DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slocum (Country Living – “Espresso-flavored sugar cubes”, 11/13/2013) in view of “A Cozy Kitchen – Homemade sugar cubes” (12/4/2015), Sweeney (“The secret for how to make coffee less bitter”, 3/21/2017), and as evidenced by: My Net diary, Chamberlain Coffee, Doves Farm, and Inch Calculator.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, Slocum teaches a baked sugar composition, and a method of making, therefore also teaching a flavored melt and a method for forming a flavored melt, to the extent that a baked sugar composition is taught, as Slocum teaches espresso flavored sugar cubes made with espresso powder, which is a natural flavoring and also functions as food coloring, along with sugar, water and meringue powder (Pages 1-2), which could also serve as a natural flavoring. Slocum teaches the composition is baked in molds in an oven at a temperature of 250°F (Page 1), therefore teaching the baked sugar composition is formed into a desired shape.
Slocum does not specifically teach that the baked sugar composition also comprises one or more bitter blockers or salt.
“A Cozy Kitchen” NPL teaches of homemade molded sugar cubes that are used in coffee or tea (Pages 7 and 8).
Sweeney teaches the known bitterness of coffee and teaches several ways of making coffee less bitter and teaches adding a pinch of salt to the coffee, as salt is known to neutralize bitterness without leaving a salty taste (Pages 3-4). Therefore, in this way, the salt is seen as blocking bitterness in the coffee. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added a pinch of salt to the sugar cubes in order to conveniently provide a bitterness blocker along with the sugar cubes for use with coffee. While Sweeney does not teach an amount of salt/bitterness blocker used, given the teachings of Sweeney that a pinch of salt is effective to neutralize bitterness of coffee while not leaving a salty taste, it would have been well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the amount of salt to be within the parameters of neutralizing bitterness, while not imparting salty taste to the coffee. In addition, where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in the amount of bitterness blocker or salt involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding the other claimed amounts of the components as recited in Claim 1, Slocum teaches the following amounts of the ingredients, which can all be converted to gram and weight percentage using the evidentiary references cited showing conversion between cups, teaspoons and tablespoons and weight in grams.
Ingredients taught by Slocum in the espresso sugar cubes:
1 Tablespoon espresso powder (considered as flavoring and coloring ingredient) = 10g (see evidentiary reference to Chamberlain Coffee, Page 2) = 3% flavoring and coloring
1.5 tsp meringue powder (considered as flavoring ingredient) = 4.5 g (see evidentiary reference to My Net Diary, Page 1) = 1.4% flavoring
1.5 tsp hot water = 7.3g (see evidentiary reference to Inch Calculator, Page 1) = 2.2% water
1.5 cups sugar = 300g sugar (see evidentiary reference to Doves Farm, Page 2) = 93% sugar
Therefore, Slocum teaches total amounts of flavoring, water and sugar, that are either within or are close to the claimed ranges, as Slocum teaches “about 90%” sugar which is rendered obvious by the teaching of 93% sugar, as the term “about” provides for amounts slightly above and below the claimed amount.
Regarding Claims 8, 11 and 12, as set forth above, Slocum in view of “A Cozy Kitchen” and Sweeney are taken as cited above in the rejection of Claims 1, 5 and 6, and teach the method steps of blending the claimed plurality of ingredients, with Sweeney rendering obvious the addition of the bitterness blocker in the ingredient mix, and teach the method steps of placing the blended ingredients into an internal cavity of a mold, baking the ingredients in the shape of the intern cavity and removing them from the mold to form the flavored melt, as Slocum teaches blending the ingredients together, spooning the mixture into a silicone mini ice cube tray, pressing it tightly into the trays compartments, and baking for 40 minutes, and that after baking the blended ingredients, the cubes are allowed to rest until hardened, about 8 hours, before carefully releasing from the trays (Slocum, Pages 1-2). The prior art does not teach the claimed order of removing the blended ingredients from the mold and then baking the blended ingredients in the shape of the internal cavity. However, since the prior art teaches the essential method steps and teaches the final result of a formed flavored melt or sugar cube in the shape of the mold/trays, the order of molding and baking would not appear to impart a significant change to the final product, absent teachings to the contrary. Furthermore, it has been found that “selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.” See MPEP 2144.04 IV C. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined the most efficient molding and baking method in order to prepare flavored melts or sugar cubes comprising the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claims 4 and 10, Slocum in view of “A Cozy Kitchen” and Sweeney do not specifically teach natural or artificial flavorings including vanilla flavor. However, “A Cozy Kitchen” teaches of adding flavorings to homemade sugar cubes including vanilla extract flavor (Page 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added vanilla extract to the homemade sugar cubes in order to provide vanilla flavor-enhanced sugar cubes.
