heyDETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application PCT/CN2022/096486, filed on 05/31/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the PCT/CN2022/096486 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/26/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Shi et al. (Hereinafter “Shi”, US 20190261168).
Regarding to Claim 1, 14, and 20: Shi discloses:
A communication apparatus, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, which when run on a computer, the computer is enabled at least one processor configured to invoke a computer program stored in at least one memory (i.e., [0067] Memory 220 and operating system 206 are in data communication with CPU 205 via bus 210… the memory components described above comprise non-transitory computer-readable media and shall be taken to comprise all computer-readable media except for a transitory, propagating signal. Typically, the instructions are stored as program code in the memory components but can also be hardwired. Memory 220 may include a kernel and/or programming modules such as a software application that may be stored in either volatile or non-volatile memory. As described in paragraph [0067]). to perform operations, the operations including:
receiving a first message from a first node, (i.e., [0069] Fig. 3 When wireless device 110 intends to obtain the necessary configuration data from wireless device 105 to connect to access point 115, wireless device 110 will initiate the sharing process by generating a first part or a first message of a one-round key exchange protocol at step 302. The first message will then be embedded within a Service Set Identification (SSID) of a beacon packet.
[0070] At step 304, wireless device 110 will then broadcast the beacon packet to all wireless devices within range. The broadcasting of the beacon packet is illustrated as broadcast 150 in FIG. 1. Throughout steps 302 and 304, wireless device 105 will be constantly scanning received broadcast signals for a beacon packet having a SSID that contains the first key. This continual scanning process takes place at step 306. As described in paragraph [0069] and [0070].) Wherein device 110 is equivalent to application’s first node and 105 is the discussed device.
wherein the first message comprises a first key agreement parameter associated with a first private key and an intermediate parameter, the intermediate parameter is associated with a security parameter and at least one common parameter, the security parameter is a first password or a pre-shared key (PSK) between the first node and a second node, and the first password is an agreed access password between the first node and the second node; (i.e., [0077] In an embodiment of the disclosure, the one-round key exchange protocol adopted by wireless devices 105 and 110 may comprise an Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman (ECDH) protocol. As known by those skilled in the art, the ECDH protocol is an anonymous key agreement protocol that allows two parties to establish a shared secret over an insecure channel. This shared secret may then be directly utilized by both parties as a shared key to encrypt and decrypt subsequent communications using a symmetric key cipher. In order to adopt the ECDH protocol, wireless devices 105 and 110 will each have to be pre-loaded with certain ECDH domain parameters (p, a, b, G, n, h) in the prime case and each of wireless devices 105 and 110 will each have a key pair (private key, public key) suitable for elliptic curve cryptography.
[0078] In this embodiment of the disclosure, with reference to FIG. 3, wireless device 110 will generate a public key of the ECDH protocol at step 302. This is done by device 110 using the following equation: Q.sub.A=d.sub.A.Math.G
where Q.sub.A is the public key for wireless device 110, d.sub.A is the temporary private key for wireless device 110 that is selected from the set [1, n−1] and G is a finite group.
[0079] The public key QA will then be embedded within a SSID of a beacon packet and be broadcasted at step 304 to all wireless devices within range. Once wireless device 105 has detected the broadcast at step 306, wireless device 105 then proceeds to step 308 to extract the public key QA contained in the SSID of the received beacon packet. Wireless device 105 will then generate its own public key of the ECDH protocol at step 308. This is done by device 105 using the following equation: Q.sub.B=d.sub.B.Math.G. where Q.sub.B is the public key for wireless device 105, d.sub.B is the temporary private key for wireless device 105 that is selected from the set [1, n−1] and G is a finite group. As described in paragraph [0077] to [0079]).
sending a second message to the first node, wherein the second message comprises a second key agreement parameter associated with a second private key and the intermediate parameter; (i.e., This shared key KS will then be used by wireless device 105 to encrypt the configuration data for access point 115. The encrypted configuration data and the token XB are then both embedded into a message. The message is then transmitted to wireless device 110 at step 312. As described in paragraph [0080] to [0094]). and
obtaining a first key based on the first key agreement parameter and the second private key. (i.e. The public key QA will then be embedded within a SSID of a beacon packet and be broadcasted at step 304 to all wireless devices within range. Once wireless device 105 has detected the broadcast at step 306, wireless device 105 then proceeds to step 308 to extract the public key QA contained in the SSID of the received beacon packet. Wireless device 105 will then generate its own public key of the ECDH protocol at step 308. This is done by device 105 using the following equation: Q.sub.B=d.sub.B.Math.G; where Q.sub.B is the public key for wireless device 105, d.sub.B is the temporary private key for wireless device 105 that is selected from the set [1, n−1] and G is a finite group. As described in paragraph [0079]).
