DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 17-18 recite the limitation, “a wireless transceiver module” as disclosed in ¶0025 and as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4B.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11, 13-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvist et al. (US PGPUB #2013/0083944) in view of Benattar (US PGPUB #2020/0221220).
Regarding Claim 1, Kvist discloses an audio processing device (abstract, figs. 1-4B) comprising:
an object tracker (Kvist ¶0100 discloses with respect to figs. 3c to 3e, an example of tracking the orientation/position of the device relative to the user is shown) configured to determine a position of a microphone and a position of a user using the microphone (Kvist ¶0101 discloses with regards to fig. 3c the user 251 holds the device 10 [that includes microphone] with an orientation away from the user at a first angle 281 from the vertical. After a period the electronic device 10 has been moved to a substantially vertical position 283 of the user [fig. 3d]. Furthermore at a later period the device 10 is shown in fig. 3e as being held with an orientation towards the user at a further angle 285); and
an audio processor (Kvist ¶0017-¶0022 at least one processor; figs. 1-2) configured to:
based on one or both of the determined position of the microphone and the determined position of the user, process an audio signal (Kvist ¶0030 discloses the sensor is preferably further configured to determine a first position of the apparatus, and the processor is preferably further configured to: receive at least one audio signal; and generate for each audio signal at least one signal processing parameter dependent on the sensors determined first position of the apparatus), using an audio processing algorithm (Kvist ¶0115 discloses the beamformer 111 having received the digital audio signals and also the beamformer weighting array parameters then applies the beamforming weighting array to the audio signal to generate a series of processed audio signals in attempt to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of these signals. Any suitable beamforming algorithm can be used. For example each of the digital audio signals may be input to a filter with an adjustable gain and delay, which is provided from the weighting array parameters).
Kvist may not explicitly disclose an audio processing algorithm configured to perform one or more frequency-domain adjustments of the audio signal and one or more time-domain adjustments of the audio signal, to generate a processed audio signal; and provide the processed audio signal as output of the audio processor.
However, Benattar (title, abstract, figs. 28, 30-31, 33-36, 41-42; figs. 30-31: 3003 location table, 3006 array displacement compensation unit, 3007 source movement prediction. ¶0177 discloses the computationally intensive functions can be driven by a location table and the location table settings can operate to conserve computational resources required. The wide area source location can be used to add sources to the source location table at a relatively lower frequency than needed for user consumption of the audio) teaches an audio processing algorithm (Benattar ¶0085 discloses the system may utilize one or more appropriate noise cancelling algorithms. The system may include manually or automatically adjusting parameters and/or coefficients of an algorithm, resulting in a change to the manner in which the algorithm suppresses noise. ¶0086 discloses the adjustments can include application of predetermined algorithms to one or more frequency bands and/or one or more channels) configured to perform one or more frequency-domain adjustments of the audio signal and one or more time-domain adjustments of the audio signal (Benattar ¶0045 discloses adaptive beamforming techniques generally combine this information [i.e., use a fixed set of weightings and time-delays (or phasings) to combine the signals from the sensors in the array, primarily using only information about the location of the sensors in space and the wave directions of interest] with properties of the signals actually received by the array, typically to improve rejection of unwanted signals from other directions. This process can be carried out in either the time or the frequency domain), to generate a processed audio signal (Benattar ¶0090 discloses the system can be implemented in one or more digital signal processors and/or adaptive filters operating on ambient, directional or directionless, source and noise audio in order to enhance delivery of desirable audio and damp delivery of undesirable audio. ¶0175 discloses audio obtained from each tracked source can undergo an identification process. The audio can be processed through a multi-channel and/or multi-domain process in order to characterize the audio and a rule set can be applied to the characteristics in order to ascertain treatment of audio from the particular source. Multi-channel and multi-domain processing can be computationally intensive. The result of the multi-channel/multi-domain processing that most closely fits a rule will indicate the processing. If the rule indicates that the source is of interest, the pinpoint location table can be updated and the scanning schedule can be set. figs. 30: multi-channel/domain characterization unit 3010, multi-channel domain rules 3011); and
provide the processed audio signal as output of the audio processor (Benattar figs. 30: audio output 3012).
Kvist and Benattar are analogous art as they pertain to tracking microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the apparatus (as taught by Kvist) since successive processing iterations can update the location table to reduce the number of sources being tracked with a pinpoint scan, to predict the location of the sources to be tracked with a pinpoint scan to reduce the number of locations that are isolated by the beam-steering unit (as taught by Benattar, ¶0177) to reduce the processing required for the multi-channel/multidomain analysis (Benattar, ¶0177).
