DETAILED ACTION
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 6,226,848 Gunter Kurtz (‘Kurtz hereafter), App 09/094195
U.S. 2024/0140546 Kero et al. (‘Kero hereafter), App 18/050512
U.S. 2008/0000069 Mark A. Savoy (‘Savoy hereafter), App 11/758226
WO 2023/214635, PCT/KR2022/020777, Examined as U.S. 2025/0376227 Ji Hye Im (‘Im hereafter), App 18/859254; 371 PCT/KR2022/020777, Filed 12/20/2022.
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 1 - 15 are currently being examined.
No Claims have been canceled.
Claims 7, 14 & 15 are objected to for allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 6,226,848 Gunter Kurtz (‘Kurtz hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 1, ‘Kurtz discloses all the claim limitations including: A variable part (14, Figs 4, 12 - 16) (‘Kurtz, Figs 1A, 1C, 6 ,7, 11, 13,18 - 21, 23, 26 - 28, #14 (vehicle assembly/ variable part)) exchange apparatus (1, Fig 1) (‘Kurtz, Figs 4, #34 (carriages/ exchange apparatus), Col. 5, ln 39 – 49, “In a short operational description, the carriages 34 pass through the building area 44 where various components 40, 42 are placed on the component holders 38. The carriages 34 then move along the component path B into the assembly area 32, where the mating machine 50 aligns the vehicle assembly 14 with the components 40, 42 and couples the components to the vehicle assembly in a position. The fastening machine 52 then fastens the component 40, 42 to the vehicle assembly 14 and the carriage 34 continues along the component path B to the building area 44, at which point the process is started over.” #34 is capable of being used as an exchange apparatus) comprising:
a variable part (14) moving device (70, Figs 1, 2, 5, 12 - 16) (‘Kurtz, variable part moving device is the system of components from #34, shown in Fig 4 including but not limited to: #134 (two telescopic columns), #136 (two rails), #128 (horizontal floating plate/ lifter moving part), #129 (lifting platform)) including:
a lifting part (80, Fig 5) that moves a variable part (14) selectively mounted on a vehicle body (10, Fig 4) up and down (‘Kurtz, Col. 5, ln 39 – 49, #129 (lifting platform/ lifting part), lifts #14 up and down); and
a lifter moving part (40, Fig 8) that moves the lifting part (80) (‘Kurtz, Fig 4, #128 (horizontal floating plate/ lifter moving part)); and
a variable part (14) supply device (20, Figs 2, 7,12 - 16) that carries out the variable part (14) to the variable part (14) moving device (70) or carries in the variable part (14) moved from the lifter moving part (40) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, #1 (component station/ variable part supply device), Col. 4, ln 45 – 56, “The automatic vehicle assembly line includes a component station 1, a module station 2, fluid filling station 3, door assembly station 4, wheel alignment station 5, and brake testing station 6, which are all connected by a vehicle conveyor 10. The stations illustrated in FIGS. 1A through 1C represent only some of the stations and not all the stations that might be found in such a vehicle assembly line. Other well known parts assembly stations are not included in this description, but could easily be included in the invention. The order of the stations can be changed depending on the assembly requirements for a particular vehicle.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 2, ‘Kurtz discloses all the claim limitations including:
wherein the variable part (14) supply device (20) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, #1 (component station/ variable part supply device)) includes:
a first loading stage (22) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) for carrying in the variable part (14) moved from the variable part (14) moving device (70) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A shows a first loading stage variable part moving device is the system of components from #34, shown in Fig 4 including but not limited to: #134 (two telescopic columns), #136 (two rails), #128 (horizontal floating plate/ lifter moving part), #129 (lifting platform));
a second loading stage (24) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) for carrying out the variable part (14) to the variable part (14) moving device (70); and
a loading stage arranging portion (30) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, #30 (component conveyor/ loading stage arranging portion)) that aligns
a position of the first loading stage (22) or a position of the second loading stage (24) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) to correspond to a position of the variable part (14) moving device (70) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, #1 (component station) is capable of rotating in a Counter Clockwise or a Clockwise configuration, the first and second loading stages are shown in both configurations (below) in Fig 1A).