Regarding to Claim 2, and 15: Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the first key is used to obtain one or more of an encryption key, an integrity key, or an identity authentication key. . (i.e., [0074] In embodiments of the disclosure, at step 310, after wireless device 105 has encrypted the configuration data for access point 115 using the shared key KS, device 105 will utilize the shared key KS and the encrypted configuration data to generate a message authentication code (MAC). The generation of the MAC at this stage may be done using any keyed-hash message authentication code in combination with the shared key KS. As described in paragraph [0074]).
Regarding to Claim 5, and 17: Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the at least one common parameter comprises a first common parameter and a second common parameter that are related to a first elliptic curve, the first elliptic curve is an elliptic curve corresponding to a first key agreement algorithm, and the first key agreement algorithm is a two-basis password exponential key exchange (TBPEKE) algorithm. (i.e., [0087] In yet another embodiment of the disclosure, the one-round key exchange protocol adopted by wireless devices 105 and 110 may comprise a Two-Basis Password Exponential Key Exchange (TBPEKE) protocol. As known by those skilled in the art, this protocol enables two parties to establish a shared cryptographic key over an insecure channel based only on their knowledge of a shared password. This TBPEKE protocol could be implemented over Elliptic curve cryptography (ECC) or finite fields. In order to adopt the TBPEKE protocol, wireless devices 105 and 110 will each have to be pre-loaded with certain TBPEKE domain parameters (p, a, b, G, n, h), a pre-shared value w selected from the set [1, n−1] and two fixed ECC points (U, V). As described in paragraph [0087]).
Regarding to Claim 6, and 18: Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the intermediate parameter satisfies the following formula:
b=U+s*V, wherein
b is the intermediate parameter, U and V are the at least one common parameter, s is the security parameter, * is an elliptic curve point multiplication operation, and + is an elliptic curve point addition operation. (i.e., [0045] wherein the first message comprises a first token computed using a shared token G.sub.S and a random value x, the second message comprises a second token computed using the shared token G.sub.S and a random value y, and the shared key K.sub.S is computed using the shared token G.sub.S and the random values x and y, and [0046] whereby the shared token is derived using two fixed points (U, V) on an Elliptic Curve Cryptography (ECC) and a random value w that were pre-loaded in the first and second wireless devices.
[0047] With reference to the second possible implementation manner of the fourth aspect, in a third possible implementation manner of the fourth aspect, wherein the first token is computed by multiplying the shared token GS with the random value x, the second token is computed by multiplying the shared token GS with the random value y, the shared key KS is computed by multiplying the shared token GS with the random values x and y, and the shared token GS is derived by: G.sub.S=U+w.Math.V. As described in paragraph [0045] to [0047]).
Regarding to Claim 8: Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the first key agreement parameter KEt satisfies the following formula: KEt=SKt*b, (i.e., [0088] In this embodiment of the disclosure, with reference to FIG. 3, wireless device 110 will generate a shared token of the TBPEKE protocol at step 302. This is done by device 110 using the following equation:
G.sub.1=U+w.Math.V ,where G.sub.1 is the shared token, U and V are the two fixed ECC points, and w is the pre-shared value. Device 110 then uses the shared token G.sub.1 to compute token X.sub.A for device 110. This is done by device 110 as follows: X.sub.A=x.Math.G.sub.1 , where G.sub.1 is the shared token, and x is a random number selected from the set [1,n−1].As described in paragraph [0088]).
the first key satisfies the following formula:
firstkey=SKg*KEt, (i.e., [0090] At step 310, wireless device 105 will then utilize the received token X.sub.A and the y (i.e. the random number selected from the set [1,n−1]) to compute the shared key K.sub.S. The shared key K.sub.S is computed as follows: K.sub.S=y.Math.X.sub. As described in paragraph [0090]).
the second key agreement parameter KEg satisfies the following formula:
KEg=SKg*b, (i.e., [0089] The token XA will then be embedded within a SSID of a beacon packet and be broadcasted at step 304 to all wireless devices within range. Once wireless device 105 has detected the broadcast at step 306, wireless device 105 then proceeds to step 308 to extract the token XA contained in the SSID of the received beacon packet. Wireless device 105 will then generate its own token of the TBPEKE protocol at step 308. This is done by device 105 first computing its own shared token G1 using the following equation: G.sub.1=U+w.Math. where G.sub.1 is the shared token, U and V are the two fixed ECC points, and w is the pre-shared value. Device 105 then uses the shared token G.sub.1 to compute token X.sub.B for device 105. This is done by device 105 as follows: X.sub.B=y.Math.G.sub.1
where G.sub.1 is the shared token, and y is a random number selected from the set [1,n−1].As described in paragraph [0089]). and
the second key satisfies the following formula:
secondkey=SKt*KEg,
wherein SKt is the first private key, and SKg is the second private key.
