DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants’ definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim 3 contains contingent apparatus limitations. “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur.” MPEP § 2111.04(II).
Claim 14 contains contingent limitation modifying a method. The Patent Trial and Appeal Board has previously held that “giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, ‘[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed’". (MPEP § 2111.04(II) quoting Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) at 10 (quotation omitted)). Consequently, the contingent limitations of method claim CCC have not been given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 19 recite “a final angle” without a definition of how it is related to the first, second, third, and forth angles. While the recited limitations are provided the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, the scope of the claim is rendered indefinite. For the purposes of the prior art rejection below this term has been interpreted as an angle of direction of the two connected robots. Claims 9-10 and 20 are rejected due to dependency on a previously rejected claim. Correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grodde et al. (US 20200247471 A1) in view of Katsuki et al. (US 20240270259 A1) (the combination of which will be referred to as 'combination Grodde' hereinafter). As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 1, Grodde teaches a system for controlling driving of a first robot, the system comprising:
the first robot configured to drive a second robot, wherein a rear side of the first robot is configured to be mechanically coupled to the second robot; (Grodde: ¶ 012; implemented on a trailer and a vehicle) a first sensor configured to obtain sensor data for the second robot coupled to the rear side of the first robot; (Grodde: ¶ 137; 3-D position sensor) a second sensor configured to obtain a rear view image from the first robot, (Grodde: ¶ 136; camera sensor) wherein the rear view image comprises an image of the second robot coupled to the rear side of the first robot; and (Grodde: ¶ 100; image 464 can display items such as a live feed of the space behind the trailer captured by a camera sensor) a processor configured to: (Grodde: ¶ 250; processor) determine, based on the sensor data, a first angle between the first robot and the second robot, (Grodde: ¶ 048; a 3-D position sensor is a sensor that can measure or detect changes in position on three axes (e.g., x-axis, y-axis, z-axis) (Grodde: ¶ 137; By using the 3-D position sensors 720 and 722 placed on opposing ends of the vehicle 732, the processor 704 on the controller 702 can identify spatial positions and accelerations of the opposing ends vehicle 732 by calculating differences between the 3-D position sensors) (Grodde: ¶ 052; Two variables for orientation of the vehicle relative to the x-axis are Θ1(car) and Θ2(trailer),) . . . determine, based on the first angle and the second angle, a third angle between the first robot and the second robot, (Grodde: ¶ 152; a hitch angle (δ) may be resolved via: δ=Θ1−Θ2.) . . .
To the extent Grodde is silent about or does not explicitly teach: determine, based on the rear view image, a second angle between the first robot and the second robot, . . . output a signal associated with the third angle, and control, based on the signal, the driving of the first robot; Katsuki does teach:
determine, based on the rear view image, a second angle between the first robot and the second robot, (Katsuki: ¶ 040; a camera device) (Katsuki: ¶ 074; straight line extraction unit 304 extracts a straight line portion of the object on the towed vehicle 3 in step S29, based on the measurement information measured by the sensor 20, the long side estimation unit 307 estimates the long side portion of the target member 40-3, based on the information on the extracted straight line portion.) . . . output a signal associated with the third angle, and control, based on the signal, the driving of the first robot. (Katsuki: ¶ 014; driving control unit that causes an own vehicle to drive automatically, and changes contents of automatic driving when the coupling angle detected by the coupling angle detection unit has reached a prescribed value or more.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Katsuki with the teachings of Grodde because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of "accurately detect[ing] a coupling angle between two vehicles constituting a combination vehicle with simple processing." (Katsuki: ¶ 017).
