DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of U.S. Pat. App. Ser. No. 18/227,548, filed July 28, 2023, which is a continuation of U.S. Pat. App. Ser. No. 17/840,249, filed June 14, 2022, now U.S. Pat. No. 11,735,035, issued August 22, 2023, which is a continuation of U.S. Pat. App. Ser. No. 17/741,903, filed May 11, 2022, now U.S. Pat. No. 11,881,101, issued January 23, 2024, which is a continuation of U.S. Pat. App. Ser. No. 16/776,846, filed January 30, 2020, now U.S. Pat. No.11,430,328, issued August 30, 2022, which is a continuation of U.S. Pat. App. Ser. No. 16/135,916, filed September 19, 2018, now U.S. Pat. No. 10,692,365, issued June 23, 2020, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Pat. App. Ser. No. 62/627,005, filed February 6, 2018 and is a continuation-in-part of and claims priority to U.S. Pat. App. Ser. No. 15/628,331, filed June 20, 2017, now U.S. Pat. No. 10,380,886, issued August 13, 2019, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Pat. App. Ser. No. 62/507,453, filed May 17, 2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/26/2024 and 07/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
data collection module configured to collect in claims 1, 11
data allocation module configured to allocate in claims 1, 11
computation resources module configured to perform in claims 1, 11
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The following are the interpreted corresponding structures found within the specifications: On page 2 of the instant application specification, it states “IRIS comprises or consists of one of more of the
following physical subsystems: (3) vehicle onboard unit (OBU)”. This indicates that the following “modules” are within a physical subsystem that must include hardware.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory non-obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Ran et al., co-pending Application 18/960,208. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distant from each other because they are drawn to obvious variations.
In view of the above, since the subject matters recited in the claims 1-20 of the instant application were fully disclosed in and covered by the claims 1-20 of US co-pending application 18/960,208, allowing the claims to result in an unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims’ subject matter eligibility will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50-57 (January 7, 2019) (“2019 PEG”).
With respect to claims 1 and 11.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claims 1 and 11 are directed to one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: the claim recites, inter alia:
“allocate computation resources for data processing and provide a computation resource allocation": A person of ordinary skill in the art can mentally allocate data/information. Thus, this limitation is construed to be directed to the abstract idea of mental processes.
as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The only limitations not treated above, “collect data from one or more of: a roadside unit (RSU) network, a cloud platform, a traffic control center/traffic control unit (TCC/TCU), a traffic operations center (TOC), the AV, or a second AV to provide collected data” and “perform data processing”, involves the mere gathering of data, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(g). In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element of the “computer system” and “sensor” is recited at a high level of generality, and comprises only a processor to simply perform the generic computer functions Generic computers performing generic computer functions, alone, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The generic computer components in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricci (USPGPub 2021/0280055) in view of Kasuga (USPGPub 2019/0042863). As per claim 1, Ricci discloses a Computing Power Allocation System for Autonomous Driving (CPAS-AD), comprising: an onboard unit (OBU) (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348), wherein an autonomous vehicle (AV) comprises said OBU (see at least paragraph 0066; wherein a communication environment 300 of the vehicle 100 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The communication system 300 may include vehicle control system 348) and wherein the OBU comprises: a data collection module configured to collect data from one or more of: a roadside unit (RSU) network, a cloud platform, a traffic control center/traffic control unit (TCC/TCU), a traffic operations center (TOC), the AV, or a second AV to provide collected data (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348 may receive control information from one or more control sources 356B. The control source 356 may provide vehicle control information including autonomous driving control commands, vehicle operation override control commands, and the like. The control source 356 may correspond to an autonomous vehicle control system, a traffic control system, an administrative control entity, and/or some other controlling server). Ricci does not explicitly mention a data allocation module configured to allocate computation resources for data processing and provide a computation resource allocation; and a computation resources module configured to perform data processing. However Kasuga does disclose: a data allocation module configured to allocate computation resources for data processing and provide a computation resource allocation (see at least paragraph 0053’ wherein the control unit 21 determines an allocation rate of computational resources to be allocated to each of a plurality of sensing processes of analyzing sensor data output from a plurality of sensors for observing the area around the moving body); and a computation resources module configured to perform data processing (see at least paragraph 0056; wherein the sensing unit 23 performs sensing of sensor data output from the sensor 31, by using computational resources of an allocated amount, for the corresponding sensing, specified based on the allocation rate determined in step S11, and detects objects, such as obstacles and road signs, in a monitoring area. The sensing unit 23 generates sensing information indicating a detected object). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Kasuga with the teachings as in Ricci. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide efficient sensing control, see Kasuga paragraph 0089. As per claim 2, Ricci discloses further comprising a component to provide a high- performance computation capability configured to allocate computation power to provide sensing, prediction, planning and decision making, and control at a microscopic level, a mesoscopic level, and/or a macroscopic level (see at least paragraph 0246; wherein The control source 356B and control source database 1824 interact with the autonomous driving agent 1604 in each vehicle 100 to receive various types of information regarding vehicle behavior and the behaviors of nearby objects, such as other vehicles and pedestrians, identify specific behaviors and other autonomous driving information, and directly or indirectly provide the autonomous driving information to selected vehicles for use in determining and selecting various autonomous vehicle commands or settings, particularly acceleration rate of the vehicle, deceleration (e.g., braking) rate of the vehicle, steering angle of the vehicle (e.g., for turns and lane changes), and inter-object spacing (e.g., end-to-end or side-to-side spacing between the vehicle and a nearby object)). As per claim 3, Ricci discloses wherein the data collection module integrates data from the RSU network, the cloud platform, the TCC/TCU, the TOC, or the second AV with data from the AV (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348 may receive control information from one or more control sources 356B. The control source 356 may provide vehicle control information including autonomous driving control commands, vehicle operation override control commands, and the like. The control source 356 may correspond to an autonomous vehicle control system, a traffic control system, an administrative control entity, and/or some other controlling server). As per claim 4, Kasuga discloses wherein the data allocation module is configured to divide the collected data into two groups: large parallel data and advanced control data (see at least paragraphs 0034-0036; wherein the CPU is a processor for executing programs, and performing processing such as data calculation. The DSP is a processor dedicated to digital signal processing, such as arithmetic calculation and data transfer. For example, processing of a digital signal, such as sensing of sensor data obtained from a sonar, is desirably processed at a fast speed by the DSP, instead of the CPU.The GPU is a processor dedicated to processing images, and is a processor which realizes fast processing by processing a plurality of pieces of pixel data in parallel). As per claim 5, Kasuga discloses wherein the data allocation module is configured to transmit the large parallel data and the advanced control data to the computation resources module for further processing (see at least paragraphs 0034-0036; wherein the CPU is a processor for executing programs, and performing processing such as data calculation. The DSP is a processor dedicated to digital signal processing, such as arithmetic calculation and data transfer. For example, processing of a digital signal, such as sensing of sensor data obtained from a sonar, is desirably processed at a fast speed by the DSP, instead of the CPU.The GPU is a processor dedicated to processing images, and is a processor which realizes fast processing by processing a plurality of pieces of pixel data in parallel). As per claim 6, Kasuga discloses wherein the data allocation module is configured to assign processing of the collected data to computation resources according to the computation resource allocation (see at least paragraph 0053; wherein control unit 21 determines an allocation rate of computational resources to be allocated to each of a plurality of sensing processes of analyzing sensor data output from a plurality of sensors for observing the area around the moving body). As per claim 7, Kasuga discloses wherein the computation resources comprise: graphic processing units (GPUs) for process large parallel data (see at least paragraph 0036; wherein the GPU is a processor dedicated to processing images, and is a processor which realizes fast processing by processing a plurality of pieces of pixel data in parallel); and central processing units (CPUs) to process advanced control data (see at least paragraph 0034; wherein the CPU is a processor for executing programs, and performing processing such as data calculation). As per claim 8, Kasuga discloses wherein the AV provides the computation resources (see at least paragraph 0053; wherein control unit 21 determines an allocation rate of computational resources to be allocated to each of a plurality of sensing processes of analyzing sensor data output from a plurality of sensors for observing the area around the moving body). As per claim 9, Ricci discloses wherein the computation resources are provided by one or more of the following physical subsystems: the RSU network, the cloud platform, the TCC/TCU, the TOC, or an OBU of the second AV (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348 may receive control information from one or more control sources 356B. The control source 356 may provide vehicle control information including autonomous driving control commands, vehicle operation override control commands, and the like. The control source 356 may correspond to an autonomous vehicle control system, a traffic control system, an administrative control entity, and/or some other controlling server). As per claim 11, Ricci discloses a Computing Power Allocation System for Autonomous Driving (CPAS-AD), comprising: an onboard unit (OBU) (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348); and one or more of the following physical subsystems: a roadside unit (RSU) network, a cloud platform, a traffic control center/traffic control unit (TCC/TCU), and a traffic operations center (TOC) (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348 may receive control information from one or more control sources 356B. The control source 356 may provide vehicle control information including autonomous driving control commands, vehicle operation override control commands, and the like. The control source 356 may correspond to an autonomous vehicle control system, a traffic control system, an administrative control entity, and/or some other controlling server), wherein the OBU comprises: a data collection module that is configured to collect data from one or more of: the RSU network, the cloud platform, the TCC/TCU, the TOC, the AV, or a second AV to provide collected data (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348 may receive control information from one or more control sources 356B. The control source 356 may provide vehicle control information including autonomous driving control commands, vehicle operation override control commands, and the like. The control source 356 may correspond to an autonomous vehicle control system, a traffic control system, an administrative control entity, and/or some other controlling server). Ricci does not explicitly mention wherein the physical subsystems are configured to provide an autonomous vehicle (AV) with additional computation resources when required; a data allocation module that is configured to allocate computation resources for data processing and provide a computation resource allocation; and a computation resources module that is configured to perform data processing. However Kasuga does disclose: wherein the physical subsystems are configured to provide an autonomous vehicle (AV) with additional computation resources when required (see at least paragraph 0105; wherein the front sensing is the only sensing process with a high level of importance, but in the case where two or more sensing processes are determined to have a high level of importance, control may be performed in such a way that the level of accuracy of sensing in an area with the highest level of importance is increased as much as possible within the available computational resources, or in such a way that the levels of accuracy are increased in a balanced manner according to the levels of importance); a data allocation module that is configured to allocate computation resources for data processing and provide a computation resource allocation (see at least paragraph 0053’ wherein the control unit 21 determines an allocation rate of computational resources to be allocated to each of a plurality of sensing processes of analyzing sensor data output from a plurality of sensors for observing the area around the moving body); and a computation resources module that is configured to perform data processing (see at least paragraph 0056; wherein the sensing unit 23 performs sensing of sensor data output from the sensor 31, by using computational resources of an allocated amount, for the corresponding sensing, specified based on the allocation rate determined in step S11, and detects objects, such as obstacles and road signs, in a monitoring area. The sensing unit 23 generates sensing information indicating a detected object). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Kasuga with the teachings as in Ricci. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide efficient sensing control, see Kasuga paragraph 0089. As per claim 12, Ricci discloses further comprising a component to provide a high- performance computation capability configured to allocate computation power to provide sensing, prediction, planning and decision making, and control at a microscopic level, a mesoscopic level, and/or a macroscopic level (see at least paragraph 0246; wherein The control source 356B and control source database 1824 interact with the autonomous driving agent 1604 in each vehicle 100 to receive various types of information regarding vehicle behavior and the behaviors of nearby objects, such as other vehicles and pedestrians, identify specific behaviors and other autonomous driving information, and directly or indirectly provide the autonomous driving information to selected vehicles for use in determining and selecting various autonomous vehicle commands or settings, particularly acceleration rate of the vehicle, deceleration (e.g., braking) rate of the vehicle, steering angle of the vehicle (e.g., for turns and lane changes), and inter-object spacing (e.g., end-to-end or side-to-side spacing between the vehicle and a nearby object)). As per claim 13, Ricci discloses wherein the data collection module integrates data from the RSU network, the cloud platform, the TCC/TCU, the TOC, or the second AV with data from the AV (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348 may receive control information from one or more control sources 356B. The control source 356 may provide vehicle control information including autonomous driving control commands, vehicle operation override control commands, and the like. The control source 356 may correspond to an autonomous vehicle control system, a traffic control system, an administrative control entity, and/or some other controlling server). As per claim 14, Kasuga discloses wherein the data allocation module is configured to divide the collected data into two groups: large parallel data and advanced control data (see at least paragraphs 0034-0036; wherein the CPU is a processor for executing programs, and performing processing such as data calculation. The DSP is a processor dedicated to digital signal processing, such as arithmetic calculation and data transfer. For example, processing of a digital signal, such as sensing of sensor data obtained from a sonar, is desirably processed at a fast speed by the DSP, instead of the CPU.The GPU is a processor dedicated to processing images, and is a processor which realizes fast processing by processing a plurality of pieces of pixel data in parallel). As per claim 15, Kasuga discloses wherein the data allocation