professional may be provided a list of selections to identify the reason why he or she could not complete the service in a single visit (e.g., via the GUI of communication device 180A), and the feedback may be the item selected by the field professional. For another example, each reason why the service cannot be completed in a single visit may be pre-assigned with a code, and the feedback may include the code provided by the field professional (e.g., via the GUI of communication device 180A).” [0258]
See Feedback below.
adjusting the identified skill gap based on the feedback and outputting updated guidance for performing the servicing wherein the guidance is based on the adjusted identified skill gap.
Reason why service not completed…
“In some embodiments, the information in the records may be derived from feedback from a set of field professionals (such as field professionals 110). For example, when a field professional did not complete a service in a single visit, the field professional may provide feedback explaining one or more reasons why he or she could not complete the service in a single visit. The feedback may include quantized or non-quantized data. For example, the feedback may be textual comments drafted by the field professionals, such as via a graphical user interface (GUI) of communication device 180A. For another example, the field professional may be provided a list of selections to identify the reason why he or she could not complete the service in a single visit (e.g., via the GUI of communication device 180A), and the feedback may be the item selected by the field professional. For another example, each reason why the service cannot be completed in a single visit may be pre-assigned with a code, and the feedback may include the code provided by the field professional (e.g., via the GUI of communication device 180A).” [0258]
Reason is professional does not have the proper training…
“When a field professional provides a service to a user, sometimes the task assigned to the field professional cannot be completed in one visit. This may occur for a variety of reasons. For example, the field professional may not have the proper tools, supplies, or training on hand to complete a task. Other times, a user may request the incorrect service. For example, a user with a faulty internet connection may assume that a field professional needs to fix a modem, but when the field professional inspects the problem, the field professional may discover that an underground line is broken, requiring an entirely different service to correct the issue. In other cases, additional problems may arise during the service. For example, a field professional servicing an air conditioner may plan on replacing refrigerant in the system, but, while performing this service, the field professional may discover a dangerous ground fault in the air conditioner system that could start a fire. In some situations, inclement weather may prevent the service being performed. These examples illustrate that a field professional may realize, in the course of performing a task in the field, that an additional appointment will be needed to fully address the user's needs.” [0383]
See Feedback below.
Feedback
The combined references teach training. They do not specifically teach feedback and updated guidance.
Jaggers et al. also in the business of training teaches:
Delivery of training materials based on competency gaps (skill gap) needed for service…
“In a further aspect, prior to a delivery of training materials to a technician as a result of a query made by him, an assessment module can be configured to assess each technician's skills competency gaps using real-time data from pre-assessments and/or from retrieving information from the technician database record for each technician, wherein such retrieved information can be compared to a skill or skill set needed to service or repair a machine, device, or system of interest. Such identified skills can be imparted in one or more training events in which training materials are selected for delivery to the technician in need of training via the training module. The assessment information can be processed by the training module to provide the technician with a personalized set of training materials directed toward addressing one or more skill gaps in a training event that he has been determined to possess, whether in general or as specific to a machine, device, or system of interest.” [0081]
Example of training material based on feedback…
“In some implementations, it could be beneficial to incorporate assessment information in the selection of training materials for the technician. This can enhance alignment of training materials delivered during a training event with the subjective characteristics associated with the technician in need of training. For example, if a technician is determined to have a learning style that is better suited to instruction that elicits his feedback during instruction, as opposed to a passive engagement with training material content during delivery thereof, the training module can selectively present him with training materials that require his active participation while the content is being presented. Such passive content may be a video instruction, whereas active content may be a game or feedback elicited during pauses in a video, as illustrative examples.” [0083]
Another example of feedback of training material while working and incorporating feedback into training material (update guidance)…
“…While the technician is present at a service or repair event location, he can make verbal observations while engaging in a machine, device, or system diagnosis. He can also provide feedback about any information that he is provided related to the service or repair event. For example, he can indicate that instructions provided to him were not sufficient and that he needs further information to complete his work. Such feedback can be incorporated into the training material aspect of the disclosure as discussed elsewhere herein.” [0163]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use feedback to update guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Jaggers et al. who teaches the benefits of updating training material based on feedback. The combined references benefit by the improved training material for servicing equipment.
Regarding claim 11
A maintenance assistance system, comprising:
an electronic processor programmed to perform a maintenance assistance method including:
Idan teaches:
Example of server…
“Consistent with the present disclosure, task scheduling unit 150 may include a server 152 and a database 154. In one example configuration, server 152 may be a cloud server that processes request received directly (or indirectly) from one or more users 130 and determine, based on the requests, a set of daily schedules of tasks for field professionals 110. The term “cloud server” refers to a computer platform that provides services via a network, such as the Internet. In this example configuration, server 152 may use virtual machines that may not correspond to individual hardware. For example, computational and/or storage capabilities may be implemented by allocating appropriate portions of desirable computation/storage power from a scalable repository, such as a data center or a distributed computing environment. In one example, server 152 may implement the methods described herein using customized hard-wired logic, one or more Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs) or Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), firmware, and/or program logic which, in combination with the computer system, cause server 152 to be a special-purpose machine.
Product maintenance…
“Disclosed is a system that improves work capacity in task scheduling by assigning different types of tasks to field professionals based on real-time conditions. In some embodiments, the system may be implemented as task scheduling unit 150. The types of tasks may include product installation, product repair, product maintenance, product replacement, product diagnostics, customer consulting, or the like. The real-time conditions may be associated with specific demand categories, such that the system may change a ratio between the types of scheduled tasks by limiting the time windows that can be scheduled for a specific demand category. In one example, the system may limit the tasks for installing a first product to 70% of the available time windows (also known as time slots). This means that only 30% of the available time windows may be assigned to tasks associated with other products. By inputting such real-time conditions to the system, the system may optimize work capacity for task scheduling and increase throughput of task scheduling.” [0179]
receiving information describing servicing to be performed on a medical device;
Example of inhalator (medical device) is needed…
“…Upon receiving the request, the processing device may schedule a task for delivery in the field of the requested part to the location associated with a current task to enable the field professional to complete the current task. For example, when the field professional is a medical professional, a nurse may determine that a certain tool (e.g., an inhalator) is needed during a check-up with a patient.” [0516]
See Medical Device below.
determining one or more skills related to performing the servicing by comparing the received information with one or more historical service cases and/or service manuals;
Skill set based (determining) on task…
“In embodiments consistent with this disclosure, systems and methods are used to schedule tasks to one or more field professionals. The term “scheduling tasks” is used herein to refer, for example, to a process for determining an order (e.g., chronological order) for a set of tasks a field professional performs. The tasks may be associated with requested services and require a field professional to travel to different locations. There are different types of scheduled tasks, for example, installing, replacing, or repairing objects, and each task type may require a different skill set. In addition, some scheduled tasks may be location-based tasks that require the field professional to visit a customer's location, for example, business or residence, and some tasks may be location-agnostic tasks that do not require the field professional to visit a customer's location. Location-agnostic tasks may be viewed as support sessions that a technician can perform remote from the customer place.” [0098]
Determines skills based on certifications, past experience, past performance (historical service cases), where data entries (skills, such as certifications) are compared to criteria (received information)…
“At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.” [0207]
See Manual below.
identifying a skill gap of a person who is to perform the servicing by comparing the determined one or more skills with a service record of the person;
Skill levels…
“At step 706, processing device 202 receives skills data indicative of capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers with respect to the task types. The skill data may include any classification of resource that indicates the capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers to perform a work associated with a demand category. Field professionals capable of performing the task types may be scheduled to perform the on-site services. The skills data may be any form of data associated with a field professional or a remote service provider and indicative of the capabilities of the field professional. In some embodiments, the skills data may be stored as a database record. For example, the skills data may include data indicative of years of experience, categories of capabilities, certificates of the capabilities, levels of skills, past performance records, titles, team roles, or the like.” [0183]
Example of professional may not have the proper training (identify skill gap) to complete a task…
“When a field professional provides a service to a user, sometimes the task assigned to the field professional cannot be completed in one visit. This may occur for a variety of reasons. For example, the field professional may not have the proper tools, supplies, or training on hand to complete a task. Other times, a user may request the incorrect service. For example, a user with a faulty internet connection may assume that a field professional needs to fix a modem, but when the field professional inspects the problem, the field professional may discover that an underground line is broken, requiring an entirely different service to correct the issue. In other cases, additional problems may arise during the service. For example, a field professional servicing an air conditioner may plan on replacing refrigerant in the system, but, while performing this service, the field professional may discover a dangerous ground fault in the air conditioner system that could start a fire. In some situations, inclement weather may prevent the service being performed. These examples illustrate that a field professional may realize, in the course of performing a task in the field, that an additional appointment will be needed to fully address the user's needs.” [0383]
determining a likelihood that the person can perform the servicing based on the skill gap; and
Likelihood professional can complete the request greater than a threshold…
“At step 910, processing device 202 may determine if, in view of the received information, the likelihood of the assigned field professional to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit is still greater from a threshold. Step 910 may take place after the field professional was assigned and before the date and time that the task is scheduled for. For example, the information may be received on the same day as the scheduled task. Alternatively, the information may be received one or more days before the scheduled task. When the likelihood is below the threshold, processing device 202 may assign a different field professional with higher likelihood to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit. When the likelihood is greater the threshold, processing device 202 may continue with the same field professional and wait for additional information that may change the likelihood.” [0271]
responsive to the likelihood being below a threshold, outputting guidance comprising a recommendation to initiate a service call for a third party to perform the servicing, or responsive to the likelihood being above the threshold, outputting the guidance comprising information compensating for the skill gap.