Regarding claim 2, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein: the first sensor is configured to: acquire a shape of the second robot before the second robot is coupled to the first robot, and acquire a current shape of the second robot; (Katsuki: ¶ 008; a first vehicle and a second vehicle coupled to the first vehicle in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure includes: a target member having a prescribed shape and installed in the first vehicle; a shape information acquisition unit that is installed in the second vehicle and acquires a shape information of the target member;) and the processor is further configured to: move the first robot and the second robot straight forward to acquire a second shape of the second robot at a reference angle, (Katsuki: ¶ 103; During traveling of the towed motor vehicle 1E, the sensor 20 measures the distance to a plurality of measurement points in the object including the target member 40-7 positioned in the upper surface area of the towed vehicle 3 at prescribed time intervals. The sensor 20 extracts measurement information regarding the plurality of measurement points in the target member) (Katsuki: ¶ 074; may self-calibrate the hitch angle between vehicle 232 and trailer 230 while the vehicle 232 and the trailer 230 are in motion) determine whether the second shape of the second robot at the reference angle and the current shape of the second robot match, and determine, based on the shape of the second robot at the reference angle and the current shape of the second robot matching, the first angle. (Katsuki: ¶ 105; when the filtering unit 302 extracts measurement information whose ranging distance is within a prescribed range through filtering processing, the processing proceeds to step S73. In step S73, the rotation angle calculation unit 310 calculates the rotation angle between the measurement point groups relative to the position of the sensor 20, based on the measurement information extracted by filtering processing and the position information) (Katsuki: ¶ 102; one target member 40-7 formed in a rectangular shape is installed on the towed vehicle 3. In the present embodiment, the rotation angle calculation unit 310 holds position information on a plurality of measurement point groups in the target member 40-7 measured by the sensor 20 when the coupling angle is 0°, as the shape information of the target member 40-7) (Katsuki: ¶ 008; shape information of the target member acquired by the shape information acquisition unit, as a front-rear direction of a vehicle body of the first vehicle, and detects an angle formed by the front-rear direction of the vehicle body of the second vehicle that is held and the front-rear direction of the vehicle body of the first vehicle that is recognized, as a coupling angle between the first vehicle and the second vehicle)
Regarding claim 4, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to: extract a feature point of the second robot from the rear view image, generate depth data of the feature point of the second robot, (Katsuki: ¶ 042; unit 301 acquires information on the ranging distance to a plurality of measurement points and the ranging direction, by means of the sensor 20,)
(Katsuki: ¶ 044; information constituting the respective target members 40-1 and 40-2, based on the measurement information on the measurement points corresponding to the respective target members 40-1 and 40-2 which are recognized. The corner estimation unit 305 estimates a corner portion which is a corner of each of the target members 40-1 and 40-2, based on the information on the straight line portion extracted by the straight line extraction unit 304.) generate a depth map representing a depth data set based on the first angle by matching the first angle and the depth data of the feature point, and determine the second angle by comparing the depth data set with a current depth data set. (Katsuki: ¶ 045; based on the straight line connecting an apex of each corner portion of the target members 40-1 and 40-2 estimated by the corner estimation unit . . .detects an angle formed by the front-rear direction of the vehicle body of the towing vehicle 2 as held above and the front-rear direction of the vehicle body of the towed vehicle 3 as recognized above, as a coupling angle of the towing motor vehicle 1A.)
Regarding claim 5, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 4. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to generate the depth map based on a number of the depth data set being greater than or equal to a threshold number of sets, and wherein the depth data set is collected for any initial angle. (Katsuki: ¶ 054; extracts a measurement point group whose number of corresponding measurement points is equal to or greater than a prescribed first threshold value. This first threshold value is a value that is set to determine the reliability of the grouped measurement point group as a straight line portion)
Regarding claim 7, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 4. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to: move the first robot and the second robot straight forward, and (Katsuki: ¶ 074; may self-calibrate the hitch angle between vehicle 232 and trailer 230 while the vehicle 232 and the trailer 230 are in motion) (Katsuki: ¶ 014; an automatic driving control unit that causes an own vehicle to drive automatically,) separate the feature point of the second robot from a feature point of a surrounding environment of the second robot based on extracting the feature point of the second robot from the rear view image. (Katsuki: ¶ 103; During traveling of the towed motor vehicle 1E, the sensor 20 measures the distance to a plurality of measurement points in the object including the target member 40-7 positioned in the upper surface area of the towed vehicle 3 at prescribed time intervals. The sensor 20 extracts measurement information regarding the plurality of measurement points in the target member)
