DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s response to restriction requirement filed on 08/10/2026. Claims 1-16 are still pending in the present application. Claims 17-20 are cancelled and claims 21-22 were not Elected. This Action is made NON-FINAL
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/26/2024 and 05/01/2025 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, have been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al Patent Application No. :( US 2013/0195258 A1).
For claim 1, Kumar discloses a terminal device (120e fig. 1) comprising:
a memory (282 fig. 2) configured to store at least one artificial intelligence (AI) model or at least one Al functionality for performing wireless communication based on AI (see 405, 410, 415 and 420 Fig. 4)(Paragraph [0005], lines 1-8);
a communication interface; and a processor configured to: configure capability information of the terminal device, the capability information comprising information on a number of at least one AI model or a number of at least one Al functionality, which is supportable by the terminal device (see 425 and 430 Fig. 4)(Paragraphs [0071], [0091] and [0093], lines 1-9), and control the communication interface to transmit a first message comprising the capability information of the terminal device to a base station device (see 435 Fig. 4)(Paragraph [0094], lines 1-8).
For claim 2, Kumar discloses the terminal device, wherein the capability information comprises information on a maximum number of at least one Al model supportable by the terminal device, or at least one of information on a maximum number of one-sided Al models supportable by the terminal device from among the at least one Al model and information on a maximum number of two-sided Al models supportable by the terminal device from among the at least one Al model (Paragraph [0073], lines 1-10).
For claim 3, Kumar discloses the terminal device, wherein the capability information comprises information on a maximum number of at least one Al functionality supportable by the terminal device, or at least one of information on a maximum number of one-sided AI functionalities supportable by the terminal device from among the at least one AI functionality and information on a maximum number of two-sided AI functionalities supportable by the terminal device from among the at least one Al functionality (Paragraphs [0075] and [0080], lines 1-22).
For claim 4, Kumar discloses the terminal device, wherein the processor is further configured to set the at least one Al model or the at least one Al functionality based on a second message received from the base station device in response to the first message (see 450 Fig. 4) (Paragraph [0102], lines 1-8).
For claim 5, Kumar discloses the terminal device, wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor operational performance of the at least one Al model or operational performance of the at least one Al functionality, configure preference information on the at least one Al model or the at least one Al functionality based on results of the monitoring, and control the communication interface to transmit a third message comprising the preference information to the base station device (see 460Fig. 4) (Paragraph [0104], lines 1-8).
For claim 6, Kumar discloses the terminal device, wherein the processor is further configured to receive a control message comprising transmission control information from the base station device through the communication interface (Paragraph [0137], lines 1-6).
For claim 8, Kumar discloses the terminal device, wherein the preference information comprises information requesting, by the terminal device, selection, switching, activation, deactivation, or fallback of the at least one AI model or the at least one AI functionality (Paragraph [0077], lines 1-11).
For claim 9, Kumar discloses a base station device comprising: a memory; a communication interface; and a processor configured to:
control the communication interface to receive a first message comprising capability information of a terminal device from the terminal device (see 405, 410, 415 and 420 Fig. 4)(Paragraph [0005], lines 1-8) (see 435 Fig. 4)(Paragraph [0094], lines 1-8),
configure control information on at least one artificial intelligence (AI)model or at least one AI functionality based on the capability information of the terminal device in the first message (see 425 and 430 Fig. 4)(Paragraphs [0071], [0091] and [0093], lines 1-9), and
transmit a second message comprising the control information to the terminal device, wherein the capability information of the terminal device comprises information on a number of at least one AI model or a number of at least one AI functionality, which is supportable by the terminal device (see 450 Fig. 4) (Paragraph [0102], lines 1-8).
For claim 10, Kumar discloses the base station, wherein the capability information comprises information on a maximum number of at least one AI model supportable by the terminal device, or at least one of information on a maximum number of one-sided AI models supportable by the terminal device from among the at least one AI model and information on a maximum number of two-sided AI models supportable by the terminal device from among the at least one AI model (Paragraph [0073], lines 1-10).
For claim 11, Kumar discloses the base station, wherein the capability information comprises information on a maximum number of at least one AI functionality supportable by the terminal device, or at least one of information on a maximum number of one-sided AI functionalities supportable by the terminal device from among the at least one AI functionality and information on a maximum number of two-sided AI functionalities supportable by the terminal device from among the at least one AI functionality (Paragraphs [0075] and [0080], lines 1-22).
For claim 12, Kumar discloses the base station, wherein the processor is further configured to: configure transmission control information, and transmit a control message comprising the transmission control information to the terminal device through the communication interface (Paragraph [0137], lines 1-6).
For claim 14, Kumar discloses the base station, wherein the processor is further configured to: control the communication interface to receive, from the terminal device, a third message comprising preference information on the at least one AI model or the at least one AI functionality of the terminal device, determine whether to reconfigure the control information on the at least one AI model or the at least one AI functionality based on the third message, and transmit a fourth message comprising a reconfigured control information to the terminal device when reconfiguring the control information on the at least one AI model or the at least one AI functionality (see 460Fig. 4) (Paragraph [0104], lines 1-8).
For claim 15, Kumar discloses the base station, wherein the preference information comprises information requesting, by the terminal device, selection, switching, activation, deactivation, or fallback of the at least one AI model or the at least one AI functionality (Paragraph [0077], lines 1-11).
For claim 16, Kumar discloses the base station, wherein the preference information is included in user equipment (UE) assistance information (UAI) (Paragraph [0070], lines 1-8)- (Paragraph [0072], lines 1-13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 13 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is shown in the following table:
US 2025/0386225
Zhang
Discloses the capability information could include an indication from the wireless device to the cellular base station of artificial intelligence model capability information for the wireless device, for example to indicate what artificial intelligence model parameters (such as maximum number of hidden layers and maximum number of nodes per layer for a neural network type artificial intelligence model) are supported by the wireless device
US 12,461,189
Hirzallah
Discloses the first set of capabilities indicates: a list of machine learning model formats supported by the UE, a maximum number of parameters for the network-provided machine learning model supported by the UE
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642