This action is made in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 04/08/2026. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 8, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grantcharov (WO 2016/044920).
Regarding Claim 1, Grantcharov teaches the following:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
configuring a data pipelines network ([00225] various selection methodologies for optimal parameter adjustment in pipelined recurrent neural networks used for prediction of nonlinear signals; complex-valued pipelined recurrent neural networks) between a first surgical system and a second surgical system ([0027], [0098] the device middleware and hardware implements data conformity and accurate synchronization for the real-time medical or surgical data streams using network protocols for clock synchronization between the hardware units) such that the data pipelines network is configured to be used for communicating ([0047] The system also has a media management hub server with middleware and hardware for translating, connecting, formatting, and recording the real-time medical or surgical data streams to generate session container files on network accessible storage devices, and wireless network infrastructure to provide a secure network connection between the encoder, the smart devices and the media management hub server for communication of the real-time medical or surgical data streams.), during a performance of a surgical procedure on a patient([0027], [0096], [00142], [00147]: system may include more encoders 22 to collect feeds from local or remote data capture devices (of hardware unit 20) and exchange data. The device middleware and hardware implements data conformity and accurate synchronization for the real-time medical or surgical data streams using network protocols for clock synchronization between the hardware units. The method allows gathering of comprehensive information from every aspect of the individual, team and/or technology performances and their interaction during clinical interventions.),
a first data stream from the first surgical system to the second surgical system, the first data stream being configured to be used in performing a function associated with the second surgical system during the performance of the surgical procedure ([0072], [0078], [0081], [00104] Device middleware and hardware may be provided for translating, connecting, formatting and synchronizing of independent digital data streams from source devices. The data platform may be a modular system and not limited in terms of data feeds - any measurable parameter in the OR / patient intervention areas. Also see Fig. 1 and Fig. 8, showing the surgical systems that transfer the data. As an example, a control interface with a customizable graphical user interface (GUI) may exchange data with cameras, microphones, and sensors used in surgical units, ICU, emergency or other clinical intervention units. Pause or Stop or Play commands will send corresponding commands to the encoder.); and
in response to a third surgical system being connected to the data pipelines network ([00183] a synchronized multi-channel video/audio/metadata recording platform may be for use in the intraoperative environment. Development and installation of the black- box platform may be an iterative process that may involve both minor and major changes to the system.), and during the performance of the surgical procedure, reconfiguring the data pipelines network ([00145], [00183], [00240], [00247]: The processor may be reconfigurable. Additional devices can be added to the configuration without excessive and costly hardware and cabling.) such that:
during the performance of the surgical procedure, information is exchanged over the reconfigured data pipelines network (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 8, [0096], [00142]: system may include more encoders 22 to collect feeds from local or remote data capture devices (of hardware unit 20) and exchange data. The method allows gathering of comprehensive information from every aspect of the individual, team and/or technology performances and their interaction during clinical interventions.),
the first data stream is communicated from the first surgical system to the second surgical system over the reconfigured data pipelines network ([0072], [00104] Device middleware and hardware may be provided for translating, connecting, formatting and synchronizing of independent digital data streams from source devices. The data platform may be a modular system and not limited in terms of data feeds - any measurable parameter in the OR / patient intervention areas. Also see Fig. 1 and Fig. 8, showing the surgical systems that transfer the data), and
a third data stream is communicated to at least one of the first and second surgical systems over the reconfigured data pipelines network, the third data stream including data regarding a measured patient parameter that is configured to be used by the at least one of the first and second surgical systems during the performance of the surgical procedure ([0064], [0076]: middleware and hardware for device-to-device translation and connection and synchronization on a private VLAN or other network. The digital data may be ingested into the encoder as streams of metadata and is sourced from an array of potential sensor types and third-party devices (open or proprietary) that are used in surgical, ICU, emergency or other clinical intervention units. These sensors and devices may be connected through middleware and/or hardware devices which may act to translate, format and/or synchronize live streams of data from respected sources. Also, see Fig. 14, where the data interchange between at least three devices is shown. The system allows gathering of comprehensive information from every aspect of the individual, team and/or technology performances and their interaction during clinical interventions, including video from the procedural field; video of the clinical environment; audio; physiological data from the patient; environmental factors through various sensors (e.g., environmental, acoustic, electrical, flow, angle/positional/displacement and other potential sensors); software data from the medical devices used during intervention; and/or individual data from the healthcare providers (e.g., heart rate, blood pressure, skin conductance, motion and eye tracking, etc.). This information then may be synchronized (e.g. by the encoder 22) and/or used to evaluate: technical performance of the healthcare providers; non, technical performance of the clinical team members; patient safety (through number of registered errors and/or adverse events); occupational safety; workflow; visual and/or noise distractions; and/or interaction between medical / surgical devices and/or healthcare professionals, etc.).
