Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the specification discloses in [0038] for example, and line 5 of claim 1 sets forth “a touchscreen panel”; however, the ultimate line of claim 1 recites “a touchscreen digital device” which was not described in the specification in such a way to convey to a skilled artisan, the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed “touchscreen panel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13-29, 34-36, 38 and 40-52 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHEN (US 2022/0039550).
As per claim 1 SHEN discloses: A smart lectern 200 system comprising: a smart lectern 200 comprising: a base 206, a mast 202 extending from said base 206; and a touchscreen panel 220 { [0034] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 acts as an extended touch panel for externally connected laptops.} attached to said mast 202 and capable of generating touch communication; and a hub 305/320/330 capable of receiving said touch communication and transmitting a touch command to an output driver for display on a touchscreen digital device {figures 1-4 & [0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 determines in real-time whether the user intends to treat the data or signal as input-output. & [0048] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 can comprise a multitouch screen running a GUI that accepts user inputs such as touching the screen with one or more fingers, mouse pointer events, keyboard events, voice input, gesture recognition events, or other actions.}.
As per claims 2 and 29 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 wherein said base 206 comprises wheels 208.
As per claims 7 and 34 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 further comprising a touchscreen surface { [0034] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 acts as an extended touch panel for externally connected laptops.}.
As per claims 8 and 35 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 7 wherein said touchscreen panel 220 is integral to said touchscreen surface { [0034] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 acts as an extended touch panel for externally connected laptops.}.
As per claims 9 and 36 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 further comprising a microphone 256 {figure 3}.
As per claims 11 and 38 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 wherein said touchscreen panel 220 as at least 5 up to 20 points of touch { [0048] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 can comprise a multitouch screen running a GUI that accepts user inputs such as touching the screen with one or more fingers, mouse pointer events, keyboard events, voice input, gesture recognition events, or other actions.}.
As per claims 13 and 40 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 wherein said hub 305/320/330 is integral to said smart lectern 200 {figures 1-4}.
As per claims 14 and 41 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 wherein said hub 305/320/330 further comprises a multitouch module switch capable of receiving multiple touch communications for transmitting to said output driver {figures 1-4 & [0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 determines in real-time whether the user intends to treat the data or signal as input-output. & [0048] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 can comprise a multitouch screen running a GUI that accepts user inputs such as touching the screen with one or more fingers, mouse pointer events, keyboard events, voice input, gesture recognition events, or other actions.}.
As per claims 15 and 42 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 14 wherein said multiple touch communications are from said touchscreen panel 220 and a touchscreen digital display {figures 1-4 & [0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 determines in real-time whether the user intends to treat the data or signal as input-output. & [0048] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 can comprise a multitouch screen running a GUI that accepts user inputs such as touching the screen with one or more fingers, mouse pointer events, keyboard events, voice input, gesture recognition events, or other actions.}.
As per claims 16 and 43 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 14 wherein said hub 305/320/330 further comprises an operating system capable of receiving said multiple touch communications and transmitting said touch command to a touch process switch wherein said touch process switch transmits said touch command to at least one of said smart lectern 200 or a touchscreen digital display {figures 1-4 & [0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 determines in real-time whether the user intends to treat the data or signal as input-output. & [0048] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 can comprise a multitouch screen running a GUI that accepts user inputs such as touching the screen with one or more fingers, mouse pointer events, keyboard events, voice input, gesture recognition events, or other actions.}.
As per claims 17 and 44 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 16 wherein said operating system is selected from the group consisting of Intel Pluggable Specification and Smart Display Module {[0019] Another benefit is the inclusion of Open Pluggable Specification (“OPS”) slots or holders for increased functionality to connect any desired device Note: OPS is in the group consisting of Intel Pluggable Specification}.
As per claims 18 and 45 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 17 wherein said operating system is an Android operating system {[0035] The computing device 240 can be selected from a non-limiting group, including a tablet, laptop, document camera 250, iPad, Android, iPhone, or any other telecommunication device, etc. & [0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 employs a computer that runs any operating system, including Android, Linux, or Windows.}.
As per claims 19 and 46 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 17 wherein said Android operation system is Android 10 version to Android 15 version system {[0035] The computing device 240 can be selected from a non-limiting group, including a tablet, laptop, document camera 250, iPad, Android, iPhone, or any other telecommunication device, etc. & [0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 employs a computer that runs any operating system, including Android, Linux, or Windows. & [0054] In an embodiment of the invention, the device is powered by Snapdragon 8CX/7CX and runs Windows IO/Android 10.1.}.
As per claims 20 and 47 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 16 wherein said operating system further comprises an application layer { [0045] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 launch and run application software that accesses digital input content such as a USB video class stream.}.