Regarding Claim 2, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 1. But Kvist may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more frequency-domain adjustments of the audio processing algorithm comprises audio equalization of the audio signal.
However, Benattar (abstract, figs. 28, 30-31, 33-36, 41-42) teaches wherein the one or more frequency-domain adjustments of the audio processing algorithm comprises audio equalization of the audio signal (Benattar ¶0125 discloses advantageous features of the system can facilitate adjustment of filtration on the basis of one or more of the following characteristics, like ¶0141: equalization).
Kvist and Benattar are analogous art as they pertain to tracking microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the apparatus (as taught by Kvist) since successive processing iterations can update the location table to reduce the number of sources being tracked with a pinpoint scan, to predict the location of the sources to be tracked with a pinpoint scan to reduce the number of locations that are isolated by the beam-steering unit (as taught by Benattar, ¶0177) to reduce the processing required for the multi-channel/multidomain analysis (Benattar, ¶0177).
Regarding Claim 3, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 1. But Kvist may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more time-domain adjustments of the audio processing algorithm comprises one or both of audio compression and limiting of the audio signal.
However, Benattar (abstract, figs. 28-42) teaches wherein the one or more time-domain adjustments of the audio processing algorithm comprises one or both of audio compression and limiting of the audio signal (Benattar ¶0431 discloses the stored data files can be encoded either before or after being stored using a variety of compression algorithms. For example, audio content can be compressed using MP3, AAC and Apple Lossless compression protocols. Other data may be compressed using protocols appropriate to such data).
Kvist and Benattar are analogous art as they pertain to tracking microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the apparatus (as taught by Kvist) since successive processing iterations can update the location table to reduce the number of sources being tracked with a pinpoint scan, to predict the location of the sources to be tracked with a pinpoint scan to reduce the number of locations that are isolated by the beam-steering unit (as taught by Benattar, ¶0177) to reduce the processing required for the multi-channel/multidomain analysis (Benattar, ¶0177).
Regarding Claim 4, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 1. But Kvist may not explicitly disclose wherein the microphone comprises a single transducer.
However, Benattar (abstract, figs. 28-42) teaches wherein the microphone comprises a single transducer (Benattar ¶0034: different individual microphone transducer).
Kvist and Benattar are analogous art as they pertain to tracking microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the apparatus (as taught by Kvist) since successive processing iterations can update the location table to reduce the number of sources being tracked with a pinpoint scan, to predict the location of the sources to be tracked with a pinpoint scan to reduce the number of locations that are isolated by the beam-steering unit (as taught by Benattar, ¶0177) to reduce the processing required for the multi-channel/multidomain analysis (Benattar, ¶0177).
Regarding Claim 5, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 1,
wherein the object tracker comprises an on-axis sensor axially arranged on a longitudinal axis of the microphone (Kvist ¶0068 discloses the sensor bank 16 comprises a position/orientation sensor. The orientation sensor can be implemented by a digital compass or solid state compass configured to determine the electronic devices orientation with respect to the horizontal axis. Alternatively, the position/orientation sensor can be a gravity sensor configured to output the electronic device's orientation with respect to the vertical axis. The gravity sensor for example can be implemented as an array of mercury switches set at various angles to the vertical with the output of the switches indicating the angle of the electronic device with respect to the vertical axis).
Regarding Claim 6, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 5,
wherein the on-axis sensor comprises a thermal imaging sensor configured to determine one or more facial features of the user (Kvist ¶0067 discloses the camera module 101 can be further configured to perform facial recognition on the captured images and therefore can estimate the position of the mouth of the detected face. The estimation of the direction or orientation between the electronic device to the mouth of the user, can be applied when the phone is used in a handsfree mode of operation, a hands portable mode of operation, or in an audio-video conference mode of operation where the camera image information can be used both as images to be transmitted but also locate the user speaking to improve the signal to noise ratio for the user speaking).
Regarding Claim 7, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 1,
wherein the object tracker is configured to detect a tracking substance or tracking device worn by the user (Kvist ¶0095 discloses the array weighting generator 155 having received information on the orientation of the device can generate the array weighting parameters which generate the '0' beam 265 as shown in fig. 3b - which is directed at the mouth of the user. However should the device move or orientate down relative to the user's mouth then the array weighting generator 114 can generate or select the weighting parameters to generate the 'higher' beams the'+ 1' beam 263, or the '+2' beam 261 directed above the '+1' beam. Similarly should the device move or orientate upwards the 'lower' beams can be selected such as the progressively orientated ‘-1' beam 267 '-2' beam 269, '-3'beam 271, and '-4' beam 273).