Likelihood below threshold and assign different field professional…
“At step 910, processing device 202 may determine if, in view of the received information, the likelihood of the assigned field professional to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit is still greater from a threshold. Step 910 may take place after the field professional was assigned and before the date and time that the task is scheduled for. For example, the information may be received on the same day as the scheduled task. Alternatively, the information may be received one or more days before the scheduled task. When the likelihood is below the threshold, processing device 202 may assign a different field professional with higher likelihood to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit. When the likelihood is greater the threshold, processing device 202 may continue with the same field professional and wait for additional information that may change the likelihood.” [0271]
Example of remote (third party) services and calls…
“At step 902, processing device 202 stores a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with completing a set of technical services in database 154. The technical services may include any combination of any number of on-site services or remote services. For example, the on-site services may include any of installing, replacing, repairing, or inspecting products or services of any of water, sewage, electricity, gas, heat, Internet, telephone, mobile communications, or the like. The remote services may include any of telephone calls, video chats, text messages, mobile application communications, or any other technical or support services that may provide answers to a customer's questions or instructions to solve a problem.” [0252]
Medical Device
The combined references teach maintenance of machines by engineers (para. [0097] of Idan). They also teach medical devices. They do not explicitly teach maintenance or servicing of medical devices. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that medical devices are machines and that they need to be maintained.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that the combined references skills of maintaining machines would apply to medical devices. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use engineers to maintain machines and would provide predictable results.
Manual
Idan teaches maintenance and skillset. They also teach information. They do not literally teach “service manuals.”
Jaggers et al. also in the business of maintenance and skillset teaches:
Skill set and service manuals (guidance)…
“As a non-limiting example of the training, a technician could be dispatched to the customer location to repair a Trane® HVAC compressor for which he has been determined via querying of the technician database to possess the necessary skills and, when necessary or requested, state licensing to allow him to accurately complete the repair. While at the location, however, he identifies commercial refrigeration equipment that, while not the subject of the current service call, could be a reason why a customer service request could be generated in the future. As noted previously, he can be prompted to generate photos or videos of the first customer location, or the photos or videos can be automatically generated while he is working on site via a camera. If it is determined that the technician does not have a skill set that is suitable to service or repair the identified machine, device, or system—here the refrigeration equipment—while at the location or at a later time he can be presented with videos, service manuals etc. associated with that identified machine, device, or system of interest. Such presented training material content can be followed by an assessment that can determine whether the technician successfully learned the presented training. If so, his technician profile can be updated. If not, information associated with the lack of mastery of the required skills can also be included in his technician profile.” [0070]
Libraries provide (outputting) training materials (guidance) for technician in need of training (identified skill gap)…
“Still further, the methods and systems herein comprise generating one or more libraries of training material, wherein the one or more libraries comprise a plurality of videos, written materials, games, audio, virtual reality materials, and augmented reality materials. Such libraries can be configured to provide training materials to a technician in need of training in a skill or task associated with the service or repair of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. The training material is selectable via a training module that can access resources that allow the training material to be customized for a specific technician, a class of technician, or a group of technicians based on a number of technician characteristics. An assessment can be generated for the technician after he completes a training event to determine whether the selected information was sufficient in delivering necessary learning to him. Operation of the training module can be modified for subsequent training material delivery if it is determined from the assessment that the technician did not obtain the desired training.” [0112]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of Idan the ability to use service manuals for guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Idan who teaches training and using information for providing services. Idan benefits by using service manuals for training purposes as well.
Regarding claim 12
The system of claim 11, wherein the guidance comprises the recommendation and further comprises an explanation of the skill gap.
Idan teaches:
Example of determines skills of professional comply with the task (skill gap) and proceed (recommendation of person and example of requires certificate to repair the device (explanation of the skill gap)…
“At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.”
Regarding claim 13
The system of claim 12, wherein the explanation is generated from the plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals.
Idan teaches:
Past performance (resolved historical service cases)…
At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.”
Manuals
Idan teaches maintenance and skillset. They also teach information. They do not literally teach “service manuals” and details of guidance with skillset.
Jaggers et al. teaches:
Skill set and service manuals (guidance)…
“As a non-limiting example of the training, a technician could be dispatched to the customer location to repair a Trane® HVAC compressor for which he has been determined via querying of the technician database to possess the necessary skills and, when necessary or requested, state licensing to allow him to accurately complete the repair. While at the location, however, he identifies commercial refrigeration equipment that, while not the subject of the current service call, could be a reason why a customer service request could be generated in the future. As noted previously, he can be prompted to generate photos or videos of the first customer location, or the photos or videos can be automatically generated while he is working on site via a camera. If it is determined that the technician does not have a skill set that is suitable to service or repair the identified machine, device, or system—here the refrigeration equipment—while at the location or at a later time he can be presented with videos, service manuals etc. associated with that identified machine, device, or system of interest. Such presented training material content can be followed by an assessment that can determine whether the technician successfully learned the presented training. If so, his technician profile can be updated. If not, information associated with the lack of mastery of the required skills can also be included in his technician profile.” [0070]
Generating libraries provide (outputting) training materials (guidance) for technician in need of training (identified skill gap)…
“Still further, the methods and systems herein comprise generating one or more libraries of training material, wherein the one or more libraries comprise a plurality of videos, written materials, games, audio, virtual reality materials, and augmented reality materials. Such libraries can be configured to provide training materials to a technician in need of training in a skill or task associated with the service or repair of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. The training material is selectable via a training module that can access resources that allow the training material to be customized for a specific technician, a class of technician, or a group of technicians based on a number of technician characteristics. An assessment can be generated for the technician after he completes a training event to determine whether the selected information was sufficient in delivering necessary learning to him. Operation of the training module can be modified for subsequent training material delivery if it is determined from the assessment that the technician did not obtain the desired training.” [0112]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use service manuals for guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Idan who teaches training and using information for providing services. Idan benefits by using service manuals for training purposes as well.
Regarding claim 14
The system of claim 12, wherein the determining includes: performing a textual entailment or a natural language processing operation on the received information to generate the guidance.
Idan teaches:
Textual data and natural language processing…
“In some embodiments, when the historical experience includes non-quantified data, the information may be derived using a synthesis technique. For example, when the historical experience includes textual data (e.g., textual comments, summaries, memoranda, or the like), the information of the records may be key elements of the textual data derived using a natural language processing technique. For another example, when the historical experience includes textual data, the information may be derived as an aggregation of the textual data. The aggregation of the textual data may include, for example, simple aggregation (e.g., concatenating) of the textual data, or merging (e.g., by removing duplicate fields) of the textual data.” [0257]
Regarding claim 16
The system of claim 11, wherein the method further includes:
retrieving service records for a plurality of candidate persons available to perform the servicing;
Idan teaches:
Field professionals (plurality of candidates) database…
“FIG. 41 illustrates a memory 4100 containing software modules and databases consistent with the present disclosure. In some embodiments, memory 4100 may be part of server 152. Alternatively, memory 4100 may be stored in an external storage communicatively coupled with server 152, such as one or more databases or memories accessible over network 170. Further, in other embodiments, the components of memory 4100 may be distributed in more than one server. As shown, memory 4100 may include an input module 4102, an optional task identification module 4104, a task selection module 4106, and an output module 4108. Modules 4102, 4104, 4106, and 4108 may contain software instructions for execution by at least one processing device (e.g., processor 202). Memory 4100 may also include or be connected to a plurality of databases, such as a pending requests database 4110 which may store details on requests for on-site services (e.g., requests that were not yet scheduled); a field professionals database 4112 which may store data on each field professional (e.g., skills, qualifications, experience, shifts times, ranking); and a historical assignment database 4114 which may store data associated with assignments of tasks for a plurality of field professionals when windows of opportunity are identified. For example, historical assignment database 4114 may store data indicative of past dispatchers' preferences regarding assignments of additional tasks.” [0469]
for each candidate person, identifying a skill gap of the candidate person by comparing the determined one or more skills with the service record of the candidate person; and
Skills and ranking (comparing)….