Regarding Claim 5, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches the following:
The method of claim 1, wherein the third data stream is communicated to the at least one of the first and second surgical systems:
in real-time ([00222] The online approach may provide a real-time tool to assist surgeons and OR teams intraoperatively), or
after a time delay so as to free real-time data capacity of the reconfigured data pipelines network during the time delay ([00225] applications of time delayed A'JNs and feedforward multi-layer perceptron networks to model nonlinear dynamical systems.).
Regarding Claim 6, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein, during the performance of the surgical procedure, a second data stream is communicated to the first surgical system over the data pipelines network, the second data received over the data pipelines network is configured to be used in performing a function associated with the first surgical system during the performance of the surgical procedure ([00193] and Fig. 14: The data capture devices may provide output data feeds (i.e., second data) to encoders 174, 176, other data capture devices or an patient observation system 178. The medical or surgical data may be provided to display device 180 for display or to receive interaction commands via touch screen interface to control one or more components of the system (e.g. view change on camera, start or stop recording) (i.e., function associated with first surgical system)); and
the second data stream is communicated to the first surgical system over the reconfigured data pipelines network ([00193] The data capture devices may provide output data feeds (i.e., second data) to encoders 174, 176, other data capture devices or an patient observation system 178.).
Regarding Claim 8, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches the following:
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuring occurs during the performance of the surgical procedure ([0064], [0027]: The customizable control interface 14 and GUI (may include tablet devices, PDA's, hybrid devices, convertibles, etc.) may be used to control configuration for hardware components of unit. The device middleware and hardware implements data conformity and accurate synchronization for the real-time medical or surgical data streams using network protocols for clock synchronization between the hardware units).
Regarding Claim 12, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches the following:
The method of claim 1, wherein each of the first, second, and third surgical systems is one of a hospital network, a database, a surgical instrument, or a surgical cart (hardware units 20 may have sensors 30 (Fig. 1) installed or utilized in a surgical unit, ICU, emergency unit or clinical intervention units. Example sensors include but are not limited to: environmental sensors: i.e. temperature, moisture, humidity, etc.; acoustic sensors: i.e. ambient noise, decibel, etc.; electrical sensors: i.e. hall, magnetic, current, mems, capacitive, resistance, etc.; flow sensors: i.e. air, fluid, gas, etc.; angle/positional/displacement sensors: i.e., gyroscopes, attitude indicator, piezoelectric, photoelectric, etc.; other sensors: strain, level sensors, load cells, motion, pressure, etc.).
Regarding Claim 13, Grantcharov teaches the following:
A surgical data management system ([0021] a system, method, platform, device, and/or computer readable medium which provides comprehensive data collection of details of patient care in a surgical operating room (OR)), comprising:
a processor ([0058] the system further comprising a processor); and
a memory ([00146] Memory may include a suitable combination of any type of computer memory that is located either internally or externally) storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations ([00243] The computing devices may have at least one processor configured to execute software instructions stored on a computer readable tangible, non-transitory medium.) comprising:
configuring a data pipelines network ([00225] various selection methodologies for optimal parameter adjustment in pipelined recurrent neural networks used for prediction of nonlinear signals; complex-valued pipelined recurrent neural networks) between a first surgical system and a second surgical system ([0027], [0098] the device middleware and hardware implements data conformity and accurate synchronization for the real-time medical or surgical data streams using network protocols for clock synchronization between the hardware units) such that the data pipelines network is configured to be used for communicating ([0047] The system also has a media management hub server with middleware and hardware for translating, connecting, formatting, and recording the real-time medical or surgical data streams to generate session container files on network accessible storage devices, and wireless network infrastructure to provide a secure network connection between the encoder, the smart devices and the media management hub server for communication of the real-time medical or surgical data streams.), during a performance of a surgical procedure on a patient ([0027], [0096], [00142], [00147]: system may include more encoders 22 to collect feeds from local or remote data capture devices (of hardware unit 20) and exchange data. The device middleware and hardware implements data conformity and accurate synchronization for the real-time medical or surgical data streams using network protocols for clock synchronization between the hardware units. The method allows gathering of comprehensive information from every aspect of the individual, team and/or technology performances and their interaction during clinical interventions.).
