DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20140077669 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a case for a tablet shaped device (Choi, Fig. 1), the case comprising: a body (Choi, Fig. 1) comprising a face having a tablet shaped device receiving area (Choi, Fig. 1); and a stylus holder at a margin of the face (Choi, Fig. 1) for holding a stylus for the tablet shaped device (Choi, Fig. 4), the stylus holder defining an elongate cavity for receiving the stylus (Choi, Fig. 4) and comprising at least one obstructing element arranged to obstruct removal of the stylus from the elongate cavity when so received (bending hooks 130 provided in the stylus pen accommodating groove 1210 securely engage the outer surface of the stylus pen 200 (Choi, Fig. 3 and Par. 37)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20140077669 A1) in view of Ceruzzi (US 20150343831 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches previous claim. Choi further teaches the case for a tablet shaped device defined by claim 1 wherein the at least one obstructing element is attached to an elongate cavity wall that is outwardly bendable (bending hooks 130 (obstructing element) is coupled (attached) to perpendicular wall 122 of the seating member 120 (elongate cavity wall) (Choi, Figs. 2-3 and Pars. 32-34), wherein when the user applies a predetermined force to the stylus pen 200 to remove it from the groove 1210, the bending hooks 130 have a certain amount of elasticity widens enough or project slightly outward (i.e., outwardly bendable) to allow the stylus pen 200 to be separated therefrom (Choi, Figs. 2-3 and Pars. 33, 35)).
The elastic (i.e., flexible) material as taught above by Choi is known as bendable/flexible and resilient as evidence by Ceruzzi (Par. 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Ceruzzi into Choi to naturally return to their normal configurations.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20140077669 A1) in view of Ceruzzi (US 20150343831 A1) and in further view of Moriconi et al. (US 5530208 A).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Choi and Ceruzzi teaches previous claim. The combination Further teaches the case defined by claim 2 wherein a discontinuity in the elongate cavity wall (Choi, Fig. 1) (Choi, Par. 33, the user applies a predetermined force to the stylus pen 200 to remove it from the groove 1210).
However, the combination fails to mention “the user applies a predetermined force to the stylus pen 200 to remove it from the groove 1210” as taught above is by provides finger access to the stylus.
Moriconi teach an access notch 130 which extends to recession/receptacle 120 (elongate cavity wall) to allow a user to easily grasp pen 200 from receptacle 120 by placing a finger in the cutout (Moriconi, Fig. 1 and Col. 2 Lines 35-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Moriconi into the combination of Choi and Ceruzzi to remove the stylus from the stylus holder using finger.
Regarding claims 4-5, method of claims 4-5 are performed by the apparatus of claims 1-4. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claims 1-4 (apparatus) for the method of claims 4-5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rumfola et al. US 20140190842 A1
Griffin et al. US 20170063419 A1
Zaloom US 20140347814 A1
Shawver. US 5996956 A
Medeiros US 10806227 B1
Pittel et al. US 20100021022 A1
Barel US 20170108949 A1
Richardson et al. US 20050030707 A1
Steiner (US 6626362 B1)
/Cindy Trandai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 7/22/2026