Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frederick (US 2025/0127446).
Per Claim 1:
Frederick teaches:
- a processor; memory (e.g. see Fig. 2); a sensor that detects whether an own device is in a state of being carried with a user (par. 0092); and a communication circuit that communicates with an external device (par. 0092-0093)
- wherein: the memory stores at least updatable software, and the processor is configured to execute the updatable software, and in a case where the sensor detects that the own device is not in a state of being carried with the user, make processing related to update of the updatable software executable in cooperation with the external device through the communication circuit ([0071] Electronic circuit 24 is formed of any suitable size, shape, design, technology, and in any arrangement and is configured to facilitate retrieval, processing, and/or communication of data from sensor(s) 22 of wearable device 12 to monitoring system 14. In the arrangement shown, as one example, electronic circuit 24 includes a communication circuit 32, a processing circuit 34, and a memory 36 having software code 38 or instructions that facilitates the operation of wearable device 12. [0073] In some various arrangements, electronic circuit 24 and/or communication circuit 32 may be configured to communicate data from sensors 22 to monitoring system 14 (or other device) continuously, periodically, according to a schedule, when prompted by monitoring system 14 (or other device), when wearable device is checked in and connected to charging base 18, and/or in response to any other stimuli, command, or event. [0095] In one or more arrangements, the system 10 may also update the software or firmware on the wearable device 12 and prepare the wearable device 12 for another use while in the charging base. For example, in one or more arrangements, system may from time to time update classifiers or other analytics algorithms used by wearable devices 12 to identify events of interest. [0096] Monitoring system 14 is formed of any suitable size, shape, design and is configured to receive and process sensor data from wearable devices 12 to facilitate analysis of sensor data (e.g., to assess worker physicality, risk, and/or derive various other data metrics). In the arrangement shown, as one example, monitoring system 14 includes a database 60 and a data processing system 62, among other components.).
Per Claim 2:
Frederick teaches:
- wherein, in a case where the sensor detects that the own device is not in a state of being carried with the user, the processor is further configured to transmit non-carried information for notifying the external device that the own device is not in a state of being carried with the user to the external device through the communication circuit (par. 0095-0096).
Per Claim 3:
Frederick teaches:
- wherein, when the sensor detects that the own device is not in a state of being carried with the user, the processor is further configured to make the processing related to the update of the updatable software executable (par. 0095).
Per Claim 4:
Frederick teaches:
- wherein, when a predetermined period of time elapses from a time when the sensor detects that the own device is not in a state of being carried with the user, the processor is further configured to make the processing related to the update of the updatable software executable (par. 0073 and 0095).
Per Claim 6:
Frederick teaches:
- wherein the processor is further configured to acquire positional information of the own device, and in a case where it is determined that a position of the own device is within a predetermined position range set, the processor is further configured to make the processing related to the update of the updatable software executable, and in a case where the position of the own device is outside the position range, the processor is further configured not to make the processing related to the update of the updatable software executable (par. 0073 and 0095; The Examiner is interpreting that the predetermined position range set is within the position range of the charging base, and the wearable device is not updated when it is not in the charging base).
Per Claim 9:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Frederick further teaches wherein the sensor detects whether the own device is in a state of being worn by the user, and in a case where the sensor detects that the own device is not in a state of being worn by the user, the processor is further configured to make the processing related to the update of the updatable software executable in cooperation with the external device through the communication circuit (par. 0071, 0073, 0095-0096).
Per Claims 10-13 & 15:
These are method versions of the claimed wearable device discussed above (claims 1-4 and 6, respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, these claims are also anticipated by Frederick.
Per Claims 16-19:
These are medium versions of the claimed wearable device discussed above (claims 1-4, respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, these claims are also anticipated by Frederick.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederick (US 2025/0127446) in view of Ma (US 2015/0365892).
Per Claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Frederick further teaches when sensor detects that the own device is not in a state of being carried with the user, the processor is further configured to make the processing related to the update of the updatable software executable (par. 0095). Frederick does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a required time needed for the update of the updatable software, and in a case in which the required time is less than a predetermined update time threshold.
However, Ma teaches wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a required time needed for the update of the updatable software, and in a case in which the required time is less than a predetermined update time threshold (par. 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable device disclosed by Frederick to include wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a required time needed for the update of the updatable software, and in a case in which the required time is less than a predetermined update time threshold using the teaching of Ma. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure ultra-long standby of wearable devices (Ma, par. 0007).
Per Claim 14:
This is a method version of the claimed wearable device discussed above (claim 5, respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious.
Per Claim 20:
This is a medium version of the claimed wearable device discussed above (claim 5, respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dziurda (US 2019/0082378) teaches a method for acquiring positional information for mobile devices.
/QAMRUN NAHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199