DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Currently claims 10-11, and 13-15 and 17- 26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 15, 17-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al., (US6461304B1) in view of Nakamura (US4732156A) and Shimizu et al., (US20230000464A1)
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka teaches An ultrasonic probe device comprising (fig. 19 insertion unit 602):
a main body comprising (fig. 19 ultrasound inspection apparatus 630 comprises body unit 602):
a tube mounting part (figs. 19 and 20 body unit 631 comprising the endoscope connecting mechanism 633 and screw ring 42) configured to be mounted at a leading end of a tube of an endoscopy device (fig. 19 the body unit of the ultrasound inspection apparatus 630 can be detachably attached to the distal end portion 602a through the endoscope connecting mechanism 633 col. 15 line 49-53) the tube mounting part including a peripheral wall configures to surround at least a portion of an outer periphery of the leading end of the tube (fig. 19 endoscope connecting mechanism 633 comprises a peripheral barrel that surrounds a portion of the endoscope end tube col. 16 lines 5-7); and
a main housing protruding from one side of the tube mounting part (fig. 19 end cap 611 protrudes out)
wherein an ultrasonic module coupling portion is disposed at an opening portion of an upper end of the main housing (fig. 19 endoscope connecting mechanism 633 is at an upper end of the end cap 611)
an ultrasonic module is coupled to the ultrasonic module coupling portion of the main housing (fig. 19 ultrasound apparatus 630 is part of body unit 631).
However, Tanaka fails to explicitly disclose wherein the main housing includes a driving part accommodation space capable of accommodating a rotation driving part; wherein the rotation driving part includes a motor and a driving side magnet coupled to a driving shaft of the motor and configured to rotate, wherein the rotation driving part is disposed in the driving part accommodation space; wherein an ultrasonic module body is coupled to the ultrasonic module coupling portion of the main housing and defines a reflector assembly accommodation space, wherein a reflector assembly comprising a reflector and a driven side magnet coupled to a bottom surface of the reflector is disposed in the reflector assembly accommodation space, wherein a transducer is disposed at one side of the reflector assembly, and wherein the motor and the reflector assembly are spatially separated, and the driving side magnet and the driven side magnet are connected by a magnetic force such that, when the driving side magnet rotates, the driven side magnet is rotated by the magnetic force and the reflector rotates.
In the same ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Nakamura teaches wherein the main housing defines a driving part accommodation (fig. 1 ultrasonic endoscope comprises operation section 10, insertion section 12, and part of the ultrasonic scanning unit 16 and defines a driving part accommodation col. 2 line 14-18; fig. 2 the main housing would end at the wall 16d);
wherein a rotation driving part includes a motor (fig. 2 motor 34 col. 2 line 40-41) and a driving side magnet coupled to a driving shaft of the motor and configured to rotate (fig. 2 magnet 28c is coupled to transmission shaft 32 col. 36-42),
wherein the motor and the driving side magnet are both disposed in the driving part accommodation space (see annotated fig. 1 and 2);
wherein an ultrasonic module body comprises an approximately cylindrical shape (fig. 2 ultrasonic unit 16 is approximately cylindrical, as it is mostly cylindrical) comprising a closer lower side (fig. 2 proximal end wall 16C), comprises an insertion end (see annotated fig. 2) positioned at a lower end of the ultrasound module body (fig. 2 threaded portion 16B) and defines a reflector assembly accommodation space (fig. 2 ultrasonic scanning unit 16 contains a scanning chamber 36 that includes rotating mirror 44 col. 3 lines 26-30),
wherein the insertion end defines an internal space in which the driving side magnet is accommodated (see annotated fig. 2) wherein a reflector assembly comprising a reflector and a driven side magnet coupled to a bottom surface of the reflector is disposed in the reflector assembly accommodation space (fig. 2 reflecting mirror 44 has a bottom surface that is coupled to the magnetic), wherein a transducer is disposed at one side of the reflector assembly (fig. 2 ultrasonic vibrator 38 is disposed on a side col. 2 lines 62-68),
wherein the closed lower side of the ultrasonic module body separates the internal space of the insertion end from the reflector assembly accommodation space (fig. 2 wall 16C separates the insertion end from the reflection assembly) and is disposed between the driving side magnet and the driven side magnet (fig. 2 wall 16C is between the magnets 42C and 28C), and
wherein the motor and the reflector assembly are spatially separated (fig. 1 and 2, the motor 34 and the reflecting mirror 44 are spatially separated), and the driving side magnet and the driven side magnet are connected by a magnetic force such that, when the driving side magnet rotates, the driven side magnet is rotated by the magnetic force and the reflector rotates (fig. 2 when member 28 is rotated, member 42 is also rotated due to the magnetics of each member being connected magnetically col. 3 lines 19-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the endoscope of Tanaka with the reflector/motor combination of Nakamura, as both inventions relate to ultrasound endoscopic devices, and would yield the predictable result of an ultrasound endoscope with a reflective mirror and a motor that is magnetically coupled to the mirror to one of ordinary skill. One of ordinary skill would be able to make such a combination, and the results of Tanaka using a reflective mirror and a motor that is magnetically coupled to the mirror are reasonably predictable.