“FIG. 41 illustrates a memory 4100 containing software modules and databases consistent with the present disclosure. In some embodiments, memory 4100 may be part of server 152. Alternatively, memory 4100 may be stored in an external storage communicatively coupled with server 152, such as one or more databases or memories accessible over network 170. Further, in other embodiments, the components of memory 4100 may be distributed in more than one server. As shown, memory 4100 may include an input module 4102, an optional task identification module 4104, a task selection module 4106, and an output module 4108. Modules 4102, 4104, 4106, and 4108 may contain software instructions for execution by at least one processing device (e.g., processor 202). Memory 4100 may also include or be connected to a plurality of databases, such as a pending requests database 4110 which may store details on requests for on-site services (e.g., requests that were not yet scheduled); a field professionals database 4112 which may store data on each field professional (e.g., skills, qualifications, experience, shifts times, ranking); and a historical assignment database 4114 which may store data associated with assignments of tasks for a plurality of field professionals when windows of opportunity are identified. For example, historical assignment database 4114 may store data indicative of past dispatchers' preferences regarding assignments of additional tasks.” [0469]
Example of skills data based on ranking and ranking for task types the professional is capable of performing (therefore, skill gap)…
“In some embodiments, processing device 202 may determine the skills data based on ranking associated with customers' feedback of field professionals 110. For example, the customers' feedback may include scores, stars, comments, answers to multiple-choice questions, emails, phone calls, letters, or the like. The ranking may be determined based on a number-based process (e.g., by ranking the scores) or an opinion-based process (e.g., by evaluating the comments). In some embodiments, the opinion-based process may be implemented using a machine learning model capable of natural language processing. In some embodiments, the ranking of a field professional may be performed for each of the task types the field professional is capable of performing.” [0185]
selecting the person who is to perform the servicing as a candidate person having a smallest skill gap.
One example of field professional knowing virtual private networks (smallest skill gap) is selected…
“For example, as shown in FIG. 15A, there may be two field professionals, field professional 1510 and second field professional 1520. Both may be qualified to install modems, but only field professional 1510 is qualified to establish virtual private networks remotely. If a hospital emergency room's virtual private network fails, a high urgency notification may indicate a necessary location-agnostic task of repairing the network. Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 15B, the additional location-based task of a modem installation may be reassigned from field professional 1510 to second field professional 1520. Field professional 1510 may then be assigned the location-agnostic task of remotely repairing the emergency room's virtual private network. Alternatively, field professional 1510 may have past experience with the hospital's network or superior past rankings by customers. Any combination of these and other factors could be used to determine that field professional 1510 is more suitable to provide the location-agnostic task.” [0315]
Regarding claim 17
The system of claim 11, wherein each skill corresponds to a task to be performed in the servicing.
Idan teaches:
Each task type may require a different skill set, therefore, skill corresponds to task…
“In embodiments consistent with this disclosure, systems and methods are used to schedule tasks to one or more field professionals. The term “scheduling tasks” is used herein to refer, for example, to a process for determining an order (e.g., chronological order) for a set of tasks a field professional performs. The tasks may be associated with requested services and require a field professional to travel to different locations. There are different types of scheduled tasks, for example, installing, replacing, or repairing objects, and each task type may require a different skill set. In addition, some scheduled tasks may be location-based tasks that require the field professional to visit a customer's location, for example, business or residence, and some tasks may be location-agnostic tasks that do not require the field professional to visit a customer's location. Location-agnostic tasks may be viewed as support sessions that a technician can perform remote from the customer place.” [0098]
Claims 2-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (6) above in further view of US Patent No. 10825566 to Maissy et al.
Regarding claim 2
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the database further stores qualification data related to a plurality of biomedical engineers, and the method further includes:
determining a likelihood that the person can perform the servicing based on the skill gap; and
Idan teaches:
Engineers (plural)…
“The present disclosure is directed to systems and methods for distributing resources in the field, including professionals, engineers, agents, and the like. The term “field professional” refers, for example, to a trained and/or qualified individual who provides services (often, expert) at a location or worksite. For example, in the home utilities industry, field professionals may be certified technicians who are trained to install, replace, or repair electrical equipment. In the telecommunications and cable industry, field professionals may be individuals who install cable or run telephone lines into residences or business establishments…” [0097]
Likelihood of professional complete service…
“Consistent with disclosed embodiments, systems, methods, and computer readable media enable scheduling technical services to be completed in a single visit. For example, consistent with one aspect a method includes: storing in a database a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with completing a set of technical services, wherein information in each record is derived from historical experience of completing each of the technical services; receiving a request for a new technical service associated with a location; and assigning a field professional to perform the new service having determined from information in the database a likelihood that the field professional will complete the new technical service in a single on-site visit at the location.” [0012]
if the likelihood is below a threshold, outputting the guidance comprising a recommendation to initiate a service call for a third party to perform the servicing.
Likelihood below threshold and assign different field professional…
“At step 910, processing device 202 may determine if, in view of the received information, the likelihood of the assigned field professional to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit is still greater from a threshold. Step 910 may take place after the field professional was assigned and before the date and time that the task is scheduled for. For example, the information may be received on the same day as the scheduled task. Alternatively, the information may be received one or more days before the scheduled task. When the likelihood is below the threshold, processing device 202 may assign a different field professional with higher likelihood to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit. When the likelihood is greater the threshold, processing device 202 may continue with the same field professional and wait for additional information that may change the likelihood.” [0271]
Example of remote (third party) services and calls…
“At step 902, processing device 202 stores a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with completing a set of technical services in database 154. The technical services may include any combination of any number of on-site services or remote services. For example, the on-site services may include any of installing, replacing, repairing, or inspecting products or services of any of water, sewage, electricity, gas, heat, Internet, telephone, mobile communications, or the like. The remote services may include any of telephone calls, video chats, text messages, mobile application communications, or any other technical or support services that may provide answers to a customer's questions or instructions to solve a problem.” [0252]
Biomedical Engineer
The combined references teach engineer and maintenance. They do not literally teach biomedical engineer.
Maissy et al. also in the business of engineer and maintenance teaches:
Biomedical engineer…
“Information obtained from the results of the DPI of the packets may be utilized in various ways to assist in streamlining the running of a medical facility. The following discussion relates to making the task of providing maintenance to medical devices more efficient. To this end, the computer 120 receives an identifier 119 of a certain medical device that needs to receive maintenance. For example, the identifier may be received from a biomedical engineer at the medical facility, a computerized system used to manage inventory at the medical facility, or a technician or company that needs to provide maintenance to the certain medical device. Depending on the status of the certain medical device, the computer 120 may perform different operations.” (col. 12, lines 62-67 to col. 13, lines 1-7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to have biomedical engineers for servicing equipment as taught by Maissy et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Idan who teaches using engineers for providing services and medical equipment. Idan benefits by using biomedical engineers for such tasks.
Regarding claim 3
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 2, wherein the guidance comprises the recommendation and further comprises an explanation of the skill gap.
Idan teaches:
Example of determines skills of professional comply with the task (skill gap) and proceed (recommendation of person and example of requires certificate to repair the device (explanation of the skill gap)…
“At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.”
Regarding claim 4
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 3, wherein the explanation is generated from the plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals.
Idan teaches:
Past performance (resolved historical service cases)…
At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.”
Manuals and Guidance
Idan teaches maintenance and skillset. They also teach information. They do not literally teach “service manuals” and details of guidance with skillset.
Jaggers et al. teaches:
Skill set and service manuals (guidance)…
“As a non-limiting example of the training, a technician could be dispatched to the customer location to repair a Trane® HVAC compressor for which he has been determined via querying of the technician database to possess the necessary skills and, when necessary or requested, state licensing to allow him to accurately complete the repair. While at the location, however, he identifies commercial refrigeration equipment that, while not the subject of the current service call, could be a reason why a customer service request could be generated in the future. As noted previously, he can be prompted to generate photos or videos of the first customer location, or the photos or videos can be automatically generated while he is working on site via a camera. If it is determined that the technician does not have a skill set that is suitable to service or repair the identified machine, device, or system—here the refrigeration equipment—while at the location or at a later time he can be presented with videos, service manuals etc. associated with that identified machine, device, or system of interest. Such presented training material content can be followed by an assessment that can determine whether the technician successfully learned the presented training. If so, his technician profile can be updated. If not, information associated with the lack of mastery of the required skills can also be included in his technician profile.” [0070]
Generating libraries provide (outputting) training materials (guidance) for technician in need of training (identified skill gap)…
“Still further, the methods and systems herein comprise generating one or more libraries of training material, wherein the one or more libraries comprise a plurality of videos, written materials, games, audio, virtual reality materials, and augmented reality materials. Such libraries can be configured to provide training materials to a technician in need of training in a skill or task associated with the service or repair of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. The training material is selectable via a training module that can access resources that allow the training material to be customized for a specific technician, a class of technician, or a group of technicians based on a number of technician characteristics. An assessment can be generated for the technician after he completes a training event to determine whether the selected information was sufficient in delivering necessary learning to him. Operation of the training module can be modified for subsequent training material delivery if it is determined from the assessment that the technician did not obtain the desired training.” [0112]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use service manuals for guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by the combined references that teach training and using information for providing services. The combined references benefit by using service manuals for training purposes as well.