module is configured to transmit the large parallel data and the advanced control data to the computation resources module for further processing (see at least paragraphs 0034-0036; wherein the CPU is a processor for executing programs, and performing processing such as data calculation. The DSP is a processor dedicated to digital signal processing, such as arithmetic calculation and data transfer. For example, processing of a digital signal, such as sensing of sensor data obtained from a sonar, is desirably processed at a fast speed by the DSP, instead of the CPU.The GPU is a processor dedicated to processing images, and is a processor which realizes fast processing by processing a plurality of pieces of pixel data in parallel). As per claim 16, Kasuga discloses wherein the data allocation module is configured to assign processing of the collected data to computation resources according to the computation resource allocation (see at least paragraph 0053; wherein control unit 21 determines an allocation rate of computational resources to be allocated to each of a plurality of sensing processes of analyzing sensor data output from a plurality of sensors for observing the area around the moving body). As per claim 17, Kasuga discloses wherein the computation resources comprise: graphic processing units (GPUs) for process large parallel data (see at least paragraph 0036; wherein the GPU is a processor dedicated to processing images, and is a processor which realizes fast processing by processing a plurality of pieces of pixel data in parallel); and central processing units (CPUs) to process advanced control data (see at least paragraph 0034; wherein the CPU is a processor for executing programs, and performing processing such as data calculation). As per claim 18, Kasuga discloses wherein the AV provides the computation resources (see at least paragraph 0053; wherein control unit 21 determines an allocation rate of computational resources to be allocated to each of a plurality of sensing processes of analyzing sensor data output from a plurality of sensors for observing the area around the moving body). As per claim 19, Ricci discloses wherein the computation resources are provided by one or more of the following physical subsystems: the RSU network, the cloud platform, the TCC/TCU, the TOC, or an OBU of the second AV (see at least paragraph 0088; wherein the vehicle control system 348 may receive control information from one or more control sources 356B. The control source 356 may provide vehicle control information including autonomous driving control commands, vehicle operation override control commands, and the like. The control source 356 may correspond to an autonomous vehicle control system, a traffic control system, an administrative control entity, and/or some other controlling server).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricci (USPGPub 2021/0280055), in view of Kasuga (USPGPub 2019/0042863), and further in view of Konrardy et al. (USPGPub 2023/0143946).
As per claim 10, Ricci and Kasuga do not explicitly mention wherein the computation resources are used for data processing to provide the prediction, planning, and decision making functionality of the AV. However Konrardy does disclose: wherein the computation resources are used for data processing to provide the prediction, planning, and decision making functionality of the AV (see at least paragraph 0007; wherein this virtual testing may include presentation of fixed inputs or may include a simulation of a dynamic virtual environment in which a virtual vehicle is controlled by the one or more autonomous operation features. The one or more autonomous operation features generate output signals that may then be used to determine the effectiveness of the control decisions by predicting the responses of vehicles to the output signals. Risk levels associated with the effectiveness of the autonomous operation features may be used to determine a premium for an insurance policy associated with the vehicle, which may be determined by reference to a risk category). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Konrardy with the teachings as in Ricci and Kasuga. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the effectiveness of the autonomous operation features, see Konrardy paragraph 0079. As per claim 20, Ricci and Kasuga do not explicitly mention wherein the computation resources are used for data processing to provide the prediction, planning, and decision making functionality of the AV. However Konrardy does disclose: wherein the computation resources are used for data processing to provide the prediction, planning, and decision making functionality of the AV (see at least paragraph 0007; wherein this virtual testing may include presentation of fixed inputs or may include a simulation of a dynamic virtual environment in which a virtual vehicle is controlled by the one or more autonomous operation features. The one or more autonomous operation features generate output signals that may then be used to determine the effectiveness of the control decisions by predicting the responses of vehicles to the output signals. Risk levels associated with the effectiveness of the autonomous operation features may be used to determine a premium for an insurance policy associated with the vehicle, which may be determined by reference to a risk category). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Konrardy with the teachings as in Ricci and Kasuga. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the effectiveness of the autonomous operation features, see Konrardy paragraph 0079.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2020/0410787 – Provides a autonomous vehicle field, and more specifically to a new and useful method for processing sensor data generated by vehicles. USPGPub 2003/0045995 – Provide an intelligent transportation system (ITS), and more particularly to a system and method for providing channel information to search channels in an intelligent transportation system (ITS).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662