DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/960,123 filed 11/26/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitations:
an image detection module configured to capture;
a tracker configured to track;
have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “configured to” coupled with functional language “capture” and “track” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-10 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Fig. 4A, Image detection module 320, paragraphs [0098], [0165], [0214]-[0217].
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-11 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1, 4-10 and 13-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,953. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are different definitions or descriptions of the same subject matter varying in breadth. For example, note the following relationship between claim 1 of the instant application and the patented claims.
Application No. 18/960,123
U.S. Patent No. 12,166,953
1. An optical imaging system to image a target object, comprising:
1. An optical imaging system to image a target object, comprising:
an image detection module configured to:
capture a preoperative image of the target object before the target object is positioned to be illuminated by at least one or more light rays projected onto the target object, wherein the preoperative image includes a three-dimensional (3D) topography of the target object;
an image detection module configured to:
capture a preoperative image of the target object before the target object is positioned to be illuminated by at least one or more light rays projected onto the target object, wherein the preoperative image includes a preoperative three-dimensional (3D) topography of the target object,
an image projector configured to:
emit the one or more light rays to project a corrected projection image of the preoperative image of the target object to be visualized by a user;
a projector configured to:
emit a first set of the one or more light rays to project a corrected projection image of the preoperative image of the target object to be visualized by a user; and
a display configured to:
display the corrected projection image to be visualized by the user that is projected onto the display and enable the user to view via a surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the corrected projection image, wherein the display is partially transparent to light to enable the user to view the surrounding environment with natural vision simultaneously with the corrected projection image via the display;
a display that includes a first display that encompasses a totality field of view associated with a first eye of the user and a second display that encompasses a totality field of view associated with a second eye of the user with at least one display that is head-mounted so that the first display is associated with the first eye of the user and the second display is associated with the second eye of the user and is configured to:
display via the first display the corrected projection image to be visualized by the user that is projected onto the first display, and
display via the second display that is partially transparent to light to enable the user to view via natural vision of the second eye of the user a surrounding environment of the user via the second display simultaneously with the corrected projection image projected onto the first display thereby enabling the user to view the surrounding environment with the natural vision simultaneously with the corrected projection image via the display; and
a tracker configured to track a position of the target object; and
track a position of the target object, and
a controller that includes at least one graphics processing unit and is configured to:
map each relative distance determined from image information captured from the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image to the corrected projection image based on a position of the image projector, wherein the corrected projection image incorporates each relative distance determined from the image information captured from the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image to thereby display at least a portion of the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image in the corrected projection image; and
a controller that includes at least one graphics processing unit and is configured to:
map each relative distance determined from preoperative image data included in the preoperative 3D topography of the target object to the corrected projection image based on a position of the projector, wherein the corrected projection image incorporates each relative distance determined from the preoperative image data included in the preoperative 3D topography of the target object based on the intraoperative topography information of the target object detected from the projection of the one or more polarized light rays onto the target object to thereby display at least a portion of the preoperative 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image in the corrected projection image,
instruct the image projector to project the corrected projection image to be visualized by the user via the display.
instruct the projector to project the preoperative image data included in the corrected projection image to be visualized by the user via the display for visualization based on the co-registered topography information and preoperative information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to readily recognize that the conflicting claims are different definitions or descriptions of the same subject matter varying in breadth. In this case, the application claims are broader than and inclusive of the patented claims.
Claim 4 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 5 of the application corresponds to claim 4 of the patent.
Claim 6 of the application corresponds to claim 5 of the patent.
Claim 7 of the application corresponds to claim 6 of the patent.
Claim 8 of the application corresponds to claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 9 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the patent.
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the patent.
Claim 14 of the application corresponds to claim 13 of the patent.
Claim 15 of the application corresponds to claim 14 of the patent.
Claim 16 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the patent.
Claim 17 of the application corresponds to claim 16 of the patent.
Claim 18 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent.
Claim 19 of the application corresponds to claim 18 of the patent.
Claim 20 of the application corresponds to claim 19 of the patent.
Claims 2, 3, 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,953 in view of Casas (US 2016/0191887).
Consider claim 2, the patented claims clearly teach the tracker. (Claim 1)
However, the patented claims do not explicitly teach the tracker is further configured to track the position of the target object based on optical tracking.
In an analogous art, Casas, which discloses a system for surgical imaging, clearly teaches the tracker is further configured to track the position of the target object based on optical tracking. (Optical tracking means 136 track objects using optical tracking, [0104], [0117].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims by the tracker is further configured to track the position of the target object based on optical tracking, as taught by Casas, to achieve the predictable result of tracking the object.
Consider claim 3, the patented claims clearly teach the tracker. (Claim 1)
However, the patented claims do not explicitly teach the tracker is further configured to track the position of the target object based on electromagnetic tracking.
In an analogous art, Casas, which discloses a system for surgical imaging, clearly teaches the tracker is further configured to track the position of the target object based on electromagnetic tracking. (Tracking means 136 include electromagnetic tracking, [0109].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims by the tracker is further configured to track the position of the target object based on electromagnetic tracking, as taught by Casas, to achieve the predictable result of tracking the object.
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the patent in view of Casas.
Claim 13 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the patent in view of Casas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Casas (US 2016/0191887).
Consider claim 1, Casas clearly teaches an optical imaging system to image a target object, (Fig. 1) comprising:
an image detection module (Fig. 1: Preoperative imaging device 102, [0030]) configured to:
capture a preoperative image of the target object before the target object is positioned to be illuminated by at least one or more light rays projected onto the target object, wherein the preoperative image includes a three-dimensional (3D) topography of the target object; (Preoperative imaging device 102 captures 3D data of the patient, [0030], [0041], [0042], [0073].)
an image projector (Fig. 1: Display system 126, [0118]) configured to:
emit the one or more light rays to project a corrected projection image of the preoperative image of the target object to be visualized by a user; (Display system 126 can project the processed images 124 onto the patient, [0118].)
a display (Fig. 1: Display system 126, [0033]) configured to:
display the corrected projection image to be visualized by the user that is projected onto the display and enable the user to view via a surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the corrected projection image, wherein the display is partially transparent to light to enable the user to view the surrounding environment with natural vision simultaneously with the corrected projection image via the display; (Display system 126 can be a head-mounted 213 stereoscopic optical see-through display 214 to display the processed images 124 to the surgeon simultaneously with the surrounding environment, [0037], [0117], [0125], [0143], [0197].)
a tracker configured to track a position of the target object; (Fig. 1: Tracking means 136 tracks the positioning of the patient, [0035], [0093]-[0095].) and
a controller that includes at least one graphics processing unit (Fig. 6, [0180]-[0191]) and is configured to:
map each relative distance determined from image information captured from the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image to the corrected projection image based on a position of the image projector, wherein the corrected projection image incorporates each relative distance determined from the image information captured from the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image to thereby display at least a portion of the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image in the corrected projection image; (The preoperative 3D data is registered with the stereoscopic video and corrected for movement of the patient, [0042], [0059]-[0061], [0088], [0093]-[0099], [0109], [0125].) and
instruct the image projector to project the corrected projection image to be visualized by the user via the display. (Processed images 124 are displayed to the surgeon, [0117], [0118].)
Consider claim 2, Casas clearly teaches the tracker is further configured to track the position of the target object based on optical tracking. (Optical tracking means 136 track objects using optical tracking, [0104], [0117].)
Consider claim 3, Casas clearly teaches the tracker is further configured to track the position of the target object based on electromagnetic tracking. (Tracking means 136 include electromagnetic tracking, [0109].)
Consider claim 4, Casas clearly teaches the display is further configured to display the corrected projection image and enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user simultaneously via at least one wearable display. ([0117])
Consider claim 11, Casas clearly teaches a method for imaging a target object, (Fig. 3) comprising:
capturing by an image detection module a preoperative image of the target object before the target object before the target object is positioned to be illuminated by at least one or more light rays projected onto the target object, wherein the preoperative image includes a three-dimensional (3D) topography of the target object; (Preoperative imaging device 102 captures 3D data of the patient, [0030], [0041], [0042], [0073].)
emitting by an image projector the one or more light rays to project a corrected projection image of the preoperative image of the target object to be visualized by a user; (Display system 126 can project the processed images 124 onto the patient, [0118].)
displaying by a display the corrected projection image to be visualized by the user that is projected onto the display and enable the user to view via a surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the corrected projection image, wherein the display is partially transparent to light to enable the user to view the surrounding environment with natural vision simultaneously with the corrected projection image via the display; (Display system 126 can be a head-mounted 213 stereoscopic optical see-through display 214 to display the processed images 124 to the surgeon simultaneously with the surrounding environment, [0037], [0117], [0125], [0143], [0197].)
tracking by a tracker a position of the target object; (Fig. 1: Tracking means 136 tracks the positioning of the patient, [0035], [0093]-[0095].) and
mapping by a controller each relative distance determined from image information captured from the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image to the corrected projection image based on a position of the image projector, wherein the corrected projection image incorporates each relative distance determined from the image information captured by the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image to thereby display at least a portion of the 3D topography of the target object included in the preoperative image in the corrected projection image; (The preoperative 3D data is registered with the stereoscopic video and corrected for movement of the patient, [0042], [0059]-[0061], [0088], [0093]-[0099], [0109], [0125].) and
instructing the image projector to project the corrected projection image to be visualized by the user via the display. (Processed images 124 are displayed to the surgeon, [0117], [0118].)
Consider claim 12, Casas clearly teaches the tracking comprises tracking the position of the target object based on optical tracking. (Optical tracking means 136 track objects using optical tracking, [0104], [0117].)
Consider claim 13, Casas clearly teaches n the tracking further comprises tracking the position of the target object based on electromagnetic tracking. (Tracking means 136 include electromagnetic tracking, [0109].)
Consider claim 14, Casas clearly teaches the displaying comprises displaying the corrected projection image and enabling the user to view the surrounding environment of the user simultaneously via at least one wearable display. ([0117])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casas (US 2016/0191887) in view of West et al. (US 2014/0276002), herein West.