a first data stream from the first surgical system to the second surgical system, the first data stream being configured to be used in performing a function associated with the second surgical system during the performance of the surgical procedure ([0072], [0078], [0081], [00104] Device middleware and hardware may be provided for translating, connecting, formatting and synchronizing of independent digital data streams from source devices. The data platform may be a modular system and not limited in terms of data feeds - any measurable parameter in the OR / patient intervention areas. Also see Fig. 1 and Fig. 8, showing the surgical systems that transfer the data. As an example, a control interface with a customizable graphical user interface (GUI) may exchange data with cameras, microphones, and sensors used in surgical units, ICU, emergency or other clinical intervention units. Pause or Stop or Play commands will send corresponding commands to the encoder.); and
in response to a third surgical system being connected to the data pipelines network ([00183] a synchronized multi-channel video/audio/metadata recording platform may be for use in the intraoperative environment. Development and installation of the black- box platform may be an iterative process that may involve both minor and major changes to the system.), and during the performance of the surgical procedure, reconfiguring the data pipelines network ([00145], [00183], [00240], [00247]: The processor may be reconfigurable. Additional devices can be added to the configuration without excessive and costly hardware and cabling.) such that:
during the performance of the surgical procedure on a patient, information is exchanged over the reconfigured data pipelines network (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 8, [00142]: system may include more encoders 22 to collect feeds from local or remote data capture devices (of hardware unit 20) and exchange data.),
the first data stream is communicated from the first surgical system to the second surgical system over the reconfigured data pipelines network ([0072], [00104] Device middleware and hardware may be provided for translating, connecting, formatting and synchronizing of independent digital data streams from source devices. The data platform may be a modular system and not limited in terms of data feeds - any measurable parameter in the OR / patient intervention areas. Also see Fig. 1 and Fig. 8, showing the surgical systems that transfer the data), and
a third data stream is communicated to at least one of the first and second surgical systems over the reconfigured data pipelines network, the third data stream including data regarding a measured patient parameter that is configured to be used by the at least one of the first and second surgical systems during the performance of the surgical procedure ([0064], [0076], [0096]-[0098]: middleware and hardware for device-to-device translation and connection and synchronization on a private VLAN or other network. The digital data may be ingested into the encoder as streams of metadata and is sourced from an array of potential sensor types and third-party devices (open or proprietary) that are used in surgical, ICU, emergency or other clinical intervention units. These sensors and devices may be connected through middleware and/or hardware devices which may act to translate, format and/or synchronize live streams of data from respected sources. Also, see Fig. 14, where the data interchange between at least three devices is shown. The system allows gathering of comprehensive information from every aspect of the individual, team and/or technology performances and their interaction during clinical interventions, including video from the procedural field; video of the clinical environment; audio; physiological data from the patient; environmental factors through various sensors (e.g., environmental, acoustic, electrical, flow, angle/positional/displacement and other potential sensors); software data from the medical devices used during intervention; and/or individual data from the healthcare providers (e.g., heart rate, blood pressure, skin conductance, motion and eye tracking, etc.). This information then may be synchronized (e.g. by the encoder 22) and/or used to evaluate: technical performance of the healthcare providers; non, technical performance of the clinical team members; patient safety (through number of registered errors and/or adverse events); occupational safety; workflow; visual and/or noise distractions; and/or interaction between medical / surgical devices and/or healthcare professionals, etc.).
Regarding Claim 14, Grantcharov teaches the system of claim 13 and further teaches the following:
The surgical data management system of claim 13, wherein a surgical hub includes the processor and the memory ([0077] and Claim 22: a Central control station (non-limiting examples being one or more computers, tablets, PDA's, hybrids, and/or convertibles, etc.) which may be located in the clinical unit or another customer designated location. A media management hub server with middleware and hardware for translating, connecting, formatting, and recording the real-time medical or surgical data streams to generate session container files on network accessible storage devices).