Regarding claim 5
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 3, wherein the determining includes:
performing a natural language processing operation on the received information to generate the guidance.
Idan teaches:
Example of information of the records and natural language processing…
“In some embodiments, when the historical experience includes non-quantified data, the information may be derived using a synthesis technique. For example, when the historical experience includes textual data (e.g., textual comments, summaries, memoranda, or the like), the information of the records may be key elements of the textual data derived using a natural language processing technique. For another example, when the historical experience includes textual data, the information may be derived as an aggregation of the textual data. The aggregation of the textual data may include, for example, simple aggregation (e.g., concatenating) of the textual data, or merging (e.g., by removing duplicate fields) of the textual data.” [0257]
Regarding claim 6
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the database further stores qualification data related to a plurality of biomedical engineers, and the method further includes:
determining a likelihood that the person can perform the servicing based on the skill gap; and
Idan teaches:
Engineers (plural)…
“The present disclosure is directed to systems and methods for distributing resources in the field, including professionals, engineers, agents, and the like. The term “field professional” refers, for example, to a trained and/or qualified individual who provides services (often, expert) at a location or worksite. For example, in the home utilities industry, field professionals may be certified technicians who are trained to install, replace, or repair electrical equipment. In the telecommunications and cable industry, field professionals may be individuals who install cable or run telephone lines into residences or business establishments…” [0097]
Likelihood to complete the service…
“At step 910, processing device 202 may determine if, in view of the received information, the likelihood of the assigned field professional to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit is still greater from a threshold. Step 910 may take place after the field professional was assigned and before the date and time that the task is scheduled for. For example, the information may be received on the same day as the scheduled task. Alternatively, the information may be received one or more days before the scheduled task. When the likelihood is below the threshold, processing device 202 may assign a different field professional with higher likelihood to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit. When the likelihood is greater the threshold, processing device 202 may continue with the same field professional and wait for additional information that may change the likelihood.” [0271]
if the likelihood is above a threshold, outputting the guidance comprising information compensating for the skill gap.
Likelihood greater than a threshold, wait for additional information…
“At step 910, processing device 202 may determine if, in view of the received information, the likelihood of the assigned field professional to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit is still greater from a threshold. Step 910 may take place after the field professional was assigned and before the date and time that the task is scheduled for. For example, the information may be received on the same day as the scheduled task. Alternatively, the information may be received one or more days before the scheduled task. When the likelihood is below the threshold, processing device 202 may assign a different field professional with higher likelihood to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit. When the likelihood is greater the threshold, processing device 202 may continue with the same field professional and wait for additional information that may change the likelihood.” [0271]
Biomedical Engineer
The combined references teach engineer and maintenance. They do not literally teach biomedical engineer.
Maissy et al. also in the business of engineer and maintenance teaches:
Biomedical engineer…
“Information obtained from the results of the DPI of the packets may be utilized in various ways to assist in streamlining the running of a medical facility. The following discussion relates to making the task of providing maintenance to medical devices more efficient. To this end, the computer 120 receives an identifier 119 of a certain medical device that needs to receive maintenance. For example, the identifier may be received from a biomedical engineer at the medical facility, a computerized system used to manage inventory at the medical facility, or a technician or company that needs to provide maintenance to the certain medical device. Depending on the status of the certain medical device, the computer 120 may perform different operations.” (col. 12, lines 62-67 to col. 13, lines 1-7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to have biomedical engineers for servicing equipment as taught by Maissy et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Idan who teaches using engineers for providing services and medical equipment. Idan benefits by using biomedical engineers for such tasks.
Regarding claim 18
The system of claim 11, wherein the outputting includes:
outputting the guidance on an electronic processing device operable by a biomedical engineer.
Idan teaches:
Obtain (outputting) guidance using a mobile (electronic processing) device….
“Assigning a location-agnostic task to one or more field professional may include sending a link to a remote assistance session to a mobile device associated with the field professional. The mobile device may be the field professional communication device 180A, or may be another device. The remote assistance session may be, for example, a remote desktop access tool, a virtual private network, or access to an administrator website. The link may enable the field professional to complete the location agnostic task. Alternatively, assigning a location-agnostic task to one or more field professional may include transferring a call to a mobile device associated with the one or more field professional. The video call may connect a field professional with a user, with another field professional, or with any other employee. The mobile device may be the field professional communication device 180A, or may be another device. The video call may enable a field professional to provide remote assistance or obtain further information and guidance related to the location-agnostic task.” [0319]
Engineers as field professional…
“The present disclosure is directed to systems and methods for distributing resources in the field, including professionals, engineers, agents, and the like. The term “field professional” refers, for example, to a trained and/or qualified individual who provides services (often, expert) at a location or worksite…” [0097]
Field professionals and dialysis machine, therefore an engineer for a dialysis machine is a biomedical engineer…
“Some on-site services provided by field professionals require specific parts for completion. Every so often, while in the field, field professionals discover that they need a certain part to complete an on-site service. The following disclosure describes methods and systems for scheduling delivery of parts to field professionals currently in the field. In the context of this disclosure, “parts” may refer to any type of component or hardware utilized in connection with an on-site service by a field professional. In a first embodiment, the delivered parts may include replacement parts; for example, technicians scheduled to repair electrical devices may require different components for repairing the devices, such as, cables, fuses, switches, circuits, and more. In a second embodiment, the delivered parts may include disposables; for example, a medical service provider scheduled to visit patients may use a variety of disposables parts, such as syringes, needles, sutures, staples, packaging, tubing, catheters, medical gloves, gowns, masks, adhesives, and more. In a third embodiment, the delivered parts may include tools; for example, some on-site services require the field professionals to use certain tools not part of the default inventory, such as a driller for reinforced concrete or a dialysis machine. Field professionals assigned to provide on-site services may start their day with an inventory of parts that is configured to enable completion of the tasks scheduled for that day. Yet, it is not uncommon that during the day some parts are unexpectedly needed. In one case, a field professional arrives at a location associated with a scheduled task and learns that a specific part not found in her inventory (e.g., a tool) is needed to complete the on-site service. In another case, a field professional may unexpectedly be required to use parts in one task (e.g., replacement parts or disposables) meaning that the field professional may not be able to compete a later task.” [0506]
Biomedical Engineer
The combined references teach engineer and maintenance. They do not literally teach biomedical engineer.
Maissy et al. also in the business of engineer and maintenance teaches:
Biomedical engineer…
“Information obtained from the results of the DPI of the packets may be utilized in various ways to assist in streamlining the running of a medical facility. The following discussion relates to making the task of providing maintenance to medical devices more efficient. To this end, the computer 120 receives an identifier 119 of a certain medical device that needs to receive maintenance. For example, the identifier may be received from a biomedical engineer at the medical facility, a computerized system used to manage inventory at the medical facility, or a technician or company that needs to provide maintenance to the certain medical device. Depending on the status of the certain medical device, the computer 120 may perform different operations.” (col. 12, lines 62-67 to col. 13, lines 1-7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to have biomedical engineers for servicing equipment as taught by Maissy et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by the combined references that teach using engineers for providing services and medical equipment. The combined references benefit by using biomedical engineers for such tasks.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (7) above in further view of US Patent No. 7096189 to Srinivasan.
Regarding claim 7
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 6, wherein:
the identifying of the skill gap includes identifying a difference between a known task that the service record of the person indicates the person has previously performed and a skill related to resolving the servicing comprising a new task that the service record of the person indicates the person has not satisfied a predetermined expertise threshold has not previously performed; and
Idan teaches:
“At step 706, processing device 202 receives skills data indicative of capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers with respect to the task types. The skill data may include any classification of resource that indicates the capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers to perform a work associated with a demand category. Field professionals capable of performing the task types may be scheduled to perform the on-site services. The skills data may be any form of data associated with a field professional or a remote service provider and indicative of the capabilities of the field professional. In some embodiments, the skills data may be stored as a database record. For example, the skills data may include data indicative of years of experience, categories of capabilities, certificates of the capabilities, levels of skills, past performance records, titles, team roles, or the like.” [0183]
See Resolving Servicing below.
the information compensating for the skill gap includes an explanation of the difference between the known task and the new task.
