DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 24, each instance of the limitation “the markers” should be changed to –the one or more markers—in order to have proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the surface" in lines 16 and 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This also applies to the analogous limitations of independent claims 29 and 34.
Claims dependent upon a claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected under the same statute because they each inherit the indefiniteness of the claim(s) they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fullerton et al. (US 2014/0309522, October 16, 2014).
Regarding claim 29, Fullerton discloses a method for localization of a region within a patient's body (“Apparatus, systems, and methods are provided for localizing lesions within a patient's body, e.g., within a breast.” Abstract), comprising:
implanting a plurality of markers within the region (one or more markers that are implanted within or around the target tissue region.” Abstract);
placing a distal end of a probe sequentially against a plurality of surface locations adjacent the region (“the probe 30 may be positioned at several locations against or otherwise adjacent the skin 48” [0140]; also see Fig. 3 and corresponding description);
at each of the surface locations, activating the probe to transmit electromagnetic signals into the patient's body, receive reflected signals from the patient's body (“the probe transmits electromagnetic signals towards the target tissue region, receives electromagnetic signals reflected from the target,” [0016]), and in synchronization with transmitting the electromagnetic signals, deliver light pulses into the patient's body (“the distal end 1024 of the probe 1020 may be placed adjacent or in contact with the patient's skin, e.g., generally above the lesion, and/or otherwise aimed generally towards the lesion and tag 1040, and activated. The transmit antenna (not shown) of the probe 1020 may emit electromagnetic signals 1034T that travel through the tissue and are reflected off of the tag 1040. Return signals 1034R may be reflected back to the receive antenna (not shown) in the probe 1020 [...] In addition, substantially simultaneously, the probe 1020 may transmit light pulses 1038a” [0270]-[0271]), whereupon the plurality of markers modulate reflected signals from the respective markers (“each marker 120 may modulate an incident signal from the probe 30 in a predetermined manner and/or absorb or reflect a particular electromagnetic signal that is specific to that marker 120 and may be used to uniquely identify it.” [0146]);
processing, via a processor of the probe, the modulated reflected signals from one or more of the surface locations to determine marker locations within the region to obtain a reference frame relative to the region and to determine distance values corresponding to distances from the respective markers to the distal end at each of the surface locations (“the method may include calculating, by at least one processor, a difference in time from the time the transmit signal was sent by the transmit antenna to the time the receive signal was received by the receive antenna. In addition, the method may include determining, by at least one processor, a distance from the tip of the probe to the marker by using the difference in time.” [0022]; also see [0049]; also see Fig. 9, reproduced below, and corresponding description, e.g., [0154]);
determining, via the processor, coordinates of the surface locations relative to the reference frame (“The micro-controller 36a may then interpret the received and/or processed signals to identify a spatial relationship, e.g., distance, angle, orientation, and the like, of the target 26 or other structures relative to the probe 30” [0124]; also see “three dimensional array of markers” in [0018] and “location coordinates” in [0125]);
predicting, via the processor, the surface based on the determined coordinates of the surface locations (“the probe 30 may be positioned at several locations against or otherwise adjacent the skin 48 and spatial information obtained, if desired. Such information may facilitate the surgeon determining an optimal approach path for dissection, e.g., the shortest path to the lesion 42, or otherwise help orient the surgeon relative to the lesion 42 in three dimensions. After the distance 52 between the patient's skin 48 and the target 26 from a desired location on the skin 48 is determined, the tissue 40 may be dissected to reach the predetermined outer edge 44 of the tissue specimen 46, as shown in FIG. 4.” [0140]); and
generating a three-dimensional model of the region based on the predicted surface (“a graphical image (e.g., a two-dimensional or three-dimensional image) depicting the marker, the microwave antenna probe 531, the distance from the tip of the microwave antenna probe 531 to the marker, and/or a physiological picture of the body part containing the marker (e.g., the breast)” [0223]).