As per claims 21 and 48 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 20 wherein said application layer is selected from the group consisting of screensharing, annotation, screenshot, interactive lessons, device management, and collaborating work { [0045] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 launch and run application software that accesses digital input content such as a USB video class stream. Then, additional processing at the application level is performed. In an embodiment, on the central interactive flat-panel display screen 220, a UVC stream is displayed in a whiteboard application. A user performs annotations, dynamically enhances images over an active stream, adds effects, performs rotations, scales, zooms, and crops. For an incoming 3D Virtual Reality Modeling Language (“VRML”) data stream scene, a user performs 3D rotations of the objects, rotates, zooms, selects, deletes, copies, adds, annotates, and performs other functions.}
As per claims 22 and 49 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 wherein said hub 305/320/330 further comprises an output port capable of transmitting said touch command from said output driver to a digital touchscreen digital display { [0053] FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram 500 showing the connectivity of the digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220. The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 allows a computing device 240 to control the entire system. Individual outputs from source devices are redirected to the intended destination when other terminal devices act as an input.}.
As per claims 23 and 50 SHEN discloses. Insofar the claim is definite and understood: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 comprising a series 6000A+ chip { [0010] Managing, aggregating, or bridging the content distributed from input to output on bridge devices is predetermined and processed by dedicated special-purpose micro-processors, such as Field-Programmable Gate Arrays (“FPGA”) or Application-Specific Integrated Circuits (“ASIC”) based special-purpose chips. [0035] The computing device 240 can be selected from a non-limiting group, including a tablet, laptop, document camera 250, iPad, Android, iPhone, or any other telecommunication device, etc. & [0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 employs a computer that runs any operating system, including Android, Linux, or Windows. & [0054] In an embodiment of the invention, the device is powered by Snapdragon 8CX/7CX and runs Windows IO/Android 10.1.}.
As per claims 24 and 51 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 further comprising at least one input/output connected selected from the group consisting of USB-A, USB-C, HDMI and VGA {[0037] The platform 204 has a set of industry-standard protocol compliant drivers 218 such as Universal Serial Bus (“USB”) Video Class driver (“UVC”), User Account Control (“UAC”), Mobile Switching Center (“UMSC), Human Interface Devices (”HID″), or other drivers. Drivers 218 are dynamically updated as more protocol becomes available or current protocol updates occur. The platform 204 has an assortment of connectors such as USB 2.0, USB 3.0, or Type A, B, or C connectors 218. Additionally, the central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 identifies protocol metadata from connectors 218. The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 determines in real-time whether the user intends to treat the data or signal as input-output. Therefore, by including an assortment of USB connectors 218 and updated ports 214 and 216, the digital teaching station 200 supports new data content forms.}.
As per claims 25 and 52 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 further comprising at least one of a speaker { [0048] The digital teaching station 200 is customizable to include a dedicated media hub with audio, video, and speakers.} and a video camera 250 {figure 3}.
As per claim 26 SHEN discloses: A smart lectern 200 system comprising: a smart lectern 200 comprising: a base 206, a mast 202 extending from said base 206; and a touchscreen panel 220 { [0034] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 acts as an extended touch panel for externally connected laptops.} attached to said mast 202 and capable of generating a first touch communication; a hub 305/320/330 comprising: in input system capable of receiving said first touch communication {figures 1-4 & [0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 determines in real-time whether the user intends to treat the data or signal as input-output. & [0048] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 can comprise a multitouch screen running a GUI that accepts user inputs such as touching the screen with one or more fingers, mouse pointer events, keyboard events, voice input, gesture recognition events, or other actions.}; a computer comprising an operating system capable of receiving said touch communication and transmitting signal output to a touch process module wherein said touch process module generates a touch process command {[0037] The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 employs a computer that runs any operating system, including Android, Linux, or Windows.}; and a digital display device 230 capable of receiving said touch process command and displaying an image {[0039] The reflective glass mirror 230 reflects the entire surface of the central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 and displays the reflected image at a speaker's eye level.}.
As per claim 27 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 26 further comprising a multitouch module switch capable of receiving said first touch command and a second touch command from said digital display device 230 { [0039] The reflective glass mirror 230 reflects the entire surface of the central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 and displays the reflected image at a speaker's eye level. [0048] The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 can comprise a multitouch screen running a GUI that accepts user inputs such as touching the screen with one or more fingers, mouse pointer events, keyboard events, voice input, gesture recognition events, or other actions.}.
As per claim 28 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 26 further comprising a touch process switch capable transmitting said touch command to said digital display device 230 and to said touchscreen panel 220 { [0038] Additionally, the reflective glass mirror 230 can have an anti-reflective coating on the backside to prevent double images. The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 displays a manipulated image. Simultaneously, the video output of the digital teaching station 200, specifically the video stream from the video output port 214, emits an always upright or non-manipulated image because of the switching capabilities of the central interactive flat-panel display screen 220.} .