Consider claim 5, Casas combined with Farkas clearly teaches the controller is further 15configured to: 20register preoperative image data included in the corrected projection image to the intraoperative image data included in the intraoperative image space that is captured by the imaging system as the position of the target object is tracked by the tracker; and instruct the display to display the preoperative image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered to the intraoperative image data that is captured by the imaging system as the position of the target object is tracked by the tracker. (Registration of the 3D volume and stereoscopic video is performed to provide the augmented reality display, [0059]-[0063], [0078], [0080], [0087]-[0090].)
However, Casas combined with Farkas does not explicitly teach the controller is further 15configured to: calculate a transformation matrix between a preoperative image space that the corrected projection image is projected via the display and an intraoperative image space that an imaging system captures as the tracker tracks the position of the target object.
In an analogous art, West, which discloses a system for surgical imaging, clearly teaches the controller is further 15configured to: calculate a transformation matrix between a preoperative image space that the corrected projection image is projected via the display and an intraoperative image space that an imaging system captures as the tracker tracks the position of the target object. (Fig. 2: The image space transformation calculator 124 generates a corresponding image space transformation matrix 126 that provides a transformation of the intraoperative image data 122 into the preoperative image data 56, [0051].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Casas combined with Farkas by the controller is further 15configured to: calculate a transformation matrix between a preoperative image space that the corrected projection image is projected via the display and an intraoperative image space that an imaging system captures as the tracker tracks the position of the target object, as taught by West, to achieve the predictable result of registering the preoperative and intraoperative data.
Consider claim 6, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the controller is further configured to instruct the display to enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the display of the preoperative image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered to the intraoperative image data that is captured by the imaging system as the position of the target object is tracked by the tracker. ([0117] Casas)
Consider claim 7, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the controller is further configured to: calculate a transformation matrix between the intraoperative image space and an intraoperative object space, wherein the intraoperative space is a space occupied by the target object that a surgical procedure is being performed; ([0051] West) register the intraoperative image data as captured by the imaging system as the position of the target of interest is tracked by the tracker to the intraoperative object space that is occupied by the target object during the surgical procedure; and instruct the display to display the intraoperative image data in the corrected projection image that is co-registered to the intraoperative object space that is occupied by the target object. (Registration of the 3D volume and stereoscopic video is performed to provide the augmented reality display, [0059]-[0063], [0078], [0080], [0087]-[0090] Casas.)
Consider claim 8, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the controller is further configured to instruct the display to enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the display of the intraoperative image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered with the intraoperative object space as the position of the target object is tracked by the tracker. ([0117] Casas)
Consider claim 9, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the controller is further configured to instruct the display to enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the display of fluorescence image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered with the intraoperative object space. ([0073], [0117] Casas)
Consider claim 10, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the controller is further configured to instruct the display to enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the display of color image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered with the intraoperative object space. ([0078], [0130], [0117] Casas)
Consider claim 15, Casas combined with West clearly teaches calculating a transformation matrix between a preoperative image space that the corrected projection image is projected via the display and an intraoperative image space that an imaging system captures as the position of the target object is tracked; ([0051] West) registering preoperative image data included in the corrected projection image to the intraoperative image data included in the intraoperative space that is captured by the imaging system as the position of the target object is tracked by the tracker; and instructing the display to display the preoperative image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered to the intraoperative image data that is captured by the imaging system as the position of the target object is tracked by the tracker. (Registration of the 3D volume and stereoscopic video is performed to provide the augmented reality display, [0059]-[0063], [0078], [0080], [0087]-[0090] Casas.)
Consider claim 16, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the instructing the display comprises: instructing the display to enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the display of the preoperative image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered to the intraoperative image data that is captured by the imaging system as the position of the target object is tracked by the tracker. ([0117] Casas)
Consider claim 17, Casas combined with West clearly teaches calculating a transformation matrix between the intraoperative image space and an intraoperative object space, wherein the intraoperative image space is a space occupied by the target object that a surgical procedure is being performed; ([0051] West) registering the intraoperative image data as captured by the imaging system as the position of the target of interest is tracked by the tracker to the intraoperative object space that is occupied by the target object during the surgical procedure; and instructing the display to display the intraoperative image data in the corrected projection image that is co-registered to the intraoperative object space that is occupied by the target object. (Registration of the 3D volume and stereoscopic video is performed to provide the augmented reality display, [0059]-[0063], [0078], [0080], [0087]-[0090] Casas.)
Consider claim 18, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the instructing the display comprises: instructing the display to enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the display of the intraoperative image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered with the intraoperative object space as the position of the target object is tracked by the tracker. ([0117] Casas)
Consider claim 19, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the instructing the display further comprises: instructing the display to enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the display of fluorescence image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered with the intraoperative object space. ([0073], [0117] Casas)
Consider claim 20, Casas combined with West clearly teaches the instructing the display further comprises: instructing the display to enable the user to view the surrounding environment of the user via the display simultaneously with the display of color image data included in the corrected projection image that is co-registered with the intraoperative object space. ([0078], [0130], [0117] Casas)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425