Regarding Claim 8, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 7,
wherein the tracking substance comprises an infrared (IR) detectable substance (Kvist ¶0064 discloses the sensor bank 16 can be a camera module. The camera can be configured to perform infra-red and near infra-red sensing for low ambient light sensing. The at least one camera can be also linked to the camera processor for processing signals received from the at least one camera before passing the processed image to the processor).
Regarding Claim 11, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 1,
wherein the determined position of the user comprises a position of a mouth of the user (Kvist ¶0067 discloses the camera module 101 can be further configured to perform facial recognition on the captured images and therefore can estimate the position of the mouth of the detected face. The estimation of the direction or orientation between the electronic device to the mouth of the user, can be applied when the phone is used in a handsfree mode of operation, a hands portable mode of operation, or in an audio-video conference mode of operation where the camera image information can be used both as images to be transmitted but also locate the user speaking to improve the signal to noise ratio for the user speaking).
Regarding Claim 13, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses a wireless transmitter comprising an audio processing device of claim 1,
wherein the wireless transmitter is configured to removably connect to the microphone and transmit the processed audio signal to a receiver (Kvist ¶0078 discloses the transmission processor is further configured to be connected to the transmitter of the transceiver 13. ¶0122 discloses where the audio signals are transmitted the transceiver 13 can apply modulation processing to the encoded audio signals in order to render them suitable for uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 14, Kvist discloses an audio processing system (abstract, figs. 1-4B) comprising:
a microphone configured to detect audio and generate a corresponding audio signal (Kvist fig. 2:11); and
a receiver communicatively coupled to the microphone (Kvist fig. 2:109) and configured to:
determine, based on sensor data (Kvist fig. 2:16), tracking data (Kvist fig. 2:151) corresponding to a position of the microphone and a position of a user of the microphone (Kvist fig. 2:105);
perform one or more audio processing operations on the audio signal using an audio processing algorithm (Kvist ¶0115 discloses the beamformer 111 having received the digital audio signals and also the beamformer weighting array parameters then applies the beamforming weighting array to the audio signal to generate a series of processed audio signals in attempt to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of these signals. Any suitable beamforming algorithm can be used. For example each of the digital audio signals may be input to a filter with an adjustable gain and delay, which is provided from the weighting array parameters), based on the determined tracking data (Kvist ¶0030 discloses the sensor is preferably further configured to determine a first position of the apparatus, and the processor is preferably further configured to: receive at least one audio signal; and generate for each audio signal at least one signal processing parameter dependent on the sensors determined first position of the apparatus).
Kvist may not explicitly disclose perform one or more audio processing operations on the audio signal using an audio processing algorithm, to generate a processed audio signal, wherein the one or more audio processing operations include one or more frequency-domain adjustments and one or more time-domain adjustments of the audio signal; and provide the processed audio signal as output to the audio processing system.
However, Benattar (title, abstract, figs. 28, 30-31, 33-36, 41-42; figs. 30-31: 3003 location table, 3006 array displacement compensation unit, 3007 source movement prediction. ¶0177 discloses the computationally intensive functions can be driven by a location table and the location table settings can operate to conserve computational resources required. The wide area source location can be used to add sources to the source location table at a relatively lower frequency than needed for user consumption of the audio) teaches perform one or more audio processing operations on the audio signal using an audio processing algorithm(Benattar ¶0085 discloses the system may utilize one or more appropriate noise cancelling algorithms. The system may include manually or automatically adjusting parameters and/or coefficients of an algorithm, resulting in a change to the manner in which the algorithm suppresses noise. ¶0086 discloses the adjustments can include application of predetermined algorithms to one or more frequency bands and/or one or more channels), to generate a processed audio signal (Benattar ¶0090 discloses the system can be implemented in one or more digital signal processors and/or adaptive filters operating on ambient, directional or directionless, source and noise audio in order to enhance delivery of desirable audio and damp delivery of undesirable audio. ¶0175 discloses audio obtained from each tracked source can undergo an identification process. The audio can be processed through a multi-channel and/or multi-domain process in order to characterize the audio and a rule set can be applied to the characteristics in order to ascertain treatment of audio from the particular source. Multi-channel and multi-domain processing can be computationally intensive. The result of the multi-channel/multi-domain processing that most closely fits a rule will indicate the processing. If the rule indicates that the source is of interest, the pinpoint location table can be updated and the scanning schedule can be set. figs. 30: multi-channel/domain characterization unit 3010, multi-channel domain rules 3011),
wherein the one or more audio processing operations include one or more frequency-domain adjustments and one or more time-domain adjustments of the audio signal (Benattar ¶0045 discloses adaptive beamforming techniques generally combine this information [i.e., use a fixed set of weightings and time-delays (or phasings) to combine the signals from the sensors in the array, primarily using only information about the location of the sensors in space and the wave directions of interest] with properties of the signals actually received by the array, typically to improve rejection of unwanted signals from other directions. This process can be carried out in either the time or the frequency domain); and
provide the processed audio signal as output to the audio processing system (Benattar figs. 30: audio output 3012).