As per claim 29 SHEN discloses: The smart lectern system of claim 26 wherein said base comprises wheels 208 {figure 1 & [0034] The digital teaching station 200 comprises a central interactive flat-panel display screen 220, a platform 204, a stand 202, a base 206, and wheels 208 . . . The digital teaching station 200 comprises wheels 208 attached to the base 206 and stand 202. }.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12, 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN (US 2022/0039550) in view of Falvo (US 2003/0201984).
Regarding claims 10 and 37 SHEN is silent as to: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 wherein said touchscreen panel 220 is a capacitive touchscreen. Regarding claims 12 and 39 SHEN is silent as to: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 wherein said touchscreen panel 220 comprises a protective glass. With respect to claims 10, 12, 37 and 39 Falvo discloses: [0031] A capacitive touchscreen consists of a glass panel with a capacitive (charge storing) material coating its surface. Circuits located at corners of the screen measure the capacitance of a person touching the screen. Frequency changes are measured to determine the X and Y coordinates of the touch event.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a smart lectern system with a capacitive touchscreen and a touchscreen panel including protective glass as taught by Falvo. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a smart lectern system with a capacitive touchscreen and a touchscreen panel including protective glass to protect a screen capable of multi-touch.
Claims 3-6 and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHEN (US 2022/0039550) in view of Mastalir et al (US 7,106,014).
Regarding claims 3 and 30 SHEN is silent as to: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 1 wherein said mast 202 comprises an upper mast 202 and a lower mast 202 wherein said upper mast 202 and said lower mast 202 are slidably engaged. Regarding claims 4 and 31 SHEN is silent as to: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 3 wherein said upper mast 202 and said lower mast 202 are telescoping. Regarding claims 5 and 32 SHEN is silent as to: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 4 further comprising a lift assist integral to said upper mast 202 and said lower mast 202. Regarding claims 6 and 33 SHEN is silent as to: The smart lectern 200 system of claim 4 further comprising an arrest for fixing said upper mast 202 and said lower mast 202 in fixed relative position.
With respect to claims 3-6 and 30-33 Mastalir et al discloses: mast 13 comprises an upper mast 28 and a lower mast 30 wherein said upper mast 28 and said lower mast 30 are slidably engaged; said upper mast 28 and said lower mast 30 are telescoping { [column 3, lines 55-61] Furthermore, the rear shroud 27 also maintains complete coverage of the rear of the column 13 because the upper portion 28 of the rear shroud 27 moves upwardly and downwardly along with the support member 14 with respect to the lower portion 30 in a telescoping manner, in order to maintain the generally continuous appearance of the rear shroud 27. }; a lift assist integral to said upper mast 202 and said lower mast 202 { [column 3, lines 42-45] It is also understood that any other satisfactory type of lifting and lowering arrangement may be employed in place of linear actuator 32, e.g. a pneumatic or hydraulic cylinder arrangement or the like.} and an arrest for fixing said upper mast 202 and said lower mast 202 in fixed relative position {figures 1-5}.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a smart lectern system with an upper and lower mast slidable engaged and telescoping with a lift assist and arrest as taught by Mastalir et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a smart lectern system with an upper and lower mast slidable engaged and telescoping with a lift assist and arrest to aid the user in raising and lower the lectern.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts the following in the fourth paragraph on page 1:
SHEN teaches an interactive flat-panel display wherein interaction with the display results in some form of an image. The image is then transmitted to a connected device through a switcher circuit board, 305. The image, or some form thereof, is transmitted but the touch command is not. In other words, the touch command is resident on the flat-panel display not on the connected device.
As mapped supra, the claimed hub is 305/320/330 of Shen, and the claimed invention does not preclude a switcher. In fact, an “output driver” is a combination of transistors which are switches. As stated supra, in [0037] of Shen: The central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 determines in real-time whether the user intends to treat the data or signal as input-output. Emphasis added. Shen also discloses in [0048] the following:
The digital teaching station 200 and central interactive flat-panel display screen 220 can comprise a multitouch screen running a GUI that accepts user inputs such as touching the screen with one or more fingers, mouse pointer events, keyboard events, voice input, gesture recognition events, or other actions.
Emphasis added.
Applicant asserts the following in the first full paragraph on page 3:
Mastalir et al. teaches mechanical elements of a lectern but fails to provide any teaching related to the electronic architecture sufficient to mitigate the deficiencies of SHEN set forth above relative to claims 1 and 26. More specifically, Mastalier et al. fails to teach the manner in which the touch command or touch process command is utilized.
Applicant also asserts the following in the fifth full paragraph on page 3:
Falvo teaches mechanical elements of a touch screen but fails to provide any teaching related to the electronic architecture sufficient to mitigate the deficiencies of SHEN set forth above relative to claims 1 and 26. More specifically, Falvo fails to teach the manner in which the touch command or touch process command is utilized.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD