DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In line 5, the limitation providing that the first and second flanges simultaneously engage the stop engagement surface is inconsistent with the limitation of Claim 3, from which Claim 4 depends, in that Claim 3 provides that the second stop, which includes the second flange is distal from the first stop. The scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2022/021133, in view of Chang, U.S. Patent No. 11,359,882. As to Claim 17, Shaffer teaches a method of using a crossbow comprising pulling on a bowstring (18) that is in a drawn mode with a sled (32), paragraph 0072. A stop (106) may be engaged with a limiter (part of bowstring (18)) to cease movement of the sled relative to a frame of the crossbow in a de-cocking mode, leaving a first distance between the bowstring and a safety (130) paragraphs 0075, 0076, 0052, and see Figures 7 and 8, noting that the sled draws the bowstring back beyond the held position on catch (62) to a stopping point at a distance from the safety. The safety may be moved, paragraph 0075, noting movement of safety activator which releases the safety to an off state. Shaffer teaches disengaging a catch (62) from the bowstring and transitioning the bowstring to an undrawn mode while the sled engages the bowstring to de-cock the crossbow, paragraphs 0077 and 0078. Shaffer is silent as to moving the safety toward the bowstring. Chang teaches that a crossbow safety may be configured as a forward moving bar, Col. 3, ln. 20-24 and see Figure 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the safety as a forward moving feature, as taught by Chang, to provide Shaffer with a safety moved to an off mode by sliding toward the bowstring, to yield the predictable result of providing a step of moving the safety toward the bowstring in a de-cocking mode. As to Claim 18, Chang teaches that the safety may include a safety bar (20) slidably disposed in a slot (121), wherein the safety may be manually engaged to slide the bar in the slot so that a forward surface of the safety moves toward the bowstring without engaging the bowstring during a moving step, Col. 3, ln. 20-24 and see Figure 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the safety as a safety bar configured as claimed and as taught by Chang, to provide Shaffer, as modified, with a known substitute safety configuration. As to Claim 20, Chang teaches that the safety may slide along a linear path without rotating toward the bowstring in a de-cocking mode without part of a sled engaging the safety, see Figure 4, noting a generally parallelepiped shape of the safety bar not conducive to rotation and the safety located at a rear portion of a trigger assembly away from the path of a sled engaged with the bowstring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the safety as claimed and as taught by Chang to provide Shaffer, as modified, with a known substitute configuration for the safety.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 4-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,566,044. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 2. Claim 3 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 3, except for placing the second stop of the sled instead of on the frame. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the second stop on the sled, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Claims 4-7 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 5-8 respectively. Claim 7 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 10, 12-16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 2 October 2026