Regarding claim 8, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Grodde further teaches:
further comprising: a third sensor configured to obtain a movement data of the first robot and the second robot; and (Grodde: ¶ 036; placing one 9-D IMU sensor on the vehicle and the other 9-D IMU sensor on the trailer allows for independent tracking of the vehicle and the trailer, which provides more accurate positional information and better guidance on terrain with elevation changes.) a fourth sensor configured to obtain sensor data of an object in front of the first robot and the second robot, (Grodde: ¶ 102; two camera sensors behind the trailer can detect potential obstructions or hazards, as well as measure an approximate distance until the ending position is reached) wherein the processor is configured to: (Grodde: ¶ 250; processor) determine a fourth angle between the first robot and the second robot based on: a local map storing a feature point of a surrounding environment, the movement data, the sensor data for the second robot, and the sensor data of the object; and 40 determine, based on the fourth angle and the third angle, a final angle. (Grodde: ¶ 250; Implementing the Dubins Path Method in this manner reduces the chance that the vehicle and trailer will jackknife by utilizing a small turning radius (or in some cases the smallest turn radius possible).) (Grodde: ¶ 112; a custom path is calculated as shown in FIG. 5C. The custom path 598 is different from the custom path of FIGS. 4A-D (see reference number 474, FIGS. 4A-D). Calculation of the custom path 598 can be accomplished using Dijkstra's algorithm, or any other suitable method. Generally, the custom path 598 intersects with various path grid 596 points that do not intersect with any obstacles 590 (or other forbidden areas).) (Grodde: Fig. 5D; [Map showing determining a 4th angle with respect to an obstacle])
Regarding claim 9, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 8. Grodde further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain first absolute positions of the first robot and the second robot based on the sensor data for the second robot (Grodde: ¶ 082; GPS information of the trailer and the 3-D position sensors placed independently on the vehicle and the trailer (i.e., instead of solely using a single 2-D bend angle senor), the absolute positions of the vehicle and the trailer can be assessed and tracked in real-time by calculating orientation differences between the 3-D position sensors.) and the local map, (Grodde: ¶ 037; map data allows a driver to plot or navigate around objects and blind corners.) obtain second absolute positions of the first robot and the second robot based on the movement data and the local map, and determine, based on the first absolute positions and the second absolute positions, the fourth angle. (Grodde: ¶ 130; process 600 comprises acquiring at 616 tracking data of the vehicle by utilizing the first 3-D position sensor, the second 3-D position sensor, and the global positioning system as the vehicle traverses from the starting position to the ending position along the custom path) (Grodde: Fig. 5D; [Map showing determining a 4th angle with respect to an obstacle])
Regarding claim 10, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 8. Katsuki teaches:
wherein the third sensor comprises at least one of: an encoder provided in the first robot and the second robot and configured to measure information on a rotation of a wheel; and (Katsuki: ¶ 075; encoder 45 measures information about rotation of the driving motor or the wheel provided in the robot 20.)
And Grodde teaches: an inertial sensor provided in the first robot and the second robot and configured to measure information on a movement situation of the first robot and the second robot. (Grodde: ¶ 036; placing one 9-D IMU sensor on the vehicle and the other 9-D IMU sensor on the trailer allows for independent tracking of the vehicle and the trailer, which provides more accurate positional information and better guidance on terrain with elevation changes.)
Regarding claim 11, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein: the first robot is an autonomous moving robot. (Katsuki: ¶ 120; driving robot may be an autonomous moving robot.)
Regarding claim 12, Grodde teaches a method performed by a system for:
controlling driving of a first robot, the method comprising: obtaining, from a first sensor, a sensor data for a second robot (Grodde: ¶ 137; 3-D position sensor) mechanically coupled to a rear side of the first robot; (Grodde: ¶ 012; implemented on a trailer and a vehicle) obtaining, from a second sensor, a rear view image from the first robot, (Grodde: ¶ 136; camera sensor) wherein the rear view image comprises an image of the second robot coupled to the rear side of the first robot; (Grodde: ¶ 100; image 464 can display items such as a live feed of the space behind the trailer captured by a camera sensor) determining, based on the sensor data, a first angle between the first robot and the second robot; the second robot; (Grodde: ¶ 048; a 3-D position sensor is a sensor that can measure or detect changes in position on three axes (e.g., x-axis, y-axis, z-axis) (Grodde: ¶ 137; By using the 3-D position sensors 720 and 722 placed on opposing ends of the vehicle 732, the processor 704 on the controller 702 can identify spatial positions and accelerations of the opposing ends vehicle 732 by calculating differences between the 3-D position sensors) (Grodde: ¶ 052; Two variables for orientation of the vehicle relative to the x-axis are Θ1(car) and Θ2(trailer),) . . . determining, based on the first angle and the second angle, a third angle between the first robot and the second robot; (Grodde: ¶ 152; a hitch angle (δ) may be resolved via: δ=Θ1−Θ2.) . . .