However, the combination of references are silent regarding an open upper side.
In the same ultrasound field of endeavor, Shimizu teaches an open upper side (fig. 2A the catheter 10 comprises a distal end cap 22, and closes the opening of the sheath [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the technique of an open ultrasound module body that is closed by a cap of Shimuzu to the ultrasound module body of modified Tanaka, as both inventions relate to ultrasound imaging devices, and would yield the predictable result of an ultrasound imaging device with an open ultrasonic module body that has a cap to close the opening. This would be advantageous as it would improve access to the interior, facilitating installation and positioning of the ultrasound components while also being able to enclose the device during operation.
Regarding claim 15, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 10, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a magnetic force blocking part is provided between the motor and the driving side magnet.
However, in the same endoscope field of endeavor, Nakamura teaches wherein a magnetic force blocking part is disposed between the motor and the driving side magnet (see annotated fig. 2, the part marked wall would be able to partially alter the magnetic field since it is made of a material, and is between the magnet 28c and the motor 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the endoscope of Tanaka with a wall between the motor and driven side magnet of Nakamura, as both inventions relate to ultrasound endoscopic devices, and would yield the predictable result of an ultrasound endoscope with a wall between the motor and driven side magnet to one of ordinary skill. One of ordinary skill would be able to make such a combination, and the results of Tanaka a wall between the motor and driven side magnet are reasonably predictable.
Regarding claim 17, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 10, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a reflector assembly support shaft is disposed on a bottom surface of the reflector assembly accommodation space and supports the reflector assembly so that the reflector assembly is rotatable.
However in the same ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Nakamura teaches wherein a reflector assembly support shaft is disposed on a bottom surface of the reflector assembly accommodation space and supports the reflector assembly so that the reflector assembly is rotatable (fig. 2 pivot 42a supports the rotating mirror 44 col. 3 line 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the endoscope of Tanaka with the reflector/motor combination of Nakamura, as both inventions relate to ultrasound endoscopic devices, and would yield the predictable result of an ultrasound endoscope with a reflective mirror and a motor that is magnetically coupled to the mirror to one of ordinary skill. One of ordinary skill would be able to make such a combination, and the results of Tanaka using a reflective mirror and a motor that is magnetically coupled to the mirror are reasonably predictable.
Regarding claim 18, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 17, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a transducer housing is coupled to an upper end of the ultrasonic module body and accommodates the transducer.
In the same endoscope field of endeavor, Nakamura teaches wherein a transducer housing is coupled to an upper end of the ultrasonic module body and accommodates the transducer (fig. 2 the vibrator 38 is disposed inside distal end portion of casing 16a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the endoscope of Tanaka with the reflector/motor combination of Nakamura, as both inventions relate to ultrasound endoscopic devices, and would yield the predictable result of an ultrasound endoscope with a reflective mirror and a motor that is magnetically coupled to the mirror to one of ordinary skill. One of ordinary skill would be able to make such a combination, and the results of Tanaka using a reflective mirror and a motor that is magnetically coupled to the mirror are reasonably predictable.
Regarding claim 19, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 18, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the transducer comprises a transducer wire, and a wire guide through which the transducer wire passes is disposed in the ultrasonic module body.