Kvist and Benattar are analogous art as they pertain to tracking microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the apparatus (as taught by Kvist) since successive processing iterations can update the location table to reduce the number of sources being tracked with a pinpoint scan, to predict the location of the sources to be tracked with a pinpoint scan to reduce the number of locations that are isolated by the beam-steering unit (as taught by Benattar, ¶0177) to reduce the processing required for the multi-channel/multidomain analysis (Benattar, ¶0177).
Regarding Claim 15, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing system of claim 14, further comprising
an audio accessory including a sensor configured to generate additional sensor data based on one or both of a detected position of the microphone and a position of a user of the microphone (Kvist fig. 2: camera module 101, motion sensor 103, position/orientation sensor 105),
wherein the audio accessory is configured to provide the additional sensor data to the receiver (Kvist fig. 2: microphone array 11), and
wherein the receiver is configured to determine the tracking data further based on the additional sensor data (Kvist fig. 2: movement tracker 151).
Regarding Claim 16, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing system of claim 15,
wherein the audio accessory comprises a pop filter or spit guard positioned between the microphone and the user (Pop filter or spit guard is a feature well known in the art. A microphone spit guard - commonly known as a pop filter or foam windscreen - is a protective shield that stops saliva, breath blasts, and harsh popping sounds from hitting the microphone).
Claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in Claims 1-8, 11, and 13.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvist et al. (US PGPUB #2013/0083944) in view of Benattar (US PGPUB #2020/0221220) further in view of Wexler et al. (US PGPUB #2023/0045237).
Regarding Claim 9, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 7, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the tracking substance is configured to be applied to one or more lips of the user, the object tracker being configured to detect a position of the one or more lips of the user using the tracking substance.
However, Wexler (title, abstract, figs. 1-58) teaches wherein the tracking substance is configured to be applied to one or more lips of the user, the object tracker being configured to detect a position of the one or more lips of the user using the tracking substance (Wexler ¶0213 discloses other facial recognition techniques such as thermal imaging to identify individuals. ¶0221 discloses for example, processor 210 can be configured to analyze images or videos containing representations of individual 2010 to determine when individual 2010 is speaking, for example, based on detected movement of the recognized individual's lips. ¶0244-¶0245: tracking lip movements. fig. 58: detecting, based on the analysis of the plurality of images, at least one lip movement associated with a mouth of the individual 5802).
Kvist, Benattar, and Wexler are analogous art as they pertain to microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Kvist in view of Benattar in light of the teachings of Wexler to identify individual facial recognition using thermal imaging (as taught by Wexler, ¶0213) to automatically capture and process images and audio to provide useful information to users of the apparatuses to process and leverage information gathered by the apparatuses (Wexler, ¶0004).
Claims 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvist et al. (US #2013/0083944) in view of Benattar (US #2020/0221220) further in view of Cochran (US #2022/0141579).
Regarding Claim 10, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose further comprising a feedback engine configured to generate, based on one or both of the determined position of the microphone and the determined position of the user, haptic feedback, proprioceptive feedback, or tactile feedback perceivable by the user.
However, Cochran (title, abstract, figs. 1-9) teaches a feedback engine configured to generate, based on one or both of the determined position of the microphone and the determined position of the user, haptic feedback (Cochran ¶0032 discloses a haptic feedback device), proprioceptive feedback, or tactile feedback perceivable by the user.
