DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlangen, et al. (US 20150343900 A1), in view of Teich (US 20020027380 A1) and in further view of Fuse-Box (NPL- product website - https://fuse-box.info/ford/ford-expedition-un93-1997-2002-fuses-and-relay).
Regarding claim 1, Schlangen teaches a utility vehicle (Schlangen, 1200, Fig. 42), comprising: a driver section (Schlangen, 1400, Fig. 42) configured to accommodate an occupant (Schlangen, Para. [0196]); a seating section (Schlangen, 1402, Fig. 42) disposed in the driver section (Schlangen, 1400) on which seating section an occupant is able to sit (Schlangen, Para. [0196]); a front cover (Schlangen, “dash board assembly” has a cover to hide and protect the electrical components in the front of the vehicle, 1432, Fig. 43) disposed in the driver section (Schlangen, 1400) and apart forward from the seating section (Schlangen, 1402). Additionally, Schlangen teaches an in-vehicle electronic device of the utility vehicle (Schlangen, 1440, Para. [0246]) enclosed in the front cover (Schlangen, 1432).
However, Schlangen fails to teach at least one relay connector disposed in the front cover and configured for reaching an in-vehicle electronic device of the utility vehicle, and wherein the front cover has an opening corresponding in position to the at least one relay connector and a maintenance lid configured to expose and block the opening.
However, Teich teaches at least one relay connector (Teich, 58, Fig. 3). Additionally, Teich teaches how the relay connectors should be consolidated to one area of the vehicle and a protected cover for an opening of the relay connectors in Para. [0003].
Still, the combination of the aforementioned art fails to teach the maintenance lid configured to expose and block the opening.
However, Fuse-Box (NPL) teaches a maintenance lid (see Fuse-Box NPL annotated figure) configured to expose and block the opening.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct a front cover as taught by Schlangen to incorporate at least one relay connection as taught by Teich to further construct a maintenance lid configured to expose and block the opening as taught by Fuse-Box (NPL) with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage that at least one relay connector is located in one area of the front cover that is easily accessible to the occupant and is protected with a maintenance lid from environmental hazards.
Regarding claim 2, Schlangen in combination of Teich teaches the at least one relay connector (Teich, 58) comprises a plurality of relay connectors (Teich, as shown above in Fig. 3) corresponding in position to the opening (Teich, Para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Schlangen teaches the seating section (Schlangen, 1402) comprises: a driver's seat (Schlangen, 1404, Fig. 42) for an occupant who drives the utility vehicle to sit on (Schlangen, Para. [0196]); and a passenger's seat (Schlangen, 1412, Fig. 42) lateral to the driver's seat (Schlangen, as shown in Fig. 42), the utility vehicle (Schlangen, 1200) further comprises a steering wheel (Schlangen, as shown in annotated Fig. 42) forward of the driver's seat (Schlangen, 1404, Fig. 42)
However, Schlangen fails to teach the maintenance lid is at a lateral portion of the front cover relative to a body of the utility vehicle which lateral portion is proximate to the steering wheel.
However, Fuse-Box (NPL) teaches the maintenance lid (see Fuse-Box NPL annotated figure) is at a lateral portion of the front cover relative to a body of the utility vehicle which lateral portion is proximate to the steering wheel (see Fuse-Box NPL annotated figure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct a front cover and seating sections as taught by Schlangen to further construct a maintenance lid is at a lateral portion of the front cover relative to a body of the utility vehicle which lateral portion is proximate to the steering wheel as taught by Fuse-Box (NPL) with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage that the occupant can easily access the maintenance lid.
Regarding claim 4, Fuse-Box (NPL) teaches the maintenance lid (see Fuse-Box NPL annotated figure) is below the steering wheel (see Fuse-Box NPL annotated figure).
Regarding claim 5, Fuse-Box (NPL) teaches the lateral portion is laterally outward of a steering shaft of the steering wheel relative to the body (see Fuse-Box NPL annotated figure).
Regarding claim 6, Schlangen teaches the front cover (Schlangen, 1432) comprises a sloped portion sloped downward toward a front (Schlangen, see annotated Fig. 43).
However, Schlangen fails to teach the maintenance lid is at the sloped portion.
However, Fuse-Box (NPL) teaches the maintenance lid (see Fuse-Box NPL annotated figure) is at the sloped portion (see Fuse-Box NPL annotated figure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct the front cover by Schlangen to further construct a maintenance lid is at the sloped portion as taught by Fuse-Box (NPL) with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage that the occupant can easily access the maintenance lid while maintaining vision on the road.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dahl, et al. (US 20080035404 A1) teaches a utility vehicle with an operator controls compartment located on the front cover.
/Alma D. Schuster/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612