However in the same ultrasound field of endeavor, Nakamura teaches wherein the transducer comprises a transducer wire, and a wire guide through which the transducer wire passes is disposed in the ultrasonic module body (fig. 2 signal cable 33a is in a lumen guide that passes through the ultrasound scanning unit 16, and would have a transducer wire in the cable itself col. 2 line 66-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the endoscope of Tanaka with the reflector/motor combination of Nakamura, as both inventions relate to ultrasound endoscopic devices, and would yield the predictable result of an ultrasound endoscope with a reflective mirror and a motor that is magnetically coupled to the mirror to one of ordinary skill. One of ordinary skill would be able to make such a combination, and the results of Tanaka using a reflective mirror and a motor that is magnetically coupled to the mirror are reasonably predictable.
Regarding claim 20, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 18, but fails to explicitly disclose a cap coupled to the ultrasonic module body and configured to cover an upper portion of the transducer housing.
In the same endoscope field of endeavor, Shimizu teaches a cap coupled to the ultrasonic module body and configured to cover an upper portion of the transducer housing (fig. 2A Cap 22 [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the technique of an open ultrasound module body that is closed by a cap of Shimuzu to the ultrasound module body of modified Tanaka, as both inventions relate to ultrasound imaging devices, and would yield the predictable result of an ultrasound imaging device with an open ultrasonic module body that has a cap to close the opening. This would be advantageous as it would improve access to the interior, facilitating installation and positioning of the ultrasound components while also being able to enclose the device during operation.
Regarding claim 21, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 10, wherein Tanaka further teaches wherein the main body is configured to not block an objective lens disposed on an end surface of the tube (fig. 19 end cap 11 has through holes comprising illuminating windows 605 so it does not block objective lens 605 col. 15 lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 22, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 22, wherein Tanaka further teaches wherein the main body includes an insert portion configured to be inserted into a hole defined in the end surface of the tube to support coupling of the main body to the tube (fig. 19 rib 625 is configured to be inserted to groove 626 col. 15 lines 29-32).
Regarding claim 25, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 10, wherein Tanaka further teaches a sleeve coupled to an edge of an end of the tube mounting part and configured to be coupled to an outer peripheral surface of the tube (fig. 19 screw ring 642is coupled to the) to fix an end of the tube mounting part to the outer peripheral surface of the tube of the endoscopy device (col. 16 line 17-24 screw ring 642 is screwed onto of the peripheral barrel 636 (which is a part of the body unit 631); col. 16 line 66- col. line 2 the screw ring 642 affixes the body unit 631 to the front end portion of the insertion unit 602).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Nakamura and Shimizu as applied to claim 10, and in further view of Teo et al., (US20120172698 A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 10, wherein Tanaka further teaches the through-hole is defined at a bottom surface of the main housing, wherein a wire configured for operation of the transducer is extended through the through-hole (fig. 11 the cross section shows a through hole for the signal cables of the transducers and is at a bottom of the housing), but fails to explicitly disclose a wire for operating the rotation driving part.
In the same endoscope field of endeavor, Teo teaches a wire for operating the rotation driving part (fig. 2 control unit 120 is electrically connected to motor 206 via leads 131, and leads 131 deliver current to stator 208 to generate a magnetic field that rotates rotor 210 [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the ultrasound portion of modified Tanaka to comprise the motor/magnet/reflector layout of Teo, as this would improve imaging quality (see Teo [0031]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Nakamura and Shimizu as applied to claim 10, and in further view of Schwarzschild et al., (US4977898A).
Regarding claim 13, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 10, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the rotation driving part comprises a substrate coupled to a terminal of the motor and having a motor driving wire for operating the motor.
In the same ultrasound field of endeavor, Schwarzschild teaches wherein the rotation driving part further includes a substrate coupled to a terminal of the motor (fig. 2 terminal plate 39 have connections to the motor coils 33 through two conductors col. 7 line 17-23) and having a motor driving wire configured to operate the motor (col. 7 line 21-22 there are two conductors for the motor coils 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the device of modified Tanaka with the components as taught by Schwarzschild, as this would allow for the producing of the invention at a fraction of the cost (see Schwarzschild col. 2 line 50-54) as well as being highly miniaturized and greatly improved relative to known devices (see Schwarzschild Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 13, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is bonded to a body of the motor by a bonding part.
