DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/26/2024. Claims 1-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "target distance calculator that calculates", and "entry prohibition area setter that sets" in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Ohmura, US-20190389461-A1, hereinafter referred to as Ohmura 461.
As per claim 1
Ohmura 461 discloses [a] traveling support controller comprising at least one processor configured to implement (ECU 10 is composed of a computer comprising a CPU…brake control system 32 and the steering control system 33 to suitably activate an engine system, a brake system and a steering system, respectively - Ohmura 461 ¶37):
a target distance calculator that calculates a target distance between an ego vehicle and an object existing in front of the ego vehicle (an allowable upper limit-zero zone which is set at a position away from the object by a given distance, millimeter-wave radar 22 measures a distance between the vehicle 1 and the object, i.e., a vehicle-object distance, (e.g., inter-vehicle distance), vehicle-object distance X is less than to D0 (safe distance) - Ohmura 461 ¶11 & ¶40 & ¶51);
an entry prohibition area setter that sets an entry prohibition area at least behind the object (in a case where the given rearward distance Db for determining the rear boundary line 42B of the entry prohibition zone 42 is set as a distance from the rear end of the preceding vehicle 3 to the front end of the vehicle 1, the given rearward distance Db is expressed as follows: Db=2 - Ohmura 461 ¶70);
a vehicle controller that controls a speed of the ego vehicle so that a distance between the ego vehicle and the object approaches the target distance, while preventing the ego vehicle from entering into the entry prohibition area (the traveling speed of the vehicle 1 becomes lower than the traveling speed of the preceding vehicle 3…when entering the relative speed-zero zone 44, the vehicle is controlled to move out of the relative speed-zero zone 44, i.e., move away from the preceding vehicle 3 - Ohmura 461 ¶78),
wherein the entry prohibition area setter sets a rear distance of the entry prohibition area which is set behind the object, based on the speed of the ego vehicle and the target distance (given rearward distance Db for determining the rear boundary line 42B of the entry prohibition zone 42…set to be variable according to the traveling speed of the vehicle 1, When the entry prohibition zone 42 is changed in response to a change in the traveling speed Vp of the preceding vehicle 3…when the forward distance Da of the entry prohibition zone 42 is increased, a forward distance of each of the relative speed-zero zone 44 and the peripheral region of the speed distribution zone 40 is also increased, and a distance between the front boundary line 42A of the entry prohibition zone 42…is increased - Ohmura 461 ¶71 & ¶79).
As per claim 12
Ohmura 461 discloses [a] traveling support control method comprising (a vehicle control system provided in a vehicle - Ohmura 461 ¶6):
a target distance calculation step of calculating a target distance between an ego vehicle and an object existing in front of the ego vehicle (an allowable upper limit-zero zone which is set at a position away from the object by a given distance, millimeter-wave radar 22 measures a distance between the vehicle 1 and the object, i.e., a vehicle-object distance, (e.g., inter-vehicle distance), vehicle-object distance X is less than to D0 (safe distance) - Ohmura 461 ¶11 & ¶40 & ¶51);
an entry prohibition area setting step of setting an entry prohibition area at least behind the object (in a case where the given rearward distance Db for determining the rear boundary line 42B of the entry prohibition zone 42 is set as a distance from the rear end of the preceding vehicle 3 to the front end of the vehicle 1, the given rearward distance Db is expressed as follows: Db=2 - Ohmura 461 ¶70);
a vehicle control step of controlling a speed of the ego vehicle so that a distance between the ego vehicle and the object approaches the target distance, while preventing the ego vehicle from entering into the entry prohibition area (the traveling speed of the vehicle 1 becomes lower than the traveling speed of the preceding vehicle 3…when entering the relative speed-zero zone 44, the vehicle is controlled to move out of the relative speed-zero zone 44, i.e., move away from the preceding vehicle 3 - Ohmura 461 ¶78),
wherein, in the entry prohibition area setting step, setting a rear distance of the entry prohibition area which is set behind the object, based on the speed of the ego vehicle and the target distance (given rearward distance Db for determining the rear boundary line 42B of the entry prohibition zone 42…set to be variable according to the traveling speed of the vehicle 1, When the entry prohibition zone 42 is changed in response to a change in the traveling speed Vp of the preceding vehicle 3…when the forward distance Da of the entry prohibition zone 42 is increased, a forward distance of each of the relative speed-zero zone 44 and the peripheral region of the speed distribution zone 40 is also increased, and a distance between the front boundary line 42A of the entry prohibition zone 42…is increased - Ohmura 461 ¶71 & ¶79).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmura 461, as per claim 1, and further in view of Ohmura, US-20190256086-A1, hereinafter referred to as Ohmura 086.