Regarding Claim 15, Grantcharov teaches the system of claim 14 and further teaches the following:
The surgical data management system of claim 14, further comprising the first, second, and third surgical systems (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 8, [00142]: system may include more encoders 22 to collect feeds from local or remote data capture devices (of hardware unit 20) and exchange data.).
Regarding Claim 16, Grantcharov teaches the system of claim 13 and further teaches the following:
The surgical data management system of claim 13, wherein each of the first, second, and third surgical systems is one of a hospital network, a database, a surgical instrument, or a surgical cart (hardware units 20 may have sensors 30 (Fig. 1) installed or utilized in a surgical unit, ICU, emergency unit or clinical intervention units. Example sensors include but are not limited to: environmental sensors: i.e. temperature, moisture, humidity, etc.; acoustic sensors: i.e. ambient noise, decibel, etc.; electrical sensors: i.e. hall, magnetic, current, mems, capacitive, resistance, etc.; flow sensors: i.e. air, fluid, gas, etc.; angle/positional/displacement sensors: i.e., gyroscopes, attitude indicator, piezoelectric, photoelectric, etc.; other sensors: strain, level sensors, load cells, motion, pressure, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grantcharov (WO 2016/044920) in view of Giataganas et al. (US 2020/0118677) (Hereinafter Giataganas).
Regarding Claim 2, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 but fails to teach the following that is met by Giataganas:
The method of claim 1, wherein the information exchanged over the reconfigured data pipelines network allows at least two of the first, second, and third surgical systems to close a control loop controlling a sub-system of the at least two of the first, second, and third surgical systems, the patient being part of the closed control loop (See Fig. 6, [0085]: Illustration of an embodiment of a surgical map including interconnected surgical data structures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the data pipeline network including three surgical systems, as taught by Grantcharov, with the closed loop structure between the surgical systems, as taught by Giataganas, because the interconnected surgical data structures can include relational metadata (e.g., metadata associated with corresponding data structures), which is not available in a single data structure (See Giataganas [0021]).
Regarding Claim 3, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 but fails to teach the following that is met by Giataganas:
The method of claim 1, wherein the third data steam is a dedicated data stream to only one of the first and second surgical systems ([0086] and Fig. 6: the surgical map 600 may transition from a first data structure 604 to another surgical data structure (e.g., the second data structure 606 or the third data structure 608) in the global surgical graph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the data pipeline network including three surgical systems, as taught by Grantcharov, with the dedicated data stream between the surgical systems, as taught by Giataganas, because the interconnected surgical data structures can include relational metadata (e.g., metadata associated with corresponding data structures), which is not available in a single data structure (See Giataganas [0021]).
Regarding Claim 4, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 but fails to teach the following that is met by Giataganas:
The method of claim 1, wherein the third data steam is communicated to each of the first and second surgical systems (See Frig. 3 and Fig. 6: The streams can go between each of the systems, (e.g., between 604, 606, and 608).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the data pipeline network including three surgical systems, as taught by Grantcharov, with the data streams going between each of the surgical systems, as taught by Giataganas, because the interconnected surgical data structures can include relational metadata (e.g., metadata associated with corresponding data structures), which is not available in a single data structure (See Giataganas [0021]).
Regarding Claim 7, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 6 but fails to teach the following that is met by Giataganas:
The method of claim 6, further comprising, during the performance of the surgical procedure, adjusting the reconfigured data pipelines network such that a priority level of the first, second, and third data streams is adjusted ([0091] the surgical data structures can identify a surgical action based on weights assigned to one or more edges between the node-to-node transitions. The weights may be manually assigned and updated when constructing the surgical data structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the data pipeline network including three surgical systems, as taught by Grantcharov, with the surgical systems having priority levels, as taught by Giataganas, because the interconnected surgical data structures can include relational metadata (e.g., metadata associated with corresponding data structures), which is not available in a single data structure. The different functions can be assigned weights that can be associated with different factors such as risk, surgical outcomes, prevalence of use, current procedural states, etc., which allows for a larger variety of data being collected and streamed (See Giataganas [0021] and [0091]).