Regarding Claim[s] 3, ‘Kurtz discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the loading stage arranging portion (30) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, #30 (component conveyor/ loading stage arranging portion)) includes:
an arranging; and
an arranging portion guide portion disposed in a vertical direction (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, #38 (component holder/ portion guide portion), are capable of moving in a vertical direction through movement of #34 (carriages)) of the variable part (14) moving device (70) to move the positions of the first loading stage (22) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) and the second loading stage (24) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) according to operation of the arranging portion drive motor (32) (‘Kurtz, Col. 6, ln 33 - 43, “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, the carriages 34 will now be described in greater detail. The carriages 34 comprise a lifting platform 129 having a horizontal floating plate 128, which is guided so as to be displaceable both longitudinally and transversely lo the longitudinal axis of the carriage. The lifting platform 129 is arranged on a hydraulic lifting cylinder 130 and a rod-type guide composed of two telescopic columns 131, which can be used to raise and lower the floating plate 128 on which the component holder 38 is mounted.” #164 (compressed air motor/ drive motor), Col. 10. ln 32 – 37, “Many, if not all, of the activations of the various elements of the component assembly station are controlled by a number of switches, such as limit switches, optical switches, etc. These switches are not described in the interest of brevity.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 4, ‘Kurtz discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the variable part (14) supply device (20) further includes a loading stage moving part that protrudes the first loading stage (22) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) and the second loading stage (24) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) in a direction of the variable part (14) moving device (70) (‘Kurtz, variable part moving device is the system of components from #34, shown in Fig 4 including but not limited to: #134 (two telescopic columns), #136 (two rails), #128 (horizontal floating plate/ lifter moving part), #129 (lifting platform)) or moves the first loading stage (22) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) and the second loading stage (24) (‘Kurtz, Fig 1A, (below)) away from the variable part (14) moving device (70) (‘Kurtz, variable part moving device is the system of components from #34, shown in Fig 4 including but not limited to: #134 (two telescopic columns), #136 (two rails), #128 (horizontal floating plate/ lifter moving part), #129 (lifting platform), #134 is capable of moving in a vertical direction away from #14 (vehicle assembly/ variable part)).
Regarding Claim[s] 5, ‘Kurtz discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the loading stage moving part includes:
an upper loading panel (42) provided with the variable part (14);
a lower loading panel (44) provided in the loading stage arranging portion (30) (‘Kurtz, Fig 4, (below) shows being in the upper loading panel position and is capable of being configured to the lower loading panel position, Col. 6, ln 33 – 43 teaches capable of being configured for upper and lower positions);
a stage moving part drive motor (46) (‘Kurtz, #164 (compressed air motor/ drive motor)); and
a moving part guide rail that moves the upper loading panel (42) on the lower loading panel (44) according to operation of the stage moving part drive motor (46) (‘Kurtz, #136 (two rails)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 6,226,848 Gunter Kurtz (‘Kurtz hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2024/0140546 Kero et al. (‘Kero hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 6, ‘Kurtz discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: wherein the moving part guide rail includes a telescopic rail.
However, ‘Kero Para 0072 teaches: “The rail can be a telescoping assembly where a first portion of the rail 615 is coupled to a second portion of the rail 615 and the first portion of the rail 615 extends from, or retracts back into, the second portion of the rail 615. The first portion of the rail 615 can be fixed to a bottom surface 620 of the drawer 300. The second portion of the rail 615 can be fixed to at least one bracket 610. The brackets 610 can be u-shaped brackets can extend from the frame 260 down towards a ground surface under the conveyance system 105. The brackets 610 can connect to the frame 260 in two locations, extend perpendicular from the frame 260 down towards the ground surface under the conveyance system 105, and be joined by a lateral portion that connects ends of the two portions. The rails 615 can be coupled to the lateral portion of the brackets 610 and can be supported by the brackets 610.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Kurtz with a telescopic rail as taught by ‘Kero in order to provide an extendable rail system (‘Kero, Para 0072).
Further, ‘Kero provides a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predicable results.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 6,226,848 Gunter Kurtz (‘Kurtz hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2008/0000069 Mark A. Savoy (‘Savoy hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 8, ‘Kurtz discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: wherein the loading stage moving part further includes a stage align pin (60) mounted on the upper loading panel (42) to align the position of the variable part (14).
However, ‘Savoy teaches: wherein the loading stage moving part further includes a stage align pin (60) mounted on the upper loading panel (42) to align the position of the variable part (14) (‘Savoy, Para 0030, “As shown in FIG. 4, the locator assembly 16 includes a control 86 having connections 88 to the locators 18 to provide control of their operation. As the partially assembled vehicle body 20 is moved to the assembly station 12 by the conveyor 14, each locator pin 82 is sufficiently aligned with the vehicle body positioning holes so that upward movement of all of the locator pins provides movement of their upper generally pointed ends 83 into the associated positioning hole so that the vehicle body be supported by the vertical rest surface 80 of the associated locator head 78 after movement to the required vertical position. During such upward movement, the control 86 allows the horizontal longitudinal X power actuator 50 and the horizontal sideways Y power actuator 58 to be back driven by the associated locator pin and vehicle body positioning hole to accommodate for any initial misalignment. The control 86 subsequently moves each locator 18 as necessary to provide proper positioning in the horizontal longitudinal X and the horizontal sideways Y direction as well as in the vertical Z direction for the further assembly to be performed.”
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Kurtz with an aligning pin mounted on a loading panel as taught by ‘Savoy in order to provide additional support for the loading stage (‘Savoy, Para 0030).
Claim 9 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 6,226,848 Gunter Kurtz (‘Kurtz hereafter), and in view of WO 2023/214635, PCT/KR2022/020777, Examined as U.S. 2025/0376227 Ji Hye Im (‘Im hereafter),
Regarding Claim[s] 9, ‘Kurtz discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: wherein the lifting part (80) includes: a vertical driving robot (82); and a variable part (14) lifter that moves the variable part (14) in a vertical direction by operation of the vertical driving robot (82).