As per claim 2
Ohmura 461 does not specifically disclose wherein the entry prohibition area setter sets a distance obtained by subtracting a distance obtained by multiplying a margin time to the speed of the ego vehicle, from the target distance, as the rear distance of the entry prohibition area.
However, Ohmura 086 teaches wherein the entry prohibition area setter sets a distance obtained by subtracting a distance obtained by multiplying a margin time to the speed of the ego vehicle, from the target distance, as the rear distance of the entry prohibition area (Vc denotes the traveling speed (m/s) of the vehicle 1, rear boundary line 44B of the relative speed-zero zone 44 is set at a position away from the rear boundary line 42B of the entry prohibition zone 42 rearwardly by a given rearward distance Kb. The given rearward distance Kb is determined by the following formula (5)., In the formula (5), THW is referred as Time-Headway, and represented with a time period from a time when the preceding vehicle 3 passes a certain point to a time when the vehicle 1 passes the point…a larger one of the time headway and the time-to-collision is taken. Further, k8 is a constant. In this embodiment, k8 is set to 2. - Ohmura 461 ¶86 & ¶87 & ¶88 - Examiner reasons that one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest priority date would substitute a subtraction sign for the addition sign to minimize the size of the entry prohibition area to allow the two vehicles to follow closer together and take up less space on a roadway).
Ohmura 461 discloses a vehicle control system for assisting a traveling of a vehicle. Ohmura 086 teaches a vehicle control system for supporting traveling of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ohmura 461, a vehicle control system for assisting a traveling of a vehicle, with a vehicle control system for supporting traveling of a vehicle, as taught by Ohmura 086, with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent a passenger to feel less secure and support secure and safe driving, see Ohmura 461 ¶109 for details.
As per claim 3
Ohmura 461 does not specifically disclose by referring a stage table data in which a relation between a plurality of stages of a degree of length of the target distance, and a plurality of default values of margin time preliminarily set corresponding to each of the plurality of stages is set, the entry prohibition area setter reads the default value of margin time corresponding to the stage presently set, and sets it as the margin time.
However, Ohmura 086 teaches by referring a stage table data in which a relation between a plurality of stages of a degree of length of the target distance, and a plurality of default values of margin time preliminarily set corresponding to each of the plurality of stages is set, the entry prohibition area setter reads the default value of margin time corresponding to the stage presently set, and sets it as the margin time (Vc denotes the traveling speed (m/s) of the vehicle 1, rear boundary line 44B of the relative speed-zero zone 44 is set at a position away from the rear boundary line 42B of the entry prohibition zone 42 rearwardly by a given rearward distance Kb. The given rearward distance Kb is determined by the following formula (5)., In the formula (5), THW is referred as Time-Headway, and represented with a time period from a time when the preceding vehicle 3 passes a certain point to a time when the vehicle 1 passes the point…a larger one of the time headway and the time-to-collision is taken. Further, k8 is a constant. In this embodiment, k8 is set to 2. - Ohmura 461 ¶86 & ¶87 & ¶88 - Examiner reasons that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest priority date that a change to the distance between vehicles leads to the increase in time between when two vehicles cross the same point in space one after the other).
Ohmura 461 discloses a vehicle control system for assisting a traveling of a vehicle. Ohmura 086 teaches a vehicle control system for supporting traveling of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ohmura 461, a vehicle control system for assisting a traveling of a vehicle, with a vehicle control system for supporting traveling of a vehicle, as taught by Ohmura 086, with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent a passenger to feel less secure and support secure and safe driving, see Ohmura 461 ¶109 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668 /Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668