DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 15-20, in the reply filed on 9/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the replenishment area" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-22, 24, and 26-27 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vollm (USPGPUB 2004/0034447).
Regarding claim 15, Vollm discloses a method for replenishing a medication organizer filling system, the method comprising:
providing a medication organizer filling system (10) having: i) containers (20) for storing medications, and ii) a container storage area (12 or 16 or 18 or 16,18);
providing a container replenishing area (128);
with automation (see paragraphs [0083] and [0127]), moving a container (20) from the container storage area (12 or 16 or 18 or 16,18) or a temporary storage area to the replenishing area (128);
receiving the container (20) in the replenishment area (128) following replenishment (see paragraph [0128]); and
with automation, returning the container from the replenishing area to the container storage area or to the temporary storage area (see paragraph [0128]).
Regarding claim 16, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 15, further providing a temporary storage area (18).
Regarding claim 17, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 15, wherein the replenishing the container with medications is performed manually (see paragraphs [0083], [0127] and [0128]).
Regarding claim 18, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 15, wherein the medication organizer filling system further has a container handling system (22 or 22’ or 22,22’) and wherein the container handling system is automated (see paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 19, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 15, wherein the container storage area is a container storage rack (see Figures 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 20, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 15, wherein the replenishing area (128) is a replenishing rack (see Figures 17-18C).
Regarding claim 21, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 18, wherein the container handling system (22 or 22’) has a container gripper (46,48,51).
Regarding claim 22, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 21, wherein the container gripper (22 or 22’) is mounted to a carriage (see Figure 5A) that is movable along two perpendicular axes (see paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 24, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 21, wherein the container gripper further includes a reader (53) for reading identification codes on the medication containers (see Figure 4A).
Regarding claim 26, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 15, wherein the medication organizer filling system (10) and the container replenishing area (128) are contained in an enclosure (see Figure 17).
Regarding claim 27 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Vollm discloses a method for replenishing a medication organizer filling system, the method comprising:
providing a medication organizer filling system (10) having: i) containers (20) for storing medications, and ii) a container storage rack (12 or 16 or 18 or 16,18);
providing a container replenishing rack (128);
with automation (see paragraphs [0083] and [0127]), moving a container (20) from the container storage rack (12 or 16 or 18 or 16,18) or a temporary storage area to the replenishing rack (128);
receiving the container (128) in the replenishment area following replenishment (see paragraph [0128]); and
with automation, returning the container from the replenishing rack to the container storage rack or to the temporary storage area (see paragraph [0128]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollm (USPGPUB 2004/0034447) as applied to claims 15-22, 24, and 26-27 above, and further in view of Rob et al. (USPGPUB 2006/0136095).
Regarding claim 23, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 21. However, Vollm does not specifically disclose a method wherein the container gripper includes an electromagnet. Rob et al. disclose a method wherein the container gripper includes an electromagnet (see paragraph [0072]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Vollm by including a method wherein the container gripper includes an electromagnet, as disclosed by Rob et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing an electromagnetic releasable coupling (see paragraph [0072]).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollm (USPGPUB 2004/0034447) as applied to claims 15-22, 24, and 26-27 above, and further in view of Moore et al. (USP 4,860,876).
Regarding claim 25, Vollm discloses the method as recited in Claim 21. However, Vollm does not specifically disclose a method wherein the container gripper further includes a proximity sensor for detecting the presence of the medication container therein. Moore et al. disclose a method wherein the container gripper further includes a proximity sensor for detecting the presence of the medication container therein (see column 14 lines 52-64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Vollm by including a method wherein the container gripper further includes a proximity sensor for detecting the presence of the medication container therein, as disclosed by Moore et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a proximity sensor for signaling a robotic gripper of a cassette position (see column 14 lines 52-64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
10/16/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655