DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-19, 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imai (US 6,344,891).
Regarding claim 1, Imai teaches a media supply (figs.1-3), comprising:
a continuous web (10 figs.1,2) having a web length (length of 10) configured to extend along a first axis (along the length of 10) and a web width (width of 10) configured to extend across a second axis (along the width of 10), the first and second axes are perpendicular to each other;
a plurality of demarcation features (13 figs.1,2) positioned along the web length; and
a plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2), each media unit (15) in the plurality of media units having a media length (length of 15) extending along the first axis and a media width (width of 15) extending along the second axis, the media width (width of 15) of each media unit (15) in the plurality of media units is less than the web width (width of 10) and the media length (length of 15) of each media unit in the plurality of media units is less than the web length (length of 15),
the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) define a repetitive and sequential periodic pattern along the web length (length of 10), each repetition of the repetitive sequential pattern includes a set of the plurality of media units (for instance media units 15 in printing region 12 in fig.1), the plurality of media units in the set are offset from each other along the web length to form an ordered sequence (for instance in fig.1, the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally) and at least two of the plurality of media units in the set are offset from each other across the web width (for instance in fig.1, the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally), and
each repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) along the web length is demarcated by at least one of the plurality of demarcation features (13).
Regarding claim 2, Imai further teaches wherein each repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) extends diagonally along the web length and web width (fig.1, the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally).
Regarding claim 3, Imai further teaches wherein a first one of the plurality of media units (for instance 15 on the left side, figs.1,2) in each repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units is disposed proximate to a first side edge (for instance the left edge of 10, fig.1) of the continuous web (10) and a last one of the plurality of media units (for instance 15 on the right side, figs.1,2) in each repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units (15) is disposed proximate to a second side edge (for instance the right edge of 10, fig.1) of the continuous web (10), the web width (width of 10) corresponding to a distance between the first and second edges (figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 4, Imai further teaches wherein the first one of the plurality of media units (for instance 15 on the left side, figs.1,2) is offset inward from the first edge by a first margin and the last one of the plurality of media units (for instance 15 on the right side, figs.1,2) is offset inward of the second edge by a second margin (figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 5, Imai further teaches wherein the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) in the set have an arrangement in which the plurality of media units (15) in the set are not aligned with each other along the web length and the web width (fig.1, the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally).
Regarding claim 6, Imai further teaches wherein at least two of the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) in the set are offset from each other and are partially aligned along one of the web length or the web width (figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 8, Imai further teaches wherein the set of the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) includes subsets of the plurality of media units, the plurality of media units in each subset are serially and linearly aligned along the web length and at least two of the subsets are offset relative to each other across the web width (media units 15 in regions 12 in figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 9, Imai further teaches wherein the set of the plurality of media units include at least two media units (15 figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 10, Imai further teaches wherein the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) in the set are at least one of disposed on the continuous web or integral with the continuous web (10).
Regarding claim 11, Imai further teaches wherein each repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) in the set forms one of a diagonal pattern, a zigzag pattern, a stepped diagonal pattern, a V-shaped pattern, or an inverted V-shaped pattern (for instance the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally).
Regarding claim 12, Imai further teaches wherein leading edges of subsequent ones of the plurality of media units (for instance one of the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally) in the set are offset from leading edges of preceding ones of the plurality of media units (for instance another one of the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally) in the set by at least seventy-five percent of media length (length of 15).