Regarding Claim 9, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 but fails to teach the following that is met by Giataganas:
The method of claim 1, wherein the function associated with the second surgical system is one of: same as a function performed by the second surgical system using the data included in the third data stream, and different from the function performed by the second surgical system using the data ([0047] Each information unit of the set of information units may correspond to a different temporal association relative to other information units of the set of information units.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the data pipeline network including three surgical systems, as taught by Grantcharov, with the surgical systems having different functions, as taught by Giataganas, because the interconnected surgical data structures can include relational metadata (e.g., metadata associated with corresponding data structures), which is not available in a single data structure. The different functions can be assigned weights that can be associated with different factors such as risk, surgical outcomes, prevalence of use, current procedural states, etc., which allows for a larger variety of data being collected and streamed (See Giataganas [0021] and [0091]).
Regarding Claim 10, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 but fails to teach the following that is met by Giataganas:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first data stream comprises first data regarding a first measured patient parameter, wherein the data included in the third data stream is a third data, wherein the measured patient parameter that the third data is regarding is a third measured patient parameter, and wherein the first measured patient parameter is different from the third measured patient parameter (Fig. 6, [0086], [0087], [0089]: the first, second, and third surgical data structure may include multiple interconnected nodes that provide inter-relational information between each of the surgical data structures. The first surgical data structure 604 may start at node 610 and represent procedural states of a surgical procedure (e.g., a discrete physiological and procedural state of the patient during a procedure (see para. [0027]). The third surgical data structure 608 may start at node 670 and represent a description of and/or information corresponding to one or more anatomical features (e.g., heart, spleen, kidney, etc.) in the surgical procedure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the data pipeline network including three surgical systems, as taught by Grantcharov, with the surgical systems having different parameters, as taught by Giataganas, because the interconnected surgical data structures can include relational metadata (e.g., metadata associated with corresponding data structures), which is not available in a single data structure. The different parameters can be assigned weights that can be associated with different factors such as risk, surgical outcomes, prevalence of use, current procedural states, etc., which allows for a larger variety of data being collected and streamed (See Giataganas [0021] and [0091]).
Regarding Claim 11, Grantcharov teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein the first measured patient parameter is same as the third measured patient parameter (See Fig. 1, where each system (20) can contain the same instruments and data collection devices to collect the same parameters);
However, Grantcharov does not teach the following that is met by Giataganas:
at least the second surgical system receives the third data stream ([0086] and Fig. 6: The first, second, and third surgical data structure 604, 606, 608 may include multiple interconnected nodes that provide inter-relational information between each of the surgical data structures. Thus, the second and third systems are interconnected and receive streams from the other); and
the second surgical system is configured to select one of the first data and the third data to use ([0005] An edge of the one or more edges (of the first, second, and third systems) is selected based on the additional metadata associated with the one or more edges. Electronic data associated with the portion of the surgical dataset is generated based on the selected edge.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the data pipeline network including three surgical systems, as taught by Grantcharov, with the data streams going between the second and third surgical systems, as well as the selection of data to use, as taught by Giataganas, because the interconnected surgical data structures can include relational metadata (e.g., metadata associated with corresponding data structures), which is not available in a single data structure. The metadata can be used to generate and/or update an electronic output during a surgical procedure or afterwards. (See Giataganas [0021]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Grantcharov does not teach each and every aspect of the independent claims. Specifically, Applicant argues that Grantcharov does not teach “in response to a third surgical system being connected to the data pipelines network, and during the performance of the surgical procedure, reconfiguring the data pipelines network.” However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on the claim language of “in response to a third surgical system being connected”, the timing of the reconfiguration has minimal impact, and the third surgical system could have already been included in the data pipelines network. Additionally, Grantcharov paragraphs [00145], [00183], [00240], and [00247] disclose that the processor is reconfigurable, and that additional devices can be added to the configuration without excessive work. Therefore, Grantcharov does disclose a data pipeline network that is reconfigurable with the addition of devices, and is capable of performing these functions during the performance of a procedure. Therefore, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
The relevant art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Grantcharov et al (US 11,322,248) discloses a similar system of exchanging data through data streams in an operating room environment.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.V./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/EVANGELINE BARR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682