To the extent Grodde is silent about or does not explicitly teach: determining, based on the rear view image, a second angle between the first robot and the second robot; . . . outputting a signal associated with the third angle; and controlling, based on the signal, driving of the first robot. Katsuki does teach:
determining, based on the rear view image, a second angle between the first robot and the second robot; (Katsuki: ¶ 040; a camera device) (Katsuki: ¶ 017) (Katsuki: ¶ 074; straight line extraction unit 304 extracts a straight line portion of the object on the towed vehicle 3 in step S29, based on the measurement information measured by the sensor 20, the long side estimation unit 307 estimates the long side portion of the target member 40-3, based on the information on the extracted straight line portion.) . . . outputting a signal associated with the third angle; and controlling, based on the signal, driving of the first robot. (Katsuki: ¶ 014; driving control unit that causes an own vehicle to drive automatically, and changes contents of automatic driving when the coupling angle detected by the coupling angle detection unit has reached a prescribed value or more.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Katsuki with the teachings of Grodde because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of "accurately detect[ing] a coupling angle between two vehicles constituting a combination vehicle with simple processing."
Regarding claim 13, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 12. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein the determining the first angle comprises: acquiring a shape of the second robot before the second robot is coupled to the first robot; (Katsuki: ¶ 008; a first vehicle and a second vehicle coupled to the first vehicle in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure includes: a target member having a prescribed shape and installed in the first vehicle; a shape information acquisition unit that is installed in the second vehicle and acquires a shape information of the target member;)
moving the first robot and the second robot straight forward to acquire a second shape of the second robot at a reference angle; (Katsuki: ¶ 103; During traveling of the towed motor vehicle 1E, the sensor 20 measures the distance to a plurality of measurement points in the object including the target member 40-7 positioned in the upper surface area of the towed vehicle 3 at prescribed time intervals. The sensor 20 extracts measurement information regarding the plurality of measurement points in the target member) (Katsuki: ¶ 074; may self-calibrate the hitch angle between vehicle 232 and trailer 230 while the vehicle 232 and the trailer 230 are in motion) acquiring a current shape of the second robot; determining whether the second shape of the second robot at the reference angle and the current shape of the second robot match; and determining, based on the second shape of the second robot at the reference angle and the current shape of the second robot matching, the first angle. (Katsuki: ¶ 105; when the filtering unit 302 extracts measurement information whose ranging distance is within a prescribed range through filtering processing, the processing proceeds to step S73. In step S73, the rotation angle calculation unit 310 calculates the rotation angle between the measurement point groups relative to the position of the sensor 20, based on the measurement information extracted by filtering processing and the position information) (Katsuki: ¶ 102; one target member 40-7 formed in a rectangular shape is installed on the towed vehicle 3. In the present embodiment, the rotation angle calculation unit 310 holds position information on a plurality of measurement point groups in the target member 40-7 measured by the sensor 20 when the coupling angle is 0°, as the shape information of the target member 40-7) (Katsuki: ¶ 008; shape information of the target member acquired by the shape information acquisition unit, as a front-rear direction of a vehicle body of the first vehicle, and detects an angle formed by the front-rear direction of the vehicle body of the second vehicle that is held and the front-rear direction of the vehicle body of the first vehicle that is recognized, as a coupling angle between the first vehicle and the second vehicle)
Regarding claim 15, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 12. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein the determining the second angle comprises: extracting a feature point of the second robot from the rear view image; generating a depth data of the feature point of the second robot; (Katsuki: ¶ 042; unit 301 acquires information on the ranging distance to a plurality of measurement points and the ranging direction, by means of the sensor 20,) (Katsuki: ¶ 044; information constituting the respective target members 40-1 and 40-2, based on the measurement information on the measurement points corresponding to the respective target members 40-1 and 40-2 which are recognized. The corner estimation unit 305 estimates a corner portion which is a corner of each of the target members 40-1 and 40-2, based on the information on the straight line portion extracted by the straight line extraction unit 304.) generating a depth map representing a depth data set based on the first angle by matching the first angle and the depth data of the feature point; and determining the second angle by comparing the depth data set with a current depth data set. (Katsuki: ¶ 045; based on the straight line connecting an apex of each corner portion of the target members 40-1 and 40-2 estimated by the corner estimation unit . . .detects an angle formed by the front-rear direction of the vehicle body of the towing vehicle 2 as held above and the front-rear direction of the vehicle body of the towed vehicle 3 as recognized above, as a coupling angle of the towing motor vehicle 1A.)
Regarding claim 16, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 15. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein the determining the second angle comprises: generating the depth map based on a number of the depth data set being greater than or equal to a threshold number of sets, and wherein the depth data set is collected for any initial angle. (Katsuki: ¶ 054; extracts a measurement point group whose number of corresponding measurement points is equal to or greater than a prescribed first threshold value. This first threshold value is a value that is set to determine the reliability of the grouped measurement point group as a straight line portion)
Regarding claim 18, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 15. Katsuki further teaches:
wherein the extracting the feature point comprises: moving the first robot and the second robot straight forward; and (Katsuki: ¶ 074; may self-calibrate the hitch angle between vehicle 232 and trailer 230 while the vehicle 232 and the trailer 230 are in motion) (Katsuki: ¶ 014; an automatic driving control unit that causes an own vehicle to drive automatically,) separating the feature point of the second robot from a feature point of a surrounding environment of the second robot. (Katsuki: ¶ 103; During traveling of the towed motor vehicle 1E, the sensor 20 measures the distance to a plurality of measurement points in the object including the target member 40-7 positioned in the upper surface area of the towed vehicle 3 at prescribed time intervals. The sensor 20 extracts measurement information regarding the plurality of measurement points in the target member)
Regarding claim 19, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 12. Grodde further teaches:
further comprising: obtaining, from a third sensor, a movement data of the first robot and the second robot; (Grodde: ¶ 036; placing one 9-D IMU sensor on the vehicle and the other 9-D IMU sensor on the trailer allows for independent tracking of the vehicle and the trailer, which provides more accurate positional information and better guidance on terrain with elevation changes.) obtaining, from a fourth sensor, sensor data of an object in front of the first robot and the second robot; (Grodde: ¶ 102; two camera sensors behind the trailer can detect potential obstructions or hazards, as well as measure an approximate distance until the ending position is reached)
determining a fourth angle between the first robot and the second robot based on: a local map storing a feature point of a surrounding environment, the movement data, the sensor data for the second robot, and the sensor data of the object; and determining, based on the fourth angle and the third angle, a final angle. (Grodde: ¶ 250; Implementing the Dubins Path Method in this manner reduces the chance that the vehicle and trailer will jackknife by utilizing a small turning radius (or in some cases the smallest turn radius possible).) (Grodde: ¶ 112; a custom path is calculated as shown in FIG. 5C. The custom path 598 is different from the custom path of FIGS. 4A-D (see reference number 474, FIGS. 4A-D). Calculation of the custom path 598 can be accomplished using Dijkstra's algorithm, or any other suitable method. Generally, the custom path 598 intersects with various path grid 596 points that do not intersect with any obstacles 590 (or other forbidden areas).) (Grodde: Fig. 5D; [Map showing determining a 4th angle with respect to an obstacle])
Regarding claim 20, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 19. Grodde further teaches:
wherein the determining the fourth angle comprises: obtaining first absolute positions of the first robot and the second robot based on 44 the sensor data for the second robot (Grodde: ¶ 082; GPS information of the trailer and the 3-D position sensors placed independently on the vehicle and the trailer (i.e., instead of solely using a single 2-D bend angle senor), the absolute positions of the vehicle and the trailer can be assessed and tracked in real-time by calculating orientation differences between the 3-D position sensors.) and the local map; (Grodde: ¶ 037; map data allows a driver to plot or navigate around objects and blind corners.) obtaining second absolute positions of the first robot and the second robot based on the movement data and the local map; and determining, based on the first absolute positions and the second absolute positions, the fourth angle. (Grodde: ¶ 130; process 600 comprises acquiring at 616 tracking data of the vehicle by utilizing the first 3-D position sensor, the second 3-D position sensor, and the global positioning system as the vehicle traverses from the starting position to the ending position along the custom path) (Grodde: Fig. 5D; [Map showing determining a 4th angle with respect to an obstacle])
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Grodde as applied to claims 2, 13 respectively above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20220135125 A1).
Regarding claim 3, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 2. To the extent Grodde is silent about or does not explicitly teach:
wherein the processor is further configured to output, based on the second shape of the second robot at the reference angle and the current shape of the second robot not matching, a signal indicating an angle determination failure. Wang does teach:
wherein the processor is further configured to output, based on the second shape of the second robot at the reference angle and the current shape of the second robot not matching, a signal indicating an angle determination failure. (Wang: ¶ 122; HMI device 42 notifies, based on the command, the driver, for example, by displaying a warning sentence, or turning on the lamp, that the coupling cannot be achieved through the coupling assistance provided by the four-wheel steering control.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Grodde because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of "increasing accuracy of coupling assistance through automatic steering control." (Wang: ¶ 007).
Regarding claim 14, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 13. To the extent Grodde is silent about or does not explicitly teach:
wherein the determining the first angle comprises: outputting, based on the second shape of the second robot at the reference angle and the current shape of the second robot not matching, a signal indicating an angle determination failure. Wang does teach:
wherein the determining the first angle comprises: outputting, based on the second shape of the second robot at the reference angle and the current shape of the second robot not matching, a signal indicating an angle determination failure. (Wang: ¶ 122; HMI device 42 notifies, based on the command, the driver, for example, by displaying a warning sentence, or turning on the lamp, that the coupling cannot be achieved through the coupling assistance provided by the four-wheel steering control.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Grodde because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of "increasing accuracy of coupling assistance through automatic steering control." (Wang: ¶ 007).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Grodde as applied to claims 5, 15 respectively above, and further in view of Trombley (DE 102014222032 B4).
Regarding claim 6, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 5. To the extent Grodde is silent about or does not explicitly teach:
wherein the processor is further configured to output a Not Ready message based on the number of the depth data set being less than the threshold number of sets.; Trombley does teach:
A system that measures the distance to a tow hitch connection and provides an HMI message that the system is ready for use (Trombley: ¶¶ 62-63; The desired target placement zone can be determined by criteria such as the distance from the trailer hitch connection . . . If the target was detected by the processed recordings, the vehicle-trailer reversing assistant system sets in step 934 a warning message is ready for the user.).
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the claim invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be taught wherein the determining the second angle comprises: outputting a Not Ready message based on a number of the depth data set being less than a threshold number of sets, and wherein the depth data set is collected for any initial angle because when Trombley’s teaching is combined with Katsuki’s previously applied teaching of a minimum threshold value of measurements before determining a distance to tow hitch connection (Katsuki: ¶ 054), the person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the only difference between the claimed limitation and the combined teaching is a matter of aesthetic design choice (MPEP § 2144.04(I)) in displaying “system ready” or “system not ready” and that Trombley would provide the predictable benefit of “facilitate maneuvering between a decoupled towing vehicle and a trailer.” (Trombley: ¶ 013).
Regarding claim 17, as detailed above, combination Grodde teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 15. To the extent Grodde is silent about or does not explicitly teach:
wherein the determining the second angle comprises: outputting a Not Ready message based on a number of the depth data set being less than a threshold number of sets, and wherein the depth data set is collected for any initial angle; Trombley does teach:
A system that measures the distance to a tow hitch connection and provides an HMI message that the system is ready for use (█Trombley: ¶¶ 62-63; The desired target placement zone can be determined by criteria such as the distance from the trailer hitch connection . . . If the target was detected by the processed recordings, the vehicle-trailer reversing assistant system sets in step 934 a warning message is ready for the user.).
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the claim invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be taught wherein the determining the second angle comprises: outputting a Not Ready message based on a number of the depth data set being less than a threshold number of sets, and wherein the depth data set is collected for any initial angle because when Trombley’s teaching is combined with Katsuki’s previously applied teaching of a minimum threshold value of measurements before determining a distance to tow hitch connection (Katsuki: ¶ 054), the person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the only difference between the claimed limitation and the combined teaching is a matter of aesthetic design choice (MPEP § 2144.04(I)) in displaying “system ready” or “system not ready” and that Trombley would provide the predictable benefit of “facilitate maneuvering between a decoupled towing vehicle and a trailer.” (Trombley: ¶ 013).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Oh et al. (US 20220063720 A1) which discloses a vehicle trailer detection system includes a radar system and a controller receiving object point location data from the radar system at an increased sensitivity level, storing sequential first and second object point location data sets, and applying a rotational point set registration to the first and second object point location data sets to achieve a match between a subset of persistent point locations within the first and second object point location data sets to output an estimated rotation angle..
/C.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663