Additional visit (new task) and task details of additional visit may be updated (difference between known task and new task), where the updated information is the explanation between the known and new task…
“Furthermore, the indication may also include details of spare parts required in the additional visit, and task details of the additional visit may be updated to include the spare parts. Similarly, the indication may also include details of what tools are required in the additional visit, and the task details of the additional visit may be updated to include the required tools. The field professional may also indicate that spare parts or tools must be ordered. The indication may also include details of what field professional skills are needed to complete the on-site service of the additional visit. The indication may include at least two of a time estimation of the work required in the additional visit, details of spare parts required in the additional visit, details of tools required in the additional visit, and details of skills of a field professional required in the additional visit.” [0389]
See Difference below.
Resolving Servicing
The combined references teach training. They do not specifically teach resolving servicing.
Jaggers et al. also in the business of training teaches:
Profile of technician indicates lacks skills necessary for servicing machine…
“… If the first technician profile indicates that the first technician lacks at least some of the one or more skill sets necessary for servicing the second machine, device, or system while at the customer location, the method can comprise: presenting, by the computer, an information set comprising technician training materials associated with the second machine, device, or system to the first technician, where the technician training materials can be: viewable by the first technician on a display device; and provided as one or more of a recorded video, a virtual reality environment, a game, a remotely located person, or a virtual assistant; and updating, by the computer, the first technician profile to record the presentation of the technician training materials associated with the second machine, device, or system to the first technician.” [0016]
Service order to match technician with skills to a task…
“Upon receipt of the request for service at a customer location, a review of a database comprising information about a plurality of technician profiles, such as by a query, can be conducted to match a technician having the skills or training suitable for completing the task for which the customer service order was generated. The technician can comprise information about each of the technicians that are dispatchable to a customer location and/or who might need training in one or more skills associated with the repair or servicing of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. In this regard, the database having the technician information therein can incorporate information about machines, devices, or systems for which the technician has previously received training and/or for which he has obtained experience working thereon.” [0043]
New technicians (person not previously performed service)…
“Moreover, while there is a dearth of experienced persons to impart training to new technicians today, there exists a huge number of potential training resources potentially available to provide training material to them. However, these resources are largely uncurated, and many, if not most, will be ineffective to impart the body of skills needed for a new technician to achieve mastery in an area, especially when learning styles of the technician are relevant to ensuring that the technician actually learns and can retain the needed skills. The methods herein provide a needed way to effectively select and validate the effectiveness of the body of training materials available today, such as videos available in online video libraries such as YouTube® in imparting needed skills to a technician in need of training. In short, the present disclosure provides methods to provide technicians with a “personal assistant” or mentor in real-time while he is at a customer location to which he has been dispatched.” [0074]
Delivery of training materials based on competency gaps (skill gap) needed for service…
“In a further aspect, prior to a delivery of training materials to a technician as a result of a query made by him, an assessment module can be configured to assess each technician's skills competency gaps using real-time data from pre-assessments and/or from retrieving information from the technician database record for each technician, wherein such retrieved information can be compared to a skill or skill set needed to service or repair a machine, device, or system of interest. Such identified skills can be imparted in one or more training events in which training materials are selected for delivery to the technician in need of training via the training module. The assessment information can be processed by the training module to provide the technician with a personalized set of training materials directed toward addressing one or more skill gaps in a training event that he has been determined to possess, whether in general or as specific to a machine, device, or system of interest.” [0081]
Example of training material…
“In some implementations, it could be beneficial to incorporate assessment information in the selection of training materials for the technician. This can enhance alignment of training materials delivered during a training event with the subjective characteristics associated with the technician in need of training. For example, if a technician is determined to have a learning style that is better suited to instruction that elicits his feedback during instruction, as opposed to a passive engagement with training material content during delivery thereof, the training module can selectively present him with training materials that require his active participation while the content is being presented. Such passive content may be a video instruction, whereas active content may be a game or feedback elicited during pauses in a video, as illustrative examples.” [0083]
Another example of feedback of training material while working and incorporating feedback into training material (update guidance)…
“…While the technician is present at a service or repair event location, he can make verbal observations while engaging in a machine, device, or system diagnosis. He can also provide feedback about any information that he is provided related to the service or repair event. For example, he can indicate that instructions provided to him were not sufficient and that he needs further information to complete his work. Such feedback can be incorporated into the training material aspect of the disclosure as discussed elsewhere herein.” [0163]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use feedback to update guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Jaggers et al. who teaches the benefits of updating training material based on feedback. The combined references benefit by the improved training material for servicing equipment.
Difference
The combined references teach service. They also teach service order associated with task and training material for services. They do not specifically teach difference between known task and new task.
Srinivasan also in the business of service teaches:
Place orders for services…
“Conventional computer based order processing systems allow a person to interact with a computer system to place orders for items such as goods or services. Merchants of the items often provide access to such order processing systems over a computer network such as the Internet using a standard set of protocols such as those commonly referred to as the World Wide Web and the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP). For example, a customer of the merchant can, for example, operate web browser software to navigate to a web site that the merchant operates the computer network such as the Internet. The web site can provide an online order processing system to allow the customer to order items offered for sale by the merchant over the Internet.” (col. 1, lines 16-28)
Compares change (new) order to existing (known) order and provides differences between the two orders so recipient may distinguish the differences…
“In particular, embodiments of the invention include method embodiments, apparatus or computer system embodiments, and computer readable medium embodiments which each operate to process orders in order processing systems. One method embodiment of the invention provides a method for processing changes to orders in an order processing system. The method comprises the steps of receiving a change to an existing order and generating a change order based on the existing order. The change order contains the change to the existing order. The method compares the change order to the existing order to generate a change order result that indicates differences between the change order and the existing order. The method then provides the change order result to at least one recipient such that the recipient may distinguish the differences between the change order and the existing order.” (col. 3, lines 41-57)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to provide a change order as taught by Srinivasan since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Srinivasan who teaches the benefits of showing the differences between an existing and changed order and the combined references benefit as they would need to know the differences in the orders in order to provide appropriate personnel and training.
Claims 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (6) above in further view of US Patent No. 7096189 to Srinivasan.
Regarding claim 15
The system of claim 11, wherein:
the identifying of the skill gap includes identifying a difference between a known task that the service record of the person indicates the person has previously performed and a skill related to resolving the servicing comprising a new task that the service record of the person indicates the person has not previously performed; and
Skill levels…
“At step 706, processing device 202 receives skills data indicative of capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers with respect to the task types. The skill data may include any classification of resource that indicates the capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers to perform a work associated with a demand category. Field professionals capable of performing the task types may be scheduled to perform the on-site services. The skills data may be any form of data associated with a field professional or a remote service provider and indicative of the capabilities of the field professional. In some embodiments, the skills data may be stored as a database record. For example, the skills data may include data indicative of years of experience, categories of capabilities, certificates of the capabilities, levels of skills, past performance records, titles, team roles, or the like.” [0183]
Example of professional may not have the proper training (identify skill gap) to complete a task…
“When a field professional provides a service to a user, sometimes the task assigned to the field professional cannot be completed in one visit. This may occur for a variety of reasons. For example, the field professional may not have the proper tools, supplies, or training on hand to complete a task. Other times, a user may request the incorrect service. For example, a user with a faulty internet connection may assume that a field professional needs to fix a modem, but when the field professional inspects the problem, the field professional may discover that an underground line is broken, requiring an entirely different service to correct the issue. In other cases, additional problems may arise during the service. For example, a field professional servicing an air conditioner may plan on replacing refrigerant in the system, but, while performing this service, the field professional may discover a dangerous ground fault in the air conditioner system that could start a fire. In some situations, inclement weather may prevent the service being performed. These examples illustrate that a field professional may realize, in the course of performing a task in the field, that an additional appointment will be needed to fully address the user's needs.” [0383]
See Resolving Servicing below.
the information compensating for the skill gap includes an explanation of the difference between the known task and the new task.
Identify (outputting) set of attributes including information on equipment (guidance) for the new technical service (tasks)….