Regarding claim 30, Fullerton further discloses wherein the region comprises a breast of the patient (“localizing lesions within a patient's body, e.g., within a breast” Abstract), and wherein implanting the plurality of markers comprising implanting the markers within the breast to identify the lesion (see plurality of markers 120 implanted within breast 41 in Fig. 9 and corresponding description; also see [0134]).
Regarding claim 31, Fullerton further discloses presenting the model on a display, the model comprising a three-dimensional representation of the breast showing the markers (“the display screen 537 may display a graphical image (e.g., a two-dimensional or three-dimensional image) depicting the marker, the microwave antenna probe 531, the distance from the tip of the microwave antenna probe 531 to the marker, and/or a physiological picture of the body part containing the marker (e.g., the breast)” [0223]).
Regarding claim 32, Fullerton further discloses wherein the markers are implanted within the breast such that the markers are spaced apart from the lesion to define a desired margin around the lesion (“the target may include a first marker that is introduced into the target tissue region spaced apart from a lesion to define a desired margin for removal of a specimen volume from the target tissue region. Optionally, a second marker and/or a plurality of additional markers may be introduced into the target tissue region spaced apart from the lesion and the first marker to further define the desired margin. Thus, if desired, a three dimensional array of markers may be placed within or around the target tissue region to facilitate localization thereof.” [0018]).
Regarding claim 33, Fullerton further discloses further comprising removing a tissue specimen from the breast including the lesion (“A tissue specimen may then be removed from the target tissue region, the tissue specimen including the lesion and the target(s).” [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-28, 34, and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fullerton et al. (US 2014/0309522, October 16, 2014) in view of Ma et al. (US 2018/0275246, September 27, 2018).
Regarding claims 21 and 34, Fullerton discloses a method (and corresponding system) for localization of a region within a patient's body (“Apparatus, systems, and methods are provided for localizing lesions within a patient's body, e.g., within a breast.” Abstract), comprising:
placing a distal end of a probe (“placing a probe against the patient's skin or otherwise adjacent the target tissue region and/or aimed towards the target tissue region” [0016]) against a plurality of surface locations of the region (“the probe 30 may be positioned at several locations against or otherwise adjacent the skin 48” [0140]; also see Fig. 3 and corresponding description), wherein the probe includes a receive antenna on a substrate of the probe (“receiving, by a receive antenna, a receive signal that is reflected from the marker. Similar to the transmit antenna, the receive antenna may also be housed in the tip of the probe” [0022]);
receiving, via the probe, modulated reflected signals (“The electrical circuit may include a switch, e.g., field effect transistor, a Schottky diode, and the like, which may be powered by the energy pulses received from the probe to alternately open and close the switch and modulate the signals reflected by the tag back to the probe.” [0038]) from one or more markers implanted in the region at each of the plurality of surface locations (“The system includes a microwave antenna probe for transmitting and receiving electromagnetic signals to detect one or more markers that are implanted within or around the target tissue region.” Abstract);
determining, via a processor, multiple distance values corresponding to distances from each of the one or more markers to the different positions on the substrate of each of the plurality of receive antennas (“the method may include calculating, by at least one processor, a difference in time from the time the transmit signal was sent by the transmit antenna to the time the receive signal was received by the receive antenna. In addition, the method may include determining, by at least one processor, a distance from the tip of the probe to the marker by using the difference in time.” [0022]; also see [0049]);
determining, via the processor, coordinates defining a spatial location of the one or more markers relative to the distal end of the probe based on the multiple distance values based on the distances from the one or more markers to the distal end to identify the spatial location of the one or more markers in three-dimensions (“The micro-controller 36a may then interpret the received and/or processed signals to identify a spatial relationship, e.g., distance, angle, orientation, and the like, of the target 26 or other structures relative to the probe 30” [0124]; also see “three dimensional array of markers” in [0018] and “location coordinates” in [0125]),
obtaining samples of the spatial location of the one or more markers relative to the distal end of the probe positioned at multiple locations of the surface, predicting the surface based on the samples (“the probe 30 may be positioned at several locations against or otherwise adjacent the skin 48 and spatial information obtained, if desired. Such information may facilitate the surgeon determining an optimal approach path for dissection, e.g., the shortest path to the lesion 42, or otherwise help orient the surgeon relative to the lesion 42 in three dimensions. After the distance 52 between the patient's skin 48 and the target 26 from a desired location on the skin 48 is determined, the tissue 40 may be dissected to reach the predetermined outer edge 44 of the tissue specimen 46, as shown in FIG. 4.” [0140]); and
generating a model of the region and the one or more markers implanted within the region based on the predicted surface and the spatial location of the one or more markers (“a graphical image (e.g., a two-dimensional or three-dimensional image) depicting the marker, the microwave antenna probe 531, the distance from the tip of the microwave antenna probe 531 to the marker, and/or a physiological picture of the body part containing the marker (e.g., the breast)” [0223]).