Regarding Claim 14, Slocum in view of “A Cozy Kitchen” and Sweeney further teach cooling the flavored melt after baking the blended ingredients because Slocum teaches that after baking the blended ingredients, the cubes are allowed to rest until hardened, about 8 hours (Slocum, Page 2), during which time the cubes are understood to be cooling down after baking.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slocum (Country Living – “Espresso-flavored sugar cubes”, 11/13/2013) in view of “A Cozy Kitchen – Homemade sugar cubes” (12/4/2015), Sweeney (“The secret for how to make coffee less bitter”, 3/21/2017), and further in view of “Chocolate, Chocolate and More! – Brown sugar cubes” (6/14/2015).
Regarding Claims 3 and 9, Slocum in view of “A Cozy Kitchen” and Sweeney are relied upon as above and teach white sugar but do not specifically teach the addition of another sugar selected from brown sugar or one of the other claimed sugars.
“Chocolate, Chocolate and more!” NPL teaches of homemade brown sugar cubes are easy to make and a fun treat with your coffee or tea (Page 1) and teaches the use of brown sugar and water to make molded brown sugar cubes (Page 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used either white or brown sugar as the sugar source in a molded sugar cube composition.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slocum (Country Living – “Espresso-flavored sugar cubes”, 11/13/2013) in view of “A Cozy Kitchen – Homemade sugar cubes” (12/4/2015), Sweeney (“The secret for how to make coffee less bitter”, 3/21/2017), and further in view of Steiner (USPN 2,807,559), and Olinger (USPN 5,204,115).
Regarding Claims 7 and 13, Slocum in view of “A Cozy Kitchen” and Sweeney are taken as cited above and teach baked molded sugar compositions and render obvious the method of making as set forth above, but do not specifically teach where the baked sugar composition includes sodium carboxymethylcellulose.
Steiner teaches of cubed sugar products comprising granulated sucrose or sugar and water and having a small amount of a binder which is inert and devoid of any taste or flavor incompatible with the sweetening properties of the sugar, where the components are combined and placed in a mold and allowed to cool (Column 1, lines 15-70). Steiner teaches various binders can be used including dextrose, other sugars and sugar alcohols, etc. (Column 3, lines 10-20). Therefore, Steiner teaches the known use of binders in sugar-containing molded products, but do not specifically teach where the binder can be sodium carboxymethylcellulose.
Olinger teaches of compressed or compacted sweetener compositions comprising sugar alcohols and a physiologically acceptable non-cariogenic binders which can be used include polydextrose and sodium carboxymethylcellulose (Column 5, lines 50-60 and Column 6, lines 1-20). Olinger teaches that sodium carboxymethylcellulose can be used in a wide range of cosmetic, food and pharmaceutical applications. Therefore, it can be seen from the art that binders are known to be used in compressed or molded sugar/sweetener compositions and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used sodium carboxymethylcellulose as the binder in the molded sugar composition for its art recognized binding functionality and to ensure the molded sugar compositions retain their molded shape.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slocum (Country Living – “Espresso-flavored sugar cubes”, 11/13/2013) in view of “A Cozy Kitchen – Homemade sugar cubes” (12/4/2015), Sweeney (“The secret for how to make coffee less bitter”, 3/21/2017), and further in view of Steiner (USPN 2,807,559).
Regarding Claim 15, Slocum in view of “A Cozy Kitchen” and Sweeney are taken as cited above in the rejection of Claims 8 and 14 and teach or render obvious the claimed method and further teach cooling the flavored melt after baking the blended ingredients because Slocum teaches that after baking the blended ingredients, the cubes are allowed to rest until hardened, about 8 hours (Page 2), during which time the cubes are understood to be cooling down. The prior art is silent as to a packaging step after a cooling the flavored melt.
Steiner teaches of cubed sugar products comprising granulated sucrose or sugar and water and having a small amount of a binder which is inert and devoid of any taste or flavor incompatible with the sweetening properties of the sugar, where the components are combined and placed in a mold and allowed to cool and then can be directly packaged or wrapped for packaging (Column 1, lines 15-70). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the flavored melt or sugar cubes to have been packaged after cooling as that is known processing step and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add a packaging step for supplying to consumers.
Conclusion
JENNA A. WATTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1791
/JENNA A WATTS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791 10/26/2026