However in the same ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Schwarzschild teaches wherein the substrate is bonded to a body of the motor by a bonding part (col. 7 line 12, the terminal board is adhesively installed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the device of modified Tanaka with the components as taught by Schwarzschild, as this would allow for the producing of the invention at a fraction of the cost (see Schwarzschild col. 2 line 50-54) as well as being highly miniaturized and greatly improved relative to known devices (see Schwarzschild Abstract).
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Nakamura and Shimizu as applied to claim 13, and in further view of Hatakeyama (US20230052510A1).
Regarding claim 23, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 13, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is a flexible substrate, and the terminal is coupled to the flexible substrate by soldering.
In the same ultrasound field of endeavor, Hatakeyama teaches wherein the substrate is a flexible substrate, and the terminal is coupled to the flexible substrate by soldering (flexible board 9 is soldered to signal lines connecting to terminals 912T and 913T).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute the substrate of modified Tanaka with the flexible board that is coupled to the terminal through soldering of Hatakeyama, as both inventions relate to ultrasound endoscopes and would yield the predictable results of an ultrasonic endoscope that has a flexible substrate coupled to a terminal by soldering to one of ordinary skill. One of ordinary skill would be able to perform such a substitution, and the results of modified Tanka having a flexible board that is coupled to the terminal through soldering are reasonably predictable.
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Nakamura and Shimizu as applied to claim 13, and in further view of Robinson (US5313128A).
Regarding claim 24, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 13, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is a flexible substrate, and the flexible substrate is bonded to a body of the motor by an adhesive portion.
In a reference that is pertinent to the problem of attaching and retaining a flexible substrate relative to a motor as faced by the inventor, Robinson teaches wherein the substrate is a flexible substrate, and the flexible substrate is bonded to a body of the motor by an adhesive portion (col. 3 lines 62-66 the flexible printed circuit 100 has an adhesive coating that allows it to adhere to the shaft of the stator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the device of modified Tanaka with the adhesion of Robinson, as this would lead to the elimination of the need for lead wire routing (see Robinson col. 2 lines 40-41).
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Nakamura and Shimizu as applied to claim 18, and in further view of Zhou (US9456802B2) and Sandrin (US20210369242A1).
Regarding claim 26, modified Tanaka teaches the device of claim 18, but fails to explicitly disclose member is disposed at a coupling portion between the transducer housing and the ultrasonic module body.
In the same ultrasound field of endeavor, Zhou teaches member is disposed at a coupling portion between the transducer housing and the ultrasonic module body (fig. 1 frame 109 surrounds reflector 104 and is disposed between the transducer 012 and the reflector 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the device of modified Tanaka with the frame of Zhou, as both inventions relate to ultrasound devices with reflectors, and would yield the predictable result of an ultrasound device with a frame around the reflector to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would be able to perform such a substitution, and the results of modified Tanaka having a frame around the reflector are reasonably predictable.
However the combination of references fails to explicitly disclose a sealing member.
In the same ultrasound field of endeavor, Sandrin teaches a sealing member ([0067] ultrasound transcoder 103 is covered with membrane 104 that ensures it is sealed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the transducer of modified Tanaka with the sealing membrane of Sandrin, as this would avoid leakage that occurs (see Sandrin [0068]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references of Tanaka and Nakamura fails to teach:
(1) "wherein the main housing defines a driving part accommodation space,... wherein the motor and the driving side magnet are both disposed in the driving part accommodation space,... wherein the insertion end defines an internal space in which the driving side magnet is accommodated," and (2) "wherein the closed lower side of the ultrasonic module body separates the internal space of the insertion end from the reflector assembly accommodation space and is disposed between the driving side magnet and the driven side magnet,".
Examiner disagrees. Tanaka and Nakamura teach all the limitations of claim 1 except the open upper side of the ultrasound module body, which Shimuzu has now been used to teach. Further, for the remaining limitations, Examiner has adjusted the citations for each limitation (see above and see annotated fig. 2).
The remaining claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as above.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL YIMING FANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798