Although Fullerton suggests wherein the probe includes a plurality of receive antennas spaced apart from one another at different positions on a substrate of the probe (see e.g., “antenna(s)” in [0056]), Fullerton does not explicitly disclose wherein the probe includes a plurality of receive antennas spaced apart from one another at different positions on a substrate of the probe. Fullerton also fails to disclose using trilateration.
However, Ma teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a plurality of receive antennas spaced apart from one another at different positions on a substrate of the probe and using trilateration (“To estimate 2D or 3D location of an RFID tag, two or three receive antennas, respectively, may be employed and trilateration may be performed.” [0110]; also see “To do so, the computer may perform any localization algorithm, including any algorithm that: (a) calculates any absolute or relative distance or distance metric based on phase or time-of-flight of a received signal; or (b) calculates, by trilateration or by triangulation, any absolute or relative distance, distance metric, 2D spatial coordinate, or 3D spatial coordinate.” [0154]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Fullerton with a plurality of receive antennas spaced apart from one another at different positions on a substrate of the probe and using trilateration as taught by Ma in order to provide 2D or 3D localization ([0110], [0154] of Ma).
Regarding claims 24 and 37, Fullerton modified by Ma discloses the limitations of claims 21 and 34, respectively, as stated above and Fullerton further discloses further comprising transmitting, via a light source, light pulses in spaced-apart frames including a plurality of pulses for providing clock signals to the markers such that the markers modulate their reflective properties (“the probe includes an energy generator for delivering pulses of energy to the target, e.g., to open and close a switch or otherwise activate the target in a desired manner to facilitate detection of the target. In one embodiment, the power source may be a light source capable of transmitting light, e.g., infrared light, having sufficient transmissivity to pass through tissue to a tag implanted within a patient's body to activate and/or power the tag.” [0035]; also see [0037], [0038]) using orthogonal code sequences triggered by the clock signals (“the phase of the reflected signal B has been modulated by ninety degrees (90.degree.) relative to the incident signal A. If the marker is unique in this phase shift, the phase shift may facilitate the probe identifying and distinguishing the marker from other structures, e.g., other markers having a different phase shift, tissue structures, and the like. For example, if multiple markers are to be implanted in a patient's body, each marker's circuit may be configured to impose a different phase shift (e.g., +90.degree., +180.degree., -90.degree., and the like) and/or bandwidth in the reflected signal.” [0188]); and
separating, via the processor, the modulated reflected signals from the markers based at least in part on the code sequences to identify and locate each of the one or more markers substantially simultaneously (“For example, if multiple markers are to be implanted in a patient's body, each marker's circuit may be configured to impose a different phase shift (e.g., +90.degree., +180.degree., -90.degree., and the like) and/or bandwidth in the reflected signal. Thus, the probe may be able to easily identify and distinguish the markers from each other and/or from other structures in the patient's body.” [0188]).
