DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 3-7, 11, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,187,370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same elements with slightly different wording.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hagemann et al. EP 3789283.
Hagemann et al. discloses a bicycle transportation apparatus, comprising:
a spacer 2, the spacer having an outer body 4 and an adjustable member 6 that is
positionable within an inner passageway of the outer body to different locations so a length of
the spacer is adjustable; and
the spacer being positionable for attachment to a frame of a bicycle;
wherein the adjustable member has a projection 10 and the outer body has a plurality of
grooves 8 positioned adjacent the inner passageway, each of the grooves being in communication
with the inner passageway; and the projection sized and configured to be matingly received
within any of the grooves while a portion of the adjustable member is within the inner passageway;
wherein the outer body is comprised of a polymeric material and the adjustable member
is comprised of a polymeric material; (see paragraph [0018] “The spacer and in particular the at least two elements are preferably made from a plastic that can be injection molded, for example a polyamide, in particular PA66”)
comprising: a bike frame having spaced part front forks 30, the spacer being attached
between the front forks.
Claim(s) 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hagemann
et al. EP 3789283.
Hagermann discloses a bicycle transportation spacer comprising:
an outer body 4 having first end and a second end opposite the first end, the outer body
having an inner passageway that extends from the second end and a plurality of spaced grooves 8
positioned around the inner passageway, each of the grooves being in communication with the
inner passageway; and
an adjustable member 6 that is positionable within the inner passageway of the outer
body to different locations so a length of the spacer is adjustable, the adjustable member having a
projection 10 sized and configured to be matingly received within any of the grooves while a
portion of the adjustable member is within the inner passageway;
wherein each of the grooves is sized so that the adjustable member is in a selectable predefined position within the outer body when the projection is positioned within an entire length of the groove to define a length of the spacer for attachment to a frame of a bicycle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagermann
et al. ‘283 in view of Mondi AG DE 20 2020 104 051.
Hagermann discloses A method of transporting a bicycle, comprising:
providing at least one spacer 2 for attachment to a frame of a bicycle, the spacer having
an outer body 4 and an adjustable member 6 that is positionable within an inner passageway of
the outer body to different locations so a length of the spacer is adjustable;
attaching the at least one spacer to the frame 30, adjusting a length of the at least one spacer via movement of the adjustable member to a pre-selected location within the inner passageway before attaching the at least one spacer to the frame;
wherein the adjusting of the length of the spacer comprises: positioning a projection 10 of
the adjustable member within a groove 8 of the outer body and sliding the adjustable member
within the inner passageway until the projection is within an entire length of the groove, the
groove being in communication with the inner passageway.
Hagermann et al. fails to disclose positioning the frame having the at least one spacer attached thereto in a box for shipment of the bicycle.
However Hagermann et al. discloses that the spacer is to be used when transporting a
bicycle with the front wheel removed.
Mondi AG discloses the use of a box 12 used to protect a bicycle 28 having its front
wheel removed for use during transport.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ship
the bicycle disclosed by Hagermann et al. in a box, in order to protect the bicycle during
transport.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KEVIN HURLEY/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3611
August 8, 2026