Regarding claim 13, Imai further teaches wherein first side edges of subsequent ones of the plurality of media units (for instance one of the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally, figs.1,2) in the set are offset from first side edges of preceding ones of the plurality of media units (for instance another one of the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally) in the set by at least fifty percent of media width (figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 14, Imai teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a continuous web (10 figs.1,2), the continuous web having a web length (length of 10) extending along a first axis (along the length of 10) and a web width (width of 10) extending across a second axis (along the width of 10), the first and second axes are perpendicular to each other;
defining a plurality of demarcation features (13 figs.1,2), the plurality of demarcation features being positioned along the web length; and
defining a plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2), each media unit in the plurality of media units having a media length (length of 15) extending along the first axis and a media width (width of 15) extending along the second axis, the media width (width of 15) of each media unit in the plurality of media units is less than the web width and the media length of each media unit in the plurality of media units is less than the web length (figs.1,2),
wherein defining the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) includes defining a repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of the media units along the web length (length of 10), each repetition of the repetitive sequential pattern includes a set of the plurality of media units (for instance media units 15 in printing region 12 in fig.1), the plurality of media units in the set are offset from each other along the web length to form an ordered sequence (for instance in fig.1, the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally) and at least two of the plurality of media units in the set are offset from each other across the web width (for instance in fig.1, the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally), each repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the media units (15 figs.1,2) along the web length is demarcated by at least one of the plurality of demarcation features (13).
Regarding claim 15, Imai further teaches wherein defining the plurality of media units further comprises:
disposing a first one of the plurality of media units (for instance 15 on the left side, figs.1,2) in each repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units proximate to a first side edge (for instance the left edge of 10, fig.1) of the continuous web; and
disposing a last one of the plurality of media units (for instance 15 on the right side, figs.1,2) in each repetition of the repetitive sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units proximate to a second side edge (for instance the right edge of 10, fig.1) of the continuous web, the web width corresponding to a distance between the first and second edges (figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 16, Imai further teaches wherein defining the media units further comprises: offsetting at least two of the plurality of media units (for instance 15 on the left side, figs.1,2) in the set from each other so that the at least two of the plurality of media units (15) in the set are partially aligned along one of the web length or the web width (figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 17, Imai further teaches wherein defining the media units further comprises: defining subsets in the set of the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2); aligning the plurality of media units (15) in each subset serially and linearly along the web length; and offsetting at least two of the subsets relative to each other across the web width (media units 15 in regions 12 in figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 18, Imai further teaches wherein each repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern forms one of a diagonal pattern, a zigzag pattern, a stepped diagonal pattern, a V-shaped pattern, or an inverted V-shaped pattern (for instance the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally, figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 19, Imai teaches a media processing device (fig.3), comprising:
a platen (40 fig.3);
a printhead (34 fig.3) configured to form a nip with the platen;
a sensor (33 fig.3) disposed proximate to the printhead, the sensor configured to be responsive to demarcation features (13 figs.1,2) on a media supply (media supply in figs.1-3) as the media supply is advanced along a feed path in a feed direction past the sensor by the platen; and
a logic circuit (control circuitry in fig.3 including 21,31,32,43), the logic circuit configured to:
detect one of the demarcation features (13) based on an output of the sensor; register each of a plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) in a set demarcated by the one of the demarcation features (13), the plurality of media units in the set are offset relative to each other along a length and a width of the media supply and correspond to a repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units (for instance in fig.1, the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally); and
control the platen (43) and the printhead (34) to advance the media supply in the feed direction and print on the plurality of media units (15) in the set based on a position of the plurality of media units in the repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern (figs.1-3).
Regarding claim 22, Imai further teaches wherein each of the plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) in the set are registered based on a position of each of the plurality of media units in the set relative to the demarcation feature (13).
Regarding claim 23, Imai teaches a method (figs.1-3) comprising:
advancing a media supply (figs.1-3) along a feed path of a media processing device in a feed direction via control from a logic circuit (control circuitry in fig.3 including 21,31,32,43);
detecting a demarcation feature (13 figs.1,2) of the media based on an output of a sensor (33 fig.3);
registering each of a plurality of media units (15 figs.1,2) in a set of media units demarcated by the demarcation feature (13), the plurality of media units in the set are offset relative to each other along a length and a width of the media supply and correspond to a repetition of a repetitive and sequential periodic pattern of the plurality of media units (for instance in fig.1, the media units 15 in region 12 arranged diagonally); and
controlling a printhead (34 fig.3) to print on the plurality of media units (15) in the set based on a position of each of the plurality of media units in the repetition of the repetitive and sequential periodic pattern (figs.1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 20, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853