DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on November 26, 2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “the hub portion has a radial thickness that varies around a circumference thereof, wherein a first radial thickness measured between the inner diameter and the minor diameter is less than a second radial thickness measured between the inner diameter and the outer diameter” claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, the limitation “a second radial thickness measured between the inner diameter and the outer diameter” is not clear if applicant is referencing the “major outer diameter” (line 6 of claim 1), the “minor outer diameter” (lines 6-7 of claim 1), or some other “outer diameter” (not defined in claim 1).
Claim 5, the limitation “mirror-like finish” is considered a relative term, and fails to clearly define the metes and bounds of the desired patent protection.
The limitations of claims 6-7 are considered method limitations used to define how the annular component is made. A method limitation in an apparatus claim is given limited weight. An apparatus claim must define over the prior art in terms of its structure and not the method from which the apparatus is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suh et al. (USP 4,397,171).
Suh teaches a splined annular component, comprising: a radial flange segment (12); an axially-extending hub segment (14,16) integrally formed with the radial flange segment; a plurality of splines formed on a radially outer surface of the hub segment (Fig. 2), wherein the splines include a major outer diameter (adjacent reference character 16 in Fig. 1) and a minor outer diameter (adjacent reference character 14 in Fig. 1); and a continuous inner diameter formed on a radially inner surface of the hub segment (opposite surface from the minor outer diameter), wherein the minor outer diameter is smooth (no splines) and formed without machining (the entire annular component is made using only forming dies), and wherein the inner diameter is smooth and formed without machining (the entire annular component is made using only forming dies).
Alternatively, the method of making the annular component, such as “formed without machining,” has been given limited patentable weight. An apparatus claim must define over the prior art in terms of its structure and not the method from which the apparatus is made.
Claim 2: Suh illustrates, as best understood, the hub portion has a radial thickness that varies around a circumference thereof, wherein a first radial thickness measured between the inner diameter and the minor diameter is less than a second radial thickness measured between the inner diameter and the outer diameter.
Claim 3: Suh illustrates a chamfer portion (adjacent reference character 14, Fig. 1) disposed at an intersection of the flange segment (12) and the hub segment (16), wherein the chamfer portion is formed without machining.
Claim 4: Suh illustrates (Fig. 1) the chamfer portion has an outwardly facing concave profile and an inwardly facing convex profile.
Claim 5: Suh teaches, as best understood, the minor diameter and the major diameter include a smooth finish.
Claim 6: Suh teaches the component is formed from a blank.
Claim 7: Suh teaches the component is formed in a transfer press.
Claim 8: Suh teaches the flange segment, hub segment, and splines are pressed and formed from a common blank.
Claim 9: Suh teaches (inherent in pressing operations) the inner diameter includes vertically extending witness marks circumferentially aligned with the minor diameter.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (USP 6,694,791).
Johnson teaches a splined annular component, comprising: a radial flange segment (12); an axially-extending hub segment (14,16) integrally formed with the radial flange segment; a plurality of splines formed (50) on a radially outer surface of the hub segment (Fig. 10), wherein the splines include a major outer (Fig. 11) diameter and a minor outer diameter (Fig. 11); and a continuous inner diameter formed on a radially inner surface of the hub segment (Fig. 11), wherein the minor outer diameter is smooth (no splines) and formed without machining (the entire annular component is made using only forming dies, lines 34-36 of column 1), and wherein the inner diameter is smooth and formed without machining (the entire annular component is made using only forming dies).
Alternatively, the method of making the annular component, such as “formed without machining,” has been given limited patentable weight. An apparatus claim must define over the prior art in terms of its structure and not the method from which the apparatus is made.
Claim 2: Johnson illustrates, as best understood, the hub portion has a radial thickness that varies around a circumference thereof, wherein a first radial thickness measured between the inner diameter and the minor diameter is less than a second radial thickness measured between the inner diameter and the outer diameter.
Claim 3: Johnson illustrates a chamfer portion (adjacent 81/108) disposed at an intersection of the flange segment (12) and the hub segment (16), wherein the chamfer portion is formed without machining.
Claim 4: Johnson illustrates (Fig. 11) the chamfer portion has an outwardly facing concave profile and an inwardly facing convex profile.
Claim 5: Johnson teaches, as best understood, the minor diameter and the major diameter include a mirror-like finish. See lines 15-18 of column 4.
Claim 6: Johnson teaches the component is formed from a blank.
Claim 7: Johnson teaches the component is formed in a transfer press.
Claim 8: Johnson teaches the flange segment, hub segment, and splines are pressed and formed from a common blank.
Claim 9: Johnson teaches (inherent in pressing operations) the inner diameter includes vertically extending witness marks circumferentially aligned with the minor diameter.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618