“At step 906, processing device 202 may assign field professional to perform the new service further based on the obtained information associated with the at least one detail. For example, the detail may include a type of infrastructure in the location of the service, and working on the type of infrastructure may require a specific qualification (e.g., a certificate of electrician). Processing device 202 may inquire database 154 to obtain only the field professionals with the specific qualification, and assign the field professional among them to perform the new service. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may further identify from the plurality of records a set of attributes for completing performance the new technical service in a single on-site visit. The set of attributes may include, for example, information on the equipment, information on the infrastructure, information on the residence, information on environmental conditions, or any other information needed to perform the service.” [0269]
Additional visit with type of service (new task)…
“At step 2606, an indication may be received that an additional visit is required to complete the on-site service. The indication may be received from the field professional or the user while the field professional is in the field at the user's location. The indication may be received by an automated system via a network interface 206, by a manager, a member of the customer service unit 120, or another field professional. The indication may be sent from a communication device associated with the user, such as a smart phone app, a phone call to the customer service unit 120, or via a website. Alternatively, the indication may be sent from a communication device associated with the field professional, such as field professional communication device 180A. The indication may also include a time estimation of work required in the additional visit. The time estimation may include the time required on site to perform the service, as well as the travel time required. The indication may include an estimated travel duration derived from navigation software or field professional experience. The indication may be based on a field professional's estimate of the time required, or the indication may be based on known times required for types of services. For example, a field professional may input a type of service needed, such as replacing a valve. An automated system may access a database containing times according to tasks, find that, for instance, valve replacements require an hour, and attach the time to the indication automatically. The indication may also provide information about when the additional visit may occur. For example, if a field professional is installing cabinets and knows that glue must dry for three days before a next step may be completed, the field professional may provide this information in the indication.” [0388]
Additional visit (new task) and task details of additional visit may be updated (difference between known task and new task), where the updated information is the explanation between the known and new task…
“Furthermore, the indication may also include details of spare parts required in the additional visit, and task details of the additional visit may be updated to include the spare parts. Similarly, the indication may also include details of what tools are required in the additional visit, and the task details of the additional visit may be updated to include the required tools. The field professional may also indicate that spare parts or tools must be ordered. The indication may also include details of what field professional skills are needed to complete the on-site service of the additional visit. The indication may include at least two of a time estimation of the work required in the additional visit, details of spare parts required in the additional visit, details of tools required in the additional visit, and details of skills of a field professional required in the additional visit.” [0389]
See Difference below.
Resolving Servicing
The combined references teach training. They do not specifically teach resolving servicing.
Jaggers et al. also in the business of training teaches:
Profile of technician indicates lacks skills necessary for servicing machine…
“… If the first technician profile indicates that the first technician lacks at least some of the one or more skill sets necessary for servicing the second machine, device, or system while at the customer location, the method can comprise: presenting, by the computer, an information set comprising technician training materials associated with the second machine, device, or system to the first technician, where the technician training materials can be: viewable by the first technician on a display device; and provided as one or more of a recorded video, a virtual reality environment, a game, a remotely located person, or a virtual assistant; and updating, by the computer, the first technician profile to record the presentation of the technician training materials associated with the second machine, device, or system to the first technician.” [0016]
Service order to match technician with skills to a task…
“Upon receipt of the request for service at a customer location, a review of a database comprising information about a plurality of technician profiles, such as by a query, can be conducted to match a technician having the skills or training suitable for completing the task for which the customer service order was generated. The technician can comprise information about each of the technicians that are dispatchable to a customer location and/or who might need training in one or more skills associated with the repair or servicing of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. In this regard, the database having the technician information therein can incorporate information about machines, devices, or systems for which the technician has previously received training and/or for which he has obtained experience working thereon.” [0043]
New technicians (person not previously performed service)…
“Moreover, while there is a dearth of experienced persons to impart training to new technicians today, there exists a huge number of potential training resources potentially available to provide training material to them. However, these resources are largely uncurated, and many, if not most, will be ineffective to impart the body of skills needed for a new technician to achieve mastery in an area, especially when learning styles of the technician are relevant to ensuring that the technician actually learns and can retain the needed skills. The methods herein provide a needed way to effectively select and validate the effectiveness of the body of training materials available today, such as videos available in online video libraries such as YouTube® in imparting needed skills to a technician in need of training. In short, the present disclosure provides methods to provide technicians with a “personal assistant” or mentor in real-time while he is at a customer location to which he has been dispatched.” [0074]
Delivery of training materials based on competency gaps (skill gap) needed for service…
“In a further aspect, prior to a delivery of training materials to a technician as a result of a query made by him, an assessment module can be configured to assess each technician's skills competency gaps using real-time data from pre-assessments and/or from retrieving information from the technician database record for each technician, wherein such retrieved information can be compared to a skill or skill set needed to service or repair a machine, device, or system of interest. Such identified skills can be imparted in one or more training events in which training materials are selected for delivery to the technician in need of training via the training module. The assessment information can be processed by the training module to provide the technician with a personalized set of training materials directed toward addressing one or more skill gaps in a training event that he has been determined to possess, whether in general or as specific to a machine, device, or system of interest.” [0081]
Example of training material…
“In some implementations, it could be beneficial to incorporate assessment information in the selection of training materials for the technician. This can enhance alignment of training materials delivered during a training event with the subjective characteristics associated with the technician in need of training. For example, if a technician is determined to have a learning style that is better suited to instruction that elicits his feedback during instruction, as opposed to a passive engagement with training material content during delivery thereof, the training module can selectively present him with training materials that require his active participation while the content is being presented. Such passive content may be a video instruction, whereas active content may be a game or feedback elicited during pauses in a video, as illustrative examples.” [0083]
Another example of feedback of training material while working and incorporating feedback into training material (update guidance)…
“…While the technician is present at a service or repair event location, he can make verbal observations while engaging in a machine, device, or system diagnosis. He can also provide feedback about any information that he is provided related to the service or repair event. For example, he can indicate that instructions provided to him were not sufficient and that he needs further information to complete his work. Such feedback can be incorporated into the training material aspect of the disclosure as discussed elsewhere herein.” [0163]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use feedback to update guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Jaggers et al. who teaches the benefits of updating training material based on feedback. The combined references benefit by the improved training material for servicing equipment.
Difference
The combined references teach service. They also teach service order associated with task and training material for services. They do not specifically teach difference between known task and new task.
Srinivasan also in the business of service teaches:
Place orders for services…
“Conventional computer based order processing systems allow a person to interact with a computer system to place orders for items such as goods or services. Merchants of the items often provide access to such order processing systems over a computer network such as the Internet using a standard set of protocols such as those commonly referred to as the World Wide Web and the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP). For example, a customer of the merchant can, for example, operate web browser software to navigate to a web site that the merchant operates the computer network such as the Internet. The web site can provide an online order processing system to allow the customer to order items offered for sale by the merchant over the Internet.” (col. 1, lines 16-28)
Compares change (new) order to existing (known) order and provides differences between the two orders so recipient may distinguish the differences…
“In particular, embodiments of the invention include method embodiments, apparatus or computer system embodiments, and computer readable medium embodiments which each operate to process orders in order processing systems. One method embodiment of the invention provides a method for processing changes to orders in an order processing system. The method comprises the steps of receiving a change to an existing order and generating a change order based on the existing order. The change order contains the change to the existing order. The method compares the change order to the existing order to generate a change order result that indicates differences between the change order and the existing order. The method then provides the change order result to at least one recipient such that the recipient may distinguish the differences between the change order and the existing order.” (col. 3, lines 41-57)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to provide a change order as taught by Srinivasan since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Srinivasan who teaches the benefits of showing the differences between an existing and changed order and the combined references benefit as they would need to know the differences in the orders in order to provide appropriate personnel and training.
Regarding claim 19
A maintenance assistance method, comprising:
storing a plurality of resolved historical service cases and service manuals for a plurality of medical devices in a database;
Idan teaches:
Database (storing) historical experience of completing (resolved historical) technical services…
“Consistent with disclosed embodiments, systems, methods, and computer readable media enable scheduling technical services to be completed in a single visit. For example, consistent with one aspect a method includes: storing in a database a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with completing a set of technical services, wherein information in each record is derived from historical experience of completing each of the technical services; receiving a request for a new technical service associated with a location; and assigning a field professional to perform the new service having determined from information in the database a likelihood that the field professional will complete the new technical service in a single on-site visit at the location.” [0012]
Information to complete requested service including key instructions, guidelines, and any informative material (service manual)…
“In some embodiments, the information derived from the plurality of records at step 902 may include information obtained from one or more details associated with completing the requested service. The details may include customer inputs, logistics information, reminders, practice tips, check lists, key instructions, guidelines, or any informative material that would assist completing the requested service or getting the field professional prepared. In some embodiments, if the field professional knows the detail prior to performing the service, his or her likelihood to complete the requested service in a single on-site visit may increase.” [0265]
Example of services for dialysis machine (medical device)…
“At step 4952, a processing device (e.g., processing device 202) may receive a set of requests for on-site services, wherein the on-site services of at least some of the requests require parts. At step 4954, the processing device may schedule a set of tasks corresponding to the set of requests for a field professional. In one embodiment, a task associated with a certain request may be associated with a set of parts needed for completion of the set of tasks. The set of parts may include parts from a first type of parts and a second type of parts (e.g., replacement parts and tools). In one example the field professional may be a technician and the set of parts may include communication hardware (e.g., cables, switches) and a concrete drilling tool (e.g., concrete demolition hammer). The system may cause a delivery of either the first type of parts, the second type of parts, or both. In another example, the field professional may be a nurse and the set of parts may include a disposable medical product (e.g., drugs, stoma bags) and a medical device (e.g., a dialysis machine).” [0519]
See Manuals below.
