DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 11,070,197).
In reference to claim 1 Wang discloses in Figure 5 a gate driver circuit (502, 504) configured to drive a gallium nitride (GaN) transistor (508; column 9, lines 56-59), the gate driver circuit comprising a communication interface (560) configured to receive a gate driver parameter (see column 10, lines 31-52 where Wang discloses that the interface 560 queries the driver control logic 518 for measurements associated with the transistor 508), wherein the communication interface is n asynchronous serial communication interface (see column 10, lines 33-36).
In reference to claim 2 Wang discloses in column 10, line 66 through column 12, line 25 that the communication interface 560 (as a part of controller 502) is configured to forward the received gate driver parameter to an external control circuit (as an alert signal indicating a need for repair/replacement of the transistor 508).
In reference to claim 4 Wang discloses in column 2, line 61 through column 3, line 3 and column 10, line 39-44 that the gate driver parameter is a gate voltage parameter (VGS), and wherein the gate driver circuit is configured to generate a gate voltage for driving the GaN transistor (508) based on the gate voltage parameter (see column 12, line 58 through column 13, line 30).
In reference to claim 6 Wang discloses in column 2, line 61 through column 3, line 3 and column 10, line 39-44 wherein the gate driver circuit is configured to determine a current value (IDS) indicative of a current flowing through the GaN transistor (508), and wherein the communication interface (560) is configured to transmit the current value to an external control circuit (see column 10, line 66 through column 12, line 25 wherein the communication interface 560 (as a part of controller 502) is configured to forward the received gate driver parameter (IDS) to an external control circuit (as an alert signal indicating a need for repair/replacement of the transistor 508).
In reference to claim 7 Wang discloses in column 10, line 66 through column 12, line 25 wherein the gate driver circuit is configured to determine a fault condition (the alert signal indicating repair/replacement of the transistor (508) is needed) related to the GaN transistor (508) or to the gate driver circuit, and wherein the communication interface 560 (as a part of controller 502) is configured to transmit a signal indicative of the fault condition to an external control circuit (as an alert signal indicating a need for repair/replacement of the transistor 508).
In reference to claim 8 Wang discloses in column 10, lines 33-36 that the communication interface (560) is a universal asynchronous receiver-transmitter UART interface.
In reference to claim 9 Wang discloses in Figure 5 an integrated power switch comprising: the GaN transistor (508) as in claim 1, and the gate driver circuit (502, 504) according to claim 1, wherein the gate driver circuit is coupled to the gate of the GaN transistor (508).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 are allowed.
Claims 3, 5, and 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA F COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849