Kvist, Benattar, and Cochran are analogous art as they pertain to microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Kvist in view of Benattar in light of the teachings of Cochran to provide haptic feedback (as taught by Cochran, ¶0032) to overcome the issues realized by the users during an event if the broadcast is controlled from a remote location (Cochran, ¶0003-¶0004).
Regarding Claim 12, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing device of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the audio processing algorithm comprises a machine-learning (ML) audio processing algorithm.
However, Cochran (title, abstract, figs. 1-9) teaches wherein the audio processing algorithm comprises a machine-learning (ML) audio processing algorithm (Cochran ¶0052 discloses supervised machine learning is used to train an AI engine 175 [e.g., a neural network] based on training data capturing different virtual polar patterns, gain settings, HPFs, LPFs, and other equalization settings suitable for different conditions of the environment of the microphone device 100, and the resulting trained AI engine 175 is deployed in the automatic control system 174 for use in determining one or more adjustments to virtual polar patterns created/produced, gain settings, HPF, LPF, and other equalization settings of the microphone device 100 based on real-time conditions).
Kvist, Benattar, and Cochran are analogous art as they pertain to microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Kvist in view of Benattar in light of the teachings of Cochran to use machine learning to train AI engine (as taught by Cochran, ¶0052) to overcome the issues realized by the users during an event if the broadcast is controlled from a remote location (Cochran, ¶0003-¶0004).
Claims 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvist et al. (US #2013/0083944) in view of Benattar (US #2020/0221220) further in view of Zhang (TW #M539199 U).
Regarding Claim 17, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing system of claim 14, further comprising
wherein the (Kvist fig. 2: 16) configured to generate additional sensor data based on one or both of a detected position of the microphone and a detected position of the user (Kvist ¶0101 discloses with regards to fig. 3c the user 251 holds the device 10 [that includes microphone] with an orientation away from the user at a first angle 281 from the vertical. After a period the electronic device 10 has been moved to a substantially vertical position 283 of the user [fig. 3d]. Furthermore at a later period the device 10 is shown in fig. 3e as being held with an orientation towards the user at a further angle 285. Further, fig. 2: camera sensor 101, motion sensor 103, position/orientation sensor 105), the receiver being configured to determine the tracking data further based on the additional sensor data (Kvist ¶0100 discloses with respect to figs. 3c to 3e, an example of tracking the orientation/position of the device relative to the user is shown. Further, fig. 2: movement tracker 151).
Kvist in view of Benattar may not explicitly disclose a wireless transceiver module configured to: removably connect to the microphone, and wirelessly communicate with the receiver to communicatively couple the microphone to the receiver.
However, Zhang (title, figs. 1-3) teaches a wireless transceiver module configured to: removably connect to the microphone (Zhang page 7 para 4-12 discloses the modular wireless microphone 1 includes a microphone body 100 and a pluggable wireless device 200, which is either a wireless transceiver 210 or a wireless speaker 220. The microphone body 100 can be electrically connected to either the wireless transceiver 210 or the wireless speaker 220. The microphone body 100 has at least one output plug-in 110 [not shown] at the bottom. The pluggable wireless device 200 includes a housing 201, at least one input plug 202, a transceiver unit 203, and a power unit 204. The input plug-in 202 can be configured to protrude outward from one end of the shell 201 or be recessed inward from one end of the shell 201, so as to be detachably connected to the output plug-in 110 of the microphone body 100, so as to form an electrical connection with the microphone body 100 and receive a first signal S1 output by the microphone body 100. The transceiver unit 203 is installed inside the housing 201. The transceiver unit 203 is electrically connected to the input plug-in 202 and can simultaneously form a communication connection with an external first electronic device 300 to receive a second signal S2 transmitted by the first electronic device 300. The microphone body 100's output plug-in 110 [not shown]) includes an audio source port 111 [not shown], a USB port 112 [not shown], or a combination thereof; figs. 1-2), and
wirelessly communicate with the receiver to communicatively couple the microphone to the receiver (Zhang page 5 para 2 discloses provide a modular wireless microphone, comprising: a microphone body having at least one output plug at its bottom; and a pluggable wireless device, wherein the pluggable wireless device includes: a housing; and at least one input plug, which is detachably connected to the output plug of the microphone body to form an electrical connection with the microphone body and receive input from the microphone body. The device outputs a first signal; and a transceiver unit is disposed within the housing, the transceiver unit being electrically connected to the input plug-in and simultaneously forming a communication connection with an external first electronic device, and receiving a second signal transmitted by the electronic device. page 7 para 4-12 discloses the input plug-in 202 can be configured to protrude outward from one end of the shell 201 or be recessed inward from one end of the shell 201, so as to be detachably connected to the output plug-in 110 of the microphone body 100, so as to form an electrical connection with the microphone body 100 and receive a first signal S1 output by the microphone body 100; figs. 1-2).