Regarding claims 25 and 38, Fullerton modified by Ma discloses the limitations of claims 21 and 34, respectively, as stated above and Fullerton further discloses further comprising displaying the model on a display (“the display screen 537 may display a graphical image (e.g., a two-dimensional or three-dimensional image) depicting the marker, the microwave antenna probe 531, the distance from the tip of the microwave antenna probe 531 to the marker, and/or a physiological picture of the body part containing the marker (e.g., the breast)” [0223])
Regarding claims 26 and 39, Fullerton modified by Ma discloses the limitations of claims 21 and 39, respectively, as stated above and Fullerton further discloses wherein the model comprises a three-dimensional representation of the body region showing the markers within the body region (“a graphical image (e.g., a two-dimensional or three-dimensional image) depicting the marker, the microwave antenna probe 531, the distance from the tip of the microwave antenna probe 531 to the marker, and/or a physiological picture of the body part containing the marker (e.g., the breast)” [0223]).
Regarding claims 27 and 40, Fullerton modified by Ma discloses the limitations of claims 21 and 34, respectively, as stated above and Fullerton further discloses further comprising presenting a current location of the distal end relative to the model on a display (“the display screen 537 may display a graphical image (e.g., a two-dimensional or three-dimensional image) depicting the marker, the microwave antenna probe 531, the distance from the tip of the microwave antenna probe 531 to the marker, and/or a physiological picture of the body part containing the marker (e.g., the breast)” [0223]).
Regarding claim 28, Fullerton modified by Ma discloses the limitations of claim 21 as stated above and Fullerton further discloses further comprising transmitting, via the probe, electromagnetic signals into the patient's body (“a probe for transmitting and receiving electromagnetic signals to detect the one or more markers implanted within or around the target tissue region when the probe is placed adjacent the target tissue region and/or aimed at the target tissue region.” [0014]).
Claims 22-23 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fullerton in view of Ma as applied to claims 21 and 34, respectively, above and further in view of Druse et al. (US 2013/0006120, January 3, 2013).
Regarding claims 22 and 35, Fullerton modified by Ma discloses the limitations of claims 21 and 34, respectively, as stated above but is silent on further comprising acquiring the modulated reflected signals from a plurality of markers substantially simultaneously.
However, Druse teaches, in an analogous field of endeavor (e.g. medical navigation system using markers and antennas), further comprising acquiring the modulated reflected signals from a plurality of markers substantially simultaneously (“The markers 101 to 105 can broadcast their respective beacon signals either simultaneously or sequentially. An ID for identifying the transmitting marker is preferably incorporated into the beacon signal, for example by pulsing or modulating the beacon signal or by choosing an appropriate frequency for the beacon signal. If the beacon signals are broadcast sequentially, then the markers can be identified by the time slot within which the beacon signal is broadcast.” [0085]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Fullerton with further comprising acquiring the modulated reflected signals from a plurality of markers substantially simultaneously as taught by Druse in order to concurrently determine the position of multiple markers in a time saving manner.
Regarding claims 23 and 36, Fullerton modified by Ma discloses the limitations of claims 21 and 34 as stated above but is silent on further comprising acquiring the modulated reflected signals from a plurality of markers substantially sequentially.
However, Druse teaches, in an analogous field of endeavor (e.g. medical navigation system using markers and antennas), further comprising acquiring the modulated reflected signals from a plurality of markers substantially sequentially (“The markers 101 to 105 can broadcast their respective beacon signals either simultaneously or sequentially. An ID for identifying the transmitting marker is preferably incorporated into the beacon signal, for example by pulsing or modulating the beacon signal or by choosing an appropriate frequency for the beacon signal. If the beacon signals are broadcast sequentially, then the markers can be identified by the time slot within which the beacon signal is broadcast.” [0085]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Fullerton with further comprising acquiring the modulated reflected signals from a plurality of markers substantially sequentially as taught by Druse in order to identify particular markers according to a specific time slot ([0085] of Druse).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Scheib et al. US 2020/0289205 also teaches methods and systems for localization of a region within a patient's body.
/A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797