See Medical Device below.
receiving information describing servicing to be performed on a medical device;
Example of receiving requests for on-site services for parts…
“At step 4952, a processing device (e.g., processing device 202) may receive a set of requests for on-site services, wherein the on-site services of at least some of the requests require parts. At step 4954, the processing device may schedule a set of tasks corresponding to the set of requests for a field professional. In one embodiment, a task associated with a certain request may be associated with a set of parts needed for completion of the set of tasks. The set of parts may include parts from a first type of parts and a second type of parts (e.g., replacement parts and tools). In one example the field professional may be a technician and the set of parts may include communication hardware (e.g., cables, switches) and a concrete drilling tool (e.g., concrete demolition hammer). The system may cause a delivery of either the first type of parts, the second type of parts, or both. In another example, the field professional may be a nurse and the set of parts may include a disposable medical product (e.g., drugs, stoma bags) and a medical device (e.g., a dialysis machine).” [0519]
determining one or more skills related to performing the servicing by comparing the received information with one or more historical service cases and/or service manuals;
Skill set based (determining) on task…
“In embodiments consistent with this disclosure, systems and methods are used to schedule tasks to one or more field professionals. The term “scheduling tasks” is used herein to refer, for example, to a process for determining an order (e.g., chronological order) for a set of tasks a field professional performs. The tasks may be associated with requested services and require a field professional to travel to different locations. There are different types of scheduled tasks, for example, installing, replacing, or repairing objects, and each task type may require a different skill set. In addition, some scheduled tasks may be location-based tasks that require the field professional to visit a customer's location, for example, business or residence, and some tasks may be location-agnostic tasks that do not require the field professional to visit a customer's location. Location-agnostic tasks may be viewed as support sessions that a technician can perform remote from the customer place.” [0098]
Determines skills based on certifications, past experience, past performance (historical service cases), where data entries (skills, such as certifications) are compared to criteria (received information)…
“At step 724, processing device 202 determines whether skills of the selected field professional comply with the task. If the skills of the selected field professional comply with the task, process 700B proceeds to step 726. Otherwise, process 700B goes back to step 720, in which processing device 202 may select another field professional. In some embodiments, the skills required for completing the on-site service may involve certifications, past experience, past performance, customer satisfaction levels, years of experience, or any other indicators reflecting likelihood of successfully completing the requested on-site service of the selected field professional. Such skills may be stored as data entries associated with the field professional in database 154, for example. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may retrieve such data entries after selecting the field professional at step 722, and determine whether the field professional has required skills for completing the on-site service by comparing values of the data entries to predetermined criteria. For example, if the requested on-site service involves repairing a device, processing device 202 may determine whether Donald has a certificate to repair the device. At step 726, processing device 202 may schedule the task on the selected date to the selected field professional. For example, in FIG. 7C, processing device 202 may schedule the task to Donald's empty time slot.” [0207]
See Manuals.
identifying a skill gap of a person who is to perform the servicing by comparing the determined one or more skills with a service record of the person, the skill gap comprising a difference between a known task that the service record of the person indicates the person has previously performed and a skill related to resolving the servicing comprising a new task that the service record of the person indicates the person has not previously performed; and
Skill levels…
“At step 706, processing device 202 receives skills data indicative of capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers with respect to the task types. The skill data may include any classification of resource that indicates the capabilities of each of field professionals 110 or remote service providers to perform a work associated with a demand category. Field professionals capable of performing the task types may be scheduled to perform the on-site services. The skills data may be any form of data associated with a field professional or a remote service provider and indicative of the capabilities of the field professional. In some embodiments, the skills data may be stored as a database record. For example, the skills data may include data indicative of years of experience, categories of capabilities, certificates of the capabilities, levels of skills, past performance records, titles, team roles, or the like.” [0183]
Example of professional may not have the proper training (identify skill gap) to complete a task…
“When a field professional provides a service to a user, sometimes the task assigned to the field professional cannot be completed in one visit. This may occur for a variety of reasons. For example, the field professional may not have the proper tools, supplies, or training on hand to complete a task. Other times, a user may request the incorrect service. For example, a user with a faulty internet connection may assume that a field professional needs to fix a modem, but when the field professional inspects the problem, the field professional may discover that an underground line is broken, requiring an entirely different service to correct the issue. In other cases, additional problems may arise during the service. For example, a field professional servicing an air conditioner may plan on replacing refrigerant in the system, but, while performing this service, the field professional may discover a dangerous ground fault in the air conditioner system that could start a fire. In some situations, inclement weather may prevent the service being performed. These examples illustrate that a field professional may realize, in the course of performing a task in the field, that an additional appointment will be needed to fully address the user's needs.” [0383]
See Resolving Servicing below.
outputting guidance for performing the servicing including an explanation of the difference between the known task and the new task.
Identify (outputting) set of attributes including information on equipment (guidance) for the new technical service (tasks)….
“At step 906, processing device 202 may assign field professional to perform the new service further based on the obtained information associated with the at least one detail. For example, the detail may include a type of infrastructure in the location of the service, and working on the type of infrastructure may require a specific qualification (e.g., a certificate of electrician). Processing device 202 may inquire database 154 to obtain only the field professionals with the specific qualification, and assign the field professional among them to perform the new service. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may further identify from the plurality of records a set of attributes for completing performance the new technical service in a single on-site visit. The set of attributes may include, for example, information on the equipment, information on the infrastructure, information on the residence, information on environmental conditions, or any other information needed to perform the service.” [0269]
Additional visit with type of service (new task)…
“At step 2606, an indication may be received that an additional visit is required to complete the on-site service. The indication may be received from the field professional or the user while the field professional is in the field at the user's location. The indication may be received by an automated system via a network interface 206, by a manager, a member of the customer service unit 120, or another field professional. The indication may be sent from a communication device associated with the user, such as a smart phone app, a phone call to the customer service unit 120, or via a website. Alternatively, the indication may be sent from a communication device associated with the field professional, such as field professional communication device 180A. The indication may also include a time estimation of work required in the additional visit. The time estimation may include the time required on site to perform the service, as well as the travel time required. The indication may include an estimated travel duration derived from navigation software or field professional experience. The indication may be based on a field professional's estimate of the time required, or the indication may be based on known times required for types of services. For example, a field professional may input a type of service needed, such as replacing a valve. An automated system may access a database containing times according to tasks, find that, for instance, valve replacements require an hour, and attach the time to the indication automatically. The indication may also provide information about when the additional visit may occur. For example, if a field professional is installing cabinets and knows that glue must dry for three days before a next step may be completed, the field professional may provide this information in the indication.” [0388]
Additional visit (new task) and task details of additional visit may be updated (difference between known task and new task), where the updated information is the explanation between the known and new task…
“Furthermore, the indication may also include details of spare parts required in the additional visit, and task details of the additional visit may be updated to include the spare parts. Similarly, the indication may also include details of what tools are required in the additional visit, and the task details of the additional visit may be updated to include the required tools. The field professional may also indicate that spare parts or tools must be ordered. The indication may also include details of what field professional skills are needed to complete the on-site service of the additional visit. The indication may include at least two of a time estimation of the work required in the additional visit, details of spare parts required in the additional visit, details of tools required in the additional visit, and details of skills of a field professional required in the additional visit.” [0389]
See Difference below.
Manuals
Idan teaches maintenance and skillset. They also teach information. They do not literally teach “service manuals.”