However, ‘Im teaches: wherein the lifting part (80) includes: a vertical driving robot (82); and a variable part (14) lifter that moves the variable part (14) in a vertical direction by operation of the vertical driving robot (82 ) (‘Im, Abst, “The present invention relates to a system for automatically assembling a vehicle insulator, the system comprising: a gripper provided with a guide pin, a fastener coupling part, and a vacuum suction part for extracting an insulator loaded in a supply unit; an assembly robot for assembling the insulator to a lower panel of a vehicle; and a controller which moves the gripper to insert a guide pin into a fixing groove of the loaded insulator and fix the fastener coupling part to a fastener of the insulator, moves the gripper toward the lower panel of the vehicle in a state in which the insulator is fixed to the gripper by the vacuum suction part, and controls the assembly robot to assemble the insulator to the lower panel of the vehicle in a state in which the insulator is supported by the gripper. Para 0067, “[0067] Thereafter, prior to attaching the insulator to the lower panel of the vehicle, the vehicle is raised (S14) using a lift provided on a robot, such as an AMR or AGV, when an operation completion signal is transmitted to the assembly robot. Thereafter, as the lift rises, the assembly robot moves to the lower part of the vehicle and to the positions of the studs to be fitted into the holes of the insulator (S15).”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Kurtz with a robot driven/ controlled moves the parts in a vertical direction as taught by ‘Im in order to provide faster coupling of the part and to automate the process using a robot.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a robot driven/ controlled to move parts in a vertical direction, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
Regarding Claim[s] 10, ‘Kurtz and ‘Im discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the lifting part (80) further includes a guide post (86) that guides the movement of the variable part (14) lifter (‘Im, Abst, teaches a guide pin).
Claim 11 - 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 6,226,848 Gunter Kurtz (‘Kurtz hereafter), and in view of WO 2023/214635, PCT/KR2022/020777, Examined as U.S. 2025/0376227 Ji Hye Im (‘Im hereafter), and in further view of U.S. 2008/0000069 Mark A. Savoy (‘Savoy hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 11, ‘Kurtz, ‘Im and ‘Savoy discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the lifting part (80) further includes a lifter align pin (87) mounted on the variable part (14) lifter to align a position of the variable part (14) (‘Im, Abst, teaches a guide pin. Further, ‘Savoy, Para 0030, teaches an alignment pin).
Regarding Claim[s] 12, ‘Kurtz, ‘Im and ‘Savoy discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the lifting part (80) further includes an upper plate (88) on which the variable part (14) lifter is mounted and which moves in a vertical direction together with the variable part (14) lifter (‘Savoy, Fig 4, is capable of moving the variable part in a vertical direction).
Regarding Claim[s] 13, ‘Kurtz, ‘Im and ‘Savoy discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the lifter moving part (40) includes: a lifter moving robot (110); and a lifter moving rail (112) that guides the movement of the lifting part (80) according to operation of the lifter moving robot (110) (‘Im, Abst).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 7 with the limitations of claims 6, 5, 4, 2 and 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "wherein the telescopic rail (56) includes: a lower panel rail (54) mounted to the lower loading panel (44); an upper panel rail (58) mounted to the upper loading panel (42); and a connecting rail (56) connecting the lower panel rail (54) and the upper panel rail (58).”
The closest prior art is as cited above (‘Kurtz, ‘Im, ‘Kero and ‘Savoy).
‘Kurtz, ‘Im, ‘Kero and ‘Savoy does not teach the telescopic rail which includes a lower panel rail mounted to the lower loading panel, an upper panel rail mounted to the upper loading panel, and a connecting rail connecting the lower panel rail and the upper panel rail.”
Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 14 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "includes a pitch moving part (120) that brings the variable part (14) adjacent to or separates the variable part (14) from the vehicle body (10).”
The closest prior art is as cited above (‘Kurtz, ‘Im, ‘Kero and ‘Savoy). ‘‘Kurtz, ‘Im, ‘Kero and ‘Savoy do not teach the moving the part with respect to pitch. Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. Furthermore, Examiner finds no motivation found to modify the prior art to include the specific limitations of dependent claim 15. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1ST Loading stage, counter clockwise direction (CCW))][AltContent: textbox (1st loading stage, clockwise direction (CW))][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd Loading stage CCW)][AltContent: textbox (2nd loading stage CW)]U.S. 6,226,848 Figure 1A
U.S. 6,226,848 Figure 4
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. 2011/0099788 Velibor Kilibarda (‘Kilibarda hereafter) – Final Assembly machine and method of using.
U.S. 6,364,817 McNamara et al. (‘McNamara hereafter) – Automotive Framing Apparatus.
U.S. 1,772,735 R. T. Romine (‘Romine hereafter) – Method for handling material.
U.S. 2011/0094855 Terazawa et al. (‘Terazawa hereafter) – System and method for synchronously conveying underbody components for vehicle body.
U.S. 5,428,880 Tomioka et al. (‘Tomioka hereafter) – Process for manufacturing vehicle body for automobiles.
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
09/17/2026