(i.e., [0092] Wireless device 110 will then receive the message transmitted from wireless device 105 at step 314. Device 110 will then extract the token XB and the encrypted configuration data from the received message. The token XB will then be utilized together with the earlier value x to compute the shared key KS. The shared key KS may be computed as follows:
K.sub.S=x.Math.X.sub.B , As described in paragraph [0092]).
Regarding to Claim 9: Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further discloses:
wherein a value range of the first private key is [1, p), and a value range of the second private key is [1, p), wherein p is an order of an elliptic curve used by the TBPEKE algorithm. (i.e., [0087] In yet another embodiment of the disclosure, the one-round key exchange protocol adopted by wireless devices 105 and 110 may comprise a Two-Basis Password Exponential Key Exchange (TBPEKE) protocol. As known by those skilled in the art, this protocol enables two parties to establish a shared cryptographic key over an insecure channel based only on their knowledge of a shared password. This TBPEKE protocol could be implemented over Elliptic curve cryptography (ECC) or finite fields. In order to adopt the TBPEKE protocol, wireless devices 105 and 110 will each have to be pre-loaded with certain TBPEKE domain parameters (p, a, b, G, n, h), a pre-shared value w selected from the set [1, n−1] and two fixed ECC points (U, V). As described in paragraph [0087]).
Regarding to Claim 10: Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further discloses:
wherein before receiving the first message from the first node, the method further comprises:
broadcasting a key agreement algorithm capability of the second node, wherein the key agreement algorithm capability of the second node represents a key agreement algorithm supported by the second node. (i.e., [0062] Wireless devices 105 and 110 may also be configured to broadcast beacon frames 150. A beacon frame 150 may contain a timestamp, an interval, capability information, a service set identifier (SSID), and so on.. As described in paragraph [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious Shi et al. (Hereinafter “Shi”, US 20190261168), in view of Sundaram et al. (Hereinafter “Sundaram”, US 20110055567.)
Regarding to Claim 3 : Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
further comprising:
receiving a third message from the first node, wherein the third message comprises first authentication information associated with a second key, and the second key is associated with the second key agreement parameter and the first private key, and
verifying the first authentication information based on the first key.
In similarly endeavor, Sundaram discloses:
receiving a third message from the first node, wherein the third message comprises first authentication information associated with a second key, and the second key is associated with the second key agreement parameter and the first private key; (i.e., [0012] A third message comprising the second random key component is sent from the first party to the second party, the third message having been encrypted using the public key of the second party in accordance with the identity based encryption operation. The first party computes a secure key based on the second random key component; the secure key being used for conducting at least one call session with the second party via a media plane of the multimedia communication system. As described in paragraph [0012]). and
verifying the first authentication information based on the first key. (i.e., [0016] The method may further comprise receiving at the first party a fourth message comprising a verification from the second party, the fourth message having been encrypted at the second party using the public key of the first party in accordance with the identity based encryption operation. As described in paragraph [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Sundaram into the invention of Shi in order to provide improve shared-key security and reduce access untrusted attackers in the wireless communication devices.
Regarding to Claim 4: Shi and Sundaram disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and Sundaram further discloses:
when verification on the first authentication information and integrity of the third message succeeds, sending an association establishment message to the first node. (i.e., [0016] The method may further comprise receiving at the first party a fourth message comprising a verification from the second party, the fourth message having been encrypted at the second party using the public key of the first party in accordance with the identity based encryption operation. As described in paragraph [0016]).
Claims 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious Shi et al. (Hereinafter “Shi”, US 20190261168), in view of YANG et al. (Hereinafter “Yang”, US 20190372763).
Regarding to Claim 7, and 19 : Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein the at least one common parameter comprises a cyclic group whose order is a prime number p, and two independent basis points U and V in the cyclic group.
In similarly endeavor, Yang discloses:
wherein the at least one common parameter comprises a cyclic group whose order is a prime number p, and two independent basis points U and V in the cyclic group. (i.e., [0107] Referring back to FIG. 1, prior to adding entities 105 and 110 to the entity-pair authentication and the common session key generation system in accordance with embodiments of the invention, server 120, which is configured as a Key Generation Centre, will first initiate a setup procedure based on a discrete-logarithm type signature scheme to generate a master secret key “x” and a master public key “y”. In the setup procedure, server 120 will first determine an appropriate cyclic group, G, with a prime order q, and a generator g of G. In embodiments of the invention, the cyclic group, G, will be based on finite fields or elliptic curves defined over a finite field. As described in paragraph [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into the invention of Shi in order to provide improve shared-key security and reduce access untrusted attackers in the wireless communication devices.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious Shi et al. (Hereinafter “Shi”, US 20190261168), in view of Pan (Hereinafter “Pan”, WO 2021077968.)