Jaggers et al. teaches:
Skill set and service manuals (guidance)…
“As a non-limiting example of the training, a technician could be dispatched to the customer location to repair a Trane® HVAC compressor for which he has been determined via querying of the technician database to possess the necessary skills and, when necessary or requested, state licensing to allow him to accurately complete the repair. While at the location, however, he identifies commercial refrigeration equipment that, while not the subject of the current service call, could be a reason why a customer service request could be generated in the future. As noted previously, he can be prompted to generate photos or videos of the first customer location, or the photos or videos can be automatically generated while he is working on site via a camera. If it is determined that the technician does not have a skill set that is suitable to service or repair the identified machine, device, or system—here the refrigeration equipment—while at the location or at a later time he can be presented with videos, service manuals etc. associated with that identified machine, device, or system of interest. Such presented training material content can be followed by an assessment that can determine whether the technician successfully learned the presented training. If so, his technician profile can be updated. If not, information associated with the lack of mastery of the required skills can also be included in his technician profile.” [0070]
Libraries provide (outputting) training materials (guidance) for technician in need of training (identified skill gap)…
“Still further, the methods and systems herein comprise generating one or more libraries of training material, wherein the one or more libraries comprise a plurality of videos, written materials, games, audio, virtual reality materials, and augmented reality materials. Such libraries can be configured to provide training materials to a technician in need of training in a skill or task associated with the service or repair of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. The training material is selectable via a training module that can access resources that allow the training material to be customized for a specific technician, a class of technician, or a group of technicians based on a number of technician characteristics. An assessment can be generated for the technician after he completes a training event to determine whether the selected information was sufficient in delivering necessary learning to him. Operation of the training module can be modified for subsequent training material delivery if it is determined from the assessment that the technician did not obtain the desired training.” [0112]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of Idan the ability to use service manuals for guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Idan who teaches training and using information for providing services. Idan benefits by using service manuals for training purposes as well.
Medical Device
The combined references teach maintenance of machines by engineers (para. [0097] of Idan). They also teach medical devices. They do not explicitly teach maintenance or servicing of medical devices. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that medical devices are machines and that they need to be maintained.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that the combined references skills of maintaining machines would apply to medical devices. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use engineers to maintain machines and would provide predictable results.
Resolving Servicing
The combined references teach training. They do not specifically teach resolving servicing.
Jaggers et al. also in the business of training teaches:
Profile of technician indicates lacks skills necessary for servicing machine…
“… If the first technician profile indicates that the first technician lacks at least some of the one or more skill sets necessary for servicing the second machine, device, or system while at the customer location, the method can comprise: presenting, by the computer, an information set comprising technician training materials associated with the second machine, device, or system to the first technician, where the technician training materials can be: viewable by the first technician on a display device; and provided as one or more of a recorded video, a virtual reality environment, a game, a remotely located person, or a virtual assistant; and updating, by the computer, the first technician profile to record the presentation of the technician training materials associated with the second machine, device, or system to the first technician.” [0016]
Service order to match technician with skills to a task…
“Upon receipt of the request for service at a customer location, a review of a database comprising information about a plurality of technician profiles, such as by a query, can be conducted to match a technician having the skills or training suitable for completing the task for which the customer service order was generated. The technician can comprise information about each of the technicians that are dispatchable to a customer location and/or who might need training in one or more skills associated with the repair or servicing of a machine, device, or system at a customer location. In this regard, the database having the technician information therein can incorporate information about machines, devices, or systems for which the technician has previously received training and/or for which he has obtained experience working thereon.” [0043]
New technicians (person not previously performed service)…
“Moreover, while there is a dearth of experienced persons to impart training to new technicians today, there exists a huge number of potential training resources potentially available to provide training material to them. However, these resources are largely uncurated, and many, if not most, will be ineffective to impart the body of skills needed for a new technician to achieve mastery in an area, especially when learning styles of the technician are relevant to ensuring that the technician actually learns and can retain the needed skills. The methods herein provide a needed way to effectively select and validate the effectiveness of the body of training materials available today, such as videos available in online video libraries such as YouTube® in imparting needed skills to a technician in need of training. In short, the present disclosure provides methods to provide technicians with a “personal assistant” or mentor in real-time while he is at a customer location to which he has been dispatched.” [0074]
Delivery of training materials based on competency gaps (skill gap) needed for service…
“In a further aspect, prior to a delivery of training materials to a technician as a result of a query made by him, an assessment module can be configured to assess each technician's skills competency gaps using real-time data from pre-assessments and/or from retrieving information from the technician database record for each technician, wherein such retrieved information can be compared to a skill or skill set needed to service or repair a machine, device, or system of interest. Such identified skills can be imparted in one or more training events in which training materials are selected for delivery to the technician in need of training via the training module. The assessment information can be processed by the training module to provide the technician with a personalized set of training materials directed toward addressing one or more skill gaps in a training event that he has been determined to possess, whether in general or as specific to a machine, device, or system of interest.” [0081]
Example of training material…
“In some implementations, it could be beneficial to incorporate assessment information in the selection of training materials for the technician. This can enhance alignment of training materials delivered during a training event with the subjective characteristics associated with the technician in need of training. For example, if a technician is determined to have a learning style that is better suited to instruction that elicits his feedback during instruction, as opposed to a passive engagement with training material content during delivery thereof, the training module can selectively present him with training materials that require his active participation while the content is being presented. Such passive content may be a video instruction, whereas active content may be a game or feedback elicited during pauses in a video, as illustrative examples.” [0083]
Another example of feedback of training material while working and incorporating feedback into training material (update guidance)…
“…While the technician is present at a service or repair event location, he can make verbal observations while engaging in a machine, device, or system diagnosis. He can also provide feedback about any information that he is provided related to the service or repair event. For example, he can indicate that instructions provided to him were not sufficient and that he needs further information to complete his work. Such feedback can be incorporated into the training material aspect of the disclosure as discussed elsewhere herein.” [0163]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use feedback to update guidance as taught by Jaggers et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Jaggers et al. who teaches the benefits of updating training material based on feedback. The combined references benefit by the improved training material for servicing equipment.
Difference
The combined references teach service. They also teach service order associated with task and training material for services. They do not specifically teach difference between known task and new task.
Srinivasan also in the business of service teaches:
Place orders for services…
“Conventional computer based order processing systems allow a person to interact with a computer system to place orders for items such as goods or services. Merchants of the items often provide access to such order processing systems over a computer network such as the Internet using a standard set of protocols such as those commonly referred to as the World Wide Web and the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP). For example, a customer of the merchant can, for example, operate web browser software to navigate to a web site that the merchant operates the computer network such as the Internet. The web site can provide an online order processing system to allow the customer to order items offered for sale by the merchant over the Internet.” (col. 1, lines 16-28)
Compares change (new) order to existing (known) order and provides differences between the two orders so recipient may distinguish the differences…
“In particular, embodiments of the invention include method embodiments, apparatus or computer system embodiments, and computer readable medium embodiments which each operate to process orders in order processing systems. One method embodiment of the invention provides a method for processing changes to orders in an order processing system. The method comprises the steps of receiving a change to an existing order and generating a change order based on the existing order. The change order contains the change to the existing order. The method compares the change order to the existing order to generate a change order result that indicates differences between the change order and the existing order. The method then provides the change order result to at least one recipient such that the recipient may distinguish the differences between the change order and the existing order.” (col. 3, lines 41-57)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to provide a change order as taught by Srinivasan since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Srinivasan who teaches the benefits of showing the differences between an existing and changed order and the combined references benefit as they would need to know the differences in the orders in order to provide appropriate personnel and training.
Regarding claim 20
The method of claim 19, further comprising:
responsive to the likelihood being below a threshold, outputting guidance comprising a recommendation to initiate a service call for a third party to perform the servicing, or responsive to the likelihood being above the threshold, outputting the guidance comprising information compensating for the skill gap.
Idan teaches:
Likelihood below threshold and assign different field professional…
“At step 910, processing device 202 may determine if, in view of the received information, the likelihood of the assigned field professional to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit is still greater from a threshold. Step 910 may take place after the field professional was assigned and before the date and time that the task is scheduled for. For example, the information may be received on the same day as the scheduled task. Alternatively, the information may be received one or more days before the scheduled task. When the likelihood is below the threshold, processing device 202 may assign a different field professional with higher likelihood to complete the customer's request of service in a single visit. When the likelihood is greater the threshold, processing device 202 may continue with the same field professional and wait for additional information that may change the likelihood.” [0271]
Example of remote (third party) services and calls…
“At step 902, processing device 202 stores a plurality of records reflecting characteristics associated with completing a set of technical services in database 154. The technical services may include any combination of any number of on-site services or remote services. For example, the on-site services may include any of installing, replacing, repairing, or inspecting products or services of any of water, sewage, electricity, gas, heat, Internet, telephone, mobile communications, or the like. The remote services may include any of telephone calls, video chats, text messages, mobile application communications, or any other technical or support services that may provide answers to a customer's questions or instructions to solve a problem.” [0252]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH BARTLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684