DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for US Application 18/960,218 for a Camera Fixing Device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,976,587 to Heimann et al. Regarding claim 1, Heimann et al. discloses a fixing device that can accommodate a camera comprising a housing (B2) configured to be fixed on an installation surface. There is a cover (30) configured to be coupled to the housing and an extension portion (10).
There is a first side of the extension portion in a first direction between the housing and the cover (see figure 1, part of 14, 16, and 18 are between the housing and cover). There is a second side of the extension portion in a second direction, opposite to the first direction, extending outwardly from the cover (see figure 1… 12 extends outwardly from the cover opposite the first side of the extension portion). There is a support portion (44) configured to elastically press the first side of the extension portion in the second direction towards the cover from the housing (see col. 12, lines 49-55… part 44 resiliently clamps 14, pressing 14 in the direction of 12).
Regarding claim 9, the housing comprises a protruding member protruding perpendicularly from an inner circumferential surface of the housing (see figure 1… B2 has a perpendicular portion that protrudes from an inner circumferential surface).
Regarding claim 12, Heimann et al. discloses a fixing device comprising a housing (B2) configured to be fixed on an installation surface. There is a cover (30) configured to be coupled to the housing and an extension portion (10).
There is a first side of the extension portion in a first direction between the housing and the cover (see figure 1, part of 14, 16, and 18 are between the housing and cover). There is a second side of the extension portion in a second direction, opposite to the first direction, extending outwardly from the cover (see figure 1… 12 extends outwardly from the cover opposite the first side of the extension portion). There is a support portion (44) configured to elastically press the first side of the extension portion in the second direction towards the cover from the housing (see col. 12, lines 49-55… part 44 resiliently clamps 14, pressing 14 in the direction of 12).
Regarding claim 16, Heimann et al. discloses a method of assembling a fixing device that can be used with a camera, comprising: coupling a housing (B2) to an installation surface; coupling a cover (30) of the fixing device to the housing, while at least a part of an extension portion (10) of the fixing device and a support portion (44) of the fixing device is between the cover and the housing.
There is a first side of the extension portion in a first direction between the housing and the cover (see figure 1, part of 14, 16, and 18 are between the housing and cover). There is a second side of the extension portion in a second direction, opposite to the first direction, extending outwardly from the cover (see figure 1… 12 extends outwardly from the cover opposite the first side of the extension portion). The support portion (44) is configured to elastically press the first side of the extension portion in the second direction towards the cover from the housing (see col. 12, lines 49-55… part 44 resiliently clamps 14, pressing 14 in the direction of 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 10, 11, 13-15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose the subject matter of claims 1, 12, and 16, along with the limitation of a fixing member fixed within the housing, a contact member configured to contact a ball member at a first side of the extension portion, and a wave washer between the fixing member and the contact member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0337789 to Rosenkvist
US 2021/0341822 to Terajima
US 2014/0097315 to Korcz
US 2022/0065389 to Grover
US 2020/0316792 to Nighswander
US 2021/0109452 to Jankura
US 6328270 to Elberbaum
US 4037098 to Kowalski
US 11908294 to Dallmeier
US 11953811 to Zhang
US 12025264 to Trujillo
US 2739780 to Richards
US 2021/0123561 to Smith
The above prior art discloses various fixing devices.
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632