Regarding to Claim 11: Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein key agreement algorithms supported by the second node are sorted according to a priority sequence.
In similarly endeavor, Pan discloses:
wherein key agreement algorithms supported by the second node are sorted according to a priority sequence. (i.e., For example, the network device 1 can make the generated encryption strategy generate the corresponding encryption priority by specifying the priority of the strategy or algorithm, or by specifying the weight of each algorithm, calculating the sum of the weights of each algorithm in the encryption strategy, and comparing each encryption strategy. The encryption priority is generated by the sum of the weights of the policy, or the encryption priority is distinguished by other means, which is not limited in the embodiment of the present application.
For example, to distinguish the priority of the encryption strategy: the algorithm is expressed as the three levels of "red", "yellow" and "green" according to the high, medium and low intensity. Network device 1 can determine that the algorithm contains the "red" algorithm. The priority of 10 the encryption strategy is "red". The network device 1 may determine that the priority of the encryption policy that does not include the "red" algorithm but includes the "yellow" algorithm is the "yellow" level. The network device 1 may determine that the priority of the encryption strategy that includes the "green" algorithm but does not include the "red" algorithm and the "yellow" algorithm is "green". Among them, red means high, yellow means medium, and green means low. As an implementation, the strength of the algorithm can also be represented by ABC or 123. Among them, A or 1 means high, B or 2 means medium, and C or 3 means low. Of course, the strength of the algorithm can also be identified in other ways, which is not limited in the embodiment of the present application. As described Pan WO 2021077968: page 27 line 32 to page 28 line19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Pan into the invention of Shi in order to provide improve shared-key security and reduce access untrusted attackers in the wireless communication devices.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious Shi et al. (Hereinafter “Shi”, US 20190261168), in view of WANG (Hereinafter “Wang”, KR 20230014740).
Regarding to Claim 12: Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein the first message further comprises a first fresh parameter;
the first authentication information is associated with the PSK, the second key, the second message, the first fresh parameter, and a key agreement algorithm capability of the second node; (i.e.,. As described in paragraph [0052]). and
the verifying the first authentication information based on the first key comprises:
verifying the first authentication information based on the PSK, the first key, the second message, the first fresh parameter, and the key agreement algorithm capability of the second node.
In similarly endeavor, Wang discloses:
wherein the first message further comprises a first fresh parameter;
the first authentication information is associated with the PSK, the second key, the second message, the first fresh parameter, and a key agreement algorithm capability of the second node; (i.e., Specifically, the PSK is a secret value shared by the first node and the second node. The PSK may be generated based on the fresh parameter from the second node and the fresh parameter from the first node, or may be configured in advance in the first node and the second node. As described on page 6 line 33 to 36). and
the verifying the first authentication information based on the first key comprises:
verifying the first authentication information based on the PSK, the first key, the second message, the first fresh parameter, and the key agreement algorithm capability of the second node. (i.e., Accordingly, the first node may verify the identity of the second node by generating a new first PSK based on the first fresh parameter and the fourth fresh parameter. Additionally, the first node may determine the first PSK based on the first fresh parameter and the fourth fresh parameter with the following implementation. As described on page 8 line 12 to 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Shi in order to provide improve shared-key security and reduce access untrusted attackers in the wireless communication devices.
Regarding to Claim 13: Shi and Wang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Wang further discloses:
wherein the second message further comprises second authentication information and a second fresh parameter; and the method further comprises:
obtaining the second authentication information based on the PSK, the first key, the second fresh parameter, and the first message. (i.e.,. Step S1308: The first node sends a second authentication request message to the second node.
Specifically, after generating the third PSK, the first node sends a second authentication request message to the second node. The second authentication request message includes third identity authentication information, and the third identity authentication information is generated based on the third PSK and the first fresh parameter. Optionally, in actual processing, parameters used by the first node to generate the third identity authentication information may further include other information. For example, the generated third identity authentication information (AUTHt) may satisfy AUTHt = KDF (third PSK, first association request message), where the first association request message includes NONCEe. As another example, the generated third identity authentication information (AUTHt) may alternatively satisfy AUTHt = KDF (third PSK, NONCEa, first association request message), where NONCEa is a fourth fresh parameter.
Step S1309: If the verification performed on the third identity authentication information based on the second PSK and the first fresh parameter is successful, a second authentication response message is sent to the first node. As described on page 33 line 12 - 27).
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644