Kvist, Benattar, and Zhang are analogous art as they pertain to microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Kvist in view of Benattar in light of the teachings of Zhang to provide a modular wireless microphone with a pluggable wireless transceiver (as taught by Zhang, page 5 para 2) to overcome malfunction caused by the one-piece wireless microphone, where entire microphone has to be sent for repairs, and the users cannot choose their preferred amplifier according to their individual needs (Zhang, page 5 para 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Kvist in view of Benattar discloses the audio processing system of claim 14, further comprising
a wireless transceiver module comprising one or more sensors configured to generate additional sensor data (Kvist fig. 2: 16) based on one or both of a detected position of the microphone and a detected position of the user (Kvist ¶0101 discloses with regards to fig. 3c the user 251 holds the device 10 [that includes microphone] with an orientation away from the user at a first angle 281 from the vertical. After a period the electronic device 10 has been moved to a substantially vertical position 283 of the user [fig. 3d]. Furthermore at a later period the device 10 is shown in fig. 3e as being held with an orientation towards the user at a further angle 285. Further, fig. 2: position/orientation sensor 105),
determine, based on the additional sensor data (Kvist fig. 2: 16), additional tracking data (Kvist ¶0100 discloses with respect to figs. 3c to 3e, an example of tracking the orientation/position of the device relative to the user is shown. Further, fig. 2: movement tracker 151);
perform one or more audio processing operations on the audio signal from the microphone, based on the additional tracking data, to generate a second audio signal (Kvist ¶0030 discloses the sensor is preferably further configured to determine a first position of the apparatus, and the processor is preferably further configured to: receive at least one audio signal; and generate for each audio signal at least one signal processing parameter dependent on the sensors determined first position of the apparatus. ¶0115 discloses the beamformer 111 having received the digital audio signals and also the beamformer weighting array parameters then applies the beamforming weighting array to the audio signal to generate a series of processed audio signals in attempt to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of these signals. Any suitable beamforming algorithm can be used. For example each of the digital audio signals may be input to a filter with an adjustable gain and delay, which is provided from the weighting array parameters); and
transmit the second audio signal to the receiver (Kvist fig. 2: rx/transmitter 13).
Kvist in view of Benattar may not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless transceiver module is configured to: removably connect to the microphone, and wirelessly communicate with the receiver to communicatively couple the microphone to the receiver.
However, Zhang (title, figs. 1-3) teaches wherein the wireless transceiver module is configured to:
removably connect to the microphone (Zhang page 7 para 4-12 discloses the modular wireless microphone 1 includes a microphone body 100 and a pluggable wireless device 200, which is either a wireless transceiver 210 or a wireless speaker 220; figs. 1-2), and wirelessly communicate with the receiver to communicatively couple the microphone to the receiver (Zhang page 5 para 2 discloses provide a modular wireless microphone, comprising: a microphone body having at least one output plug at its bottom; and a pluggable wireless device, wherein the pluggable wireless device includes: a housing; and at least one input plug, which is detachably connected to the output plug of the microphone body to form an electrical connection with the microphone body and receive input from the microphone body. The device outputs a first signal; and a transceiver unit is disposed within the housing, the transceiver unit being electrically connected to the input plug-in and simultaneously forming a communication connection with an external first electronic device, and receiving a second signal transmitted by the electronic device. page 7 para 4-12 discloses the input plug-in 202 can be configured to protrude outward from one end of the shell 201 or be recessed inward from one end of the shell 201, so as to be detachably connected to the output plug-in 110 of the microphone body 100, so as to form an electrical connection with the microphone body 100 and receive a first signal S1 output by the microphone body 100).
Kvist, Benattar, and Zhang are analogous art as they pertain to microphone. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Kvist in view of Benattar in light of the teachings of Zhang to provide a modular wireless microphone with a pluggable wireless transceiver (as taught by Zhang, page 5 para 2) to overcome malfunction caused by the one-piece wireless microphone, where entire microphone has to be sent for repairs, and the users cannot choose their preferred amplifier according to their individual needs (Zhang, page 5 para 1).
Conclusion
/YOGESHKUMAR PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691